Buying Advice Looking to buy D80 asap....

TSbsm
post Jul 22 2007, 12:34 AM, updated 19y ago

112 posts

Hi, ive been scouting around to get a d80. i went to this place in timesquare, forgot the shops name, ground floor. they offered me 4100 for d80 kit with lens, 1gb, tripod n bag. today was in fotokem midvalley and the guy said 4400 with 2gb, tripod n bag.i asked him why so much more expensive n told him that it was cheaper in timesquare n he said that maybe the battery n all was not original. could this be true? also how to check battery whether its original or not? also wondering what flash to get. want a decent but not too expensive flash coz im just a beginner. thanks alot...
TSbsm
post Jul 22 2007, 12:54 AM

112 posts

ah. cool. thanks for the pic n all. so that means it wont be the nikon logo at all if its 3rd party right? btw how much is sb600 now? and is 4100 normal price that some other shops may sell it at? or is it cheaper for a reason? thanks

TSbsm
post Jul 22 2007, 01:15 AM

112 posts

ah okok. so u think its ok the shop in timesquare? any other recommended place which u think i should go to or will have the same price?
TSbsm
post Jul 22 2007, 01:24 AM

112 posts

damn....serious?? can trust or not? i mean got warranty n all?
TSbsm
post Jul 22 2007, 01:30 AM

112 posts

man...thats what i dont want. no offense. i mean i dont want to have through go through all the after-sales hassle if anything goes wrong. know what i mean? how about the shop in pertama complex?
TSbsm
post Jul 22 2007, 02:45 AM

112 posts

ok. just worried a bit coz pertama complex itself quite dodgy lah d whole place
TSbsm
post Jul 22 2007, 12:39 PM

112 posts

ah ok. will check out some of those places then. any other things to recommend that i get? kit with sb600 enough for now?
TSbsm
post Jul 22 2007, 05:14 PM

112 posts

QUOTE(riz50 @ Jul 22 2007, 01:51 PM)
D80 Kit lens SB600 and 50mm f1.8. Later get MB-D80 and extra battery. dont get 1gb memory. not enough. buy 2gb or 4gb. sandisk ultraII. a good choice for u.

ylcamera wont sell u grey set unless u ask 4 it. Make sure u check the nikon malaysia warraty card

beside warranty coverage, u wont get free camera cleaning service at Nikon service center Petaling Jaya. just make sure Manual book got in English language. if not it's hard for u to learn about your camera.
so u think i should get a 50mm 1.8 too? what is this lens used for mostly? n how much does it cost? the kit lens not enough for now?

Added on July 22, 2007, 5:15 pmoh yeah btw....anywhere got easy payment other than fotokem?? thanks

Added on July 22, 2007, 5:27 pmanyone here free to help me go scouting 2moro? anytime is fine. at least can help me with anything if im not sure.

This post has been edited by bsm: Jul 22 2007, 05:27 PM
TSbsm
post Jul 22 2007, 06:16 PM

112 posts

what is the 50mm 1.8 used for mostly?
TSbsm
post Jul 22 2007, 06:40 PM

112 posts

ah ic ic. damn i really wanna get the 18-200 but its so friggin expensive. 2.6 k right?
TSbsm
post Jul 22 2007, 09:37 PM

112 posts

hmmm. if pay installment for the body then can get the 18-200 no prob and pay full for the lense. but if no installment then die lah. will come up to 6k just body n 18-200. then got no sb600. how?? sigh...

sure d8kd will let u know soon. so far i only seen fotokem that has easy payment. but not to say ive checked many shops yet. just a couple.
TSbsm
post Jul 22 2007, 10:55 PM

112 posts

hmmmm. i think ill stick with the original body. dont know whether the parallel one reliable. especially as far as warranty is concerned. just not sure now whether to get kit and sb600 n worry about 18-200 later or body and 18-200 which will cost much more

TSbsm
post Jul 23 2007, 02:16 AM

112 posts

yeah man.getting poisoned every second. the more n more posts here, more im getting poisoned and gian to get my d80. how come the 70-300 is so much cheaper than 18-200? 18-200 around 2.6k right?? better to get 70-300??

Added on July 23, 2007, 5:15 amoh yeah...does the top lcd have backlight?

This post has been edited by bsm: Jul 23 2007, 05:15 AM
TSbsm
post Jul 23 2007, 02:13 PM

112 posts

thanks man. u set out all the options really nicely for me. sorry for asking, how does constant aperture lens differ from normal lenses. cant u just set the aperture on the kit lens too? btw..u forgot to include sb-600 which would cost me another 700?

sorry...the smaller number on lenses state the distance or width? coz someone once told me it was the width
TSbsm
post Jul 23 2007, 03:01 PM

112 posts

ah ok..no wonder...someone once told me like 18-135, 18 is the width and 135 was the length. thats why a bit confused. damn...now 50mm 1.8 shinchan?? im sooo confused. i especially want a lens that can zoom quite a bit so i can take photos from far e.g. concerts and stuff. not that far like all the way from the back but i mean if im a bit far that the lens can help me zoom quite a bit.
TSbsm
post Jul 23 2007, 05:51 PM

112 posts

oh man...its getting worse hahaha. anyway, like i said im interested in taking good normal close shots (not so much macro, more like standard portraits) and also some telephoto capabilities for distance shooting. thanks for all the in-depth info especially the grid pics n all, (although i cant understand it at all hehe). anyway, im still caught in between all of this. really no idea what to choose. is anyone free tomorrow or wed to go scouting around? thanks.
TSbsm
post Jul 23 2007, 06:44 PM

112 posts

is the 18-55 really worth getting compared to 18-135? how can all come up to less than 4.5 if body is 3.4, sb is 700? , thats already 4.1. n how much is ur lens?

TSbsm
post Jul 23 2007, 08:06 PM

112 posts

no offense but wouldnt getting the 18-135 lens which comes with the d80 kit be a better option for me?
TSbsm
post Jul 23 2007, 09:49 PM

112 posts

mannn. im stumped. really no idea now. again...anyone free 2moro or wed? thanks. 70-300 is variable aperture right? and not as fast as 18-200? really alot of diff or what?
TSbsm
post Jul 23 2007, 11:24 PM

112 posts

hmmmm. thanks. again...anyone free 2moro or wed?

0.0223sec    0.93    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 08:41 PM