Insurance Talk V6!, Everything about Insurance

riceuball P
post Oct 25 2020, 07:27 PM

Probation

Hi sifus, would really appreciate some advice here.

I purchase an investment-linked medical insurance plan from GE for RM210/month at the beginning of this year before I turned 24yo. AL ~1.3mil, no lifetime limit, sum assured 50k until age 90. Below is the breakdown for reference:

SMARTPROTECT ESSENTIAL 3
IL CRITICAL ILLNESS BENEFIT RIDER
IL PREMIUM WAIVER EXTRA RIDER
SMARTMEDIC XTRA
SMART EXTENDER 120K (R&B200)

I went for a lower sum assured as I currently have no dependents and 50k is enough for my family to pay off my student loans. My priority was to get a good medical plan while I'm young and don't think about it IMO. However, just recently my insurance agent has been promoting a CI rider that is allegedly the only CI plan in the market that provides multiple pay-outs up to 8 times, including early, intermediate and advanced stages. I believe it's called Smart Multi Critical Care?

Okay so the thing is, I'm interested in this plan however it will be another RM150/month for 150k sum assured. To me it's absurd to be paying a total of RM360/month for my age. I asked my agent if it's possible to drop the CI benefit rider and replace this instead however they told since I locked this 50k "earlier", it's better to buy as a separate plan instead of withdrawing my rider, i.e. if I want my sum assured to be 200k, they recommend topping up 150k and keep the old rider. They also said if I were to make any changes to my current plan, the premium price might increase due to my age (I've turned 24yo) and the waiting time will be refreshed. I honestly doubt that the premiums will increase significantly because to me, it seems redundant to pay for a second ILP plan, wouldn't I be paying more insurance charges as well?

Also, I kinda regretted buying this insurance plan because few months into my job, I found out that my company's group insurance provides an opt-in deductible medical plan on top of our current existing medical plan, and it provides coverage even after I left the company with deductible waived after I reach retirement age. The employee benefits also included Life term insurance and it's higher than what I have for my personal plan lol. Only downside is that the max. renewal age for the group medical plan is 79yo. If I knew about this earlier I would have not purchased my personal insurance so early and would only get one medical/life term insurance after I reached my 30s as a backup.

I raised these concerns to my agent but y'know, they told me to keep my personal insurance because it's a waste to surrender or change bla bla bla, and it's good to buy early because I'm still young with no pre-existing illness sweat.gif

1) Should I keep my current personal plan and reduce the sum assured for the Smart Multi Critical Care for lower premiums? If so, should I insist on removing the CI benefit rider? Is Smart Multi Critical Care really necessary for my age at all?
2) Should I consider purchasing the additional group insurance scheme and lower my current plan's AL to reduce premiums? I know standalone medical plans will increase more as compared to ILPs but will it be the same for group insurance schemes?
3) Would it be better for me to opt-in for the group insurance scheme, surrender my current plan and only get one when I'm in my 30s? Yes the premiums will be higher by then but at that age, I will be more financially well to afford it right? I would have also saved more over the years by paying lesser premiums, right...?

Fyi I'm a 24f, single, non-smoker. Sorry for the long essay but I feel really lost right now sad.gif

0.1136sec    0.51    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 07:34 AM