18 Pages « < 8 9 10 11 12 > » Bottom

BNM Cut Rate Again But Not Benefit For New Loan, BNM Cut Rate Again But Not Benefit For N

sc07
post May 6 2020, 02:41 PM

18 posts

QUOTE(waghyu @ May 5 2020, 08:17 PM)
No, what I mean is doesnt mean OPR low not you listen to people thinking interest is low. Interest is variable subject to OPR and will cost you more later.

Example. Every RM1 million loan for 20-30 years, 0.5% is worth RM270/month interest. If OPR go up, you need to pay extra RM270 in proportion of RM1mill.
Hi Waghyu,

How to count interest? Daily rest interest run differently? $1.0 mil at 0.5% per year is $5000. So per month is 416.66 if divided by 12 months.

waghyu
post May 6 2020, 02:44 PM

3,389 posts

QUOTE(sc07 @ May 6 2020, 02:41 PM)
Hi Waghyu,

How to count interest? Daily rest interest run differently? $1.0 mil at 0.5% per year is $5000. So per month is 416.66 if divided by 12 months.
Don't bother to calculate daily la, just confusing and not tally with bank calculation unless you know exactly. Go simple loan calculator put first interest and second interest for a sample 1 million outstanding. There will report monthly repayment. The difference is savings.

If you want to do daily rest calculation, then whatever profit rate you have to calculate to daily rest as well for proper monthly/yearly interest outcome. You cannot do 0.5% standalone calculation, a bit more complicated.
kbandito
post May 6 2020, 02:51 PM

1,181 posts

QUOTE(zack.gap @ May 6 2020, 02:39 PM)
LOL I call BS. I've seen your posts around here and its all half-assed to be quite frank from a macro/micro perspective, including your QE argument.

To everyone else reading this, property prices increased from 2011 till 2014 purely because of property speculation. BNM introduced DIBS/DIRS in 2009 which reduced buyer's progressive payment/downpayment for undercon project but increased overall price of unit which drove surrounding prices up (hence why KV properties were main beneficiaries).

In 2014 Budget, BNM disallowed this practice hence market cooled ever since. Nothing related to QE AT ALL!
As a matter of fact both of you are wrong. The QE impact didn't reach up to Malaysian shore as far as real estate is concerned. Yes DIBS did lifted buying interest and volume, but the volume couldn't happen if banks did not have the appetite for real estate in their balance sheet.

Property loan was only 36% of the banking system loan book back in 2008. Within five years after that, every ringgit that the bank lent out, almost 50 sen were for property loan. The total loan book is now almost 50% to property loan.

Without this liquidity, you don't get the boom.
zack.gap
post May 6 2020, 03:08 PM

441 posts

QUOTE(kbandito @ May 6 2020, 02:51 PM)
As a matter of fact both of you are wrong. The QE impact didn't reach up to Malaysian shore as far as real estate is concerned. Yes DIBS did lifted buying interest and volume, but the volume couldn't happen if banks did not have the appetite for real estate in their balance sheet.

Property loan was only 36% of the banking system loan book back in 2008. Within five years after that, every ringgit that the bank lent out, almost 50 sen were for property loan. The total loan book is now almost 50% to property loan.

Without this liquidity, you don't get the boom.
Mate, banks will go wherever they can go to make money. Not in their interest to reject loans unless directed otherwise. Again I put this blame squarely on BNM for loosening up the system.
icemanfx
post May 6 2020, 03:33 PM

21,456 posts

QUOTE(zack.gap @ May 6 2020, 02:39 PM)
LOL I call BS. I've seen your posts around here and its all half-assed to be quite frank from a macro/micro perspective, including your QE argument.

To everyone else reading this, property prices increased from 2011 till 2014 purely because of property speculation. BNM introduced DIBS/DIRS in 2009 which reduced buyer's progressive payment/downpayment for undercon project but increased overall price of unit which drove surrounding prices up (hence why KV properties were main beneficiaries).

In 2014 Budget, BNM disallowed this practice hence market cooled ever since. Nothing related to QE AT ALL!
You have conveniently ignored easy credit and low interest rate was a fallout of u.s qe.

zack.gap
post May 6 2020, 03:40 PM

441 posts

QUOTE(icemanfx @ May 6 2020, 03:33 PM)
You have conveniently ignored easy credit and low interest rate was a fallout of u.s qe.
lol now I know for sure you're talking bull. BNM hiked up rates 3 times in 2010 and again once more in 2011.

For your bloody reference https://www.bnm.gov.my/index.php?ch=mone&pg=mone_opr_stmt
icemanfx
post May 6 2020, 03:56 PM

21,456 posts

QUOTE(zack.gap @ May 6 2020, 03:40 PM)
lol now I know for sure you're talking bull. BNM hiked up rates 3 times in 2010 and again once more in 2011.

For your bloody reference https://www.bnm.gov.my/index.php?ch=mone&pg=mone_opr_stmt
You can believe in whatever alternative facts you wish. the facts remain, property price trend in last few years has been consistent with my view.

Zwean
post May 6 2020, 04:04 PM

1,269 posts

QUOTE(icemanfx @ May 6 2020, 03:56 PM)
You can believe in whatever alternative facts you wish. the facts remain, property price trend in last few years has been consistent with my view.
Yer... people present with facts leh not their beliefs.
zack.gap
post May 6 2020, 04:08 PM

441 posts

QUOTE(Zwean @ May 6 2020, 04:04 PM)
Don't need bother bro. This one I make full presentation also no point. Everything is 'aLtErNaTiVe FaCtS' unless it aligns with her own beliefs.
icemanfx
post May 6 2020, 04:11 PM

21,456 posts

QUOTE(Zwean @ May 6 2020, 04:04 PM)
QUOTE(zack.gap @ May 6 2020, 04:08 PM)
Don't need bother bro. This one I make full presentation also no point. Everything is 'aLtErNaTiVe FaCtS' unless it aligns with her own beliefs.
The reality and facts remains property price trend in last few years has been in consistent with my view.

This post has been edited by icemanfx: May 6 2020, 04:13 PM
Zwean
post May 6 2020, 04:38 PM

1,269 posts

QUOTE(icemanfx @ May 6 2020, 04:11 PM)
The reality and facts remains property price trend in last few years has been in consistent with my view.
Sure.
Zwean
post May 6 2020, 04:45 PM

1,269 posts

QUOTE(zack.gap @ May 6 2020, 04:08 PM)
Already used to it, sometimes I reply just to show newbies here how knowledgable and educated she really is.
icemanfx
post May 6 2020, 04:53 PM

21,456 posts

QUOTE(Zwean @ May 6 2020, 04:45 PM)
Already used to it, sometimes I reply just to show newbies here how knowledgable and educated she really is.
It is a no wonder herd members end up either in slaughterhouse or over the cliff.

This post has been edited by icemanfx: May 6 2020, 04:54 PM
icemanfx
post May 6 2020, 05:06 PM

21,456 posts

A reason why bnm have drastic rate cut is in anticipating q1/20 gdp contraction.

This post has been edited by icemanfx: May 6 2020, 05:07 PM
zack.gap
post May 6 2020, 05:25 PM

441 posts

QUOTE(Zwean @ May 6 2020, 04:45 PM)
Can get quite annoying tho. Her Economics 102 post in response to you was what triggered me haha
icemanfx
post May 6 2020, 05:47 PM

21,456 posts

QUOTE(zack.gap @ May 6 2020, 05:25 PM)
Can get quite annoying tho. Her Economics 102 post in response to you was what triggered me haha
when supply > demand, price will drop is not in your alternative economic 102?

This post has been edited by icemanfx: May 6 2020, 06:01 PM
Zwean
post May 6 2020, 05:58 PM

1,269 posts

QUOTE(zack.gap @ May 6 2020, 05:25 PM)
Well, she was wrong. But refuse to admit it, instead deflect and change the discussion.

Like I said, already used to it. Just need to raise awareness.
icemanfx
post May 6 2020, 06:06 PM

21,456 posts

QUOTE(Zwean @ May 6 2020, 05:58 PM)
Well, she was wrong. But refuse to admit it, instead deflect and change the discussion.

Like I said, already used to it. Just need to raise awareness.
More like you are in transition between denial and anger stage.
Zwean
post May 6 2020, 06:08 PM

1,269 posts

QUOTE(icemanfx @ May 6 2020, 06:06 PM)
More like you are in transition between denial and anger stage.
Sure.
icemanfx
post May 6 2020, 06:26 PM

21,456 posts

QUOTE(Zwean @ May 6 2020, 06:08 PM)
Sure.
Facts and data of last few years is public. only those in denial or transition to anger stage would claim or believe otherwise.

18 Pages « < 8 9 10 11 12 > » Top

0.0225sec    0.29    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 02:39 AM