guys, why ur q6600 all are so hot?
kmarc
post Jul 27 2007, 11:28 AM

The future is here - Cryptocurrencies!
14,576 posts

QUOTE(§layerXT @ Jul 27 2007, 10:55 AM)
Speed fan shows surface core temp while coretemp shows tjunction temp which is different.
Are you sure about this? I've been wondering about speedfan's reading too. There are usually a few readings showing in speedfan. CPU temp (only know if I correlate this temp reading with other software), Core0 temp and core1 temp. The CPU temp is usually about 6'c higher than the core0 and core1.........
SlayerXT
post Jul 27 2007, 11:28 PM

PRIDE!
2,042 posts

Someone already compared Coretemp with TAT and the temp is very similar. TAT is build by Intel and this cant be wrong.
k8118k
post Jul 30 2007, 01:02 AM

3,658 posts

how to go to 36.
mine now 3.2 on 400 x8
kvmcom
post Jul 30 2007, 02:13 AM

203 posts

QUOTE(k8118k @ Jul 30 2007, 01:02 AM)
how to go to 36.
mine now 3.2 on 400 x8
400 x9 = 3.6ghz
remember to add vcore drool.gif
k8118k
post Jul 30 2007, 02:15 AM

3,658 posts

QUOTE(kvmcom @ Jul 30 2007, 02:13 AM)
400 x9 = 3.6ghz
remember to add vcore  drool.gif
vcore set to 1.5 ady..

cant boot
kevyeoh
post Jul 30 2007, 09:23 PM

4,719 posts

yo bro...

i'm getting 3.2Ghz speed very stable at stock voltage of 1.35V...so probably if you want to lower your temp, try use 1.35V instead of 1.375V...

and also, at full load, i'm getting 75+deg'C as well... but if i blast full fan speed at my casing and also on the air cond, i can get around 5degC improvement or more...

and i'm not using WC... just normal air cooling...

QUOTE(TaiZi@CCF @ Jul 26 2007, 12:20 AM)
I need all the guru to help me.....

I dont know why, I got my Q6600 today, tested all stable, duo orthos full 4 core prime stable for more than 1 hours, I overclocked to only 3.2GHz with 1.375v.

but why the hell my Q6600 running so hot??? I cant believe it how come irenic can get 65c full load at 1.55v....

please tell me why... getting mad. cry.gif  cry.gif  cry.gif  cry.gif

[attachmentid=266953]

Added on July 30, 2007, 9:25 pmyup... my TAT and core temp about the same...give them a tolerance about +/- 2degC can already...hehe....

QUOTE(§layerXT @ Jul 27 2007, 11:28 PM)
Someone already compared Coretemp with TAT and the temp is very similar. TAT is build by Intel and this cant be wrong.
This post has been edited by kevyeoh: Jul 30 2007, 09:25 PM
SlayerXT
post Jul 30 2007, 10:57 PM

PRIDE!
2,042 posts

Ur one extreme edition maybe can use 1.35. Non extreme maybe need higher.
toughnut
post Jul 31 2007, 11:05 AM

3,239 posts

QUOTE(kmarc @ Jul 27 2007, 11:28 AM)
Are you sure about this? I've been wondering about speedfan's reading too. There are usually a few readings showing in speedfan. CPU temp (only know if I correlate this temp reading with other software), Core0 temp and core1 temp. The CPU temp is usually about 6'c higher than the core0 and core1.........
weird. my CPU temp show 38C while CPU#1 show 85C and CPU#2 86C lol. i think my CPU internal diode go haywire already. when full load, CPU#1 and CPU#2 only increase few Celsius only haha.

so many using quad, itchy to try one too. next week might try it with my friends built brows.gif
kmarc
post Jul 31 2007, 11:30 AM

The future is here - Cryptocurrencies!
14,576 posts

QUOTE(toughnut @ Jul 31 2007, 11:05 AM)
weird. my CPU temp show 38C while CPU#1 show 85C and CPU#2 86C lol. i think my CPU internal diode go haywire already. when full load, CPU#1 and CPU#2 only increase few Celsius only haha.

so many using quad, itchy to try one too. next week might try it with my friends built brows.gif
So far, while researching on inaccurate core temp readings on the E6x50 series, I came across some discussion on the Q6600 CPUs too. Apparently, the newer Q6600 with G0 stepping has a higher Tjunction of 100'c instead of 85'c. As such, you're supposed to add another 15'c to your core temperature reading.

The reason for this is because some 3rd party apps calculate core temp by using the Tjunction. So, if the Tjunction is different, so will the core temperature readings.

I'm not too sure about the Q6600's problem as I've been reading up on the E6x50 series.

Here's my thread. There are some links there..... problem still not resolved...

http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/496060
TSTaiZi@CCF
post Jul 31 2007, 12:32 PM

367 posts

not really, my current Q6600 with B3 stepping also showing Tjunction of 100C on coretemp.

how about other's Q6600? Tjunction 85C or 100C?
empire23
post Jul 31 2007, 05:29 PM

Team Island Hopper
9,417 posts

Going to WC my Q6600 after i get my Ballistix RAMs, just got me some cheap vinyl tubes, so i'm testing the loop. Hopefully will be getting around 50c on load, and 30 something once i get a nice Thermochill.
kevyeoh
post Jul 31 2007, 10:16 PM

4,719 posts

i got a friend who tried water cooling on quad core... giving about minimum 7'C improvement compare to my air cooling using zalman heatsink...

empire23
post Aug 1 2007, 12:23 AM

Team Island Hopper
9,417 posts

QUOTE(kevyeoh @ Jul 31 2007, 10:16 PM)
i got a friend who tried water cooling on quad core... giving about minimum 7'C improvement compare to my air cooling using zalman heatsink...
Further improvement should be possible assuming he used a basic kit.

Now planning to use the below in search for a quadcore superclock suicide run.

- Liquid Metal TIM (Coolabratories)
- Zerex 50/50 with Distilled water
- Thermochill PA120.3 (maybe i'll dunk it in ice)
- Secondary pump...who knows, maybe a D5

My mission is 4ghz for 4 cores tongue.gif

Here's my lahling in loop testing
sup3rfly
post Aug 1 2007, 12:27 AM

Techno Slave
1,561 posts

omg sifu empire is back in the actions tongue.gif
welcome back!
SlayerXT
post Aug 1 2007, 09:57 AM

PRIDE!
2,042 posts

Waiting for result & benchies. cool empire! brows.gif
toughnut
post Aug 2 2007, 04:09 PM

3,239 posts

empire strike back...

damn expensive stuff. not for kids. btw, where to get that TIM? price?
kevyeoh
post Aug 3 2007, 08:27 PM

4,719 posts

hehe... water cooling is way over my budget now...so stick to air cooling first...wait for empire's result and see if it's worth the money to bunk in...
hehe

SlayerXT
post Aug 3 2007, 10:47 PM

PRIDE!
2,042 posts

If quad core 4GHz stable on standard WC already very happy lor. rclxms.gif
empire23
post Aug 4 2007, 01:39 AM

Team Island Hopper
9,417 posts

Heard Storm88 is at the hospital due to his wifey giving birth, or so i heard lah, so getting that new thermochill is going to take time.

My Windows Vista generously donated by Jinaun has been lost in the mail. Great fking job Posmalaysia, i bloody love you guys. No point waiting, knowing Malaysian regular post.

My RAMs got delayed by Crucial due to a bad batch so remanufacturing was in order. Crap. Should be here by next week.

Atleast my MOSFET coolers from Hwoarang45 should arrive with the rest of the above on monday and tuesday. Need to keep the 680i cool before i can do any clocking.

Mouser electronics is delaying my shipment of Silver Micas from Cornell Dubilier, Bourns Trimpots and AVX wet slug tantalums due to stock issue....WTF.

Damn, everything is late!

102 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0273sec    0.61    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 05:01 PM