225/50R17 budget tyres

TSKousaka Kirino
post Mar 2 2020, 07:41 PM, updated 6y ago

My car is a CP2 Accord 2.4. I have a pair of over 5 year old Michelin Primacy 3ST on the front and both have quite bad dry rot and is chipping. Manufactured in 2014. Still have a lot of tread but I don't think its safe especially highway runs.

The back are a pair of new recently replaced Nexen N'fera SU1 and once Michelins are replaced I will move them to the front and new ones at the back.

The thing is I don't want to spend much as the car sits mostly. Last year only clocked 6,000 KMs. Mostly highway runs and some backroads (jalan kampung).

I have narrowed down to 2 models:

1. Rovelo Sport A1 (RM 210) - Heard decent reviews of this tyre.

2. Achilles ATR Sport II (RM 225) - Heard good reviews of this tyre. I am using this brand on my daily but a different model (Achilles 122) and I find them quite good.

Would like some feedback for these two. Again, not wanting to spend upwards of RM 300 as car is rarely used. I paid RM 350 for the Nexens. I don't drive this car hard. Just a comfortable cruiser for my family. Ocassionally I do speed up to 140 KM/h. I always take it easy when it rains as I'm not willing to risk it. Also open to any other model suggestions.
Thank you for any feedback and inputs.

loki
post Mar 2 2020, 08:04 PM

2,109 posts

why would you want to gamble with cheap tyres even though its barely utilised?
6UE5T
post Mar 3 2020, 12:03 AM

1,704 posts

QUOTE(Kousaka Kirino @ Mar 2 2020, 07:41 PM)
My car is a CP2 Accord 2.4. I have a pair of over 5 year old Michelin Primacy 3ST on the front and both have quite bad dry rot and is chipping. Manufactured in 2014. Still have a lot of tread but I don't think its safe especially highway runs.

The back are a pair of new recently replaced Nexen N'fera SU1 and once Michelins are replaced I will move them to the front and new ones at the back.

The thing is I don't want to spend much as the car sits mostly. Last year only clocked 6,000 KMs. Mostly highway runs and some backroads (jalan kampung).

I have narrowed down to 2 models:

1. Rovelo Sport A1 (RM 210) - Heard decent reviews of this tyre.

2. Achilles ATR Sport II (RM 225) - Heard good reviews of this tyre. I am using this brand on my daily but a different model (Achilles 122) and I find them quite good.

Would like some feedback for these two. Again, not wanting to spend upwards of RM 300 as car is rarely used. I paid RM 350 for the Nexens. I don't drive this car hard. Just a comfortable cruiser for my family. Ocassionally I do speed up to 140 KM/h. I always take it easy when it rains as I'm not willing to risk it. Also open to any other model suggestions.
Thank you for any feedback and inputs.
Better buy this Goodyear Excellence, still below rm300 yet surely more reliable than those low end cheapo tires.
https://m.mudah.my/view?ad_id=75996950&shar...&share_to=other

Or try ask for the new Hankook Prime 3 if it has that size. If so, should be cheap also and surely much better than your cheapo options, even compared to your overpriced Nexen.

Don't skimp on tires coz it's the only contact patch between your car and the road.

This post has been edited by 6UE5T: Mar 3 2020, 12:04 AM

0.0126sec    0.57    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 07:38 AM