Q6600 Overclock and Temperature

k!nex
post Jul 10 2008, 11:30 AM

Restless stars
3,389 posts

i think he mean 8x is it?mine currently only do 3.00 ghz only.voltage in BIOS set at 1.265V.in ambient temperature around 24 C,proc temp lowest is 27C(idle) highest 59C(full load). using xigmatek HDT-S963+tuniq tx-2 + 1 more 12cm Silverstone FM123 (2600rpm) for my exhaust fan.no intake fan, coz dunno whre to put. using centurion 5 casing wif transparent side panel.

This post has been edited by k!nex: Jul 10 2008, 11:31 AM
k!nex
post Jul 14 2008, 11:13 AM

Restless stars
3,389 posts

sifu's, i feel like wanna OC higher wif my Q6600(G0 stepping).in coretemp, the VID stated there is 1.275V.currently i'm running at 3.0ghz,bios setting for Vcore is 1.265V. i tried increase Vcore to 1.3V, make it to 3.2Ghz but one of the cores will fail prime95 after 2-4hrs.Vdimm already set to +0.2V.other setting never touch before,except lock tht PCI-E bus to 100 and lower my ram speed before i OC.spec at siggy. those power saving features tht kmarc mentioned in his guide are disabled already.

my question is:
1. is it the time tht i shud increase my NB voltage?
2.if i increase, increase by how much?
3.i read alot of warnings in this forum tht NB voltage shudn't be messed around,if not,will fry the mobo.i also understand tht my mobo doesn't hv active cooling for the NB.is it compulsary to add active cooling fan to my NB if i plan to overvolt it?
4.i searched for PLL voltage and gtl tht some forumers mentioned. i cant get an answer for tht. wat does it means?i'm quite unfamiliar wif these new terms as previously P4 mobo(my previous rig) dun hv these options.
k!nex
post Jul 14 2008, 12:11 PM

Restless stars
3,389 posts

if i do 400X8,means i've to slam more speed into my RAM as well rite?problem is i'm using KVR.all i noe is both my ram is same(bought at same time),using epilda chipset.i kind of regret tht i din get 4 sticks of hynix FP-Y5 wif my rig(KVR also but only available in 1gb DDR667 sticks).i've no idea wats the best speed my ram can do.thts y i go for high multiplier lower FSB setting.anyone has the same ram as mine?
k!nex
post Jul 14 2008, 07:10 PM

Restless stars
3,389 posts

OCCT at auto setting was stable wif 400X8.RAM 900+mhz also ok it seems. din hang at all YET after 1 hr.Vcore set to 1.3v.
But, when i was greedy,i set to 400X9, Vcore up to 1.4V. OCCT start few second already BSOD.Compare prime95 and OCCT, i feel tht Prime95 makes the proc hotter than OCCT.i get max 56C for OCCT, prime95 can go up to 59C at full load

btw, i found out smtg tht even if the processor batch is same,(mine is L802A768) the VID is different among the procs.mine rated at 1.275V.
coz i found dis:
http://forum.coolaler.com/showthread.php?t=179684
k!nex
post Aug 11 2008, 07:39 PM

Restless stars
3,389 posts

QUOTE(wookp @ Aug 9 2008, 04:47 PM)
hi there,
I am currently using a T-Power I45 mobo and max i could achieve is 3.2Ghz. Vcore at approx 1.32V at 9X Using xigmatek red scorpion...Any sifu's here can teach how to get more ar? coz if i change fsb i get BSOD...
lower ur multiplier to 8X. from my own experience, i do better wif 8X multiplier than 9x.

Added on August 11, 2008, 7:43 pm
QUOTE(Braynumb @ Aug 10 2008, 09:18 PM)
My setup (check my siggy) can OC max so far at 3.5GHz 389x9 with 1.55v. But the load temps are scary though. 71-73'c. now still trying to find better settings so that can OC higher. Any advice anyone? icon_question.gif

Currently running at 3.2GHz for daily use (400x8 with 1.4v).

____________________________________________________________________________________________________

*Update*
Currently OCed to 3.5GHz with new max load temps! 65-69'C! But somehow, can't seem to go higher than this... any advice?? which vcore reading should i be looking at? in CPU-Z or in bios??

[attachmentid=554518]
hv u tried to pull out 2 piece of ur RAM for OC ??i've seen ppl's comment abt if u put 4 sticks of RAM,it will lower ur OC abit.ur load temp is really scary blink.gif
maybe different batch batch of Q6600,i only need to set 1.29V at bios for 400X8 setting.btw, ur proc is almost same like kmarc's one judging from the voltage and frequency u get. laugh.gif

This post has been edited by k!nex: Aug 11 2008, 07:43 PM
k!nex
post Aug 12 2008, 02:52 AM

Restless stars
3,389 posts

QUOTE(Braynumb @ Aug 11 2008, 10:23 PM)
hehehe... probably coz Kmarc is my sifu leh... hehehe... learned alot from him actually...

never heard about removing the ram trick... might try that next week.. for now just use it at 3.2GHz... safer and better...

well, I set in the bios is 1.4v but in CPU-z it's 1.23... that's alot of vdroop... but, it's stable, so, it's good to me...
ur vdroop... shocking.gif
wats ur temp at 3.2 ghz?
mine is around 29C at idle,58C at 100% load.
i set 1.29 at bios, cpuz reads at 1.24 idle and 1.184-1.2V at load(prime95 blend test).
i wanna see how good is ur 12cm xigmatek, i feel like switching to red scorpion also laugh.gif
k!nex
post Sep 5 2008, 03:44 PM

Restless stars
3,389 posts

QUOTE(uzairi @ Sep 4 2008, 04:29 PM)
At last managed to get it to run at 3.7ghz  sweat.gif
u shud try intel burn test.i'm quite sure ur temps will shoot up to 80C++. i tried mine on the program. u on few seconds temps already can shoot till maximum . and it fails so easily.normally i use 1.293Vcore to boot at 3.2Ghz.i tried intel burn in test.bios there set 1.33Vcore also can fail the test in less than an hour. i use coretemp for my temperature reading. using prime95 blend test, i get like 58C like dat.using intel burn test, i get ~63C.
k!nex
post Sep 17 2008, 02:48 AM

Restless stars
3,389 posts

Anyone here using gigabyte EP35-DS3 mobo or P35-DS3 rev 2.1?
after using my pc for few months,at first i tot my proc was degrading due to overclocking.coz it used to be stable at 1.29V at bios(can pass 24 hrs prime95 blend test).few days back, i played UT3,it hanged somehow when it was stable normally.den i spent a night doing prime95.surprisingly it hanged after 1 hr, one of the core get error.normally when u get dis kind of error, u'll bump up the Vcore to stablise it.i tried upping the Vcore 3 notches already in the bios but still fail prime at 5 hrs like dat although it improved.den i tot one of the core is dying.nvm den. i suspect another thing,my RAM. i went through memtest86 and everything was stable too.test 5 50 passes 0 fail.den i hand itchy go touch my NB while doing memtest, waaa..my finger nearly got burnt.den i off my pc and find smtg to cool my NB.i dismantle a fan from an old coolermaster heatsink from my old Athlon XP.shud be 60mm or 70mm.den i screw it onto my NB.only 2 screws fit in becoz the fan is bigger than the NB heatsink.and its not perfectly bolted in(its held tight enuf though).when i power it up,the fan at NB is a 7k++rpm type to my surprise. i tested the same old setting and passed 10 hrs of Prime95 and still doing it. anyways i'm just sharing dis wif u guys,the NB temperature might be the culprit of ur overclock failure.thank god,its not my proc.

so far i've never raised my FSB above 400Mhz, so VTT/FSB termination voltage and vNB/vMCH) never increase before.i hate the idea of taking out my mobo to replace my NB cooler(stock one is just a lousy heatsink).i tot of replacing it wif a cooler master blue ice pro but it'll void the mobo warranty.

This post has been edited by k!nex: Sep 17 2008, 02:52 AM
k!nex
post Sep 17 2008, 05:27 PM

Restless stars
3,389 posts

for quads,when do u need to increase ur NB voltage and FSB voltage?my mobo dun hv GTL settings,so forget it.
i mean at wat FSB? and wat situation only will u increase it?
k!nex
post Sep 26 2008, 10:45 PM

Restless stars
3,389 posts

QUOTE(cscheat @ Sep 19 2008, 11:35 AM)
4Ghz is stable of course, but i wont run it for 24/7 ! it is for benching

i need around 1.6v
wahh... 1.6V. u need watercooling for tht ?
btw, 1.6V for 4ghz is very good already. i've seen the Q8200, ppl need 1.5V+ to make it 500X 7=3.5Ghz on a 45nm proc.Q6600 is rocks.

Added on September 26, 2008, 10:47 pm
QUOTE(zubai @ Sep 24 2008, 04:42 PM)
My room temp it around 32C @ afternoon. I'm using xigmatek achilles, can this heatsink cool q6600 effectively? I'm planning on changing to this cpu maybe try to reach 3.2ghz.
achilles is more suitable for AM2 platform becoz the chip is bigger.but sure it can cool a Q6600 well. dun worry.if u wan do 3.2Ghz, watch temps only.good luck

This post has been edited by k!nex: Sep 26 2008, 10:47 PM
k!nex
post Sep 30 2008, 07:26 PM

Restless stars
3,389 posts

QUOTE(syahirax @ Sep 30 2008, 05:29 AM)
B3 is an old stepping.ANyway currently running my Q6600 B3 around 46C idle and 60C load?
ur proc at wat GHz at CPU-z show wat voltage at idle? ur load is equals to prime,orthos or IBT? i quite interesting to noe B3 temps compare to the newer quads.
k!nex
post Oct 5 2008, 05:18 AM

Restless stars
3,389 posts

QUOTE(syahirax @ Oct 4 2008, 04:08 PM)
okay im running on prime.never test it with orthos or IBT.Basically prime pass around 9 hours or more.

Added on October 4, 2008, 6:55 pm

well it is,although ive lapped it to mirror finish and running 3ghz at 1.34,its still hot.Maybe air ventilation in my casing are not that good.
ur chip is sure hot. for mine..is G0 stepping VID 1.275. i do 3.2Ghz 1.264V at idle, 1.21V at load. at ambient 24C like dat, my idle 32C, load 54C(prime95).

btw, u lapped it to mirror finish got big difference in temperature drop?? u shud try IBT, 9 hrs of prime cannot show its full stability. u can pass 50 rounds of IBT den it's around 98%++ stable. take note of ur temps,u'll be shocked brows.gif

This post has been edited by k!nex: Oct 5 2008, 05:20 AM
k!nex
post Oct 14 2008, 06:53 PM

Restless stars
3,389 posts

very abnormal if u hvnt raise vcore to overclock.tht picture is idle or 100% load?? one of ur harddisk is 62C which u shud get warning already. harddisk shutdown temperature is 75C.
k!nex
post Oct 21 2008, 04:21 AM

Restless stars
3,389 posts

QUOTE(nas06 @ Oct 20 2008, 03:44 PM)
Hi everyone, i'm a new user of Q6600..
I'm searching for a new cooler to overclock my processor..
I'm currently using AC Alpine 7..
Between Zalman and Cooler Master CPU coolers, which is better?
Or is there any other coolers that is better? hmm.gif
I've been reviewing CM Hyper Z-600 and Zalman CNPS9700 NT(Nvidia version)
Need suggestions from u guys..
read here.dis might help u
k!nex
post Oct 29 2008, 05:22 AM

Restless stars
3,389 posts

if i'm not mistaken,he tweaked his GTL setting to achieve lower vcore, from wat i see VTT increased from 1.2 to 1.38.bro cscheat,mind to let us noe how much vNB u pump??
k!nex
post Nov 2 2008, 08:14 PM

Restless stars
3,389 posts

QUOTE(iBenQ @ Nov 2 2008, 04:46 PM)
hmmm at 1.45v cpu still not stable @ 3.6ghz... after 3-4 minutes on prime95, get bluescreen n restart... on stock hsf, 3.6 @1.45v core temp is around 60c, and cpu temp is 50+ idle @@
probably not stable coz temp too high at load. u're using stock heatsink. suspect auto throttling or just shut off coz temp too high. thts y ur OC not stable.
k!nex
post Nov 13 2008, 07:48 PM

Restless stars
3,389 posts

guys, i think its time for new games to fully utilise our quad core procs. look at recommended requirement for GTAIV here. it says:

GTA IV PC delayed, system requirements

Rockstar has confirmed the rumoured delay of GTA IV PC that puts the release of the game all the way back until December 2nd. The announcement confirms the change in retailer dates that were first spotted on retailers websites.

The delay puts the release of the game back by two whole weeks, though Rockstar haven't explained what exactly the reason for the slip is.

The good news though is that Rockstar has at least released the minimum and recommended system requirements for the game, which appear similar to those which had previously been leaked by Microsoft's Games for Windows website before they were removed, Check them out below.

Minimum System Requirements
* OS: Windows Vista - Service Pack 1 / XP - Service Pack 3
* Processor: Intel Core 2 Duo 1.8Ghz, AMD Athlon X2 64 2.4Ghz
* Memory: 1.5GB, 16GB Free Hard Drive Space
* Video Card: 256MB NVIDIA 7900 / 256MB ATI X1900

Recommended System Requirements
* OS: Windows Vista - Service Pack 1 / XP - Service Pack 3
* Processor: Intel Core 2 Quad 2.4Ghz, AMD Phenom X3 2.1Ghz <----------------------concentrate here
* Memory: 2 GB (Windows XP) 2.5 GB (Windows Vista)
* 18 GB Free Hard Drive Space
* Video Card: 512MB NVIDIA 8600 / 512MB ATI 3870

means games are starting to favour quads over duals rclxm9.gif

oopss..sorry sorry. i forgotten dis is not hardware thread..i can delete it if u guys wan it.

This post has been edited by k!nex: Nov 13 2008, 07:59 PM
k!nex
post Nov 16 2008, 06:24 PM

Restless stars
3,389 posts

i just saw 1 guy wif 4.3ghz wif a Q6600. need phase change shakehead.gif
he's in this forum but not this thread i think
k!nex
post Nov 18 2008, 12:03 AM

Restless stars
3,389 posts

QUOTE(iBenQ @ Nov 17 2008, 09:39 PM)
HOW HOW!!!.. interested here ahahaha... but can someone tell me wat factors cause bluescreen when benchmarking my proc @ 4ghz??? izzit temp too high or voltage too low? >"<
normally is not enuf voltage
k!nex
post Nov 27 2008, 08:24 PM

Restless stars
3,389 posts

QUOTE(cscheat @ Nov 27 2008, 08:16 PM)
for me, i will never go 60C during load !
give me 5. rclxms.gif same opinion wif u. during benchmark awhile high temps ok la. not for long term use. the chip will degrade very fast.

0.0449sec    0.30    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 09:50 PM