Been watching too many youtube on Japan food during MCO... hope can make a safe trip there soon..without the need for self quarantine hassle
Travel To Japan V13, Everything you need for a Japan trip!
Jun 15 2020, 01:32 AM
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]()
26,520 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
Been watching too many youtube on Japan food during MCO... hope can make a safe trip there soon..without the need for self quarantine hassle
Jan 2 2023, 01:34 AM
Return to original view | IPv6 | Post
Thinking of going to Takayama-Kanazawa-Shirakawago for the fall foliage in November but flight and hotel cost is too prohibitive. Now thinking of other months like September/October, any comment on this or not worth it to go during these months?
Or going to see Mt. Fuji plus surronding lake will be better or cheaper in September/October? Also, has Airasia X reinstate the flight to Nagoya? Thanks This post has been edited by Human Nature: Jan 2 2023, 01:41 AM |
Jan 2 2023, 10:36 AM
QUOTE(RegentCid @ Jan 2 2023, 10:13 AM) Airasia X has no plan reinstate the flight to Nagoya Thanks for input. Yeah, thats what I feel too Very possible that the leaves are still green in mid of October too based on the forecast. Like wasteful going to that region without autumn leaves or snow. If really going, now looking at scoot from Changi to KIX, then train to Nagoya.If you going Takyama and Shirakwago at Summer also can. But you will feel something is missing (Snow). Japan summer are very hot and alot alot of rain. Raining can affect traveling plan. Another alternative is going to the Fuji area plus Hakone as sidetrip in October for 2-3 days and another 3-4 days in another nearby area. I have been to Tokyo twice so open to visit other places. |
Jan 2 2023, 05:39 PM
What is the recommended method to go to Takayama-Kanazawa-Shirakawago if arrive at KIX? Thunderbird? Thanks
This post has been edited by Human Nature: Jan 2 2023, 07:56 PM |
Jan 5 2023, 07:23 PM
Here is my rough plan. Thinking of adding another day arriving at KIX in the afternoon. Comparing between several passes: Hokuriku Arch Pass, Takayama-Hokuriku Area Tourist Pass, JR Hokuriku Area Pass or just buy the ticket separately. Still figuring how to return to Osaka from Takayama without burning the wallet. Or should I reverse the order. Any input is appreciated.
Day 1 - Arrived at KIX, to Kanazawa Day 2 - Kanazawa Day 3 - Shirakawa-Go, then to Takayama Day 4 - Takayama Day 5 - Takayama, day trip to Kamikochi Day 6 - Return to Osaka Day 7 - Depart from KIX add: booked! no turning back lol This post has been edited by Human Nature: Jan 5 2023, 08:52 PM |
Jan 7 2023, 10:25 PM
QUOTE(adele123 @ Jan 7 2023, 04:40 PM) Ok la. Chill at takayama. Eat more hida beef and other stuff and drink their hida milk (can get from convenience store). Really loved it. I enjoyed the food i managed to try at takayama, but night time abit dead though. Hi, would you be able to share your itinerary? Actually you can decide later you want to go to hida folk village (at takayama itself) or shirakawago or go to both. I went to shirakawago, but from pictures, hida folk village macam similar. Can go to hida-furukawa for a quick walk and some sort of insta-worthy picture, but when i was there, feels like a very quiet town. Lol. When i got off the train, only 6 ppl including 2 of us, who were "tourist" |
Jan 8 2023, 12:57 PM
Thanks. Been occupied with other stuffs this few days, will start doing homework for the trip
Jan 9 2023, 12:48 AM
What is the typical price to pay for an overnight in a ryokan with dinner? Is it too early to book one for October now? I notice that not many options are availabe at Agoda. Because they are not open for reservation yet, or already sold out, or booking is via their own website?
This post has been edited by Human Nature: Jan 9 2023, 12:56 AM |
Jan 9 2023, 02:07 PM
Jan 9 2023, 06:58 PM
Haha i find la those with private onsen
Jan 9 2023, 07:25 PM
Jan 11 2023, 11:23 PM
Which would you pick for autumn season: Kamikochi hiking or Tateyama Kurobe Alpine Route?
Starting from Toyama Station and taking the route till Kurobe dam or Ogizawa takes about 8 hours. Do I have to backtrack to return to Toyama Station or there is an alternative (quicker and cheaper) route? Or just go halfway and back-track? Which one makes more sense for a day trip from Toyama? Thank you This post has been edited by Human Nature: Jan 12 2023, 12:04 AM |
Jan 12 2023, 12:15 AM
QUOTE(RegentCid @ Jan 12 2023, 12:07 AM) If you got the budget to spend then Tateyama Alpine Route. From Toyama Dentetsu Station >Ogizawa > Matsumoto Station cost 14000 Yen. Even you backtrack back to Toyama also 13000 Yen Thanks for the comment. I will need to survey see if there is any tourist pass that can minimize the cost. I been 4 Season of Alpine Route, Spring is the best (Snow wall) but also most crowded. Autumn season 2nd, if your timing is right, you can see full of red & yellow colour tree. 3rd will be Winter, Nov before it closed, if you lucky, sometimes Nov also can get full thick snow + less people. Summer at last, very crowded because alot Tokyo people come here to cold down, full of flower specially Ice wall section become flower field. Kamikochi hiking avoid summer, same reason as Alpine Route. Autumn are the best season, cold but not so cold but autumn in Nagano area, weather very unpredictable. Already booked hotels based on earlier itinery. Some shuffling takes me to this: Day 1 Arrive KIX, to Kanazawa........................Stay: Kanazawa Day 2 Day trip to Tateyama Alpine Route..........Stay: Kanazawa Day 3 Kanazawa, Evening to Takayama............Stay: Takayama Day 4 Takayama............................................Stay: Takayama Day 5 To Shirakawa-Go, then to Kyoto.............Stay: Kyoto Day 6 Kyoto.................................................Stay: Kyoto Day 7 Departure KIX This post has been edited by Human Nature: Jan 12 2023, 12:16 AM |
Jan 12 2023, 12:27 AM
QUOTE(RegentCid @ Jan 12 2023, 12:24 AM) Day 1 stay at Toyama because u need go Tateyama very early. Thank you! I will study this.Day 2 stay Kanazawa Day 3 go Takayama from Toyama with Train Hida limited Express. Do not take Bus because it will pass Shirakwago and potong stim. Day 4 can go shirakawa go Day 5 can go Gokayama, then continue to Kanazawa then Kyoto. add: I am planning to get the pass that allows unreserved seat on JR Hokuriku Shinkansen between Kanazawa and Toyama, 20 min ride. When you say very early, how early is that? Earliest train starts around 6am ![]() Need to refresh back my memory on unreserved seat. If already have a tourist pass for unreserved seat (Y1870), I still need to pay the Y990 fee, correct? Meaning still need to go to the ticket office? Thank you This post has been edited by Human Nature: Jan 12 2023, 01:06 AM |
Jan 12 2023, 12:09 PM
I notice that HyperDia doesn't show the time anymore. Rather unfortunate because it was simply the best. Any recommendation on a reliable alternative website or apps?
This post has been edited by Human Nature: Jan 12 2023, 12:15 PM |
Jan 29 2023, 09:53 AM
QUOTE(wyen @ Jan 29 2023, 09:10 AM) Going to Japan on mid april using 5 days Takayama-Hokuriku Area Tourist Pass. And my iternary as follows How do you plan to return to the airport (I assume KIX) from Nagoya?Kyoto for 3 nights From Kyoto to Kanazawa using pass JR limited Thunderbird and stay for 2nights. Going to shirakawago with hokutetsu bus (using pass) for day trip. On same day Nohi bus (using bus) to Takayama. Stay at Takayama for 2 nights. Takayama to Nagoya using Pass. My questions: Is spending 1 night at takayama sufficient? As i checked the hotel booking on 14-15 april is limited and plan to shorten it 1 night. Or any recommended budget hotel there? Would like to try shinkasen train from kanazawa to toyama but cant find any bus from toyama to shirakawago, is the bus suspended? Would like to visit the doraemon musuem and starbuck outlet there (prettiest in the world?) What to do at nagoya for 2 days? Thanks |
Jan 29 2023, 11:49 AM
QUOTE(wyen @ Jan 29 2023, 11:19 AM) Taking Vietnam Airlines from Nagoya Chubu Airport to Malaysia. Saw air asia 1 way from KIX to KL already cost rm 1k without luggage and meal, but VN cost RM 1.18k from Nagoya. Since Nagoya is more convenient for this trip hence probably will take this airlines instead. Transit 1 hr at Hanoi so overall 9 hours so not too bad though I see, so it makes sense to go to Nagoya. Mine is KIX-Kanazawa-Shirakawago-Takayama-Kyoto and getting the same pass as you. Since not going to Nagoya, I mostly like will take the shinkansen from Toyama-Kanazwa on my trip to Kyoto/KIX.BTW i booked this air asia to KIX during promo at RM 500+, going backpacking with less clothes and gonna shop there esp GU outlets and return to KL with hauls😬 Went Japan few times and clothes GU never disappointing. Although I prefer clothes in Korea range rm15-40 back on year 2014 more quality and still wearable until now, GU clothes more variety with same quality as Uniqlo but cheaper. |
Feb 6 2023, 12:22 AM
Mar 7 2023, 10:36 AM
Mar 19 2023, 11:11 PM
Seems not possible for Takayama-Hokuriku Area Tourist Pass holder to make advance reservation via online.
By the time I arrive at KIX and clear immigration etc, it may pass the 6 PM operating hour to call Nohi Bus or Hokutetsu Bus for reservation. Any idea how to make the reservation if I intend to take the bus from Kanazawa to Shirakawago in the next early morning? Thank you. |
| Change to: | 0.0323sec
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 06:23 AM |