2020 Apple iPad Pro Discussion Thread | V1

Andrewtst
post Aug 21 2020, 07:53 PM

Forgiveness is Happiness
29,764 posts

Finally purchased a new iPad where I want it so long, Haha! biggrin.gif

Apple iPad Pro 12.9" 4th generation 256GB Wi-Fi + Cellular (Space Gray)

This post has been edited by Andrewtst: Aug 21 2020, 11:20 PM
Andrewtst
post Aug 21 2020, 11:24 PM

Forgiveness is Happiness
29,764 posts

QUOTE(attw @ Aug 21 2020, 11:21 PM)
Congrats bro!! I’m using the 11-inch one. Love it!
Thanks, I am very love it. I am not sure 12.9" or 11" but at the end I pick 12.9". Haha!

No regret, I am shock the speaker is freaking great! So hope mobile phone also came with this kind of loud speaker quality.

Also the screen even though is not AMOLED but it is a unbelievable awesome quality. biggrin.gif This is definitely a very high grade IPS.

This post has been edited by Andrewtst: Aug 21 2020, 11:25 PM
Andrewtst
post Aug 21 2020, 11:30 PM

Forgiveness is Happiness
29,764 posts

QUOTE(attw @ Aug 21 2020, 11:28 PM)
So, are you planning to get the Apple Pencil 2 or the Magic Keyboard? Or both? smile.gif
I will get the Apple Pencil 2, the Magic Keyboard probably nope as I think I will not using it.

You using both? How is the keyboard?

This post has been edited by Andrewtst: Aug 21 2020, 11:32 PM
Andrewtst
post Aug 21 2020, 11:41 PM

Forgiveness is Happiness
29,764 posts

QUOTE(attw @ Aug 21 2020, 11:38 PM)
Hahaha, no la bro, tak berani beli a stylus over RM500 yet! I probably will eventually but not sure when biggrin.gif

No plans to buy the Magic Keyboard too - waiting for a cheaper alternative from Logitech or Brydge as what I usually buy for my older iPads smile.gif

Haha! I hope got shop can try the Pencil, maybe at the end I not buying either also.
Andrewtst
post Aug 22 2020, 09:24 AM

Forgiveness is Happiness
29,764 posts

QUOTE(attw @ Aug 22 2020, 08:28 AM)
If you take a lot of notes or you like drawing, the Pencil will be extremely useful, otherwise it's just a "nice to have"...
The cellular one costs more and you'll need a data plan for it, so ultimately the cost of ownership is higher. But if you are outdoors or  travel a lot, then it's really convenient having a cellular one.
I feel like wanna try use it for digital drawing. I love drawing but never try digital draw yet.

See how 1st as it ain't cheap.
Andrewtst
post Aug 22 2020, 11:10 PM

Forgiveness is Happiness
29,764 posts

QUOTE(prominen @ Aug 22 2020, 11:05 PM)

first post here in the forum... been using ipad pro 2020 for 4 months now... at first bought 11 inch version and sell it back after 2 months and bought 12.9 inch version...

doing video editing using lumafusion is not enough on 11 inch so change to 12.9...

now my 12.9 ipad is full equip with magic keyboard and apple pencil 2...and I must say the keyboard is Gooding... and I used the trackpad a lot compare to the touch screen...
The Keyboard look freaking awesome, but the price is RM 1.5k, still thinking should I get or not, or wait Logitech one.

Can you take a picture when closed down, I want to know how fit closed it is.

This post has been edited by Andrewtst: Aug 22 2020, 11:11 PM
Andrewtst
post Aug 23 2020, 12:10 AM

Forgiveness is Happiness
29,764 posts

QUOTE(prominen @ Aug 22 2020, 11:58 PM)
later I take pictures when back to office... my iPad is currently at the office...
Oh ok, sure take your time. smile.gif

Edit: I just found the video post here.

Wow! The keyboard looks pretty awesome and solid, and it looks closed up nicely!

Very solid! I maybe will buy this magic keyboard. It look far nicer than Logitech one as it is very slim design.
Logitech is too bulky. Another brand look very nice, I forgot the brand name but the touch pad is not smooth during scroll.

https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...post&p=96393272

https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...post&p=96417294

This post has been edited by Andrewtst: Aug 23 2020, 06:07 AM
Andrewtst
post Aug 23 2020, 06:06 AM

Forgiveness is Happiness
29,764 posts

I can't believe I actually reading/flipping all 100 pages.

Thanks a lot for all cool accessories share. Now I got more options to decide pick which accessories with it. smile.gif

This post has been edited by Andrewtst: Aug 23 2020, 06:07 AM
Andrewtst
post Aug 23 2020, 05:18 PM

Forgiveness is Happiness
29,764 posts

QUOTE(andrewtho @ Aug 23 2020, 08:57 AM)
The Magic Keyboard is all you need.

Logitech doesn’t have the 12.9 variant, the Brydge keyboard should be what you are referring to. That keyboard has issues with the touchpad because its connected via Bluetooth instead of the connector like the MK and Logitech keyboard.

The last thing you need on the iPad is additional bulk, hence the MK fits the bill best.
Ya that the one - Brydge, too bad it did not use the connector but instead bluetooth, the scroll lagging I cannot accept, else it is a solid product.

Ya you are correct, Logitech only do for 11", anyway I don't like Logitech design, the material use don't have premium look.

After see so many video, seems Apple Magic Keyboard did the best.

Will consider. smile.gif as seems quite heavy, Magic Keyboard (710g) + iPad Pro 12.9" (643g) = 1.35kg. hmm...

Also total price will be RM 5,499.00 + RM 1,549.00 = RM 6,958.00.
More expensive than based model of MacBook Pro which only cost RM 5,599.00 (1.29kg).

HaHa!

This post has been edited by Andrewtst: Aug 23 2020, 05:47 PM
Andrewtst
post Aug 24 2020, 09:45 AM

Forgiveness is Happiness
29,764 posts

QUOTE(andrewtho @ Aug 24 2020, 09:37 AM)
Depends on what you need actually. Let's not forget to add the Pencil 2 as well  tongue.gif

Its easier to operate with an iPad for most tasks versus a laptop / computer. I just wish that the multitasking will be sorted out in the next few updates - Its one of the 2 complains that I have with iPadOS, the other one is defo that multi screen support - damn that aspect ratio.
I will buy Keyboard first, pencil next time if needed, all together very tough on my pocket. Haha!
Andrewtst
post Aug 24 2020, 03:15 PM

Forgiveness is Happiness
29,764 posts

QUOTE(Ch3n_low @ Aug 24 2020, 02:11 PM)
Ya the price is quite steep... thats why Im waiting for the logitech one... better save some money for apple pencil
But currently they is no 12.9" version yet. Wonder how long the wait need.

https://www.logitech.com/en-us/products/ipa....html?crid=1762
Andrewtst
post Aug 24 2020, 03:45 PM

Forgiveness is Happiness
29,764 posts

QUOTE(Xirality @ Aug 24 2020, 03:18 PM)
It is definitely heavy, I use my iPad in multiway. MKB works best only if you working on desk or lap. Can't see myself use it as my main case, I still go back forth with my normal case.

Talking about weight, it is very noticable if you bring it around  sweat.gif
Ok. I need think think first in this case. Haha! Will check at Harvey Norman in my area since Harvey Norman mentioned got stock.
Andrewtst
post Aug 25 2020, 05:31 PM

Forgiveness is Happiness
29,764 posts

Finally I bought a keyboard but not the Magic Keyboard.
Magic Keyboard is very elegant and nice to use but a bit too heavy and big cons to me is cannot fold over.

I bought Smart Keyboard Folio at the end.

It looks pretty solid also. Slimmer, lighter and can fold over, just no touchpad but it is ok to me. smile.gif

Andrewtst
post Aug 25 2020, 10:29 PM

Forgiveness is Happiness
29,764 posts

QUOTE(Ch3n_low @ Aug 25 2020, 10:25 PM)
Nice photo... you installed paperlike? hard to take photo of ipad with the reflection
Hi. Nope. It is naked without any screen protector. smile.gif

I don't very like screen protector. smile.gif
Andrewtst
post Aug 27 2020, 02:24 PM

Forgiveness is Happiness
29,764 posts

Apple iPad Pro 12.9" 2020 Wi-Fi + Cellular Review. Overall 9/10

Performance 10/10
  • This tablet is beast, you had no worried on CPU and GPU performance. It is even faster than a lot of PC in the market.
Display 9/10
  • Even though it is only IPS LCD not an AMOLED screen but this is a very high quality display, they is no single bleeding issue and the colour calibration is very accurate. I try mirror over to my LG C9 OLED TV and shock to my surprise both colour output is very closed identical.
  • The image is sharp enough and the 600 nits is very bright. No issue of playback HDR movie at all, it was stunning to watch at it. They is no clear mentioned of the display is HDR capable but I am pretty sure it is HDR support display as from the nits mentioned, wide colour gamut and also Netflix show of HDR, and I don't find it is too dark but just nice from movies I playback from Netflix or Plex/Infuse.
  • The 120hz also make the entire motion freaking smooth, I can't notice any frame skip or lag issue. The performance of graphics animation is extremely smooth.
  • The cons is the playback of 1080p or lower resolution video is not sharp enough, it looks the same issue on my previous iPad Air 2 where upscaling is not well implemented for video lower than the native screen resolution. So watching YouTube or even Netflix basically is not sharp or clear enough. But watching 4K video is perfectly awesome. I hope Apple can implement the upscaling in iPad as great as what they did in Apple TV 4K box.
  • Beside this the current ratio is a mix feeling, it is great for doc view when no split view but I believe it will be much better if the aspect ratio is 16:9 as this ratio will have better support for split view, watching movie and also mirror to TV.
Apps 9/10
  • I always prefer iPad over Android Tablet as iPad apps is always well optimize for big screen device with better features as well. How great Android tablet do also no point due to less apps features and optimize, this included the new release of Samsung Galaxy Tab S7/S7+ where frank speak is freaking good spec and Samsung did it brilliantly by included the DEX interface where ability of running apps as floating around. iPad also had floating apps feature but it is limit to left or right only and cannot change the apps size. This part I hope Apple can implement similar in future.
Weight 5/10
  • No denied the weight is big cons of iPad Pro. It is well solid build where this probably is an issue also as the too good material actually increase the weight here. This is also the reason I not choosing Magic Keyboard as with both attached make it over 1.3kg which is even heavy than 13" MacBook.
Loud Speaker 10/10
  • I am shock when I first heard the loud speaker output quality, The sound is clear, no pitching issue with good bass. This 4 speakers arrangement make it very awesome listening to music or even watching movie. It will be nice if Mobile phone also came with such quality loud speaker.
Sound Output 9/10
  • All my speaker or headset is wireless, I don't have any issue for sound output. If you still using traditional 3.5mm jack output, strongly suggest you change to Bluetooth wireless device instead of digging around to find a solution.
  • I put 9 out of 10 as the connection is extra one step for none Apple design device where you need using System Bluetooth menu to connect before can use the bundle apps to connect for extra feature, beside this Apple only support AAC and not others format. Even though it still sound fantastic but this make my Sony WH-1000XM3 cannot use the highest quality format - LDAC.
Camera 9/10
  • The bundle camera was very good and first time I seen manufacturer take care on tablet camera.
Replace Laptop 7/10
  • It is very powerful with a lot features apps, with Apple Magic Keyboard it is like 90% laptop but I didn't buy it simply because it is too heavy and current design cannot fold over. Not much alternative for 3rd party currently as the rest all using Bluetooth where this make the scrolling lagging. The only 2nd alternative is from Logitech, but from review, it is even heavy and freaking bulky, also don't have 12.9" size version yet.
  • At the end I choose only Apple Smart Keyboard Folio but this missing the touchpad and the keyboard itself even though is usable but not as great as magic keyboard.

This post has been edited by Andrewtst: Aug 27 2020, 02:55 PM
Andrewtst
post Aug 27 2020, 10:22 PM

Forgiveness is Happiness
29,764 posts

QUOTE(attw @ Aug 27 2020, 08:41 PM)
Solid review as always, bro!
Thanks. smile.gif

QUOTE(OOtaii @ Aug 27 2020, 09:27 PM)
Apple will be bringing brand new MACs that have their own processors (ARM based) in them. Looks like  macOS, ios & iPadOS will be sharing the exact same apps in the near future.
High Possible and I believe the 1st ARM based macOS will be awesome.
Andrewtst
post Aug 28 2020, 01:36 AM

Forgiveness is Happiness
29,764 posts

iPad Pro not only support HDR, but indeed in Dolby Vision format. smile.gif

Andrewtst
post Aug 28 2020, 10:19 AM

Forgiveness is Happiness
29,764 posts

Yesterday just did some Antutu Benchmark.
iPad Pro 2020 really is a beast !!!
  • 744306 - Apple iPad Pro 2020
  • 568042 - POCO F2 Pro
  • 516052 - Apple iPhone 11 Pro Max
  • 453220 - Samsung Galaxy Note10+

Andrewtst
post Aug 28 2020, 05:07 PM

Forgiveness is Happiness
29,764 posts

QUOTE(Ch3n_low @ Aug 28 2020, 04:25 PM)
How does it compared to 2018 ipad pro?
Not sure, I already uninstall the Antutu. Haha.
Andrewtst
post Aug 28 2020, 11:34 PM

Forgiveness is Happiness
29,764 posts

QUOTE(Ch3n_low @ Aug 28 2020, 04:25 PM)
How does it compared to 2018 ipad pro?
Here you go, I just redownload the Antutu and re-benchmark.

iPhone Pro (4th generation) v/s iPhone Pro (3rd generation)

754407 v/s 699202

0.2392sec    0.48    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 02:04 PM