Q6600 Overclock and Temperature

irenic
post Jul 25 2007, 02:18 AM

extr3me n3wbie
7,338 posts

wah u guys wish i become lab mouse ar ? laugh.gif hehe

erm actually, i already grabbed myself a q6600 B3 stepping .. i know i should wait with G0 but since i have no processor to use, i've no choice but to buy this.. maybe if it's so sux, i'll buy a G0 once it becomes available in the store.. and the real reason i bought this quad core over the E6850 is bcoz i got few video editting works to be finished by next month.. so hopefully it worth to use this q6600 over the super overclocked E6850.. rolleyes.gif

i'll share some info soon biggrin.gif

Default Q6600 Idle temp..

Default Q6600 Load temp (15mins stress test)

This post has been edited by irenic: Jul 25 2007, 02:58 AM
irenic
post Jul 25 2007, 03:09 AM

extr3me n3wbie
7,338 posts

QUOTE(mfcm @ Jul 25 2007, 03:06 AM)
haha richest lab mouse..haha famous than STUART tongue.gif later still getting q66?y not take x6850 brows.gif
enuff bout mouse..i hate mouse.. haha but stuart little is ok tongue.gif

erm yeah QX6850 is tempting.. but i wont spend so much bcoz better processor in penryn will be released later on..
irenic
post Jul 25 2007, 11:15 AM

extr3me n3wbie
7,338 posts

so far i can boot at 4ghz, but then BSOD when i was login the password at vista..

and max bootable into windows is 3.85ghz.. aquamark and cinebench stable.. PI havent chance to do it coz it's located in an external drive n my friend borrow the external case..

3.85ghz:

3.85ghz cinebench:

3.85ghz aquamark (2900XT @ default):

3.80Ghz 3dmark06, xt @ 850/1100:

irenic
post Jul 25 2007, 12:14 PM

extr3me n3wbie
7,338 posts

now the next quest is to find sweet spot for daily use.. i dun want to use more than 1.4v for 24/7 so let see whether this q6600 is like most c2d where 3.2ghz @ default vcore is just piece of cake..

Added on July 25, 2007, 12:16 pm
QUOTE(TaiZi@CCF @ Jul 25 2007, 12:08 PM)
irenic, what is your vcore and temperature?
my vcore @ 3.8ghz is 1.55v while 3.85 is 1.6v.. temp idle is around 52c max, load is around 65c max

This post has been edited by irenic: Jul 25 2007, 12:16 PM
irenic
post Jul 25 2007, 12:44 PM

extr3me n3wbie
7,338 posts

QUOTE(TaiZi@CCF @ Jul 25 2007, 12:18 PM)
So, this is a pretty good result, what cooling you using?

I am going to get a B3 stepping next week, no need to wait for G0 since i am on water cooling, should be good enough to keep it cool.
watercooling.. erm well if u browse around here :

http://www.xtremesystems.org/forums/showth...t=152603&page=5

u'll found out that so far the retail G0 oc potential is same like B3, just that it runs cooler.. but not much i can say.. biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by irenic: Jul 25 2007, 01:05 PM
irenic
post Jul 26 2007, 03:54 AM

extr3me n3wbie
7,338 posts

wah ur temp damn hot.. 82c.. last time with my qx6700 and geminiII also wont reach above 70c :-s

erm maybe it's time for u to invest on better watercooling kit or high end aircooling..

and yes, G0 should run lots cooler than B3, but if u already own good wc kit, n manage to get good full load temp, so G0 or B3 wont make any difference..

irenic
post Jul 26 2007, 10:10 AM

extr3me n3wbie
7,338 posts

some info regarding the G0 stepping...

http://www.xtremesystems.org/forums/showth...=152603&page=10

http://www.xtremesystems.org/forums/showthread.php?t=152722

... looks so far only got 2-3 results..

1 guy with aircooled manage to reach 3.6ghz stable on air, and max at 3.8ghz while the other guy stable at 3.4ghz @ 1.4vcore and 3.5ghz failed prime..

so far as predicted, G0 result is just on par as B3.. some are good n some are not..

irenic
post Jul 27 2007, 11:13 AM

extr3me n3wbie
7,338 posts

guys, why ur q6600 all are so hot?
irenic
post Aug 4 2007, 12:48 PM

extr3me n3wbie
7,338 posts

sorry guys i couldnt manage to test the oc potential of this GO yet coz my p35t dq6 and B3 just died..

btw here is the stock screenshot .. tested the G0 at Ataris place flex.gif

q6600 go
stock e2160 heatsink
gigabyte p35 ds3
gigabyte 550w odin pro thumbup.gif
2x 1gb kvr ddr2 667

This post has been edited by irenic: Aug 4 2007, 12:49 PM
irenic
post Aug 5 2007, 11:33 AM

extr3me n3wbie
7,338 posts

well after some hardmod, i manage to bring my p35t dq6 to alive again! biggrin.gif

but kinda bz today.. most probably will start oc this thing tomorow biggrin.gif
irenic
post Aug 6 2007, 01:32 AM

extr3me n3wbie
7,338 posts

hi, just wanna share some idle temps of this g0 q6600 under water.. smile.gif

setup:

c2d q6600 g0 L72..
gigabyte p35t dq6
2x 1gb kingston hyperx ddr3
hd 2900xt 1gb ddr4
cooltrek radiator 1203, dtek fuzion cpu waterblock, laing d5 pump, distilled water
corsair hx620w

Q6600 g0 idle temp @ stock

Q6600 g0 idle temp @ 4.05ghz 1.6vcore

Q6600 g0 idle temp @ 4.14ghz 1.65vcore

irenic
post Aug 6 2007, 02:35 AM

extr3me n3wbie
7,338 posts

now is load temp for this q6600 g0 under water..

occt 15mins @ 1.475vcore 3.7ghz..

This post has been edited by irenic: Aug 6 2007, 02:44 AM
irenic
post Aug 6 2007, 09:23 PM

extr3me n3wbie
7,338 posts

@k8118k.

maybe ur oc not stable enuff? or it also happen at stock clock?

neway my latest 3dmark06 journey..

Score : 13603
CPU : Intel C2D Q6600 @ 4Ghz (d-tek fuzion)
M/B : Gigabyte p35t dq6 bios F3i
RAM : 2 x 1024MB kingston hyperX ddr3 1350mhz 7-7-7-21
G/C : HIS 2900XT 1gb 855/1110
Driver : Catalyst 7.7
Mod : none

and here is the comparison between E6850 @ 4ghz and Q6600 @ 4ghz.. but the q6600 2900xt is clocked at 855/1110 compared to e6850's 850/1100

irenic
post Aug 12 2007, 10:46 AM

extr3me n3wbie
7,338 posts

yups.. in terms of quad core overclocking, p35 is if not better but on par with 680i chipset.. which is far better than 965 and of coz 975..

and what makes p35 better than its 680i is the simplicity.. no need painful tweaking like the nforce one..

so gengstapo, bile lagi :-"
irenic
post Aug 12 2007, 05:55 PM

extr3me n3wbie
7,338 posts

QUOTE(remysix @ Aug 12 2007, 01:44 PM)
if i have a car that i can just step on the pad and it goes at the same speed with a car that has a cockpit like the plane - need to switch here and there, i would say the former is a better choice/performer...anyway, that maybe coming from ME who don have the skill in tweaking the mobo blush.gif
so do i .. no skill in tweaking a mobo blush.gif so thats why never have interest in using nforce 680i sli board biggrin.gif
irenic
post Dec 12 2007, 08:30 PM

extr3me n3wbie
7,338 posts

hehe now i'm back to aircooling and back to my old trusted geminiII.. i dunno why many dun like this hsf but i totally satisfied with it..

now at 3.56ghz, same vcore as my wc before, (1.45v) and stable occt .. full load temp after 15mins OCCT is around 54c and previously with wc around 49c biggrin.gif
irenic
post Apr 15 2008, 11:59 PM

extr3me n3wbie
7,338 posts

QUOTE(OC4/3 @ Apr 15 2008, 08:33 PM)
Can do 500FSB on that board or not? sweat.gif
well one of da limitation of 975 board is the fsb .. u cant go very high fsb.. even 400 also quite hard for quad core in normal situation compared to 965 chipset that can easily surpass 400..

but i still prefer 975 board over the 965. however, i dun this is the best board for quaddie now. i think either p35 or x48 board will do the job better than the 975..

irenic
post Apr 16 2008, 03:26 AM

extr3me n3wbie
7,338 posts

QUOTE(ckffeng @ Apr 16 2008, 12:00 AM)
so , as conclusion 975 are far better from 965 ??
it's hard to say this is better than the other one.. coz both has pros n cons..

for me i prefer 975 bcoz of it provides extra stability and extra performance clock per clock..

but for max oc, it still cant beat 965 chipset ..

btw, well for now if u want to choose the best mobo for quaddie, i think u can just skip this 2 boards... i believe both has their own glory in the past so lets give the highlight to the current chipsets tongue.gif

This post has been edited by irenic: Apr 16 2008, 03:26 AM

0.0371sec    0.59    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 04:19 PM