bryanyeo87
post Feb 18 2008, 02:30 PM

Below the Belt
3,175 posts

QUOTE(genyo @ Feb 17 2008, 04:51 PM)
hi all..
setting up for Q6600 now..
budget for my mobo only 400..
going to overclock it, expected can get 3.4 to 3.6.. cooler is giga galaxy..
i saw some1 selling used Gigabyte 965P-DQ6 for 400..
i better get tis mobo or going for new Gigabyte P35-DS3??
thx..
get the p35 ds3
bryanyeo87
post Feb 18 2008, 09:31 PM

Below the Belt
3,175 posts

*note, you need to connect the vmod pin to a vss pin

anybody care to try it out? brows.gif

This post has been edited by bryanyeo87: Feb 18 2008, 09:35 PM
bryanyeo87
post Feb 19 2008, 05:49 PM

Below the Belt
3,175 posts

QUOTE(AceCombat @ Feb 19 2008, 04:30 PM)
just to mod to 1333fsb?

for me i willing to set in bios lo tongue.gif
QUOTE(remysix @ Feb 19 2008, 05:40 PM)
couldnt agree more with you la bro...no need to go the hassle. unless it's something like vdroop mod, then can consider...but good info thou
well, it could boot the NB a looser timings or a looser strap, thus helping it to OC abit more laugh.gif

probable chance for the above happening is 1 in 100 icon_idea.gif

QUOTE(EricCYL @ Feb 19 2008, 05:12 AM)
If vcore , divider set to auto, i manage to clock as far as 3.2GHz+  sweat.gif But running on 4:5 divider  hmm.gif

What's the max vcore Q6600 can run anyway? I read some article said that it will run 1.4+ voltage  hmm.gif

EDIT:TYPO  rclxub.gif
From my email to intel tech support about RMA and warranty:

Hello Bryan,

Thank you for contacting Intel® Customer Support.

Since the maximum recommended voltage for your processor is 1.5 volts and it is running at 1.45 volts, it means that your processor is running under specifications, so the warranty is still valid if it is a retail boxed processor and if it is not older than 3 years.

have fun! laugh.gif
bryanyeo87
post Feb 19 2008, 06:43 PM

Below the Belt
3,175 posts

oh yes it does brows.gif

but thats assuming the voltage is a clean 1.5v without spikes above 1.5v la tongue.gif
bryanyeo87
post Feb 21 2008, 03:19 AM

Below the Belt
3,175 posts

QUOTE(cschun86 @ Feb 20 2008, 11:13 PM)
u need good cooling if u wana OC quad,
mine 3.6ghz max temp only around 52C
but blow with high cfm at room temp...

Added on February 20, 2008, 11:14 pm

sure ur quad are better,
coz ur quad VID is 1.275V only,
mine is 1.3125.

mine is running at room temp lar,
no time to bring rig home to test in air con room...
52c is idle or load? and using what software to monitor?

btw, the VID theory is just a theory, it cannot be proven due to the fact that 50% of higher VID chips can oc higher
bryanyeo87
post Feb 22 2008, 01:45 AM

Below the Belt
3,175 posts

QUOTE(cschun86 @ Feb 21 2008, 08:17 PM)
52C is full load temperature @ 3.6Ghz,
using gigabyte easy tune to check the temp,
coz the core temp doesnt work out in my vista ultimate 64bit...
har gaygaybite's easy tune ar??

i can easily say, add 12c to 15 to that temps. coz gigabyte reads the temp from the middle of the die, and not on the cores sweat.gif
bryanyeo87
post Feb 22 2008, 09:59 AM

Below the Belt
3,175 posts

lavalys everest?
bryanyeo87
post Mar 5 2008, 02:47 AM

Below the Belt
3,175 posts

QUOTE(vearn27 @ Mar 4 2008, 04:16 PM)
Anyone here care to share your setting for the VID when you overclock your Q6600 to 356MHz x 9 = 3.2GHz? unsure.gif
mine running on 357x9 with
1.275v bios
1.232v windows
1.200v load

This post has been edited by bryanyeo87: Mar 5 2008, 02:48 AM
bryanyeo87
post Mar 8 2008, 01:29 AM

Below the Belt
3,175 posts

QUOTE(jeromeccm @ Mar 8 2008, 12:05 AM)
thanks....

I did adjust the vcore abit... not that much only....

Yup i ordered the sigmatek red scorpion S1283. Planning to OC till 3.6G at lease. New ram comming too...

thanks for your comment  nod.gif
its xigmatek, not sigmatek tongue.gif

and guaranteed ur temps will shoot above 65c at 3.6ghz, maybe even low 70's smile.gif

unless you have aircond on la and at the coldest setting

QUOTE(cky80 @ Mar 8 2008, 12:07 AM)
fellow OC'ers thumbup.gif

i have a problem. CPUZ, Coretemp, Speedfan, BIOS and easytune (gigabyte rev5) all gimme different reading rclxub.gif

1) thats because there is such a thing called vdroop and vdrop smile.gif

2) i would use coretemps reading, but then again, all software reading is quite inaccurate :S
speedfan needs to be calibrated to give a better reading and considering your cpu is a ES unit (as per the SC)

3) afaik, gigabyte p35x ds3x (x denotes r or/and c) doesnt have a NB sensor. the NB sensor seen normally in utilities is actually the SB. Stock voltage for it is 1.25v as per intel's specifications for P35

4)use a laser thermal sensor or finger, or thermometer.
bryanyeo87
post Mar 17 2008, 03:53 PM

Below the Belt
3,175 posts

no you dont need tuniq, u need water LoL laugh.gif
bryanyeo87
post Mar 21 2008, 10:51 PM

Below the Belt
3,175 posts

QUOTE(mnemonic_80 @ Mar 21 2008, 09:55 PM)
Just "gatal-gatal" only..   tongue.gif still using stock cooling... is this ok?  sweat.gif

nice starting oc biggrin.gif

try to bump higher biggrin.gif

Added on March 21, 2008, 10:54 pm
QUOTE(LExus65 @ Mar 17 2008, 06:09 PM)
tukar redscropian lor, what to do......... ur CM hyper just sell it away lar, lot of ppl want it

as for the core temp for different core will be differ form each other different for all processor even the same model.
redscorpion wont be enough, even TRUE 120 isn't enough to cool down my quad

This post has been edited by bryanyeo87: Mar 21 2008, 10:54 PM
bryanyeo87
post Mar 28 2008, 06:12 PM

Below the Belt
3,175 posts

QUOTE(karchis @ Mar 28 2008, 06:07 PM)
okies...
already running prime95 for 9hours...and there is no error on all cores...
i think it's already stabile...urm..
how about my ram timing..is't ok with 5-5-5-12?
the tighter, the better smile.gif

but balance it between voltage:performance lor

two more things, what cooler are you using? and aircond room or not? and whats the voltage for 3.0ghz at bios, and at windows load?
bryanyeo87
post Mar 28 2008, 10:23 PM

Below the Belt
3,175 posts

QUOTE(karchis @ Mar 28 2008, 07:39 PM)
owh..thx..
i'm using arctic cooling 7 pro..not in aircond room..
my voltage in bios is 1,275V..
the voltage when windows load is at cpu-z right?
then, windows load is 1,184V
i smell a good cpu smile.gif

mine does about the same as yours, max oc is about 4.3ghz although the psu crapped out :S

hmm... get a better cooler biggrin.gif

btw, your temps, you monitored using coretemp?
bryanyeo87
post Mar 29 2008, 01:52 PM

Below the Belt
3,175 posts

QUOTE(karchis @ Mar 29 2008, 12:28 AM)
nope..cos..the core temp will crash when i using prime95..so i use speedfan...
4.3Ghz?hoho..that's with value or performance ram?
value rams tongue.gif

in my dictionary, there is no such thing as performance rams, its how you look for it (the chipsets) tongue.gif

with the exception of a few special rams like balistix, tracers, xtreem, 10th annies, and legends tongue.gif

hmm... coretemp crashing, try the latest version 0.97.1

This post has been edited by bryanyeo87: Mar 29 2008, 01:55 PM
bryanyeo87
post Mar 31 2008, 01:52 PM

Below the Belt
3,175 posts

QUOTE(karchis @ Mar 29 2008, 05:48 PM)
urm..already try coretemp 97.1...but still crash when using prime95..is the reading accurate? cos..when i check my temp in bios...it's below 40..but..using core temp in idle..is 50-52..i think..in bios is the cpu temp..while in coretemp...is for the core itself..am i right? unsure.gif
after clean my fan n casing...i really like the temp..hehe..

urmm..which one is most accurate..?speedfan or core temp..?

here is my temp when idle...
[attachmentid=429511]
you need to set offset +15 for each core in speed fan smile.gif

QUOTE(ir1z @ Mar 31 2008, 01:06 PM)
the speedfan must be joking. at idle room temp should not be 22C. u would need an aircond room at least to get those temp. Unless that is if ur using besides air colling on ur rig....

this is my current result after some help from a sifu.....

running at 8x400=3.2
vcore at bios=1.2875
others can see in pic provided below
nice smile.gif

rclxms.gif
bryanyeo87
post Apr 3 2008, 05:35 PM

Below the Belt
3,175 posts

QUOTE(ocz @ Apr 3 2008, 04:05 PM)
Which is faster,Q6600 or E8400?
depends smile.gif

on what sense ?

multi threaded? single threaded? overclocked speeds? stock speeds?

Added on April 3, 2008, 5:35 pm
QUOTE(karchis @ Mar 31 2008, 09:55 PM)

Added on March 31, 2008, 9:56 pm
urm..actually..the temp in my place is around 10-15°... smile.gif
nice biggrin.gif biggrin.gif

where you from?

This post has been edited by bryanyeo87: Apr 3 2008, 05:35 PM
bryanyeo87
post Apr 4 2008, 10:41 PM

Below the Belt
3,175 posts

QUOTE(ocz @ Apr 4 2008, 10:34 PM)
Thank you bro.Its really hard for me to decide.
Well,sometimes i do play games,but not high end one.
All i want is my pc to be fast in all task and applications i use.
You are right bro.
Quad is also good for gaming right?
Is any much different for the FPS?
What do you mean by that?
I don't think E8400 is not a good multi tasking processor.
if you multi-task like i do, dota, adobe premier pro, megui h264 encoding, all at one time

then its clear tongue.gif
bryanyeo87
post Apr 18 2008, 09:08 PM

Below the Belt
3,175 posts

@ysh_kobe

your temps normal la, nothing to worry about, oh yes, btw, what program or device used to read the temps and is it the individual cores or is it the die itself

Added on April 18, 2008, 9:14 pm@irenic
@ckffeng

975 is not better then 965

mainly because the 975 sold by manufacturers like asus, gigabyte, dfi and others are not built ground up for quads.

where as the bad axe 2 was designed and built by Intel engineers from the ground up for quad-core overclocking.

But yes, its an old board, so, maybe newer chipsets will replace these legacies of the past

This post has been edited by bryanyeo87: Apr 18 2008, 09:14 PM
bryanyeo87
post Apr 21 2008, 02:35 PM

Below the Belt
3,175 posts

update bios perhaps? :S
bryanyeo87
post Apr 22 2008, 04:06 PM

Below the Belt
3,175 posts

go update ur bios la, coz iianm, bios F5 or F4 has issues with 2.2v vdimm :S

normal lor, i have tried zapping with 4.3ghz 1.6v using a custom WC kit lol