◙The New PROTON PERSONA◙, ~Official Thread~

kris407
post Jul 26 2007, 01:09 PM

39 posts

QUOTE(ezralimm @ Jul 23 2007, 01:55 PM)
ROTFLMAO. Minimalist basher.  sweat.gif

Time would tell how this generation of sedans will be.

20yr's is very young for a car company.
Eg. Korea protected it's home brands by banning Jap imports completely for more than 40 years!

About quality, my dad's perdana has done 220,000km without any major problems (except expected wear and tear lah of course..eg tires, windshield wipers etc, spark plugs, timing belt etc).

I dont believe they are wasting rakyat's money. Money internally circulated to local industries. To the local economy. Proton has stuck to making cheap cars that people earning third world wages can afford. The upcoming gen2 sedan, priced at ~RM50k (midrange) is very reasonable. Even if NAP/proton didnt exist, a jap sedan of similar size/wt (~1200kg class) will cost upwards of RM70k OTR. It will only waste your money if you insist on buying 2.0L upward cars that come with super high tax as a result of NAP. The average malaysian probably couldnt afford a baseline 2.0L BMW 3series that would cost about RM180k OTR (WITHOUT NAP!) without going into debt.
The H-Line, RM55k variant seems attractive if it comes with standard features like ABS and 4+Airbags.
edited: grammatical errors.
Completely agree icon_rolleyes.gif

Every car has its own flaws and what the point of just pointing at one...is it because its Proton? My brother's Nissan SENTRA bought a year plus ago still has GEAR BOX problem and has been replaced 2 TIMES....remember....2 TIMES and the problem still persists and comparing the price of a Proton and Nissan, I think we should complain much lah.

Moreover, I'm quite sure that you'll are aware of Proton's i-Care launch and they have given much importance to customer's feeback. For instance, do you'll remember people were complaining that tall people cannot sit behind the Gen2 hatchback because the roof knocks the head? Well, you wouldn't have that problem in the NEW PROTON GEN2.

Guys, you need to test drive this car before complaining further. As I mentioned before, all car do have minor problems and personally know that Proton has even replaced a car for a friend of mine.

This new car actually looks really really good and also have extra features like the remote to open the booth and airbags etc all for a mere RM55,800. Where can find meh!

kris407
post Aug 1 2007, 01:49 PM

39 posts

QUOTE(emenlau99 @ Aug 1 2007, 11:38 AM)
seems like v all oways been foolish by proton...wtf the designer of proton hv..change a bit design then consider new design,dun noe wheter the ppl none creative or they just being lazy to use their brain at all,y i being said like this...when u all see the fore pic of gen2 sedan ,u'll b so pity to malaysia proton coz their business till to bottle neck olidi...just like waja,change the front grille,a bit change of tail  lamp...then ...wahhhhh...proton new car again.So guys,think abot the proton how they threat us.... vmad.gif
Friend...the Waja was a facelift, where as the Gen2 Sedan is NOT brows.gif
kris407
post Aug 2 2007, 01:14 PM

39 posts

QUOTE(selinix @ Aug 1 2007, 02:05 PM)
but to me i think they should not call it a new model or what since it is just a gen2 with a longer butt..
although it is....there's a difference between the hatchback and sedan right and moreover, no one knows what's it called until 15th august biggrin.gif

Added on August 2, 2007, 1:18 pm
QUOTE(emenlau99 @ Aug 1 2007, 04:26 PM)
Man..I like to say izzit the problem oways happen to them..No...But since the proton was born still remain the same problem untill today..especially proton perdana..till now there still got a problem..damm it..how many batch olidi huhhh....Rm100k++,i rather buy a vios or sentra.Malaysia..Pls give us a break.. icon_question.gif
Vios and Sentra have their own problem too lah! Moreover, Toyota and Nissan wouldn't sell their cars for RM40+K!

My brother's sentra was bought about 1 1/2 years ago and less than a month, he had gear box problem. He has changed his gear box twice and the problem still persists. If you have a friend who works in Nissan...check with them, they'll tell you! brows.gif

Added on August 2, 2007, 1:21 pm
QUOTE(Chester @ Aug 1 2007, 07:17 PM)
shoot.. 4.1% interest?
No lah...try Proton's own finance. It's called Proton Commerce. It's a joint venture between Proton Edar and CIMB Bank. They are offering 3+% and government and government linked company employees get 2.95%

This post has been edited by kris407: Aug 2 2007, 01:21 PM
kris407
post Aug 6 2007, 01:09 PM

39 posts

Dear All,

There is a sneak peak at The Curve, Mutiara Damansara (near The Street)....its call NEW SEDAN PEEK-A-BOO.

The car is in a covered and there are holes where you can actually see the car.

Those of you'll who still haven't seen the car...help yourselves! brows.gif

0.0404sec    0.96    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 11:22 AM