5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Bottom

Samsung Galaxy Z (ALL) Series : Fold5/Flip5, Previous & upcoming new model

KomradMikhail
post Oct 3 2020, 07:00 AM

99 posts

Never had to care or contend with fast charging or slow charging. My Fold 2 stays charged like a desktop PC is, in the Dex Pad, when I need to be outside, the USB-C PD powerbank does the job. I’ve the Anker charger too but that’s permanently on a Nintendo Switch in the game room. Or maybe I can swap that out and let it use its own Nintendo charger. Or maybe I can use the Nintendo Switch official charger as the charger for the Fold 2, it’s USB-C PD, would the Fold gets fast charging from it?

Am glad that I had the Switch earlier, I’ve done my fair share of searching for fast charging for that, that should cover the need for Fold 2 charging as well.

For the time my current setup with the Dex Pad kept it charged, despite the charger that comes with the Dex Pad not chasing it turbo-speed while in Dex mode(to prevent overheating, coz Dex already generated plenty of heat multitasking, you don’t wanna compound the issue further with stressing the batteries (and descreasing battery lifespan) with fast charging. I’ll take steady constant charging over fast charging. I dont mind abusing the Switch with fast charging, it’s only 1k to replace. The Fold however is 8k.
KomradMikhail
post Oct 3 2020, 12:34 PM

99 posts

QUOTE(link87 @ Oct 3 2020, 07:45 AM)
Its a choice by individual need. If u feel u doesnt need the fast charging than up 2 u. For me i need multiple charger 1 for home, 1 for office/travel. And yes using xiaomi power bank 3 pro whre i cant plug.
Which is why I explained my usage pattern/need. Agree that your need may differ than mine.

So which super duper ultra turbo fast charger is recommended for Fold 2? I'm gonna file that info under "good to know" in my case. I personally (did I covered all the disclaimers?) still dont need super fast charger in my usage pattern. The bundled charger works for my needs. Good to know info to get everyone else's experience with these super fast charger before I ever needed one. Let other beta-test first. I love my Fold 2, its to expensive for me to take a gamble on it. Pardon my overprotectiveness of the device, I rarely spend this much on something like this. Poor man mentality perhaps.
KomradMikhail
post Oct 7 2020, 09:11 AM

99 posts

Any suggestion for prepaid esim that works with fold 2? Preferable the ones that doesn't use Celcom backbone as their network. After the last outage i want to diversify so that i dont lose connectivity whatsoever.

Also preferably, prepaid sim that doesn't require going to a store to set up. I notice, Yoodo and XOX allows esim setup wholly by their apps, but they use Celcom as their backbone network.

KomradMikhail
post Oct 7 2020, 09:19 AM

99 posts

I've also gotten a one year worth of VPN subscription (purchased by a couple of my less profitable cryptocurrency), coupled with shared account subscription to HBO MAX, Netflix, Hulu, Disney+, Peacock TV, it has turned my fold into a powerhouse streaming beast! Turn VPN on, run Samsung Dex connected to big screen TV, enjoy latest shows from the States. For shows I cant get I'll torrent with VPN super fast. rclxm9.gif
KomradMikhail
post Oct 7 2020, 12:37 PM

99 posts

QUOTE(whojen @ Oct 7 2020, 11:48 AM)
Surfshark ? Nord? VPN
Nord. It was between NordVPN or ExpressVPN, but the deal they had recently just expired was too sweet to pass up. 85% discount for a year service with TEN device connection, plus they accept crypto payment so it's no brainer. Used the least profitable crypto coin I had that NordVPN accepted as payment, kautim. No banks needed/required. In fact on that day where Celcom network went busted and I cant even get MSOS code or OTP code to my phone, that crypto payment works flawlessly, and is proof that banks are obsolete, and digital cryptos are the future. biggrin.gif

Couple that with NordLynx protocol, its basically trouble free connection to these streaming services. With the usual TCP/UDP VPN protocols, its either hit or miss, with many retries. With NordLynx its smooth sailing. I still use TCP/UDP VPN settings to set up the Asus RT-AC5300 router, so the whole wifi network at home is as if I'm surfing from the States, complete with annoying spam ads tailored for US market laugh.gif (open Youtube see StateFarm or NBA ads, until I slap on adblocker tongue.gif ), but with just the router set up with TCP/UDP, mostly only HBO MAX and Disney+ works without a hitch. To open Hulu or get Netflix US content reliably without Hulu or Netflix US erroring out, I use the Nordlynx protocol, only available via their VPN activated via their apps (Available for Windows, iOS and Android).
KomradMikhail
post Oct 8 2020, 02:57 PM

99 posts

Not worth it. What is a warranty if it doesn't cover the cost of repairing them? The amount you're paying them for these service, I see it as the charge to repair them. Looking at my usage pattern, I dont need them. Diusclaimer again, this is my own usage case again, before another guy gets angry at what I post. I look at that cost being the cost you'd most likely pay if you send the damaged Fold for repair. Might as well, pay when needed, if there arent any need to pay them, I'm not forking out a single ruble/sen.

The only way I's fork out for extended warranty if Malaysia has Samsung Care + like in Europe or US, where they repair everything (minus inner screen, extra charges for that), no questions asked, no extra charges. These "ala carte" warranty Samsung Malaysia is offering, I might as well pay when needed for repair. Looking at how I baby the phone extra carefully compared to my previous phone, with luck and care, touch wood, hopefully I will not have to worry about the warranties until way later in the life of the Fold ownership.
KomradMikhail
post Oct 9 2020, 07:20 AM

99 posts

What a shame, the VRS Design case for the front cover blocks edge panel swipe in. WS looking forward to the case. sad.gif

KomradMikhail
post Oct 9 2020, 02:56 PM

99 posts

Yeah I've been lurking in Reddit GalaxyFold subreddit, saw that case. My contention with other cases is that they're plain, but they're unobtrusive and work without blocking swipes. My case is that I prefer cases with character, not the "me-too"dozens of cases from China that looks the same. I'd rather chuck my Fold 2 into a pouch and keep it that way, than put these generic cases.

I need cases with character, which is why I gravitated towards the VRS cases, they look steampunk-ish, and looked like it could come out from Star Wars or something. If I'm hiding my Fold underneath thick cases, I prefer it to have unique character. That's just me. Don't kill me. Just sad that the VRS case blocks swipe -in, and the most recent defect, this: https://www.reddit.com/r/GalaxyFold/comment...s_case_warning/ , paint chipping from inside section of the case. Looks really bad.

I've been starting to look for alternatives in Shopee, but none strikes me as worthwhile enough to replace the Aramid I have. I had so much high hope for VRS case. sad.gif
KomradMikhail
post Oct 11 2020, 06:50 AM

99 posts

Which one of you here posted the GKK “AI Autofocus” Fold 2 case in GalaxyFold subreddit? tongue.gif .

https://www.reddit.com/r/GalaxyFold/comment...utm_name=iossmf

It’s a near perfect case for the Fold 2, I just can’t stand that “AI Autofocus” part. Why can’t these enterprising mainland Chinese just leave the casing alone with destroying the minimalistic look of the case with that hideous “AI Autofocus” letterings, doh.gif

Without that horrible “AI Autofocus” ugliness letterings on the camera bump covering, I’d be all over it already. And because of that, the search for the perfect Fold 2 case continues. I’m also worries me for the current trend of requiring double-sided tape to keep the case in place. What happened to form-fitting cases that just snaps into place, AND STAYS IN PLACE? Ike all first party Samsung cases so far, but without front cover case section. If the answer is the front cover is too narrow and thin to be form fitting, then I’ll resign to the fact that I’ll be carrying my Fold 2 without front cover case protected, and will only be protected by a pouch.

The way I look at it, if your case isn’t form fitting and require double-sided tape to stay in place, it’s a poorly made case. I don’t want to have to deal with adhesives on my beautiful Fold2, so I’d rather not have any of these cases on my Fold 2 whatsoever.
KomradMikhail
post Oct 11 2020, 07:59 PM

99 posts

QUOTE(suilow1991 @ Oct 11 2020, 07:48 PM)
I posted the GKK reddit link here but it's not written by me. I also ordered similar China according to his description, hopefully receive it next few days then I can give the feedback. In fact I ordered for 2 different colours simply because the case is dirt cheap.
Regarding the ugly letterings I do have a suggestion which is to get a dbrand skin for camera and cover it if you cannot ignore it, wouldn't cost you too much. Or you even take something and repaint the section.
Why does it sound like I'm beta-testing a case, making it work by having to DIY my way to make the case look presentable? As Uncle Roger would say: "Haaaiiiiiiiyyyaaaaa!" shakehead.gif

Please tell me at least this one is a snap-on tight case, without the need of double-sided tape for the case to stay in place. unsure.gif

In any case, your impressions is much appreciated upon receipt of the cases. Things like fitting especially, China brands are either too loose or fit so tight they'll scratch the hell out of the phone. And post your DIY work (if any), if you decide to remove that AI Autofocus hideousness.
KomradMikhail
post Oct 13 2020, 09:37 AM

99 posts

No way im trusting my Fold 2 to that thing. Together with the fact that thw Fold isn't water-sealed with any IP rating
KomradMikhail
post Oct 15 2020, 06:15 AM

99 posts

Been preoccupied with setting up a Miracast-capable device, coz I still believe Wireless Dex is a viable endeavour. After using the Amazon Fire Stick 4K for more than a week and a half, I can safely say it will turn any HDMI-equipped TV, no matter how old it is, into a TV with Wireless Dex capability. Can’t claim if it is better than the built-in Miracast in Samsung TVs though, my Samsung TV is old (old ya, not ancient! laugh.gif, it’s still a SmartTV), but it sure add a lot more functionality than just Wireless Dex. With a proper setup, you can even go portable with this, a portable monitor you can connect to wirelessly. Add in VPN and streaming service, you’ll be entertained for hours, days,weeks, month, even years with content....a very dangerous rabbit hole to fall into. biggrin.gif

I’m torn between using my Fold 2 as it is, or with the portable monitor. The Fold 2 has very loud speaker built into it, sometimes I forgot to set the audio to come out from the portable monitor using Samsung SmartThings, I left the outdoor out via the Fold 2 itself, and it’s even plenty loud and clear that way! Of course in public places in demand of privacy use your free included Galaxy Buds Live lah.

Thinking of expanding that entertainment aspect of the Fold with gaming on the xCloud service coupled with Xbox Game pass, has anybody tried that service, how good is it in Malaysia with our local internet providers?

Gaming locally on the fold is pretty much a good experience, although I avaoid mashing virtual buttons on the inner screen playing games like Genshin Impact, there are reports about someone denting his inner display of his Fold 2 from mashing virtual buttons playing that game. I’m using the Fold 2 with Aramid standing case unfolded paired wirelessly with PS4 controller, so no rough treatment to the inner display. My only question is how good xCloud and Xbox Game Pass works here locally before I consider subbing. Anybody else game on their Fold 2?

KomradMikhail
post Oct 16 2020, 05:15 AM

99 posts

QUOTE(muffdiver @ Oct 16 2020, 01:42 AM)
I tried connecting to my LG OLED TV via Miracast. It was not very smooth. Seems jerky. It keeps popping up a warning asking me to connect via cable. Anyway, good to know that it works wirelessly. For DEX, I still prefer to use it on my S7+ Tablet like a laptop.
Reason why I have the DexPad for wired Dex connection. But for convenience sake you can’t beat wireless, for non-precision operation like watching Netflix/HBO MAX/Disney+ wirelessly casting it to the big screen TV in the kitchen while munching dinner, it can’t be beat. The Amazon FireTV 4K stick is still better at Miracast-ing, than my old Samsung TV, although for best results, wired Dex is best. I don’t need a Native Dex device like that tablet when the Fold alone is already operating like a tablet unfolded so wired Dex with the DexPad and a folding portable Bluetooth keyboard with trackpad works me.

The funny thing was “hijacking” TVs with their Miracast function turned on. Some TVs I ran into in public have their Miracast function turned on, so if they’re not careful I’ll be mirror-casting my Dex into their TV if they incorrectly select “Yes” when their TV prompts to allow connection to some stray Fold 2 5G, to clear that prompt away from the screen.imagine the anger from football fans watching their football matches at mamas, being hijacked by a Dex desktop! laugh.gif Just gotta be quick and hide your Fold when they hunt for the culprit. tongue.gif reminds me of the old days of watdriving and Bluetooth hijacking. cool2.gif
KomradMikhail
post Oct 16 2020, 05:17 AM

99 posts

Wardriving, not watdriving. Typo.
KomradMikhail
post Oct 17 2020, 01:51 PM

99 posts

Haaiyaa! people are still having trouble downloading Good Lock? This was addressed weeks ago! Just download Windscribe free VPN on Play Store, clear cache/data Galaxy Store, reboot your Fold 2, turn on VPN , set to US Dallas server before entering Galaxy Store app and voila! It’s your first search result when you type “Good Lock” . shakehead.gif
KomradMikhail
post Oct 18 2020, 03:26 PM

99 posts

Lurked in /GalaxyFold subreddit again, got reminded of the free "Samsung TV Plus" service that's USA only. Geofencing/geoblocking is much more aggressive in Google Play Store so I couldn't get the app that way, got the apk the "alternative way". After that, its free Live TV (US channels), free TVshows and a decent selection of free movies as well, just finished watching Silence of The Lamb movie there with my NordVPN.

You're welcomed to try with free Windscribe VPN, it should work the same, just that Windscribe free VPN is 10GB/month, unlimited connections 10 10 select countries (US included), so if you're confident you're not gonna use all 10GB quota in a month, it refreshes monthly. Only need to create an account with them. I use NordVPN coz I know my own usage will bust that quota and beyond for my Netflix USA, HBO MAX, Disney+, PeacockTV( another great free service), Hulu, IMDBTV usage. If you're a light user WindscribeVPN works. While they're still trying to expand their userbase, thats why they're that generous with that 10GB, expect them to slowly pull it back to paid service once they gain enough market confidence and traction.
KomradMikhail
post Oct 18 2020, 03:37 PM

99 posts

QUOTE(neekun @ Oct 18 2020, 03:15 PM)
Its not working. With vpn connected to dallas and both cache and data cleared the error message is still content not available in my country
[attachmentid=10638878]
reboot, then turn on VPN, your device need to latch on to the VPN stably, else the Store will just deny you. Make sure Galaxy Store is not running in the background before you turn on VPN.

Kill all apps running in background. Turn off location in setting. clear data/cache. Reboot. Turn VPN on, VPN server Dallas or new York. Go into Galaxy Store, look for Good Lock.

If that doesnt work, Samsung has either done something else to lock out freeVPN users, or you can continue shuffling between other cities in US. Im using NordVPN, everything is wide open as if I'm accessing from New York (my chosen server city). I even get US-based ads in my app advertisement. Haaaiiiyyaaaa!

Else you might wanna try VPN Korea city server or research what other countries GoodLock is available in and VPN into that country.

If all fails only option would be to look for the most up-to-date apk in apk-repository sites and pray it's not infested in trojans or keylogger. tongue.gif
KomradMikhail
post Oct 18 2020, 04:05 PM

99 posts

Proof it works:

As you can see, if properly done your Fold will behave like it's on US soil. laugh.gif

KomradMikhail
post Oct 19 2020, 03:33 AM

99 posts

Sorry late reply, have to wait for this forum’s idiotic 3 posts/12 hours to refresh. And with this post, my quota’s out again. It’s like using a crappy prepaid phone telco service. Haiyyyaaa!

Your SIM being the last element that pinpoints your location, Neekun. I failed to mention that my Fold is still SIM card-less, not moving into it as my daily driver until I get the case I’m waiting for and thanks to COVID, case gets delayed delivery. It’s in the country from Korea and Singapore, just nobody from customs and post service processing it.

Either way glad it’s solved. Start with the Multi Star module and make your apps full screen I know I did that first can’t stand Instagramin it’s with weird aspect ratio. There’s a peculiar Galaxy Fold specific section called “I Love Galaxy Fold”, the obvious place to start.
KomradMikhail
post Oct 19 2020, 04:24 PM

99 posts

Fold 2: The Mystical Bronze Steampunk Artifact. wink.gif

I’d like to apologize to VRS design for the initial “Meh!” expectation and impressions I had before having the packing now in hand. It is of quality construction, and the color matches the Fold Mystic Bronze really good versus the bad impressions for the silver and black color version in the GalaxyFold subreddit. That’ll teach me a lesson: NEVER LISTEN TO the fickle bunch in that subreddit, make your own mind instead. I’m sitting here and the case seriously looks like bronze-like metal to me under these lighting. Cold cathode lighting. You blast harsh lighting you get that plasticity look I guess, but I’ve tested this under the harsh lighting in the bathroom, still looks like a bronze steampunk artifact to me.

Now to spill the secret. I bought this off GMarket almost a month ago. That’s how bad COVID has affected shipping speed, not to mention how shipping was affected by the slow shipping in Korea during the Chuseok holiday, and their slow shipping process: vendor ships to warehouse, warehouse ships to customs in Incheon airport, then only it flew out. I used EMS as well.

I also have the kickstand version of this case coming in from SG. Bad timing, as I got it shipping in right when we declared PKPB in Klang Valley. Tracking shows that shipment now in Melaka(!!?) after custom clearance there, I guess the mail courier center behind KLIA isn’t operating? Dunno what’s happening with that but it won’t be a stressful wait as I already have the this version of the case safely in hand.

Also have a leather envelope style pouch arriving from Shenzen. Delayed as well by COVID. Its somewhere in the closest mail center near my home, and God knows when these free-shipping POS MY service will be getting off their ass to send it in.

5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0366sec    0.46    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 03:12 PM