Q6600 2.4GHz OC to 2.88GHz @ 320MHz bus speed
Pros:Memory = 1:1
Kingston value ram DDR2 667MHz -> 640MHz
5-5-5-15
Ram multiplier X2

My HSF is ori/stock.. brows.gif

My 3Dmark06 reading went up from 12348 to 13786
My temp fluctuate from 53 to 59deg C puring Prime95 (small FFT) test.
Pass..

Question:
1)Is my reading for the 3Dmark reasonable?
2)Is the Procs temperature reasonable?
3)Can i OC further to 333MHz bus speed with my stock cooler?

thanks, your comment is valuable...

(thanks to Kmarc guide to OC, i manage to get it step by step thumbup.gif )

This post has been edited by jeromeccm: Mar 7 2008, 09:52 PM
jeromeccm
post Mar 8 2008, 12:05 AM

545 posts

QUOTE(vearn27 @ Mar 7 2008, 10:48 PM)
Hmm... you are overclocking at stock VCore? It seems like your Q6600 has a high VID. BTW, if your processor core temperature (any) doesn't exceed 65C during maximum load (priming), that should be fine. However, get a decent 3rd party cpu cooler to squeeze extra performance from your processor smile.gif
thanks....

I did adjust the vcore abit... not that much only....

Yup i ordered the sigmatek red scorpion S1283. Planning to OC till 3.6G at lease. New ram comming too...

thanks for your comment nod.gif
jeromeccm
post Mar 17 2008, 12:15 AM

545 posts

hi guys..

Just received my xigmatek today for my OC PC.
My spec:
Q6600
OCZ Platinum Rev 2 PC6400 DDR800 2G (dual channel) (memory set to 1:2 ratio)
Foxconn Mars Board
8800GT Zotac amp 512MB
CM450W true power

1) Please refer to my setting the picture below
- I set the cpu voltage to 1.35v
- I tested using Prime95 with small FFT (it was ok for 20m) tested pass
- When i tested with 3Dmark06, the result is as in the picture. Stable

Then i increase to 380MHz, the PC boot. and when i tested with Prime95 with small FFT, it passed as well.
however i tested with 3DMark06, in the middle of the test, it hang and reboot. But the buss didnt jump to previous setting.
buss speed still the same 380MHz.
Is this normal? what should i do next?

2) Then i decided to lower the cpu multiplier to 8 as shown in the picture below.
- Memory bus can reach 400MHz with the same voltage
- I tested with Prime95 with small FFT. Passed
- Tested with 3Dmark06 too.

Then i increase to 410MHz, same thing, passed Prime95 but failed 3Dmark06 (reboot)

I know my processor can push further but i dont know what to do already.
All temperature is witin the safe range (below 65deg C)

I dont think it is my ram issue because the Ram can be OC.
need advise what to do next.

thanks.

jeromeccm
post Mar 17 2008, 08:47 AM

545 posts

QUOTE(kmarc @ Mar 17 2008, 07:13 AM)
You probably need more vcore. 1.35v set in BIOS?

What's your CPUz load vcore?  hmm.gif
Yes, i have set the Vcore to 1.35v in bios.

According to your guid, the reading in CPUz for vcore should be lower than the actual voltage in bios vcore reading.
From my pic, my Vcore in Bios is 1.35v
My cpuz reading in idle is 1.352v blink.gif
vdrop = -0.002? rclxub.gif

during load my cpuz vcore is 1.336 - 1.328 (changes)
then my Vdrop should be changing from 0.014 to 0.022v

should i push my vcore furthre abit?
jeromeccm
post Mar 17 2008, 11:03 AM

545 posts

QUOTE(kmarc @ Mar 17 2008, 09:20 AM)
Have to remember that software monitoring of voltages are not that accurate.

Yeah, you can probably increase your vcore a bit more.... Q6600 G0 is warrantied until 1.5v but I don't dare go that high.... me chicken...  whistling.gif
ha ha... i can see you are having the same GHz as mine. but your Vcore is higher than mine... I will try again..
I am suspecting the PSU. i saw the review for this motherboard, the bus speed can reach 500+MHz... sigh... look at mine is like.... shit..... shakehead.gif

by the way, i am using a CM450M real power. The efficiency is 75%. i saw the product range, after this series are the SLI already. So i was thinking this should be sufficient right since i am not in SLI mode.
jeromeccm
post Mar 17 2008, 12:49 PM

545 posts

QUOTE(kmarc @ Mar 17 2008, 11:42 AM)
Yeah, but load vcore both the same.  tongue.gif My mobo bad vdroop....  sad.gif

If you don't have a power-hungry graphic card, then it should still be ok. Your PSU is true power one or not? 450w is cutting it a bit close, especially if you have lots of hardware on your rig.....

500+mhz bus speed is good but in general, the Q6600 has a CPU fsb wall of about 450-460mhz.....
I think the 8800GT 512amp is not power hunger compare to the old 8800GTS and the GTX series... so i think this should be pretty safe. correct me if i am wrong..
yeah, my psu is CM450Matt true power. no much hard ware, only 1 DVD writer, 1 HDD, 1 GFX, 2 casis fan and one blow out fan for the GFX.

If mine can hit 450MHz X 9 is the best lo but if 450MHz X 8 also ok... 3.6G already...
jeromeccm
post Mar 17 2008, 01:10 PM

545 posts

QUOTE(kmarc @ Mar 17 2008, 12:57 PM)
How come 1.2v? VID is 1.3250v ma.... so should be 1.325v + 0.0375 = 1.3625v actual......
Cutting it a bit close but should be OK if you don't OC your graphic card too..... your PSU will kaput faster also if it is working near max all the time....

Wah! Can reach 3.6Ghz aaa? You would need lots of vcore for that though.....
yeah... actually i think i should feel satisfy to OC till 3.2G... I prime95 yesterday over night... running stable..
I see whether can do 3.4 or not with 1.4vcore...

3Dmark06 hit 14k+....a bit greedy because i was trying to hit 15k benchmark..

my card is already OC by factory default... ke ke ke
jeromeccm
post Mar 17 2008, 01:24 PM

545 posts

QUOTE(kmarc @ Mar 17 2008, 01:17 PM)
Your DFI mobo can set the actual vcore meh? I thought it is like mine, when you can only set +0.025v, +0.050v etc....
Push higher!  thumbup.gif
hey dude... you push higher also la... i will post more result tomorrow... you post yours also ok... ke ke ke...
i saw the tomshardware review... It is pretty normal to reach 3.3GHz cpu without changing the multiplier

http://www.tomshardware.com/2007/11/08/dua...uad/page20.html

jeromeccm
post Jul 1 2008, 02:52 PM

545 posts

QUOTE(dARKaNGEl @ Jun 27 2008, 03:32 PM)
this also u complain hot d?
my Q6600 G0 at 3GHz (375x8) @1.375v and my coretemp showing 68C already... i'm using Hyper212.

ur ram can go around 46xMHz. is that ddr 800 or 1066?
just sharing...

my Q6600 running at 1.42 Vcore, 400X9 = 3.6G
Temp idle = 43C, Load Max = 60C

heatsink fan: Xigmatek Scorpion
Therml past (very important!!!!!! MX2 or Tuniq)

i used to use capalang thermal past.. temp was 65 at 1.37 at 3.2G.. but now can go somemore... woohoooo rclxm9.gif

credit goes to cstkl1.. he thought me how to OC my processor with the Biostar I45..

This post has been edited by jeromeccm: Jul 1 2008, 02:54 PM
jeromeccm
post Jul 1 2008, 04:40 PM

545 posts

QUOTE(BurgerRI @ Jul 1 2008, 04:37 PM)
jeromeccm.......very nice max load temps....are you able to go any higher with the Biostar I45?
trying to hit the 4G Bench... actually with my current voltage setting. i can esily hit 3.8G.. let me do more test first.... will share here...

personally i think if can hit 4G with Air colling is consider ver very good performance... notice not many people can get that...

the board helps alot... with foxconn mars... i cant hit 3.6G stable....
this board is great....

This post has been edited by jeromeccm: Jul 1 2008, 04:42 PM
jeromeccm
post Jul 1 2008, 06:06 PM

545 posts

QUOTE(dARKaNGEl @ Jul 1 2008, 05:48 PM)
vid is 1.325. 9x can go for higher clock but needs higher vcore also right?
already 2x120mm exhaust and 1x120mm intake case fans. no more bracket to put more...
ur temperature is captured using what software? when i use coretemp, it's much higher than my ASUS AI Suite temperature. so which is real?
I'm also using Tuniq for thermal paste.
HWMonitor from CPUID and OCCT.. open either one software only to monitor....
jeromeccm
post Jul 1 2008, 09:50 PM

545 posts

QUOTE(skylineGTR @ Jul 1 2008, 09:47 PM)
hi guys, currently testing my friend's rig (Q6600, Biostar TPower I45, Gemini2 with 2x12cm CM fan 90cfm, CM690) stressing using prime95, monitor temp using core temp n biostar TPower2 software, but the temp reading are diff (10C), can i trust the core temp reading? (max 67C so far by core temp)
i tihnk the tpower2 sotfware is more accurate... it is very similar when i use the OCCT to stress...
jeromeccm
post Jul 11 2008, 12:33 AM

545 posts

QUOTE(sigheart @ Jul 10 2008, 07:18 PM)
Hi guys, I've had a Q6600 for quite some time now and today I just did my first overclock (OC noob  sweat.gif ) and OCed my Q6600 to 3GHz for starters. Everything seemed to be fine and all and went into windows. And then I started up Prime95 to stress test. What I got was the first time I stressed test it after just 4 mins there is an error in one of the Cores. But I restarted Prime 95 then after 1 hour only an error showed up. Restarted again then this time it took 4 hours ++ for an error to show up. I restarted my PC and this time 4 hours and still no error. Is this normal ? and does this mean my system can be considered "stable" ? Oh yea btw my rig specs is as shown in my sig. Temperature on full load with no air conditioning at all on a very hot day after 4 hours highest for Core 1 66 degrees, Core 2 66 degrees, Core 3 62 degrees and Core 4 also 62 degrees.  nod.gif
try OCCT... more intense stress.... if you pass OCCT, the rest should not be a problem.

0.0391sec    0.43    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 03:50 AM