Technical how do u get 5.1 sound from ur xbox 360?, what setup did u do?

TSatrash
post Jul 22 2007, 06:38 AM, updated 19y ago

351 posts

As the title says,
how do u guys get it done? rclxms.gif
SUSleenaz
post Jul 22 2007, 09:55 AM

29 posts

using 5.1 sound system then i can get 5.1 sound
tongue.gif
prominen
post Jul 22 2007, 10:14 AM

290 posts

u also can use optical digital output speaker that can produce such a sound
TSatrash
post Jul 22 2007, 11:58 AM

351 posts

i mean what i of speaker do u use?
i dun know much of speaker that support optical, but the one that does will cost a boom.

I'm going to buy home theater system but i dunno if any of them support optical in. I'm currently using creative extigy to get 5.1. But i dun want 10 speakers to be in the room. 5 speakers connect to extigy and other 5 are home theater.
marauderz
post Jul 22 2007, 12:54 PM

Windows Tablet War Veteran
3,390 posts

usually any home theater in a box set has an optical input in their amp units, just double check on the specifications. you need something that can decode dolby digital if i remember correctly, i haven't stared at my amp for a while now so i cant be sure which is i that the 360 uses
xxboxx
post Jul 22 2007, 02:14 PM

The mind is for having ideas, not holding them
5,261 posts

360 support Dolby Digital only for games while Dolby Digital and DTS for movies.
bem69
post Jul 22 2007, 02:56 PM

K-Bem
2,660 posts

QUOTE(atrash @ Jul 22 2007, 11:58 AM)
i dun know much of speaker that support optical, but the one that does will cost a boom.

I'm going to buy home theater system but i dunno if any of them support optical in. I'm currently using creative extigy to get 5.1. But i dun want 10 speakers to be in the room. 5 speakers connect to extigy and other 5 are home theater.
I personally use my old Logitech Z680 with optical in. Been using it since the xbox days for 5.1 and DTS for games and movies. The home theater system will have to have optical in, that is, if you want to enjoy 5.1. Just do some research on what you're eyeing.
SUSleenaz
post Jul 22 2007, 04:30 PM

29 posts

i just used altec lansing
sound system also superb
rclxms.gif
redbull_y2k
post Jul 23 2007, 02:06 AM

"Viva La Revolucion!"
1,469 posts

Just stay away from those HTIB with dvdplayer included. Most of them dun have any optical inputs. doh.gif
judge-the
post Jul 23 2007, 09:41 AM

-Judge-Jury-Executioner-
3,331 posts

QUOTE(atrash @ Jul 22 2007, 11:58 AM)

just go grab a creative decoder DTS100... got 3 optical inputs. since you already got 5.1 speakers then better just grab that creative decoder.

QUOTE(redbull_y2k @ Jul 23 2007, 02:06 AM)
Just stay away from those HTIB with dvdplayer included. Most of them dun have any optical inputs.  doh.gif
those that with optical normally only got 1 optical input so if you also getting ps3 later then a bit problematic lah
Lord_Ashe
post Jul 23 2007, 10:23 AM

Old Treasure Hunter Sidekick
1,495 posts

Actually bro judge, you can get an optical splitter for about RM 80 on ebay inclusive of shipping. That will take care of your optical needs, and there's no degradation : remember, optical = light!

BTW, the problem with HTIBs are not optical ins, it's coax. I have an upscaling DVD player with coaxial output, and since my HTIB receiver only has optical, I'm screwed unless I buy an optical--coaxial converter.
judge-the
post Jul 23 2007, 10:36 AM

-Judge-Jury-Executioner-
3,331 posts

QUOTE(Lord_Ashe @ Jul 23 2007, 10:23 AM)
Actually bro judge, you can get an optical splitter for about RM 80 on ebay inclusive of shipping. That will take care of your optical needs, and there's no degradation : remember, optical = light!

BTW, the problem with HTIBs are not optical ins, it's coax. I have an upscaling DVD player with coaxial output, and since my HTIB receiver only has optical, I'm screwed unless I buy an optical--coaxial converter.
hehehe sorry lah me noob lah if about 5.1 but so far me very the happy with my creative decoder... just need some cash to reupgrade the speakers back to edifier r501
kennypotatoes
post Aug 27 2010, 10:37 AM

129 posts

I got a 5.1 home theater system, and a FHD Plasma TV.

I'm using HDMI cable, output from xbox to plasma. than I have sound from my 5.1 home theater system. The HDMI transfer both sound and picture. it works good for me.

but when I go to Xbox CONSOLE SETTING -> SOUND
there is three option there:
1. stereo sound (agak agak like that)
2. Dolby.... 5.1
3. Dolby ....5.1 wma.....

So, I tried to select option 2. or 3. then no sound already.
only option 1 got sound.
How to choose option 2 or 3 with sound available?

I bought a Optical cable for Audio, but I cannot find any (hole) optical output behind the Xbox360.
Anyone face the same problem?

Added on August 28, 2010, 1:30 pmno one can help ?

This post has been edited by kennypotatoes: Aug 28 2010, 01:30 PM
pmsoo
post Aug 28 2010, 04:23 PM

374 posts

To connect the Xbox 360 console to digital audio:

Connect the Xbox 360 Component HD AV cable or S-Video AV cable to video as described in Connect to Audio/Video: Component Video or Connect to Audio/Video: S-Video.
Connect a Toslink digital audio cable (not included) between the digital audio output on the console end of the AV cable's AV connector and the digital audio input on your receiver or TV.

Turn on your console. From the System area, you can change your audio and digital output settings. Select the appropriate digital audio setting for your system.

Check out this website
http://www.xbox.com/NR/exeres/41EC5DC5-BA4...020BCB6163A.htm

0.0209sec    0.37    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 07:52 PM