What can landlord do if tenant not paying?, Q&A

CocoLaw928 P
post Apr 30 2020, 12:19 PM

Probation

fastest way to get tenant to respond is cut all utilities..
TSTrustULoveU
post May 1 2020, 11:57 AM

569 posts

QUOTE(CocoLaw928 @ Apr 30 2020, 01:19 PM)
fastest way to get tenant to respond is cut all utilities..
yup... this person has been ignoring all my calls and text.. i already put eviction notice but he teared it down.. then i went make police report to say i will be going into the unit but he was not home.. so now will cut all utilities. i cannot tahan already.. every month i have to chase and either no reply or just pay 1 month and owe the rest of the month.. now the deposit cant even cover anymore

TSTrustULoveU
post May 1 2020, 11:58 AM

569 posts

QUOTE(forever1979 @ Apr 30 2020, 08:24 AM)
if you ask a lawyer, maybe get a different kind of opinion.

its al rights. hope you are okay as settle your problem soonest possible.
yeahh.. i want to kick this tenant out once the agreement expires on september... fckkkk ranting.gif or should i wait until agreement expires on september? hes not responding at all now.. and now still mco tnb cant cut the utilities
TSTrustULoveU
post May 1 2020, 12:01 PM

569 posts

QUOTE(mini orchard @ Apr 30 2020, 09:51 AM)
Even when the Tenancy Act is in place, landlord will still need to give sufficient notice to the default tenant, same with loans under housing and car before the banks can repossess.

Disconnecting utilities is definitely a no under the Act.
tenant no reply.. dunno dead or alive also not sure.. already make police report... went in.. nobody at home.. pay 1 month owe then rest of the months.. damn tiring to persuade this type of tenant to pay up... now racked up to 3.5k overdue payment already... should i kick him out just before the tenancy agreement ? hmm.gif
BBLee99 P
post May 1 2020, 02:24 PM

Probation

total how many months overdue?
MacPistol P
post May 1 2020, 02:33 PM

Probation

Overdue so much...can straight kick tenant out..no need wait till Sept
Likely you cannot recover the sum owed
TSTrustULoveU
post May 1 2020, 09:24 PM

569 posts

QUOTE(BBLee99 @ May 1 2020, 03:24 PM)
total how many months overdue?
total 2 months already + past utilities bruce.gif
TSTrustULoveU
post May 1 2020, 09:26 PM

569 posts

QUOTE(MacPistol @ May 1 2020, 03:33 PM)
Overdue so much...can straight kick tenant out..no need wait till Sept
Likely you cannot recover the sum owed
yeah.. very unlikely to recover the amount.. but right now utilities havent cut yet !! since MCO monday more lenient d.. dunno TNB people will remove the meter or not.. now still running.. my wallet bleeding each day
korangar
post May 1 2020, 09:39 PM

581 posts

if you can go in, take the picture/video for proof. then change the lock/or just chain it and leave a notice there saying you will remove all things within certain period.

do remember to make police report b4 and give sufficient notice (make sure there is proof that you sent the notice).

btw, tnb people takes their own sweet time. you need to chase and monitor them. (they will give all sort of excuses so make sure you are there with them when cut).
Salary
post May 11 2020, 07:43 PM

668 posts

The law doesn't protect landlords. Unfortunately there's not a lot you can do. If you want them out fast, you can take the unethical route - e.g. hiring "debt collectors". But then your house will be at their mercy.

My luck with tenants have not been great too. 1 average tenant and 3 bad tenants over the years made me realise property investment isn't for me.

For one of the cases, I've tried cutting electricity and water, locking the gates, reporting to the police and whatever legal routes you can think of without spending too much money (lawsuits are expensive). Ended up getting people to follow their family everywhere they went until they couldn't take it anymore. The state they left the property in.. let's just say the sum of getting everything fixed up costs almost three times the accumulated rental I received from them. This isn't even including the 6 months "free" rental and unpaid electricity and water bills.

Never again.

0.0175sec    0.40    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 01:01 PM