how did the quit rent derived?
TShackwire
Jul 24 2007, 11:38 PM, updated 19y ago
How do the developer calculate quit rent and bill to the residence? Is there a formulae to check whether the quit rent im paying now is in accordance to the law.
do you calculate the quit rent on overall land area (condo + common area ) which the property occupied or Condo "built up" of every single units occupying the sky or the land size covered by the Condo itself excluding all common Areas
scorgio
Jul 25 2007, 03:26 AM
For condos & other non-landed property, the quit rent's assessed by Pejabat Tanah. And bill the title holder (in most cases, the developer).
Then the amount is divided prorated for all units.
But whether the developer or management is acting honestly or not, I can't tell lah.
jcvstlys
Jul 25 2007, 10:30 AM
Then how do u know if the management cheats?
TShackwire
Jul 25 2007, 09:52 PM
i wonder if the developer calculate according to the develop area of the parcel which including the common area like guardhouse, swimming pool , visitor car park outside etc etc? or the building only.
scorgio
Jul 25 2007, 10:30 PM
QUOTE(jcvstlys @ Jul 25 2007, 10:30 AM) Then how do u know if the management cheats? If u read my 3rd sentence, I stated there "I can't tell". QUOTE(hackwire @ Jul 25 2007, 09:52 PM) i wonder if the developer calculate according to the develop area of the parcel which including the common area like guardhouse, swimming pool , visitor car park outside etc etc? or the building only. Definitely the whole parcel lah. Or else who's paying the rest?
jcvstlys
Jul 26 2007, 11:18 AM
Is there any way to find out whether the management cheats?
TShackwire
Jul 26 2007, 10:33 PM
watch more hong kong movies for going undercover.
??!!
Jul 26 2007, 10:57 PM
Quit rent, like all other charges that are shared in common, are to be apportioned and paid by all parcel owners according to their share unit.
All parcels will be apportioned 'share units', which is very much like the shares one have in say, a company. It denotes the share of the project that a parcel owner owns...eg if a project has 1000 share units and parcel A has 10 share unit and parcel B has 20 share unit. Then A's share of service charges will be 1/2 of that of B. In the event of say an en-block sale of the project, B will get twice the amount of what A gets.
Guard house, swimming pools and other common areas are well, 'common' areas and shared in common by all parcel owners...These are NOT parcels and do not have share units...
How to know if you are charged according to your share unit? Ask the MC/developer what is the total share unit.Or, you can make a search at the land office.Your share will be the share unit apportioned to your parcel divide by the total share unit.In the eg above, A's portion will be 10/1000
This post has been edited by ??!!: Jul 26 2007, 10:59 PM
Alternation
Oct 21 2009, 10:27 AM
Is the quit rent paid to the local bandaran different than the one charged by the developer? I've paid the bandaran's but should i pay my condo management's as well?