202 Pages « < 42 43 44 45 46 > » Bottom

Travel To Japan V13, Everything you need for a Japan trip!

sam sam
post Nov 12 2022, 12:55 AM

814 posts

QUOTE(numblink @ Nov 12 2022, 12:30 AM)
Abashiri ice breaker was a nice experience. The drift ice walk was nice too 🤭
Did you fly from sapporo or took the train to abashiri
numblink
post Nov 12 2022, 09:31 AM

145 posts

QUOTE(sam sam @ Nov 12 2022, 12:55 AM)
Did you fly from sapporo or took the train to abashiri
Drove from Asahikawa to Abashiri , ovenight at utoro smile.gif
tientien
post Nov 12 2022, 04:20 PM

261 posts

QUOTE(TOMEI-R @ Nov 10 2022, 12:12 PM)
I beg to differ. Early February is when the whole of Hokkaido comes alive with it's snow festivals. A lot of shows, ice exhibitions and events are held during this period. It is also the best period for skiing as the slopes is at its peak and best conditions. Hotel prices are also at its peak because this the period which draws most vistiors to Hokkaido. Went there during February once and had a great time there .No issue on public transportation because I drove. Drove from Chitose to Hakodate to Niseko and back to Sapporo. FYI there is no need for chains as current new generation of winters tires are good enough for these kind of conditions. 

The only issue would the below freezing temperatures. Once it was -15 Degrees at a night out in Lake Shikotsu. So proper heat tech inner wear is key.
This! I think February is the best month for us, tourist from tropical country to experience the winter!
I was there in 2020 and had the chance to visit sapporo snow festival, otaru snow path, shikotsu ice festival, lake akan ice festival and abashiri drift ice festival. I only use public transport for all the attractions, no need to self drive.
TOMEI-R
post Nov 12 2022, 05:36 PM

Extraordinaire
24,219 posts

QUOTE(tientien @ Nov 12 2022, 04:20 PM)
This! I think February is the best month for us, tourist from tropical country to experience the winter!
I was there in 2020 and had the chance to visit sapporo snow festival, otaru snow path, shikotsu ice festival, lake akan ice festival and abashiri drift ice festival. I only use public transport for all the attractions, no need to self drive.
I was there in Feb 2020 too... just before the pandemic became full blown. Was glad I made the trip even though the pandemic was looming. No regrets as there were less Chinese and Japanese tourists around that time. Btw those who never did the snow festivals would never understand. nod.gif

Hotel prices were crazily high though.

This post has been edited by TOMEI-R: Nov 12 2022, 05:37 PM
RegentCid
post Nov 12 2022, 06:22 PM

グローバル防衛構想
4,060 posts

QUOTE(tientien @ Nov 12 2022, 03:20 PM)
2021 2022 Feb Sapporo to Asahikawa & Abashiri & Wakkanai are totally closed due to thick snow until Late March.
2023 chances are very very high too. Taking public transport just too risky.

Due to global warming, the north atmosphere cold stream are getting colder & colder each year. sad.gif

This post has been edited by RegentCid: Nov 12 2022, 06:24 PM
marfccy
post Nov 13 2022, 08:24 PM

Le Ponyland!!!
4,254 posts

just got back from my trip to Tokyo, Osaka, Kyoto

gotta say things havent changed much since i last visited in 2017

though prices for food increased by 100-200yen. liquor prices are still obscenely cheap tho
RegentCid
post Nov 13 2022, 09:05 PM

グローバル防衛構想
4,060 posts

QUOTE(marfccy @ Nov 13 2022, 07:24 PM)
just got back from my trip to Tokyo, Osaka, Kyoto

gotta say things havent changed much since i last visited in 2017

though prices for food increased by 100-200yen. liquor prices are still obscenely cheap tho
Beer at Izakaya increase from 350/400 to 450/530 Yen. cry.gif
At Japan after work must go Izakaya with collogue and have some drink before going back home. Slightly increase price result ending up big amount of money. mad.gif
marfccy
post Nov 13 2022, 09:17 PM

Le Ponyland!!!
4,254 posts

QUOTE(RegentCid @ Nov 13 2022, 09:05 PM)
Beer at Izakaya increase from 350/400 to 450/530 Yen.  cry.gif
At Japan after work must go Izakaya with collogue and have some drink before going back home. Slightly increase price result ending up big amount of money.  mad.gif
right? and nama biru in izakayas are starting to be 550yen in upper end chains

nomihoudai never felt more relevant now. heck chuhai sours are also getting steeper. ranting.gif
RegentCid
post Nov 14 2022, 09:01 AM

グローバル防衛構想
4,060 posts

QUOTE(marfccy @ Nov 13 2022, 08:17 PM)
right? and nama biru in izakayas are starting to be 550yen in upper end chains

nomihoudai never felt more relevant now. heck chuhai sours are also getting steeper.  ranting.gif
Chuhai sours are one of my favorite after meal in Izakaya. biggrin.gif
First are beer before meal then Chuhai Sours as ending.
Refreshing
marfccy
post Nov 14 2022, 11:17 AM

Le Ponyland!!!
4,254 posts

QUOTE(RegentCid @ Nov 14 2022, 09:01 AM)
Chuhai sours are one of my favorite after meal in Izakaya.  biggrin.gif
First are beer before meal then Chuhai Sours as ending.
Refreshing
thats why after izakaya always keep stock of kirin/strong zero/chuhai in hotel fridge for nijikai brows.gif

i went back a ramen place i been in 2015, Mutekiya in Ikebukuro, they raised almost 200 yen for a bowl of ramen i had last time haiz
sam sam
post Nov 14 2022, 06:18 PM

814 posts

QUOTE(tientien @ Nov 12 2022, 04:20 PM)
Hi can I ask where did you stay in shikotsu and Lake akan. Planning to visit shikotsu but not sure where to stay to visit the ice festival
Mspot
post Nov 15 2022, 12:50 AM

83 posts

Making a trip to Tokyo soon. For data, what's better ya , pocket wifi or sim card? Its for multi user, but If sim card, i can use spare phone as Hotspot.

Is Travel Recommend good enough?
MR_alien
post Nov 15 2022, 07:54 AM

Mr.Alien on the loss
3,580 posts

crowd is back i supposed

TOMEI-R
post Nov 15 2022, 01:32 PM

Extraordinaire
24,219 posts

QUOTE(MR_alien @ Nov 15 2022, 07:54 AM)
crowd is back i supposed

Yup. Suprisingly many are still flocking to Japan even with the expensive airfare right now. My SG friends are the most kiasu because they were the earliest to go to Japan after it reopens.
tientien
post Nov 15 2022, 02:00 PM

261 posts

QUOTE(sam sam @ Nov 14 2022, 06:18 PM)
Hi can I ask where did you stay in shikotsu and Lake akan. Planning to visit shikotsu but not sure where to stay to visit the ice festival
I didn't stay in shikotsu, just a day trip from chitose. for akan, i stayed at new akan hotel
marfccy
post Nov 15 2022, 02:04 PM

Le Ponyland!!!
4,254 posts

QUOTE(MR_alien @ Nov 15 2022, 07:54 AM)
crowd is back i supposed

hehe i went these both at 8am in morning, nobody at all
MR_alien
post Nov 15 2022, 02:48 PM

Mr.Alien on the loss
3,580 posts

QUOTE(marfccy @ Nov 15 2022, 02:04 PM)
hehe i went these both at 8am in morning, nobody at all
Tourist don't arrive that early laugh.gif
rx330
post Nov 15 2022, 02:55 PM

11,808 posts

hi
chance upon this thread

1st time planning free and easy

need some guidance in the itinerary, travelling with wife and a 5 yo kid

arrival 8.35am
18th dec - aquarium + ferris wheel
19th dec - USJ
20th dec - nara deer + todaiji
21st dec - head to kyoto + Gion
22nd dec- Arashiyama + Fushimi inari
23rd dec - back to osaka + shinsaibashi
24th dec - Suntory distillery + Dotonbori
25th dec - Free n Easy Departure 11.20pm

1st 3 nights will be in osaka, then 2 nights in kyoto then last 2 nights in osaka

what's the best way to get to kyoto with luggage stroller and all? was thinking to rent a car, not very good with public transports

TIA for any advice on the above itinerary, feel free to call me idiotic n stupid, really 1st time planning... all these while tour aje

* forgot to add in, any ryokan suitable for the family at kyoto? preferably with Onsen n Kaiseki, thanks

This post has been edited by rx330: Nov 15 2022, 03:04 PM
MeToo
post Nov 15 2022, 03:16 PM

9,333 posts

Need some advice for a late Feb trip

1. Land in Haneda 1030pm, any late night airport limo/bus to Disneyland?

2. Going to spend 4 nights in Nagano, any recommendation on where to
- Stay a nice traditional Ryokan (prefer with onsen nearby)
- A good snow spot to play with kids, snowball, sled, etc
RiriRuruRara
post Nov 15 2022, 04:11 PM

1,010 posts

Hi guys sorry for off topic question, hope you all don't mind.
Anyone know how to view price chart for the months on airasia??
At the moment I have to key in the dates to know the air tickets prices. It would be nice to be able to view the everyday prices so I can pick the lowest.

202 Pages « < 42 43 44 45 46 > » Top

0.0441sec    0.68    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 10:11 PM