Toyota Vios/Yaris 2020 or Myvi 1.5AV, Does Vios have A.S.A/ADAS

TSRoofTopPrince
post Mar 13 2020, 03:50 PM, updated 6y ago

As long as you have the memories, you can be with that person fo
598 posts

Hi all sifu, I am stuck with these 3 model.. Myvi AV , Vios and Yaris.
But I realized that Vios and Yaris doesn't come with A.S.A like Myvi... Can anyone confirm that our UMW didn't include A.S.A/ADAS on Malaysia market.

Myvi 1.5V

A.S.A
6 airbag
Esc, Vsc
Build in tng
Led light

Vios/Yaris
A.S.A/ ADAS - N/A
7 airbag
Esc, Vsc.
Blind spot assist
Led light
360 camera, DVR camera.

This post has been edited by RoofTopPrince: Mar 13 2020, 03:52 PM
raquinz
post Mar 13 2020, 04:12 PM

266 posts

New Vios and Yaris NVH is way better than Myvi..Beside that, i think Myvi is a better choice being the virtue of much lower cost..If you're not a brand snob,Myvi all the way
blmse92
post Mar 13 2020, 04:17 PM

603 posts

NVH Vios and yaris is better. New myvi abit noisy inside and suspension when going small pothole you will feel it very much. Toyota Vios suspension is much better. For airbags & accessories, Toyota have extra 1 airbag and blind spot feature over the myvi but price is big different. Your call.
TSRoofTopPrince
post Mar 13 2020, 05:13 PM

598 posts

QUOTE(raquinz @ Mar 13 2020, 04:12 PM)
New Vios and Yaris NVH is way better than Myvi..Beside that, i think Myvi is a better choice being the virtue of much lower cost..If you're not a brand snob,Myvi all the way
I'm okay with both of the brand, you are right Myvi ownership cost much lower than Vios.
QUOTE(blmse92 @ Mar 13 2020, 04:17 PM)
NVH Vios and yaris is better. New myvi abit noisy inside and suspension when going small pothole you will feel it very much. Toyota Vios suspension is much better. For airbags & accessories, Toyota have extra 1 airbag and blind spot feature over the myvi but price is big different.  Your call.
Vios have extra 1airbag... What I really like bout Myvi cause they have A.S.A and Vios Don't have please correct me if I'm wrong. Both also got pro and cons
SleeplessEyes
post Mar 13 2020, 05:30 PM

2,429 posts

QUOTE(RoofTopPrince @ Mar 13 2020, 05:13 PM)
I'm okay with both of the brand, you are right Myvi ownership cost much lower than Vios.

Vios have extra 1airbag... What I really like bout Myvi cause they have A.S.A and Vios Don't have please correct me if I'm wrong. Both also got pro and cons
ASA is not for you to try tailgate and then expect the car to Auto brake with 100% confidencr. Max speed only up to 30.
Beyond that speed you're on your own.

Watch the video.
https://youtu.be/RJWMxGTYLuI

Seriously if u want something better than Asa. Proton ADAS does it better but you're probably say 'out of my budget'. Wait a little while X50 will come out. Price is around Yaris Vios pricing est.

And oh BTW just to let you know, one of my daily ride - Axia E spec comes with No Abs and only 2 airbags. No ASA also. but I ain't worrying. that's me. It depends entirely on one's driving skills.

This post has been edited by SleeplessEyes: Mar 13 2020, 05:41 PM
theanswer
post Mar 13 2020, 05:52 PM

1,024 posts

QUOTE(SleeplessEyes @ Mar 13 2020, 05:30 PM)
ASA is not for you to try tailgate and then expect the car to Auto brake with 100% confidencr. Max speed only up to 30.

Watch the video.

Seriously if u want something better than Asa. Proton ADAS does it better but you're probably say 'out of my budget'. Wait a little while X50 will come out. Price is around Yaris Vios pricing est.

And oh BTW just to let you know, one of my daily ride - Axia E spec comes with No Abs and only 2 airbags. No ASA also. but I ain't worrying. that's me. It depends entirely on one's driving skills.
no need to mention this la. Kita nak maju, appreciate la the technology. smile.gif
theanswer
post Mar 13 2020, 05:52 PM

1,024 posts

myvi is the best choice in terms of price and value.
pcGeeK
post Mar 13 2020, 06:21 PM

205 posts

I've considered both the latest vios and myvi.. end up getting the Myvi 1.5 AV

VIOS:
+Superb NVH (better than 2012 merz a-class)
+Good sound system
+Good handling
+Good quality steering and beautiful dashboard instruments
+Comes with factory installed DVR
-360deg cam rubbish quality
-USB port only at the back

MYVI:
+RM30K cheaper (1.5AV vs 1.5G)
+ASA, hooks, usb ports for charging front and side of chair
-Smaller boot
-Bad NVH

In the end mostly because of the RM30K difference I just pick the Myvi smile.gif ... and oh yeah if you're wondering, the ASA can be useful sometimes... even if it saves you from 1 minor accident also berbaloi ady in my opinion
TSRoofTopPrince
post Mar 13 2020, 06:58 PM

598 posts

QUOTE(SleeplessEyes @ Mar 13 2020, 05:30 PM)

Watch the video.

You making me wait again, indeed X50 was in my list also.

QUOTE(pcGeeK @ Mar 13 2020, 06:21 PM)
I've considered both the latest vios and myvi.. end up getting the Myvi 1.5 AV

VIOS:
+Superb NVH (better than 2012 merz a-class)
+Good sound system
+Good handling
+Good quality steering and beautiful dashboard instruments
+Comes with factory installed DVR
-360deg cam rubbish quality
-USB port only at the back

MYVI:
+RM30K cheaper (1.5AV vs 1.5G)
+ASA, hooks, usb ports for charging front and side of chair
-Smaller boot
-Bad NVH

In the end mostly because of the RM30K difference I just pick the Myvi smile.gif ... and oh yeah if you're wondering, the ASA can be useful sometimes... even if it saves you from 1 minor accident also berbaloi ady in my opinion
I guess in the end I will end up with Myvi
SupermanLick
post Mar 14 2020, 09:10 PM

👊PUNCH SOHAI🗣️
1,464 posts

QUOTE(RoofTopPrince @ Mar 13 2020, 06:58 PM)
You making me wait again, indeed X50 was in my list also.
I guess in the end I will end up with Myvi
Think before u buy Dont follow butt going
amad108
post Mar 15 2020, 08:30 AM

too much of something is bad enough
1,008 posts

Myvi bad NVH still not as bad as bezza or BRV.. those model have serious major problem with NVH

As for cost of maintenance, if myvi advance which has start stop idle, the battery cost rm400 either change it at SC or outside still the same because of that feature.. myvi also only use 0W-20 fully synthetic oil only at Perodua, but as for Toyota you still can chose either mineral, semi or fully.. but the weird things is Toyota didn't recommend 0W-20 same as Perodua because they claimed its too thin its only for hybrid engine.. and the fully synthetic oil is cost rm100 more compare semi..
But Toyota claim both semi and fully can use up to 10k km..
TSRoofTopPrince
post Mar 15 2020, 11:08 AM

598 posts

QUOTE(SupermanLick @ Mar 14 2020, 09:10 PM)
Think before u buy Dont follow butt going
I have think it throughly, I having problem with my Preve now... high maintenance as she is 8 years old now... everything start to rossak.

QUOTE(amad108 @ Mar 15 2020, 08:30 AM)
Myvi bad NVH still not as bad as bezza or BRV.. those model have serious major problem with NVH

As for cost of maintenance, if myvi advance which has start stop idle, the battery cost rm400 either change it at SC or outside still the same because of that feature.. myvi also only use 0W-20 fully synthetic oil only at Perodua, but as for Toyota you still can chose either mineral, semi or fully.. but the weird things is Toyota didn't recommend 0W-20 same as Perodua because they claimed its too thin its only for hybrid engine.. and the fully synthetic oil is cost rm100 more compare semi..
But Toyota claim both semi and fully can use up to 10k km..
Indeed for Myvi the battery with cost abit expensive, but 0W-20W forthat Myvi? is that too thin? Vios is like 30+k more and I dont see any significant change but Vios have bigger boot that all.

This post has been edited by RoofTopPrince: Mar 15 2020, 11:08 AM
opjust
post Mar 15 2020, 12:55 PM

721 posts

Why not Iriz? My opinion the NVH in Iriz is better than myvi and Yaris. The handling is far superior between the two as well.
TSRoofTopPrince
post Mar 15 2020, 04:59 PM

598 posts

QUOTE(opjust @ Mar 15 2020, 12:55 PM)
Why not Iriz? My opinion the NVH in Iriz is better than myvi and Yaris. The handling is far superior between the two as well.
Punch CVT in a nightmare, this time I skip Punch cvt

dogbert_chew
post Mar 15 2020, 05:06 PM

1,565 posts

QUOTE(opjust @ Mar 15 2020, 12:55 PM)
Dated Proton VVT engine
Higher fuel comsumption
better Geely engines in the background
Punch CVT

Unless handling & NVH is top priority ..
theanswer
post Mar 16 2020, 08:26 AM

1,024 posts

QUOTE(dogbert_chew @ Mar 15 2020, 05:06 PM)
Dated Proton VVT engine
Higher fuel comsumption
better Geely engines in the background
Punch CVT

Unless handling & NVH is top priority ..
this. unless they ditch out the cvt and use 4 speed like saga. biggrin.gif
TSRoofTopPrince
post Mar 16 2020, 08:52 AM

598 posts

QUOTE(theanswer @ Mar 16 2020, 08:26 AM)
this. unless they ditch out the cvt and use 4 speed like saga.  biggrin.gif
Or maybe use Aisin CVT then I will consider buy proton again.
amad108
post Mar 16 2020, 09:24 AM

1,008 posts

QUOTE(RoofTopPrince @ Mar 15 2020, 11:08 AM)
I have think it throughly, I having problem with my Preve now... high maintenance as she is 8 years old now... everything start to rossak.
Indeed for Myvi the battery with cost abit expensive, but 0W-20W forthat Myvi? is that too thin? Vios is like 30+k more and I dont see any significant change but Vios have bigger boot that all.
yes.. at SC for new Dual VVTi engine that similar with vios and yaris, somehow myvi only use 0W-20 spec only.. no other option like semi or mineral
TSRoofTopPrince
post Mar 16 2020, 09:54 AM

598 posts

QUOTE(amad108 @ Mar 16 2020, 09:24 AM)
yes.. at SC for new Dual VVTi engine that similar with vios and yaris, somehow myvi only use 0W-20 spec only.. no other option like semi or mineral
I think I will go for Myvi but I have to wait Myvi to be equipped with A.S.A 2.0 like Aruz, not sure when they can launch this. hmm.gif
KingArthurVI
post Mar 16 2020, 11:34 AM

BWOAHHHH
1,126 posts

I’ll be the first to say that Myvi ASA is garbage. My family has one and even at below 30km/h, our car got involved in a 3-car pile up because the car in front emergency braked due to another car in front of him braked.

Then there was another time when we were going out from a T-junction and the car braked for no apparent reason. Dangerous and scared the shit out of us all.

If you think Perodua ASA is same standard as something like Mercedes-Benz you’ll be sorely disappointed.

My vote goes to the Yaris/Vios. Much more youthful appearance and the blind spot monitor is very useful for lane changes.
BravoZeroTwo
post Mar 16 2020, 02:07 PM

1,128 posts

Have no issues with the Myvi ASA. Experienced it a few times unintentionally and it worked within its speed limit spectrum. No complain though driver's attention to the road still the utmost any ASA can give.
theanswer
post Mar 16 2020, 03:05 PM

1,024 posts

QUOTE(KingArthurVI @ Mar 16 2020, 11:34 AM)
I’ll be the first to say that Myvi ASA is garbage. My family has one and even at below 30km/h, our car got involved in a 3-car pile up because the car in front emergency braked due to another car in front of him braked.

Then there was another time when we were going out from a T-junction and the car braked for no apparent reason. Dangerous and scared the shit out of us all.

If you think Perodua ASA is same standard as something like Mercedes-Benz you’ll be sorely disappointed.

My vote goes to the Yaris/Vios. Much more youthful appearance and the blind spot monitor is very useful for lane changes.
i think u'r the only one who think like this. "It’s not wrong to think of ASA as a “lite” version of Honda Sensing, recently introduced by Honda on the top versions of the CR-V and Accord" -even paultan mention this. even lighter than honda sensing...but u compare with merc technology? biggrin.gif
dopamine
post Mar 16 2020, 04:03 PM

450 posts

QUOTE(RoofTopPrince @ Mar 15 2020, 04:59 PM)
Punch CVT in a nightmare, this time I skip Punch cvt
How bad is the punch CVT? Mind to share more info?
Was thinking to recommend my family on Proton Iriz or Persona.
theanswer
post Mar 16 2020, 04:20 PM

1,024 posts

QUOTE(dopamine @ Mar 16 2020, 04:03 PM)
How bad is the punch CVT? Mind to share more info?
Was thinking to recommend my family on Proton Iriz or Persona.
current version got some improvement but still a let down considering the car came with a good chassis.
KingArthurVI
post Mar 16 2020, 05:17 PM

BWOAHHHH
1,126 posts

QUOTE(theanswer @ Mar 16 2020, 03:05 PM)
i think u'r the only one who think like this. "It’s not wrong to think of ASA as a “lite” version of Honda Sensing, recently introduced by Honda on the top versions of the CR-V and Accord" -even paultan mention this. even lighter than honda sensing...but u compare with merc technology?  biggrin.gif
I know some of my peers who blindly compare the Myvi AEB to Merc and other brands like Honda. If you look at Pauline Tan's website comments you'll also see people chiding some manufacturers for not including AEB when, according to them, "Myvi and Axia high spec have it".

Anyway, my point is that I believe the Myvi ASA to not work very well, especially that time when coming out of T-junction and the car braked for no apparent reason... imagine if a car is coming at you from the other side and you suddenly braked in the middle of coming out of the junction.
amad108
post Mar 16 2020, 08:50 PM

1,008 posts

QUOTE(KingArthurVI @ Mar 16 2020, 11:34 AM)

Somehow i agree..
Even its VSC its not up to par with mazda or toyota..
opjust
post Mar 20 2020, 05:50 PM

721 posts

QUOTE(theanswer @ Mar 16 2020, 08:26 AM)
this. unless they ditch out the cvt and use 4 speed like saga.  biggrin.gif
I don’t know why people have this impression that punch CVT is bad? Care to elaborate? Based on driving experience alone I couldn’t tell

0.0191sec    0.40    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 03:52 PM