IPS or TN panel?, They both are 144hz and 1ms
TSCloudi
Mar 28 2020, 04:09 PM, updated 6y ago
Hello there! I am currently looking for a gaming monitor but there are so many to choose. I know that a lot of competitive gamer choose TN panel because of its refresh rate, but nowaday IPS panel also have 144hz and 1ms response time monitor. I'm sometime a competitive gamer and sometime chillax haha. (elek jer boss). So my question is what is the differences between a 144hz with 1ms of IPS panel and TN panel? IPS with 144hz and 1ms VS TN with 144hz and 1ms.
Currently i am interested in these few monitor. AOC G2590FX 25" AOC AOC 24G2 24" Acer KG241QA 24" Acer KG251Q I 25" Acer XF240Q P 25"
On a budget around RM600~8XX
azuradaniel
Mar 28 2020, 04:13 PM

I prefer IPS, color nice & accurate. Using 27" 2k IPS.
This post has been edited by azuradaniel: Mar 28 2020, 04:15 PM
TSCloudi
Mar 28 2020, 04:58 PM
QUOTE(azuradaniel @ Mar 28 2020, 05:13 PM) I prefer IPS, color nice & accurate. Using 27" 2k IPS. Oic thx for your reply  but As stated I’m looking for the differences
Zot
Mar 28 2020, 05:02 PM
Fzeo
Mar 28 2020, 05:03 PM
ips 144hz monitor under 800? with 1ms response time? joking is it?
get 165hz tn. asus vg25 should b around 900.
unless u need color correction, editing photo video for income, only think abt ips.
me myself now looking at LG 27GL850 which is said to be 1ms, but too much ghosting at 1ms. IPS nowdays at 4ms even ASUS TUF and ROG strix.
TSCloudi
Mar 28 2020, 05:20 PM
QUOTE(Zot @ Mar 28 2020, 06:02 PM) Ok thx for replying
TSCloudi
Mar 28 2020, 05:23 PM
QUOTE(Fzeo @ Mar 28 2020, 06:03 PM) ips 144hz monitor under 800? with 1ms response time? joking is it? get 165hz tn. asus vg25 should b around 900. unless u need color correction, editing photo video for income, only think abt ips. me myself now looking at LG 27GL850 which is said to be 1ms, but too much ghosting at 1ms. IPS nowdays at 4ms even ASUS TUF and ROG strix. Dude no kidding. And this Acer KG241QA 144hz 1ms already RM549 https://www.acer.com/ac/en/MY/content/model/UM.UX1SM.A01Even this Acer KG251Q 240hz with 1ms is already Rm859 https://www.acer.com/ac/en/MY/content/model/UM.KX1SM.I01This post has been edited by Cloudi: Mar 28 2020, 05:25 PM
Fzeo
Mar 28 2020, 05:32 PM
QUOTE(Cloudi @ Mar 28 2020, 05:23 PM) Dude no kidding. And this Acer KG241QA 144hz 1ms already RM549 https://www.acer.com/ac/en/MY/content/model/UM.UX1SM.A01Even this Acer KG251Q 240hz with 1ms is already Rm859 https://www.acer.com/ac/en/MY/content/model/UM.KX1SM.I01dude. that isn't IPS dude. no joking.
Fzeo
Mar 28 2020, 05:54 PM
lolzcalvin
Mar 28 2020, 07:38 PM
QUOTE(Cloudi @ Mar 28 2020, 05:23 PM) Dude no kidding. And this Acer KG241QA 144hz 1ms already RM549 https://www.acer.com/ac/en/MY/content/model/UM.UX1SM.A01Even this Acer KG251Q 240hz with 1ms is already Rm859 https://www.acer.com/ac/en/MY/content/model/UM.KX1SM.I01those are TN panels...KG251Q is 75Hz not 240Hz, KG271B is the one with 240Hz every monitor you're interested are TN panels except AOC 24G2, and it unfortunately can't even reach advertised 1ms on every overdrive mode. see https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6MHdeDv9bqIbut out of all monitors you've listed, 24G2 is the BEST performer...with such competitive price, it does more than it could have offered.
chocobo7779
Mar 28 2020, 10:40 PM
QUOTE(lolzcalvin @ Mar 28 2020, 07:38 PM) those are TN panels...KG251Q is 75Hz not 240Hz, KG271B is the one with 240Hz every monitor you're interested are TN panels except AOC 24G2, and it unfortunately can't even reach advertised 1ms on every overdrive mode. see https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6MHdeDv9bqIbut out of all monitors you've listed, 24G2 is the BEST performer...with such competitive price, it does more than it could have offered. Note that even fast IPS panels like the one in the 27GL850 doesn't even hit 1ms at all  Although the tradeoffs from TN to IPS are really worth it IMHO
azuradaniel
Mar 28 2020, 11:08 PM

QUOTE(Cloudi @ Mar 28 2020, 04:58 PM) Oic thx for your reply  but As stated I’m looking for the differences IPS with 144hz and 1ms VS TN with 144hz and 1ms. If spec & speed same, IPS better, normally people said IPS>TN>VA Normally TN good for speed/performance(gaming) but IPS good for quality(suitable for photo & video editing), VA panel cheaper
antaras
Mar 29 2020, 12:33 PM

Budget permits, then get IPS. How competitive are you? GOing for competition? Else, IPS.
slaveone
Mar 29 2020, 12:36 PM
colour accuracy, viewing angle and price. IPS is better but at a price.
edministrator
Mar 29 2020, 02:16 PM
as many have mentioned, IPS do not have 1ms response time, and even if stated 1ms, it is sort of simulated/boosted artificially and gives you more image degradation than improving it. True 4ms is the best you can get for IPS currently.
TSCloudi
Mar 30 2020, 04:46 AM
Alright guys. Thanks for all the reply! After reading all the reply from experts like y'all. Conclusion, IPS VS TN Speed / slower / Faster Color / Better / Good Price /Expensive/ Cheaper I work as a part timer (not anymore since convid-19) and money is tight for me and so on. So TN is the one i'm going for. Thanks again for helping a fellow guy that scare of making his decision.
cassian948
Mar 30 2020, 04:55 AM
Better go with IPS, you got better colour and viewing angle.
TN is old tech. (Don't buy this)
This post has been edited by cassian948: Mar 30 2020, 04:57 AM
chocobo7779
Mar 30 2020, 08:33 AM
QUOTE(Cloudi @ Mar 28 2020, 04:09 PM) Hello there! I am currently looking for a gaming monitor but there are so many to choose. I know that a lot of competitive gamer choose TN panel because of its refresh rate, but nowaday IPS panel also have 144hz and 1ms response time monitor. I'm sometime a competitive gamer and sometime chillax haha. (elek jer boss). So my question is what is the differences between a 144hz with 1ms of IPS panel and TN panel? IPS with 144hz and 1ms VS TN with 144hz and 1ms. Currently i am interested in these few monitor. AOC G2590FX 25" AOC AOC 24G2 24" Acer KG241QA 24" Acer KG251Q I 25" Acer XF240Q P 25" On a budget around RM600~8XX Get the 24G2 - it is an IPS 144Hz monitor, and is considered one of the best monitors for your budget
krayden
Mar 30 2020, 09:29 AM
Acer vg270p 1080p 144hz 1ms ips <rm900 Remember buy dp cable.
jemmi
Mar 30 2020, 09:35 AM
QUOTE(Cloudi @ Mar 30 2020, 04:46 AM) Alright guys. Thanks for all the reply! After reading all the reply from experts like y'all. Conclusion, IPS VS TN Speed / slower / Faster Color / Better / Good Price /Expensive/ Cheaper I work as a part timer (not anymore since convid-19) and money is tight for me and so on. So TN is the one i'm going for. Thanks again for helping a fellow guy that scare of making his decision.  I bought new monitor by installment, last time only bought used set