Samsung Galaxy Z (ALL) Series : Fold5/Flip5, Previous & upcoming new model

wr6969
post Sep 26 2020, 10:05 PM

314 posts

QUOTE(aki_cheah @ Sep 26 2020, 07:03 PM)
Finally got mine today ...
Does any Sifu here knows how to download Good Lock ?
You can try using a VPN and connect to a US server (or a server in a Good Lock supported country) as described by a forumer a few pages back. Or it could be faster and less painful to download NiceLock (from Play Store) and its NiceLock Downloader Companion (open Nice Lock app after install, go to XDA support thread to download this app as it cannot be downloaded from the Play Store) to download, install and configure Good Lock modules.
wr6969
post Sep 27 2020, 10:32 AM

314 posts

My collection of (mostly) cheap and nasty cases, purchased from Shopee and Lazada (I got one more cheap one on the way, so not shown here, but looks like a super cheap version of item D)

My thoughts on each case:
A
Second most expensive after item C. Plain smooth plastic, no patterns on back cover. Easy to snap on and remove. Makes the phone look like a real cheap whore.

B
Most expensive of the lot at > RM100, purportedly made in Korea. Faux leather, one piece "book-type" case which covers entire phone. Criss-cross pattern. A real biatch to put on and remove as the sides are made of thick plastic and you may lose a fingertip or two when trying to remove it, not to mention your phone may go flying if you are a bit over-enthusiastic while removing the case.

But this is the most practical of the cases here and my favourite as it really covers the entire phone. When opened, the front flap will cover the front screen when you hold the phone like a book, thus avoiding even more fingerprints, grease, and undesirable other-whatnots on the front screen. The case gives a good grip. Protects the phone when in a pocket or bag full of keys or other objects which may damage the screen.

Downsides are that it makes a thick phone even thicker. The cutout for the microphone at the bottom next to the USB-C port is not aligned 100%. The felt-ish material on the inside front cover attracts dust like a whorehouse attracts oil rig workers coming ashore after 2 years at sea. Oh, and did I mention it's a pain in the behind to put on and remove?

Search for "araree fold 2" in Lazada for this case.

C
Cheapest of the lot and it shows. No front frame. Easy to put on and remove. Shows the colour of your phone because it's transparent. Not really practical, I bought it just for shits and giggles.

D
Comes with front frame and back cover supposedly made of real leather. Smells like real leather to me too, but my olfactory senses aren't what they used to be 30 years ago. Easy to put on and remove as the sides are made out of thinner plastic compared to item B.

Downsides are that the front frame is thick (see third and last pictures) and therefore touching and swiping edges of the front screen is going to be an exercise in patience.

I got items A, C and D from Shopee, just do a search for "fold2" or "fold 2", new items are added daily, and prices can fluctuate a bit too.

Finally, put a protector on the back camera lens bump. While case B may protect the entire phone, the camera lens still need protection if you plan on putting the phone on the surface.

Hope this helps those who are looking for their "perfect" case.
wr6969
post Sep 28 2020, 12:22 PM

314 posts

QUOTE(aki_cheah @ Sep 28 2020, 12:07 PM)
Thanks for the info ... Only wanted Good Lock to make my Instagram full page ...
Is there any other ways ?
Not that I'm currently aware of. Just install NiceLock and its downloader companion app, and install the Multistar module. Go into this module, set the ratio of the Insta app to 4:3 and it should expand to fill the entire screen. If you have the time, do explore the other modules as well, there are a lot of useful features in there. I'm just shocked that Samsung decided to only limit the Good Lock app to a few select countries mad.gif
wr6969
post Oct 21 2020, 10:21 PM

314 posts

Received the transparent Ringke Slim case I ordered after 10 days from Korea via Lazada. My favourite case so far I think, next to the Araree flip case. Both sides come with some pre-applied tape (those black coloured "bars" in the pictures) to hold the case more securely to the phone. I didn't use them though, since the case already fits quite snugly onto the phone and unless you're planning to wield the phone like a crazed samurai, I don't think the case will slip off the phone easily.

The sides of the case are tapered, not straight down like those cheapo China cases. It is also definitely slimmer, and has more "flex" to it when you grip it slightly tight in your palm (before you put it onto the phone, that is). Swiping to activate the edge panel is easy, it's almost guaranteed to work every time you try it, unlike those China cases. The back case even has a slot to insert a lanyard which came with the case but I don't plan on using it unless the case is superglued to the phone.

Bought it for RM79, seller raised the price to RM99 right after I bought it (they did the same to this item in their LZD Singapore store too). I got the transparent one to show the colour of the phone since I've paid a small fortune for it.

Ignore the seemingly off-centred camera cutout in the last picture, the case wasn't seated properly in the phone when I took that picture.

This post has been edited by wr6969: Oct 21 2020, 10:21 PM

0.0346sec    0.52    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 12:36 AM