Intel® Core(tm)2 Duo/Quad Overhauled Rev. 3, The journey continues....

irenic
post Jul 25 2007, 02:11 AM

extr3me n3wbie
7,338 posts

i used thermometer and the temperature of my heatsink (near the processor) was below ambient temp.. well i didnt mean coretemp is correct but at least it is proven this G0 runs very2 cool..
irenic
post Aug 11 2007, 09:26 PM

extr3me n3wbie
7,338 posts

geng, u said wanna trade our q6600 laugh.gif haha
irenic
post Aug 11 2007, 10:09 PM

extr3me n3wbie
7,338 posts

QUOTE(gengstapo @ Aug 11 2007, 09:52 PM)
dang u ppl  vmad.gif  tongue.gif

ive ady sms u regarding our deal but just ignore me.. how can u aspect me letting my q66 sitting still infront of me??

sure cant stand the OC passion leh..  blush.gif
haha sabar la bro.. why? g0 so tempting ar? haha

QUOTE(AceCombat @ Aug 11 2007, 10:02 PM)
haha...i think duo core is better than my Extreme Quad,anyway,X38 is from 975X where the P35 is from P965 right?

since the P35 face no vdrop and oc quite well,i dont think we need to fork out more to pay for little difference...

DQ6 and P5k cry.gif hard to make the decision...
well p5k dlx for strictly oc purpose while dq6 for more general usage (oc and works) .. but IMO dq6 p35 is one of da best p35 boards... maybe u should consider between ip35 pro & dq6 p35 biggrin.gif

neway yes, x38 is workstation board (replacing the 975) while p35 is replacing the p965.. besides of its dual 16x pci-e in crossfire (& maybe SLI biggrin.gif) another advantage of x38 is it has fully support of ddr3 while p35 is not... rolleyes.gif
irenic
post Aug 11 2007, 11:29 PM

extr3me n3wbie
7,338 posts

haha not for me.. raymond said the retail price should be around rm1.1k.. too expensive :-s

better buy x38 straight away.. am i rite?

but the dfi looks is so tempting.. the bigass heatsink is so wow! laugh.gif
irenic
post Sep 13 2007, 12:58 AM

extr3me n3wbie
7,338 posts

QUOTE(gengstapo @ Sep 13 2007, 12:11 AM)
diff. between OEM & Retail u dunno??  doh.gif  doh.gif

OEM mostly replacement parts for branded pc such Dell, HP etc. they only comes with chips

Retail the complete set which been sell at comp. store. they comes with boxed & standard HSf

icon_rolleyes.gif  smile.gif
and standard intel 3 years warranty..

while OEM warranty is depends on the company itself.. but normally they'll give u 1 year warranty with chance to extend the warranty with some extra charge..
irenic
post Sep 13 2007, 12:27 PM

extr3me n3wbie
7,338 posts

QUOTE(AceCombat @ Sep 13 2007, 08:22 AM)
i thought OEM only 3 months warranty?

anyway,tried with my Anny (the person i love also call Anny sweat.gif) at extreme 2.6vdimm and it can do 4-4-4-10 1200MHz,compared to coolice koko his ballistix only need 2.55 while doing the same setting,so these handpicked chipset got a little bit doubt.... hmm.gif

anyway,yes,P965 is hotter a lot,my P35 only 30c. rclxms.gif
act OEM is not meant to be sold to us directly.. however some online retailer / shop @ oversea does sells this OEM stuffs and provide less than 90 days warranty..

but the real world OEM is the one that Intel sells to its partner, like Dell, acer, HP, etc..

and these companies, provide their own warranty to their customer which is normally 1 year.. smile.gif
irenic
post Nov 21 2007, 04:47 PM

extr3me n3wbie
7,338 posts

QUOTE(setoyo @ Nov 20 2007, 11:42 AM)
Correct me if im wrong...

So i need to look the core temperature than cpu temperature,  rclxub.gif
well i dun see anything wrong there, except ur temp might be quite hot for such a low vcore.. i guess u r using the stock intel hsf.. rite?

anyway sorry for being offtopic, but where did u get the core utilization application for ur vista's sidebar? biggrin.gif

thx
irenic
post Jan 7 2008, 07:29 PM

extr3me n3wbie
7,338 posts

wee great clock~

like many said, penryn retail shud be a lil bit better than the ES one.. so how jeff.. any dry ice on ur new proc? biggrin.gif
irenic
post Jan 14 2008, 05:18 PM

extr3me n3wbie
7,338 posts

just got e8400 last week and now only got chance to test it.. booted straight away @ 4ghz with geminiII . vcore is at 'normal' (gigabyte easytuner detect it @ 1.34vcore) stable for 24/7..

well i'm pretty sure 4ghz will becomes norms with penryn..

erm so 4.7ghz shud be the minimum target for average overclocker here biggrin.gif
irenic
post Jan 14 2008, 09:11 PM

extr3me n3wbie
7,338 posts

QUOTE(remysix @ Jan 14 2008, 05:28 PM)
that looks yummy drool.gif  drool.gif
bro..make us drool more with the screenie and btw, where did u get ur E8400?
just a quick snappp....

i got it thru a friend.. well maybe gonna use this temporarily only.. until quadie comes out.. rolleyes.gif

QUOTE(kmarc @ Jan 14 2008, 05:44 PM)
You sure your mobo is not auto setting the vcore? I thought it is supposed to be 1.225v max.....

So what's the temperature readings at idle/load on Core Temp?
yeah i think it has auto setting.. but i leave it to normal.. maybe i have to flash to newer F5 bios that stated fully support for penryn in its description.. now i'm using the f5c bios..

temp idle is 29c with geminiII and non aircond room.. full load is 36c at night... this is from gigabyte easytuner.. maybe have to add 4-5c for more accurate "core" temperature smile.gif

This post has been edited by irenic: Jan 14 2008, 09:12 PM
irenic
post Jan 14 2008, 10:30 PM

extr3me n3wbie
7,338 posts

QUOTE(gengstapo @ Jan 14 2008, 10:02 PM)
with e8400, seems sooner or later, 4Ghz wont be a big deal anymore.. tongue.gif
new target should be around 4.6ghz above.. brows.gif
yeah u have successfully repeat my previous post tongue.gif haha

but 4.6ghz also no thrill.. coz most of penryn retail can reach that speed given certain amounts of vcore thumbup.gif ..
irenic
post Jan 15 2008, 12:57 PM

extr3me n3wbie
7,338 posts

QUOTE(salimbest83 @ Jan 15 2008, 05:49 AM)
wow...
4.6GHZ..easily..
that make me wanna upgrade really soon..
but what is the lowest price for a dualcore penyrn?
i think the lowest end penryn is price around 5xx ? not really sure bout the pricing hehe

QUOTE(IcEMoCHa @ Jan 15 2008, 10:27 AM)
erm no offence, but u can get lower price at shop @ LYP wink.gif

QUOTE(contreasjun27 @ Jan 15 2008, 10:43 AM)
y isit useless???
got anybody try before???
as mentioned above, it is dangerous.. the performance u will gain wont worth the risk u'll face

irenic
post Jan 16 2008, 11:03 AM

extr3me n3wbie
7,338 posts

QUOTE(remysix @ Jan 15 2008, 03:30 PM)
erm...kind to share the shop name? or just a hint...
Well i think they'll sell @ rm700 for this week.. wait another 4 days, the price will have massive drop to 6xx thumbup.gif

QUOTE(remysix @ Jan 15 2008, 10:02 PM)
oic...didnt know that...thanks for the info bro...anyway, i just KIV changing the proc first...need to get a new mobo since my current mobo got problem wif running dual channel mode...gonna rma it and while waiting, gonna get myself either MARS or the DFI DK P35...which one should i go for...any hint?
well if u have a way to get urself dfi dk, then go for it thumbup.gif

QUOTE(clawhammer @ Jan 16 2008, 12:37 AM)
I read in other forums that many people manage to overclock and capture a screenshot at 4Ghz and above BUT it is not a stable setting. Until I try it out myself, I'm still uncertain smile.gif
it is definitely stable .. for comparison, i can say oc this penryn to 4ghz is the same like ocing conroe to 3ghz.. all my previous 17 conroe (/allendale) processors manage to oc till 3.1ghz at least.. and they are fully stable at that speed, even that might be its max clock.. but i did read some only manage to get until 2.7-2.8ghz, which i doubt is the wall for the proc.. maybe bcoz of the user itself ..the setting.. the board.. psu.. wink.gif

irenic
post Jan 18 2008, 08:07 AM

extr3me n3wbie
7,338 posts

tongue.gif

i never mentioned that passing super PI is considered as stable..

and to ensure stability for 24/7, priming for many hours alone is not enuff, we still need to test 3D stability by running loops of 3dmark, or playing high intensive game for few hours..

if both pass, then only considered as stable for 24/7..

and in my case, yeah honestly i havent run prime yet.. even for 5mins laugh.gif .. but i did a rendering for 6580 frames that consist of lots of hdr.. lighting and effects.. that alone costs me a lot of hours with 100% cpu usage which imo is lot more stressful than prime95 offers ..

and yeah, Mr. Luck plays an important role in oc.. no doubt bout that ..biggrin.gif

0.0345sec    0.36    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 08:04 AM