Hi do u give discount to your tenant?

SUSdestiny6
post Mar 28 2020, 03:03 AM

817 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Mar 25 2020, 02:26 PM)
Don't think there's discount..
Even in mall I heard.. only deferments for few months...
Can try luck nego with owner... So good luck boss
There is discount la.....I'm manage to get discount rental for March onwards before BNM 6months deferment announce, Sunway group malls giving free rental during MCO periods and so far a mall in KL yet to send me invoice, hopefully free rental pls....sweat.gif
nexona88
post Mar 28 2020, 11:22 AM

The Royal Club Member
48,447 posts

QUOTE(destiny6 @ Mar 28 2020, 03:03 AM)
There is discount la.....I'm manage to get discount rental for March onwards before BNM 6months deferment announce, Sunway group malls giving free rental during MCO periods and so far a mall in KL yet to send me invoice, hopefully free rental pls....sweat.gif
Good then 👍
the_sorrow
post Mar 29 2020, 11:50 AM

17 posts

I just feel people are opportunistic and taking advantage of the situation especially for residential. Like so fast can't pay house rental on the first month? And they think moratorium is free money. And if tenant is long time then can consider but if you are new tenant and ask immediately, it is very hard to believe.

This post has been edited by the_sorrow: Mar 29 2020, 11:51 AM
heavensea
post Mar 29 2020, 04:20 PM

9,616 posts

QUOTE(the_sorrow @ Mar 29 2020, 11:50 AM)
I just feel people are opportunistic and taking advantage of the situation especially for residential. Like so fast can't pay house rental on the first month? And they think moratorium is free money. And if tenant is long time then can consider but if you are new tenant and ask immediately, it is very hard to believe.
Now you know the true color of most tenants smile.gif
Iroquois Plissken
post Mar 29 2020, 06:45 PM

58 posts

Guys, mind giving me your opinion on my tenant (commercial property). A bit long, so please bear with me! notworthy.gif

He's been renting since 2014 and was always on time with rent, however this year his business (phone and computer repair shop) has taken a hit and has been late with rental since January. Last month he missed the due date and I had to call him after 2 weeks wondering where the rent was. He asked to pay half with the balance later. Since he was an exemplary tenant I told him he can pay the balance next month (which is this month) under the assumption that March rental will be paid along with it.

He did ended up paying the balance, but didn't paid this month's rent (which was due even before the lockdown) and has been avoiding my texts. I finally got trough him today and he told me that all surrounding tenants are getting a 50% discount so he's asking me if I could grant him the same leeway.

I told him I would have given him a nice discount had he had been more proactive with the situation and not waited until I called him (and ignoring my texts). I gave him one last chance to come call me back by the end of this month to come up with a better proposal (I can't afford to give 50% discount for the next 6 months as rent is my main source of income).

I consider myself a fair guy. I scolded him for not being proactive and also praised his past record. I told him it was extremely upsetting that he has been avoiding paying the rent and my texts since I already called him last month saying that if he has problems, he is free to CALL ME and talk it over. What do you guys think and what kind of compromise should I reach with this dude?

wsoon82
post Mar 29 2020, 07:10 PM

434 posts

QUOTE(Iroquois Plissken @ Mar 29 2020, 06:45 PM)
Guys, mind giving me your opinion on my tenant (commercial property). A bit long, so please bear with me!  notworthy.gif

He's been renting since 2014 and was always on time with rent, however this year his business (phone and computer repair shop) has taken a hit and has been late with rental since January. Last month he missed the due date and I had to call him after 2 weeks wondering where the rent was. He asked to pay half with the balance later. Since he was an exemplary tenant I told him he can pay the balance next month (which is this month) under the assumption that March rental will be paid along with it.

He did ended up paying the balance, but didn't paid this month's rent (which was due even before the lockdown) and has been avoiding my texts. I finally got trough him today and he told me that all surrounding tenants are getting a 50% discount so he's asking me if I could grant him the same leeway.

I told him I would have given him a nice discount had he had been more proactive with the situation and not waited until I called him (and ignoring my texts). I gave him one last chance to come call me back by the end of this month to come up with a better proposal (I can't afford to give 50% discount for the next 6 months as rent is my main source of income).

I consider myself a fair guy. I scolded him for not being proactive and also praised his past record. I told him it was extremely upsetting that he has been avoiding paying the rent and my texts since I already called him last month saying that if he has problems, he is free to CALL ME and talk it over. What do you guys think and what kind of compromise should I reach with this dude?
Most likely this tenant would not be able to maintain the same payment record, phone and computer are much cheaper now (not many people are actually sending them to repair). Even you give a 6 months discount, would his business actually back on track?

If I am you, I will start looking for other potential tenants, understand the market rate/demand, as backup.
wsoon82
post Mar 29 2020, 07:15 PM

434 posts

QUOTE(icemanfx @ Mar 26 2020, 11:51 AM)
for non commercial/business tenancy, 50% discount during mco period is fair and appreciated.

for commercial, it will depends on how much the landlord want the tenant to survive and stay. if landlord don't offer discount or waiver and tenant couldn't afford to pay is lppl.

at current market sentiment, most tenants will/should take the opportunity to negotiate for cheaper rental for the rest of tenancy period.
If real difficulty for good tenant then can discuss for a mutually agreeable arrangement. For opportunist that simply "take the opportunity", go fly kite lah!

If you are the owner, would you give 50%?
icemanfx
post Mar 29 2020, 07:50 PM

21,456 posts

QUOTE(wsoon82 @ Mar 29 2020, 07:15 PM)
If real difficulty for good tenant then can discuss for a mutually agreeable arrangement. For opportunist that simply "take the opportunity", go fly kite lah!

If you are the owner, would you give 50%?
Yes, if they ask.
wsoon82
post Mar 29 2020, 08:12 PM

434 posts

QUOTE(icemanfx @ Mar 29 2020, 07:50 PM)
Yes, if they ask.
My view is like this lah, if the tenant doesn't really need it, we should give the money to people who really need it like those homeless, we can help within our capacity. But we have to spend it wisely, for the right target. If the tenant is still able to move to other home because you are not able to give discount, at least he still have the capacity to find a home. Many people are homeless out there.
Iroquois Plissken
post Mar 29 2020, 08:23 PM

58 posts

QUOTE(wsoon82 @ Mar 29 2020, 07:10 PM)
Most likely this tenant would not be able to maintain the same payment record, phone and computer are much cheaper now (not many people are actually sending them to repair). Even you give a 6 months discount, would his business actually back on track?

If I am you, I will start looking for other potential tenants, understand the market rate/demand, as backup.
Yup, I would be open to entertaining the idea of finding other tenants if I had the extra cash to live tenant-less for 3-4 months but that's not the case, but at the same time I find the idea of tenant asking me to give 50% off for the next 6 months AFTER ignoring this month's rent is a bit insulting.
wsoon82
post Mar 29 2020, 08:36 PM

434 posts

Also think about it, if you are a tenant, would you really move out because of not getting discount? Moving out involve cost, time, hassle etc. and what is the possibility to find much cheaper unit??

For businesses, if the business is good, would the tenant actually move out because of not getting discount? It takes time to build a business in a location, moving can affect the business. Worth it?
wsoon82
post Mar 29 2020, 08:46 PM

434 posts

QUOTE(Iroquois Plissken @ Mar 29 2020, 08:23 PM)
Yup, I would be open to entertaining the idea of finding other tenants if I had the extra cash to live tenant-less for 3-4 months but that's not the case, but at the same time I find the idea of tenant asking me to give 50% off for the next 6 months AFTER ignoring this month's rent is a bit insulting.
It depends what is written in the contract between you and your tenant. How long the notice period etc. In any negotiation, you have to prepare yourself, know your opponent and know the market. Is there an option to keep this tenant for the time being and look for a replacement?
SUSgsem984
post Mar 29 2020, 09:21 PM

216 posts

The best way is to professionally follow the tenancy agreement to kick.him out. Dun tag too much personal emotion into it

Guys, mind giving me your opinion on my tenant (commercial property). A bit long, so please bear with me!  notworthy.gif

icemanfx
post Mar 29 2020, 11:29 PM

21,456 posts

QUOTE(wsoon82 @ Mar 29 2020, 08:36 PM)
Also think about it, if you are a tenant, would you really move out because of not getting discount? Moving out involve cost, time, hassle etc. and what is the possibility to find much cheaper unit??

For businesses, if the business is good, would the tenant actually move out because of not getting discount? It takes time to build a business in a location, moving can affect the business. Worth it?
If tenant business is not doing well, most would consider to try out new location. in most places, supply is more than demand. tenant could easily find cheaper alternative.

if the business could be relocated easily and rental is expensive, the tenant is likely to decamp to cheaper, better place or close shop.

This post has been edited by icemanfx: Mar 29 2020, 11:30 PM
icemanfx
post Mar 29 2020, 11:33 PM

21,456 posts

If you believe you could find another tenant easily at similar rent, you can remain firm. however, if there is a supply over demand in your area, you may have no choice but to accept lower income.

Yuyukakei
post Mar 30 2020, 01:05 AM

55 posts

no,definetky no
SUSdestiny6
post Mar 30 2020, 03:14 AM

817 posts

QUOTE(icemanfx @ Mar 29 2020, 11:29 PM)
If tenant business is not doing well, most would consider to try out new location. in most places, supply is more than demand. tenant could easily find cheaper alternative.

if the business could be relocated easily and rental is expensive, the tenant is likely to decamp to cheaper, better place or close shop.
Not easy to relocate also especially business, for residential yes, easily call a lorry move out settle at new place
For commercial tenants like it or not if no discount either perseverance or close for good, relocate to new place not cheap also.... renovation cost easily 80-100k, that also haven't include cost with your new owner
meteoraniac
post Mar 30 2020, 07:28 AM

1,099 posts

as my properties have net cash flow, and my tenants have been screened thoroughly and i like them, i would give them around 25% discount for next 3 months to keep them. a win win situation, imagine if they leave and i got to hire another agent to dog fight with other untenanted properties
posmaster
post Mar 30 2020, 09:12 AM

264 posts

As long as the Tenant is occupying or using the property, there will be wear and tear on the property and other risk along on the property.......

The rental is to cover for the wear and tear of the property and all associated risk on the property by the Tenant.

As such, Tenant should pay landlord on time as per Tenancy Agreement.
DavidKool
post Mar 30 2020, 09:14 AM

501 posts

QUOTE(meteoraniac @ Mar 30 2020, 07:28 AM)
as my properties have net cash flow, and my tenants have been screened thoroughly and i like them, i would give them around 25% discount for next 3 months to keep them. a win win situation, imagine if they leave and i got to hire another agent to dog fight with other untenanted properties
+1

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0230sec    0.48    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 12:19 AM