Insurance Talk V6!, Everything about Insurance

SUSresponsible poster
post May 12 2020, 04:56 PM

65 posts

hi sifus,

nowadays almost all insurers sell life insurance via website. question is, the perception is that if no agent to serve, the process is complicated.

so is it actually complicated for next of kin to claim the insured value upon passing of insurance bearer?

thanks!
SUSresponsible poster
post May 13 2020, 11:31 AM

65 posts

QUOTE(GE-DavidK @ May 12 2020, 05:23 PM)
Not all types of life insurance can be bought online. Insurers are likely to refer you back to an agent to prepare the quotation for you.

You can prepare all the necessary documents on your own whenever you need to make a claim and submit the forms to the customer service center of the insurer. However, in certain complex cases, agents can help clients to appeal cases to the insurer and do follow ups to expedite the process. So, having an agent is better for the client.
QUOTE(ckdenion @ May 12 2020, 06:17 PM)
hi there, the process is not complicated. it is more of the hassle to go to the insurance companies to do claims through customer service. it is the time and effort spent. but i do know some are willing to do all this themselves without going through agent even though they bought from agent.
QUOTE(Cyclopes @ May 13 2020, 07:43 AM)
The requirements are quite clear, what documents will be needed. Probably failing to get the proper documents may contribute to the 'complicated' status. Otherwise what may be an issue is, what is claimable and what is not.  But proper and adequate understanding should address this.
QUOTE(lifebalance @ May 13 2020, 11:24 AM)
The process is not complicated, you just have to submit relevant documents for claims with the insurance company, you can always call up their customer service hotline for assistance. Submission of course you have to DIY.

Just make sure you make known to your next of kin that you have a policy with the insurance company for them to make the claim easier.
thanks for all your comments guys. to be honest it seems much more worth it and hassle free to just get life insurance policy from the website. medical insurance however it seems better to go via agent. that's my observation so far.

SUSresponsible poster
post May 13 2020, 12:28 PM

65 posts

QUOTE(ckdenion @ May 13 2020, 12:17 PM)
if you are going to get medical insurance via agent, can also check out/compare getting life insurance via agent vs via website. guess asides from pricing, you can also consider since there is already an agent helping you with medical insurance. of course after comparing, end of the day decision is still yours to make. wink.gif
the problem with getting life insurance via agent is that their products are always investment linked which doesn't seem to be very attractive.
SUSresponsible poster
post May 14 2020, 10:49 PM

65 posts

QUOTE(ckdenion @ May 13 2020, 12:59 PM)
normally i will compare it like this

term insurance and standalone medical card vs investment linked. this is something that is always debatable. actually there is no best product here, only thing is still goes down to your needs (how much exactly you wanna get covered for and the term of coverage). then only see which products is the most cost-effective for you based on what you need/want.
for long term coverage of 20 years or more what would you recommend personally?

not asking for solicitation, just to see your train of thought.

SUSresponsible poster
post May 16 2020, 11:39 AM

65 posts

QUOTE(ckdenion @ May 15 2020, 09:35 AM)
okay i need more info to recommend. your current age and also the amount of coverage you need.
early 30s and for life insurance i see that most are at MYR500k which is quite standard? for medical i have company medical card as well so it would be an add on.
SUSresponsible poster
post May 18 2020, 05:43 PM

65 posts

QUOTE(ckdenion @ May 16 2020, 04:23 PM)
ok then let me just assume you are 30 this year. I used online life insurance Fi Life (underwritten by Tokio Marine) to do this comparison with a simple ILP life insurance.

1. Fi Life Yearly Renewable Term (YRT) is the one that pays lesser now and premium will increase according to age (refer future premium rate).
2. Fi Life Level Term (LT) whereby premium is fixed for the following 20 years.
3. ILP whereby premium is non-guaranteed (yes for all ILP premium is non-guaranteed due to non-guaranteed fund performance).

[attachmentid=10491873]
[attachmentid=10491877]

Based on 500k life insurance for 20 years assuming you buy at the age of 30. The total cost for
1. Fi Life Yearly Renewable Term (YRT): RM34,316
2. Fi Life Level Term (LT): RM31,188
3. ILP: RM31,200 (have an estimation of cash value of RM25k at the end of 20th year)

The above cost also assumed if you don't do any investment. So i factored if you have RM35k now and you are investing in a 6% p.a investment vehicle and at the same time you are using the amount here to pay for the yearly premium. End of the 20th year, you will have more if you bought an ILP.

1. Fi Life Yearly Renewable Term (YRT)
[attachmentid=10491878]

2. Fi Life Level Term (LT)
[attachmentid=10491879]

3. ILP
[attachmentid=10491880]

do let me know if there are other online life insurance products that you are looking at so i can analyze for you wink.gif
thanks!

looks like ILP is more worth it in this case if it comes with the same coverage.

however which ILP are you using to benchmark against YRT and LT by fi?
SUSresponsible poster
post May 23 2020, 12:34 PM

65 posts

QUOTE(Cyclopes @ May 4 2020, 08:48 AM)
Good morning,

Yes, the cost of insurance will follow as per the table. The cost of insurance is not guaranteed. This is the current rate, any changes to these table, say three years from now, you will be charged the new rates with 3 months notice. That's the standard industry practice, same with other insurers also.
applies to both yearly renewable and level term also?
SUSresponsible poster
post May 24 2020, 11:06 AM

65 posts

QUOTE(irving @ May 23 2020, 11:28 PM)
Hi there,

I am looking for Medical insurance for my dad.

Was quoted approx. RM8.3k with Life/TPD from Great Eastern. 990k annual limit with no lifetime limit. We didnt get to execute that because of MCO and his birthday just passed on May 2. Upon renewing the quote after his birthday(my dad is 65 this year) it has now risen to approx. RM13k annually which is a huge jump.

Life insurance/TPD is optional for me, medical is the priority. GE agent has quote me again approx. RM6k annually for medical only with the same 990k annual limit, no lifetime limit.

However seems that GE has the most negative claim experience so I am looking for options. Please PM!

interesting. i'm considering GE as well. how did you get the feedback on negative claim experience?
SUSresponsible poster
post May 25 2020, 12:10 PM

65 posts

hi guys, for life insurance i realised that the total payout is much cheaper for a 5 year plan instead of a 20-30 year old plan.

for example the yearly pay is higher on 5 years for example RM10k for 500k coverage, but RM4k for 20 years. however 10k for 5 years is only RM50k, while RM4k for 20 years is RM80k.

is it actually much more beneficial to get a shorter payment term?
SUSresponsible poster
post Jun 9 2020, 10:02 PM

65 posts

QUOTE(LostAndFound @ Jun 9 2020, 04:28 PM)
Hi all, I (36M) currently have a GE plan (investment linked):-

life coverage 150k
critical illness 150k
medical RM150/990k annual limit

Paying RM325 a month. My wife (35) is uninsured except for work insurance. We just paid off our home so now looking at medical/life insurance for both. 2 children (4/6 yrs).

Annual net income is about 85k for me and 45k for my wife.

I'm comfortable with my medical coverage, but my life coverage seems quite small. Does it make more sense to:-

1. Increase my life coverage with current provider (GE) either by topup or buying separate life plan?
2. Buy a life coverage plan with another provider (fi.life?)

At my current age, 20 year term seems a bit short (although it will cover the most 'dangerous' part of life in terms of expenses la). How much should I expect to pay to top up to 1 million (meaning +850k) full life coverage?

Frustrating that there's no way to compare ringgit-for-ringgit coverage between the providers.

Also for my wife's insurance needs, at the very least I want to get about 1 million medical plan for her (life coverage not sure yet), is it better to stick with current provider or should I diversify to other provider?
i was in the same dilemma as you. i ended up getting a separate term life cover of RM500k. personally i don't treat life insurance as a long term plan because the amount covered depends on the living arrangements and income

the amount of cover for single, married, 1 kid, 2 kids, whether the kids are still young or already grown up are all different depending on one's income
SUSresponsible poster
post Jun 15 2020, 02:24 PM

65 posts

QUOTE(cherroy @ Jun 15 2020, 02:02 PM)
Medical insurance premium at old age is quite expensive to start with even if they accepted it.

For a couple of hundred thousand coverage, the premium easily goes to 5 digit pa and keep on rising together with ages.
Pay for 5 to 10 years insurance premium, easily more than 6 digit paid to the premium.

With annual income 350k it is sufficient for self insured already. Save for 3 years then you have 1 mil of spared fund to cover all aspect of medical expenses.
While insurance never cover every aspect.

Don't get me wrong, it is not to discourage to have medical insurance, it is up to individual preference, no right or wrong.
Just pointed up with such a high income, the importance of insurance become lesser.
beg to differ on this. for a whole family, an income of RM350k PA is not considered high at all, this plus any underlying commitments.

even if the insurance costs 1k per month i'd say it's still worth it.

no sense in gambling the family's savings on medical coverage.
SUSresponsible poster
post Jun 16 2020, 05:49 PM

65 posts

QUOTE(arclynmen @ Jun 16 2020, 05:15 PM)
Anyone received letter from AIA on the revision of premium charge for A-Plus Med plan? Anyone opting for it?
Feel like ignoring it...
did anyone get the same for GE?

previously the agent showed a minimum quotable premium increase on June 1 2020

im just wondering for people who hold the policy before the increase, will they still get the old price or will the new price be enforced?
SUSresponsible poster
post Jun 17 2020, 10:53 AM

65 posts

QUOTE(tyenfei @ Jun 17 2020, 01:20 AM)
For policy before Jun20 (By May20) they will enjoy the current premium for 1 year.

The increase of premium is COI. All medical policy will be affected. From what I know company will issue letter inform the premium raise 1 year later.

Other old policy depending the premium & riders in policy. Not everyone been inform to raise.
As you all know it actually depending how much cash value you got to sustain.

If you get the plan by lowest entry premium. Letter to raise issue to you faster.
ahh so new policy holders before the increase will only get to enjoy the old rates for 1 year.

old policy holders will be issued with letters

but i think all policy holders should be informed on the COI increase no matter how much cash value is in the account right?

0.8322sec    0.46    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 12:25 PM