Q6600 Overclock and Temperature

xen0
post Feb 1 2008, 09:10 PM

ismi..alif..lam..ya..fa
1,486 posts

hi guys..just wanna ask..is G0 version for Q6600 still available in the market?? izzit all latest stock is G0?? planning to grab one Q6600..thank you notworthy.gif
xen0
post Feb 1 2008, 11:01 PM

ismi..alif..lam..ya..fa
1,486 posts

QUOTE(kmarc @ Feb 1 2008, 10:13 PM)
Yup. Still available.

The latest stepping is still the G0 stepping (has "SLARC" written on the box/proc, to indicate G0)
thanx kmarc notworthy.gif .. i'll join this clan soon...
xen0
post Feb 4 2008, 11:34 PM

ismi..alif..lam..ya..fa
1,486 posts

how far Q6600 G0 can go using stock HSF??
im kinda shortage right now..which HSF is affordable around RM100-200??

i saw a lot forumer using thermalright 120 extreme which the price is... sweat.gif tongue.gif
xigmatek looks cool tho.. rolleyes.gif
AC freezer 7..?? this one copper base rite?

This post has been edited by xen0: Feb 4 2008, 11:53 PM
xen0
post Feb 5 2008, 12:20 AM

ismi..alif..lam..ya..fa
1,486 posts

xigmatek is hard to find, isnt it?
someone sells it in the garage sales but currently no stock...

BTW, how about CM hyper 212..any good?

This post has been edited by xen0: Feb 5 2008, 12:21 AM
xen0
post Feb 17 2008, 07:21 PM

ismi..alif..lam..ya..fa
1,486 posts

just got my Q6600 G0 today but lazy to setup it..extremely exhausted..

today shopping very disappointed... i cant find CM Hyper 212 for my proc...all out of stock! sad.gif

CM hyper 212 is the only in my budget since TR 120 need to spend more..

This post has been edited by xen0: Feb 17 2008, 07:23 PM
xen0
post Feb 17 2008, 08:22 PM

ismi..alif..lam..ya..fa
1,486 posts

QUOTE(Hyde`fK @ Feb 17 2008, 08:10 PM)
Reapplied my Q6600 with TX-2, previously MX-2, and in correct way of applying the thermal paste for quadcore. 438FSB x 8 , 3.5Ghz 1.424v 36c idle, 1.36v 51c full load with aircon. Good?
thats good la bro..congrats.. rclxms.gif
how about no aircon?
xen0
post Mar 1 2008, 04:19 PM

ismi..alif..lam..ya..fa
1,486 posts

yeah..the temp is freaking low!! on dice huh??
the vid is low too..1.25..

ok guys, wanna ask about Thermalright 120..

there are 2 :

ultra 120
and
ultra 120 extreme

i read a review normal ultra 120 perform better than extreme..
and extreme come with high price also..
any comment?

i think i hv a budget for this baby blush.gif

This post has been edited by xen0: Mar 1 2008, 04:32 PM
xen0
post Mar 17 2008, 12:02 PM

ismi..alif..lam..ya..fa
1,486 posts

bro kmarc,

i set the bios 1.2v +37.5mV..

cpuz idle = 1.344
load = 1.296

VID = 1.3250v

so, wut is the real voltage of the bios for the cpu?
xen0
post Mar 17 2008, 01:01 PM

ismi..alif..lam..ya..fa
1,486 posts

QUOTE(kmarc @ Mar 17 2008, 12:57 PM)
How come 1.2v? VID is 1.3250v ma.... so should be 1.325v + 0.0375 = 1.3625v actual......
that's why this is really confusing me.. rclxub.gif

i'm 100% sure i set the voltage 1.2v...
xen0
post Mar 17 2008, 01:41 PM

ismi..alif..lam..ya..fa
1,486 posts

QUOTE(kmarc @ Mar 17 2008, 01:17 PM)
Your DFI mobo can set the actual vcore meh? I thought it is like mine, when you can only set +0.025v, +0.050v etc....
so..this mobo cant increase the VTT meh?? i didnt know that doh.gif
xen0
post Mar 17 2008, 02:10 PM

ismi..alif..lam..ya..fa
1,486 posts

QUOTE(mfcm @ Mar 17 2008, 01:51 PM)
@xeno
how u said u 100% sure u set 1.2v?this dk cant set vid..u jus able to add ur vid or make it at stock vid as if u set it to auto vid..so let say u said ur stock vid is 1.32v..so the vid stated in genie bios will b auto..is equall to ur stock vid oredi..when u add more vcore.dat wat u need to sum of the stock vid 1.32v(auto)+vcore u added
i do know i cant change the VID. but i hv no idea about the link between VTT and VID..

so thats mean, i cant change the VTT value in the bios?? even i increase it, the value will not change?

all i hv to do is increasing the VID special add..?

so thats the idea, isnt it? smile.gif

lol..first time intel user here... tongue.gif before this i used AMD Barton doh.gif
xen0
post Mar 17 2008, 03:24 PM

ismi..alif..lam..ya..fa
1,486 posts

QUOTE(kmarc @ Mar 17 2008, 03:14 PM)
Alamak! The VTT is the FSB termination voltage la (default at 1.2V). It is NOT the CPU vcore.....

You only need to increase that if very high FSB!!!
o really? doh.gif laugh.gif

i didnt change it btw..still at stock smile.gif

now running at 1600Mhz FSB

VID+ 50mV..failed at 37.5mV before

ram 800Mhz 4-4-4-12 with tRFC value 24 @ 2.0v..damn! this mobo DRAM timing features make me rclxub.gif

till now still priming, the temp not so good i think

69, 63, 63, 69

looks like i need tuniq unsure.gif

This post has been edited by xen0: Mar 17 2008, 03:44 PM
xen0
post Mar 17 2008, 04:11 PM

ismi..alif..lam..ya..fa
1,486 posts

QUOTE(bryanyeo87 @ Mar 17 2008, 03:53 PM)
no you dont need tuniq, u need water LoL laugh.gif
QUOTE(LExus65 @ Mar 17 2008, 04:01 PM)
CM hyper not that weak is it xen0 , ur temp is so high....
i know the temp is high...maybe i didnt paste the compound the right way..or i need a performance thermal compound unsure.gif
its opened side panel tho..if close the temp increase to 1-2c..
xen0
post Mar 17 2008, 05:02 PM

ismi..alif..lam..ya..fa
1,486 posts

QUOTE(mfcm @ Mar 17 2008, 04:45 PM)
bro u did tweak ur ram setting oso?y not try to tweak ur proc to get highest fsb it can do 1st..let the ram on default setting..then later u tweak ur ram once u know ur highest fsb u can go
i hv no time to test higher FSB...will do it later..even now, at 3.2Ghz the temp is high when priming.. sweat.gif

if i want to get the highest FSB for the proc, the FSB:DRAM ratio also at default?? or stick to 1:1 ?
xen0
post Mar 17 2008, 05:34 PM

ismi..alif..lam..ya..fa
1,486 posts

QUOTE(mfcm @ Mar 17 2008, 05:13 PM)
for me i put 1:1 so u'll oc ur proc n ram together but jus let the ram setting default 1st..huhu slowly bro..cant rush when oc nod.gif
huhu..i dont really rush...thanks for the guide tho..you guys are really helpful notworthy.gif ..need more guides from the expert here in the future smile.gif

QUOTE(remysix @ Mar 17 2008, 05:14 PM)
@xen0,
u said u ran at 1600Mhz FSB...i think that would actually mean 400Mhz...quad-pump 1600Mhz...so 400x9=3600Mhz with the following vcore behavior:
cpuz idle = 1.344
      load = 1.296
...well, my q66 would never even pass 3.4G with that vcore setting...so, r u sure u can do 3.6Ghz with just 1.296vcore@load?
now i run at 400 x 8 = 3200Mhz..and yes, quad-pump up to 1600Mhz..

i increase the VID add to +50mv now...and the load vcore is 1.312v..and idle is 1.344v..
if i plug in the FDP, could it be any significant different for my vdrop/vdroop?

now still priming..still stable after 4 hours smile.gif

all i hv to do now is to cope the temp sweat.gif

69, 63, 63, 69

why those 2 cores are higher than the rest? its 6c higher... unsure.gif

Added on March 17, 2008, 5:51 pma week after i bought CM hyper 212...ckhoong got stock for xigmatek doh.gif

This post has been edited by xen0: Mar 17 2008, 05:51 PM

0.0381sec    1.65    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 07:52 AM