2020 Apple iPad Pro Discussion Thread | V1

twtang
post May 15 2020, 11:53 PM

634 posts

QUOTE(un_id @ May 15 2020, 09:03 PM)
few days ago when someone asked, what are alternatives for apple pencil? i replied that the original apple pencil is no brainer is the only best option there is. now i would like to take back what i said, sorry, i was wrong sweat.gif

back in 2017, i bought ipad pro (older model), 2018 i bought the newer version, 2019 i downgrade to ipad mini, now i’m back to ipad pro. for each ipad purchase, i’ve bought apple pencil with each of them, from apple pencil 1, to apple pencil 2, then back to pencil 1 for the ipad mini. figured that i’ve bought apple pencil too many times, so yesterday i think back, how bad could the pencil alternatives nowadays be, given so many years already. back then, i did try several stylus but can’t find anything that can replace apple pencil. so i started to google around, saw several comparison reviews of pencil alternatives. it seems apple has allow 3rd party company to use their apple pencil technology?

i saw this adonit note being sold locally, so i thought i wanna give it a try, i contacted the seller, lucky enough he was willing to cod so i can test it before buying. so here you can see, i was sold after testing it  laugh.gif

pairing? so simple, press the button, tap the ipad with the pencil, they are connected almost instantly, no need to do anything else. i can tell that writing using the adonit note is as fluent as as using the apple pencil. the accuracy is also similar. feel like writing using normal pencil, really. the size is just right, and the matte surface on it makes it less slippery.. its just that this version doesn’t have pressure sensitivity (the newer version does) but i don’t need that, i just use to write note mostly. it also has a clip to put in pocket, so 1 less worry to lost or drop pencil like before. but i wouldn’t really mind if this drop, its just RM225, less than half of the price of apple pencil. another advantage is, can turn off the stylus, or it will off itself automatically when left unused for quite sometime. it sounds silly, but i think adonit make better pencil than apple itself  biggrin.gif
I almost bought apple pencil 2 because of your previous comment : "no brainer is the only best option" tongue.gif

And, because I was too busy to place an order, else I will be bangwall.gif after reading your message.

By the way what is the model that has pressure sensitivity? " just that this version doesn’t have pressure sensitivity (the newer version does)"
twtang
post May 17 2020, 11:54 AM

634 posts

QUOTE(Seng_Kiat @ May 16 2020, 01:50 AM)
If you are not into drawing or skcetching, I dont think you need the apple pencil 2 but if the budget permit, I still prefer apple pencil 2. Just because it has magnet as well as it’s apple ..  tongue.gif
You want to resell your Adonit Note + pen? drool.gif
twtang
post May 17 2020, 05:31 PM

634 posts

QUOTE(swanlover @ May 17 2020, 05:21 PM)
Latest china Pencil gen 3 is not bad , can achieve 95% of Apple Pencil, material is more premium, only pressure sensitivity missing . Can attach magnetically at the iPad too
Got link to buy?
twtang
post May 21 2020, 07:56 AM

634 posts

QUOTE(MacDaNife @ May 21 2020, 07:52 AM)
Not true. I bought a iPhone 11Pro for the wife. I spec-ed a 128Gb, She wanted a 256Gb.

Apple allowed a return and exchange. And paid for shipping back to them.

No issues.

I've returned a defective AppleTV bought online too but that required a trip to Machines to return. The replacement was shipped.
Is there a 128 GB version of iPhone 11 Pro?
twtang
post May 31 2020, 09:38 PM

634 posts

QUOTE(attw @ May 31 2020, 09:17 AM)
I already have a K380 actually, am waiting for the third party keyboard cases like from Logitech, Brydge or Zagg for the iPad Pro 2020 - I don't mind spending RM300 to RM400 for the convenience of having a keyboard case but Apple's own Smart Keyboard folio and Magic Keyboard is way above my budget laugh.gif
I have been waiting for Zagg Slim Book go for Ipad Pro 2020, but no stock since the launch of the new iPad Pro
twtang
post Jun 9 2020, 01:50 PM

634 posts

QUOTE(scarxxx @ Jun 7 2020, 08:41 PM)
I didn’t use any sort of converter but I preferred Baseus brand. Here’s the Baseus USB C to 3.5mm Earphone Converter.

Feedbacks and ratings are good. On the plus side, ship from local and it is from a preferred seller.

Hope this help.
I have one that looks similar to Baseus, and it worked on my Samsung S10 Plus, and Huawei Mate 20 pro, but can't work on iPad pro... For safe and save, i ended up with RM49.
twtang
post Jun 10 2020, 12:34 PM

634 posts

QUOTE(lilredridinghood @ Jun 10 2020, 09:50 AM)
Is there a logitech folio keyboard for the iPad Pro?
I also wonder how come there was no stock for the logitech folio for latest iPad Pro 11....even Zagg Slim Book go also no stock...
twtang
post Jun 12 2020, 09:06 AM

634 posts

QUOTE(hyperyouth_firepower @ Jun 11 2020, 09:27 PM)
Yeap. The one I was looking at though, was the "gen 6". If you dig around the pictures, it even has pictures up to "gen 8". Google says even Gen 9 is available (but i've yet to see proofs). This one has a lot of things packed in for a sub-RM100 stylus for ipad.

Palm rejection
Tilt writing
Magnetic attachment (doesn't charge from there though)

pretty impressive. Just no pressure sensitivity.
And i somehow want to kick myself for not checking out last night because i was still contemplating the note plus vs this one. Then the note plus's discount (which was at RM290) is now back to RM325. blergh. Everything else except the dbrand skins have been ordered (i'm checking out the mojoskins.co that you've mentioned before).
I had just received my 5th gen two days ago, and yes the shopee link did mention that 5th has tilt function but no magnetic. There are so many gen...confusing..I wanted to buy 4th gen, couldn't remember how I ended up with 5th instead.
twtang
post Jul 2 2020, 09:13 AM

634 posts

QUOTE(PowerGadget @ Jul 2 2020, 12:17 AM)
Guys, anybody bought their iPad Pro through online? How was your experience?
Easy, straight forward, no hassles, but you just need to wait for delivery (compare if you can get stock from shop), and cheaper (if you know the trick).

I got mine online and everyday I press F5 on the delivery status page..and one day, Ding Dong...a yellow color van arrived in front of my house...
twtang
post Jul 8 2020, 04:22 PM

634 posts

QUOTE(ajtoh @ Jul 8 2020, 11:22 AM)
thx for sharing...any good recommendation for Apple Pencil alternative?
If you are not artist, there are plenty of choices. I heard that Adonit or Adonit are good choice and I am using Goojodoq, and it serves me well for day to day note writing, and i drop once and still workable.

https://shopee.com.my/GOOJODOQ-5-Gen-with-P...2007.5012029781
twtang
post Jul 8 2020, 04:23 PM

634 posts

QUOTE(ultra_nyamuk @ Jul 8 2020, 04:15 PM)
Camera quality is good but the position (landscape) is odd.. colleagues ask what am i looking at.. macam look at the side.. 😂
Exactly, and especially when I want to take a screenshot (using power+ volume button), my hand will block the camera.
twtang
post Jul 9 2020, 10:56 AM

634 posts

QUOTE(hyperyouth_firepower @ Jul 9 2020, 09:54 AM)
Anything like goojodoq (generation 5?) that has almost everything like Apple Pencil 1, but lacking some things (like pressure sensitivity, or tilt, etc) is Apple Pencil 0.5 tier to me. I’m not degrading it, its just based on functions etc.
For Apple Pencil 1.5, to me its like the Logitech Crayon (its actually Apple Pencil 1, since it has everything Apple Pencil 1 is), or the Adonit Note Plus (it has 2 more buttons than Apple Pencil 1, but the buttons are only re-programmable at app level, and not OS level unlike the Apple Pencil 2)
great analysis, price is more than 0.5, hahaha...
twtang
post Jul 11 2020, 12:08 PM

634 posts

https://www.zagg.com/en_us/slim-book-go-apple-ipad-11-pro

Seems like this is already available for 2020 iPad Pro 11.
twtang
post Jul 20 2020, 09:04 AM

634 posts

QUOTE(issac96 @ Jul 19 2020, 08:07 PM)
Logitech's answer for Apple's $300 Magic Keyboard - Logitech Folio Touch. An alternative for Magic keyboard, for half the price. Anyone eyeing for it ? Cuz I am!
Available already?
twtang
post Jul 20 2020, 09:04 AM

634 posts

QUOTE(hyperyouth_firepower @ Jul 20 2020, 12:03 AM)
too bad the keyboard isn't detachable. If it was, it's a "must buy" in my category. Although, technically, its already a "must buy" with the fact that it has great protection, and a great keyboard + trackpad.
Zagg Slim Book Go, the keyboard is detachable.
twtang
post Aug 13 2020, 10:28 AM

634 posts

This is interesting, would it be a killer to magic?
Mokibo Folio for Ipad Pro 2-in-1 touchpad fusion keyboard

twtang
post Aug 19 2020, 11:29 AM

634 posts

Hi, for ipad pro, any calculator app that you all recommend, that support both landscape and portrait mode?

twtang
post Aug 26 2020, 09:47 AM

634 posts

QUOTE(hyperyouth_firepower @ Aug 26 2020, 09:41 AM)
Folks, sorry to double post, but I really need some help / assistance to troubleshoot some matters. Basically, the TL;DR: Either my accessories don't work, or its Apple, or the app developers, or all 3 of them together.
First frustration: Adonite Note Plus and some apps.
I understand that this is more towards app-related, since I think Apple doesn't provide support for third party styluses, to which I've observed that

a) Apple does not provide any support for third party styluses
b) not all app developers provide support for third party styluses
c) all app developers that provides stylus support input for iPadOS must supoort Apple Pencil 1 / Apple Pencil 2 natively

therefore I arrived at what is possibly a flawed conclusion is that
a) either Apple is trying to do all that so that users are prompted to get Apple Pencil 2 (for iPad Pro)
b) there needs to be some weird OS level tweaks by third party to allow extended stylus support.
Either way, the core issue was using Adonite Note Plus in Microsoft Word / Excel / OneNote, because it doesn't work the way I know it work in Microsoft Office apps in Windows Platform (sorry, I don't have Mac, so I don't know)
The second core problem, is about USB-C Hub and whatever you can stick off it.
So, as you can see, I plugged in that soundcard to the hub, then to the iPad Pro.

Suffice to say, not everything works. I'm very, very curious, as to know if the audio routing is OS level problem, or app-level problem, or both?

I ran the audio to a speaker, then plugged a microphone to the soundcard.
It works for YouTube (audio out), but doesn't work for Google Meet.

(why the hassle? because I plugged in a projector too, so I could teleconference a group of people. )

So either
a) wait for bugs to solve itself out
or
b) buy a "better hub". Which I don't even know if such a hub exists.
time for Samsung galaxy Tab S7?
twtang
post Sep 7 2020, 04:17 PM

634 posts

QUOTE(djhenry91 @ Sep 7 2020, 12:04 AM)
[attachmentid=10577770]

Just got my iPad pro  11inches 256GB WiFi version

Still thinking should I buy Logitech iPad pro keyboard or apple keyboard
Can someone tell which is okay?
https://www.zagg.com/en_us/slim-book-go-apple-ipad-11-pro

Why not this?
twtang
post Nov 17 2020, 10:09 PM

634 posts

Finally gotten my Zagg from US...kinda fortunate as they dropped price. From US99.99 till US$49.99

Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0941sec    1.44    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 06:51 AM