Travel To Japan V13, Everything you need for a Japan trip!

Sycamore
post Mar 24 2023, 02:56 PM

334 posts

I am currently in Japan and will leave on April.

Two intel I wanna share with you guys:

1. If you are flying with AirAsia, very likely you can catch up with last monorail/tokyu train. You can plan around that.

2. Do not use Digi and Celcom data roaming.
I was thinking I might need my mobile number in Japan for example credit card online transaction, might as well go with digi. The truth is zero service availability.
Then I thought luckily I brought along my second number with Celcom. Quickly I bought nearly rm100 purported data roaming pass. The truth is it barely connects. Keep disconnecting.
My rm200 burn liao 😂
Sycamore
post Mar 24 2023, 04:14 PM

334 posts

QUOTE(Human Nature @ Mar 24 2023, 02:58 PM)
Which airport and how fast to clear immigration?
Haneda.
Took more than 1 hour.
5 flights came in in the window of 30 minutes. However AirAsia is slightly ahead of sequence.
So making to tokyu and monorail is still possible.

I still can't believe how Celcom-digi can advertise for services that do not work on the ground just like that.
I will see this complain go through.

This post has been edited by Sycamore: Mar 24 2023, 04:16 PM
Sycamore
post Mar 24 2023, 07:04 PM

334 posts

QUOTE(tpleong @ Mar 24 2023, 06:56 PM)
You need to manually pick the Japan's service provider i.e. dont set it "auto"
I contacted Celcom support and successful getting stable connection after some trouble shooting.

However, for digi I still have no idea how to get connected.
Below: sim 1 - digi, sim 2 - Celcom.

Sycamore
post Apr 8 2023, 10:20 PM

334 posts

Got back from Japan earlier this week, sharing a few info:

1. Tokyo is more than 80% using credit/prepaid card. Not sure where I read people saying Japan prefer cash. Not with Tokyo.

2. I tested among Wise, TnGo and Bigpay visa prepaid card, Wise gives best exchange rate. I tried so you no need to try.
For more info please refer: https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...#entry107009880

3. Cash (changed from mid valley money changer) still gives best rate. Though if you do not spend much the discrepancy might not be significant. Might as well just use Wise to make life easier.
Sycamore
post Apr 8 2023, 10:37 PM

334 posts

QUOTE(RegentCid @ Apr 8 2023, 10:26 PM)
The Tokyo you know & the Tokyo I know are big difference. The scope you covered compare to me just 5-10%. If you covered the area and restaurant until my level. The credit card will drop less than 20% ,😄

Had you been to Ueno Ameyoko famous street?  Inside got more than 100 store + small restaurant. Shop that accept card less than 10.
Maybe you are right.

It really depends on where do you spend.
Sycamore
post Apr 10 2023, 10:25 AM

334 posts

QUOTE(kenji1903 @ Apr 10 2023, 08:18 AM)
Thanks Taikor, good info! Which ATM brand you tried with Wise? All the Seven bank and Family mart e-net ATM can use?
I used Seven bank atm.
I tried Japan post atm not working.
This is at Haneda airport.

Now abit regret should had tried a few more machines.

0.0355sec    0.51    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 05:48 AM