Home Networking Ditch ONU, use GPON SFP on Business Grade Router, 2.5G ONU for Unifi & Maxis, NO NEED VLAN

PRSXFENG
post Sep 3 2021, 08:50 AM

2,608 posts

QUOTE(lwk523 @ Sep 3 2021, 08:31 AM)
Now only time fibre come with All in one and I feel this is more better compare with Maxis and TM.
As latest device is supported on All in one function and don't know why ISP want to waste another device just for bridging.  hmm.gif
Actually, I planned to get this Huawei K662C which is around RM200 and Wifi 6 & Mesh is supported.

Well, there are a few reasons why separate is better.
First of all looking at the TIME Fibre thread, seems like these All In One Huawei sucks...

2nd is that if you want to replace your own router, it's easier, just unplug stock router and swap.
Where as with all in one you have to ask cs to change modes.

PRSXFENG
post Mar 12 2022, 07:48 PM

2,608 posts

QUOTE(YoungMan @ Mar 12 2022, 06:51 PM)
Update: manage to login to my ZTE F620 BTU with the Adm@xxxx. I was just browsing every pages to try and make sense of what's around, and also downloaded a copy of backup settings. Since I'm on Digi fibre, what I notice:
1. For LAN 1 is tagged with VLAN 400, 500, 600 as well as the TR-069 (can't remember what vlan).
2. LAN 2 is only tagged with VLAN 629 for Digi fibre while Lan 3 and 4 is empty.
3. Saw that the TR-069 page has username and password. Is that the same as OLT password?
4. What happen if I turn off the TR-069, since I saw the option to enable/disable it in the GUI?
5. is the port information like speed cap etc actually set on the OLT or somewhere inside BTU that will be override by OMCY? I'm just curious as sometimes for downgrade/upgrade they still need to send technician although our router clearly can support the speed.
Not planning to replace the ONU for now, but just to play around and understand it.
1. sounds like vlans for unifi
2. expected, rarely lan4 could be used for hypptv I heard
3. dont think so
4. it's for them to remotely change settings, you will also find TR-069 on your router, somtimes called CWMP or other names
5. supposedly it's OLT send commands to the BTU to tell it to limit speed
PRSXFENG
post Aug 11 2022, 05:25 PM

2,608 posts

I wonder what does Maxis on their own infra uses 🤔
PRSXFENG
post Sep 1 2022, 12:19 PM

2,608 posts

QUOTE(josh5671 @ Sep 1 2022, 11:14 AM)
hello, I have not much knowledge on networking.

is there something like ONU+router all in one unit?
like old time ADSL modem+router combo?
Got, TIME Fibre is using those.

But if you're interested in replacing your current setup to a 2in1 I think most ISP's can't and won't help you
PRSXFENG
post Sep 1 2022, 12:51 PM

2,608 posts

QUOTE(josh5671 @ Sep 1 2022, 12:26 PM)
i am new to fiber (actually fiber coming soon to my home, ya after these year)
thats why i ask this question. so if the device i mention exist, i can plan for it now.
less problem later
for a typical installation you will get 2 items

the Modem/ONT, which is ISP property and you must return it to the ISP after you end your subscription
Most people never touch this and just use it as is and is good enough for most people
This is where the fibre cable connects to

then, a router is provided which plugs into the ONT via Ethernet, this one is your's to keep after the 2 year contract for most isps
most people replace this with their own as the isp provided one isnt great

some isps like TIME to save cost/save space/save power provide an all in one solution, 1 box, directly connects to fibre

This thread is for enterprise tier where you can plug fibre directly into a sfp module on your own custom router setup

For your use case, I'll recommend you just stay with having 2 items
PRSXFENG
post Sep 2 2022, 02:46 PM

2,608 posts

QUOTE(josh5671 @ Sep 2 2022, 10:42 AM)
I see and understood your explanation.
so that All in One(ONT+Router) combo only exist in enterprise grade device or got consumer grade out there (maybe another thread for that kind of discussion?)
Willing to know.

thank you.
Yes, I understand that logic.
'If you don't know anything even in layman terms, you probably don't need it' this depend on people.
With no offense, I literally try to decrease the device (not power consumption wise), because current i got 2 streamyx and 1 4G. if i use modem+router config, that will be 6 device filling up my desk.
With incoming fiber plus my friend not far away from me have issue with unifi. i probably will left another streamyx for a while, maybe keep it.

not expert for all these thing, but i try to keep my build as simple as it be.
not sure if TM will let you keep streamyx as you're basically upgrading to fibre from copper in their system
(unless you mean upgrading 1 of the 2 streamyx to fibre and keeping the other as streamyx)

in terms of decreasing devices, the ont isnt too big depending on the model you get, some people stack the router on top, might affect thermals but should be fine if you add a cooling fan

sadly I don't think there's really much choice for you

going with enterprise tier (sfp module, sfp router) is going to be very expensive + need to know how to setup as tm probably wont help you
consumer tier ones like the all in one boxes that time fibre uses, not sure where to get them and again not sure if tm will help you setup

PRSXFENG
post May 15 2023, 09:52 AM

2,608 posts

QUOTE(AdmiralG @ May 15 2023, 01:36 AM)
Hi. Would like to know what's the benefit of doing this?
1. Allows true speed without being limited by 1Gbe ports (such as on Unifi Ultra 2Gbps plans)
2. save 1 box and power outlet, easier to power with UPS
3. nice and neat everything inside a rack mounted router
4. maybe you dont trust Cina brand like Huawei tongue.gif
5. learning experience too
PRSXFENG
post Jun 30 2023, 08:02 PM

2,608 posts

QUOTE(Jjuggler @ Jun 30 2023, 06:30 PM)
They have rights to ban the unifi account if they identified users using custom ONU? Walao... Shitty company that provides lousy CPE can do that meh?
They probably do somewhere in ToS

I wonder if this is a "no you're not supposed to be able to pull 2Gbps, we give 1+1 intentionally as most people won't be able to saturate the connection (but pay us more)"

PRSXFENG
post Aug 2 2023, 12:12 PM

2,608 posts

QUOTE(waja7968 @ Aug 2 2023, 09:31 AM)
Let say currently, I'm on Unifi 300mbps plan and I op-in for the GPON solution, I can get 2Gbps speed with just paying 300mbps plan subscription?
NO
PRSXFENG
post Aug 19 2023, 07:07 PM

2,608 posts

QUOTE(beetch @ Aug 19 2023, 04:58 PM)
My ont is HG8240H when i login it is only a basic page with some basic info such as PLOAM password and SN. My SN is not HWTC or 48575.

It starts with E2B. Is this my GPON_SN?

My suspect there is another level of superuser for this ONT. i cannot download configuration file therefore backdoor to enable ssh/telnet is not possible?

Isp is time. Any info?
Please try
telecomadmin
admintelecom
PRSXFENG
post Feb 20 2024, 09:27 AM

2,608 posts

QUOTE(houhou87@ @ Feb 20 2024, 08:54 AM)
Hi thank for reply, the Netis unit is the modem of the maxis WiFi.
So if I want the xdr5480 to access the WiFi , I need buy the ONU ?

Looks like your Netis DL4422 is a 2 in one modem + router for ADSL/VDSL
But only info out there shows a different white colour looking one that also has wifi built in

NOT Fiber

So, the netis is already handling the router side of things

im not sure how to set it up but probably not using pppoe for your setup
or, need vlan settings

i would say continue using netis until you upgrade to 500
PRSXFENG
post Mar 5 2024, 12:24 AM

2,608 posts

QUOTE(Anime4000 @ Mar 4 2024, 10:54 PM)
And, replacing ONU with Stick would be issue with Allo, reasons:
1. In Cyberjaya, I have tested many PON Stick on Pendakwah Teknologi office, Allo there using Calix OLT.
2. Calix use GPON as usual, but OMCI MIB 84, 171 are empty, PPTP and VEIP entry also empty, I suspect using GPON as like Normal Ethernet?
3. Calix ONT doesn't allow admin login to view PLOAM/SLID/LOID

If that case, suck bad.... need hack the ONT.

as other place might using Huawei ONT, I hope Allo avoid using obscure device.

Then, Allo is not like TM allow user properly replace ONT. Allo is more like TIME, there will be Propriety OMCI where Standard OMCI ONT cannot use...
Hmm, some users of Allo did get a tiny Huawei ONT in the past
https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...post&p=97985269

And there mayyyyyyyyyy be a chance Allo supports some level of 3rd party hardware as back on their old 2021 page/plans

https://web.archive.org/web/20210618230857/...nd.my/business/

Their 1Gbps Fixed IP plan doesn't come with any hardware so it seems like the expectation is you connect it up to your own network
Granted, it did cost 3.5k monthly...

Though it's gone from their current plans these days
PRSXFENG
post Jul 10 2024, 12:12 AM

2,608 posts

QUOTE(tng55 @ Jul 9 2024, 11:54 PM)
my comment is most consumer routers come with what, 256/512mb ram
and they can handle downloading tasks just fine

note, downloading on your client devices, not using the router as a downloader

as for adguard... 128mb might be rough?
consider running it on something else like a raspberry pi instea

do cosnider also x86 router boxes running pfsense/opnsense, those have lots of ram and storage and also cpu power to play with
PRSXFENG
post Sep 23 2024, 08:55 PM

2,608 posts

QUOTE(Anime4000 @ Sep 22 2024, 04:29 PM)
aww man... haha can ignore my PM

thing is HiSGMII is Realtek Proprietary modification of overclocked SGMII, also check 2.5G BaseX supported?

My PON Stick follow this Linux SFP patch:
https://github.com/torvalds/linux/blob/cf11.../sfp-bus.c#L327

Addr 0x06 Value 0x00 Unspecified 1000Base-LX
Addr 0x0c Value 0x1f (3100MBd)

If Asus detect by i2c EEPROM Vendor Name and Vendor Part Number for auto detect, then I would use HUAWEI for it's name just make RT-BE88U happy rclxms.gif
QUOTE(blacktubi @ Sep 22 2024, 04:45 PM)
Btw GPL for RT-BE88U is available for download, not sure if you will find anything useful from there

I am not a Linux/C expert but I decided to download and poke around it tongue.gif

I do see 2.5G BaseX mentioned in
\asuswrt\release\src-rt-5.04behnd.4916\bcmdrivers\opensource\phy\phy_drv_dsl_serdes.c

from line 87

CODE

if (strcasecmp(config_xfi, "1000Base-X") == 0)
       phy_dev->current_inter_phy_type = INTER_PHY_TYPE_1000BASE_X;
   if (strcasecmp(config_xfi, "2500Base-X") == 0)
       phy_dev->current_inter_phy_type = INTER_PHY_TYPE_2500BASE_X;
   if (strcasecmp(config_xfi, "2.5GBase-X") == 0)
       phy_dev->current_inter_phy_type = INTER_PHY_TYPE_2P5GBASE_X;
   if (strcasecmp(config_xfi, "5GBase-R") == 0)
       phy_dev->current_inter_phy_type = INTER_PHY_TYPE_5GBASE_R;
   if (strcasecmp(config_xfi, "10GBase-R") == 0)
       phy_dev->current_inter_phy_type = INTER_PHY_TYPE_10GBASE_R;
   if (strcasecmp(config_xfi, "USXGMII") == 0)
       phy_dev->current_inter_phy_type = INTER_PHY_TYPE_USXGMII;

It does also seem to query all i2c data, but idk what exactly it does with that
\asuswrt\release\src-rt-5.04behnd.4916\bcmdrivers\opensource\misc\bcmsfp\impl1\bcmsfp.c
CODE

dev_info(psfp->dev, "module %.*s %.*s rev %.*s sn %.*s dc %.*s\n",
       (int)sizeof(eeprom.base.vendor_name), eeprom.base.vendor_name,
       (int)sizeof(eeprom.base.vendor_pn), eeprom.base.vendor_pn,
       (psfp->eeprom.base.phys_id == PHYS_ID_XFP) ? (int)sizeof(eeprom.base.xfp.vendor_rev) : (int)sizeof(eeprom.base.sfp.vendor_rev),
       (psfp->eeprom.base.phys_id == PHYS_ID_XFP) ? eeprom.base.xfp.vendor_rev : eeprom.base.sfp.vendor_rev,
       (int)sizeof(eeprom.ext.vendor_sn), eeprom.ext.vendor_sn,
       (int)sizeof(eeprom.ext.datecode), eeprom.ext.datecode);

PRSXFENG
post Dec 28 2024, 11:26 PM

2,608 posts

QUOTE(pandera999 @ Dec 28 2024, 10:36 PM)
reading this make me miss netw engineer time.. lol.. now no time for it... with GPON keep changing, not sure if i want to ditch Huawei HG8145B7N Wifi 7 unit.. i dont like their wifi setting and thinking change the GPON itself.

since im using TIME 600mbps plan, guess, i will reuse fiberhome unit that maxis gave me..

in your pov, does this switching to fiberhome will works?
Maybe not, since TIME is using all Huawei eqipment, might not be as "Universal" and accepting as TM Net
You could probably easily pickup an old used Huawei from marketplaces though
PRSXFENG
post Mar 27 2025, 09:04 AM

2,608 posts

QUOTE(ZJL @ Mar 26 2025, 11:20 PM)
Huawei OptiXstar S800E XGS-PON SFP ONU

Could this work or I need to study more ?
Please check out the "Ditch ONU, use GPON SFP on Business Grade Router" Topic
PRSXFENG
post Mar 27 2025, 04:44 PM

2,608 posts

QUOTE(YoungMan @ Mar 27 2025, 12:53 PM)
Isn't this the topic?
Oops I apologize, I somehow thought this was on the TIME Fiber thread, must have had a few tabs open sweat.gif sweat.gif sweat.gif

0.0631sec    0.89    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 05:34 PM