penang driver rams MCO roadblock

SUSagewisdom
post Mar 19 2020, 07:47 PM

729 posts

QUOTE(DDG_Ross @ Mar 19 2020, 02:08 PM)
Ride-hailing driver distracted by app rams MCO roadblock in Penang

GEORGE TOWN: Police officers manning the roadblock on the second day of the movement control order (MCO) escaped unhurt after an e-hailing car rammed into their checkpoint at Tun Dr Lim Chong Eu Expressway.

George Town OCPD Asst Comm Soffian Santong said seven policemen, including a police sergeant, were on duty in the 8.10am incident on Thursday (March 19) when the car driven by a 46-year-old man rammed the roadblock.

Asst Comm Soffian said the man was driving from Butterworth towards Bayan Lepas to pick up his passenger.

"When he arrived at Tun Dr Lim Chong Eu Expressway, he was checking the Grab driver app on his mobile phone and wasn't aware there was a roadblock," he said in a statement.
https://www.thestar.com.my/news/nation/2020...block-in-penang

Itu-lah, kenapa nak road block... whistling.gif
joe_mamak
post Mar 19 2020, 07:47 PM

363 posts

QUOTE(destiny6 @ Mar 19 2020, 07:45 PM)
Grab will tell you go claim your own insurance je
Yes. But if want to sue them, are they liable?

While the drivers, delivery people are not under their employment, they do use their platform.......
max_cavalera
post Mar 19 2020, 07:48 PM

rebirth
5,613 posts

QUOTE(Nama saya Amad @ Mar 19 2020, 08:29 PM)
Penang lagi orang penang ni bodoh bodoh ka semua
Dey penang negeri maju, 2nd spot behind singkie je u knoe???
SUSdestiny6
post Mar 19 2020, 09:59 PM

817 posts

QUOTE(joe_mamak @ Mar 19 2020, 07:47 PM)
Yes.  But if want to sue them, are they liable? 

While the drivers, delivery people are not under their employment, they do use their platform.......
How to sue? Regardless of what kind of accident it falls under driver's careless
emburrar
post Mar 19 2020, 09:59 PM

14 posts

penang
joe_mamak
post Mar 19 2020, 10:07 PM

363 posts

QUOTE(destiny6 @ Mar 19 2020, 09:59 PM)
How to sue? Regardless of what kind of accident it falls under driver's careless
I am no lawyer but if you get into an accident with a vehicle that belongs to a company, you can sue the company too.

See - https://asklegal.my/p/claim--traffic-accide...mages-insurance
under 'You can get the driver’s boss to pay up'

Question is whether can sue other companies such as Grab. They don't own the vehicle but the drivers are out and about providing a service using their platform.
SUSdestiny6
post Mar 19 2020, 10:11 PM

817 posts

QUOTE(joe_mamak @ Mar 19 2020, 10:07 PM)
I am no lawyer but if you get into an accident with a vehicle that belongs to a company, you can sue the company too. 

See - https://asklegal.my/p/claim--traffic-accide...mages-insurance
under 'You can get the driver’s boss to pay up'

Question is whether can sue other companies such as Grab.  They don't own the vehicle but the drivers are out and about providing a service using their platform.
but drivers are not considered employee of Grab they are considered as independent contractor aka their own boss laugh.gif
joe_mamak
post Mar 19 2020, 11:29 PM

363 posts

QUOTE(destiny6 @ Mar 19 2020, 10:11 PM)
but drivers are not considered employee of Grab they are considered as independent contractor aka their own boss laugh.gif
Yes. That's why....

Maybe Grab already has covered their backsides well.

But it can be argued that if it wasn't for Grab, the independent contractors won't be out there on the roads.....
LamboSama
post Mar 19 2020, 11:35 PM

769 posts

Seen so many ehailing driver drive like drunk because busy looking and touching their phones.

3 Pages < 1 2 3Top

0.0167sec    0.81    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 11:24 PM