DIY cheap 8800 fan replacement, update 21/07/07

TSHaHaNoCluE
post Jul 21 2007, 02:28 AM, updated 19y ago

628 posts

err since i'm waiting for my gpu block so i guess i might try out some stupid idea to cool down my 8800gts... using rivatuner to max the ori fan to 100% max speed does help cool down my gpu from 59 to 53 but i'm worry like many other owners of this card that a replacement fan is very near to impossible or too expensive to obtain in future... so it might be easier if i attach a fan to the outside of the cover might help further cooling it n a ormal fan is cheaper than the ori nvidia fan anyway...

1st, i remove the cover (4 screws) of the hsf and remove the ori fan (3 screws) from the heat sink... the fan is made by delta (made in china) - more detail of the fan will be added soon... n reinstall the cover...

the blowhole of the ori fan is 70mm, so i've prepared some fans (all brand new) i've bought to try on it...

1) orbix 70mm x 70mm x 15mm (3-pin rpm support, 3900rpm)
2) cooler master 80mm x 80mm x 25mm (3-pin rpm support)
3) delta 80mm x 80mm x 25mm (molex no rpm support)
4) delta 92mm x 92mm x 25mm (3-pin rpm support)
5) amd ori 60mm fan (3-pin rpm support)
6) sunon 92mm x 92mm x 25mm (3-pin rpm support)

i set all fans to max rpm to try if they can out perform the ori fan of the gts... the ori fan has a heavy n large motor but the max rpm is only 2,700rpm...

well, i thought i wanna make a bracket to bolt these fans on the gpu but it'll take me longer time for this little test, so i use masking tape instead n it made the whole process a lot easier as it's very easy to be clean off...

i'll try to get more info on the fans as i wanna know if high cfm fans will help cool the gpu better or if the restriction of the ori heat sink + the small blow hole won't benefit from highr cfm fans at all...

testing will be done in aircond room with room temp of 27 to 28 degree celsius... so the result should be pretty accurate i guess... temp will be taken with rivatuner... i might run a 3d scan with atitool for 10 minutes for each fan test... so v can roughly predict what's the temp when it's working (not fully load i guess)...

...................................................................................................................................................................idle
1) orbix 70mm x 70mm x 15mm (3-pin rpm support, 3,900rpm, 27.5CFM, 0.16A)..............................................52 degree celsius
2) cooler master A8025-18CB-3BN-F1 80mm x 80mm x 25mm (3-pin rpm support, 1,800rpm, 22.8CFM, 0.12A)...61 degree celcius
3) delta AFB0812VH 80mm x 80mm x 25mm (molex no rpm support, 3,600rpm, 42.0CFM, 0.26A) from AllnGap...53 degree celcius
4) delta AUB0912VH 92mm x 92mm x 25mm (3-pin rpm support, 3,800rpm, 67.8CFM, 0.40A) from AllnGap.........54 degree celcius
5) amd ori 60mm fan (3-pin rpm support, cannot use coz too small)
6) sunon 92mm x 92mm x 25mm (3-pin rpm support, 2,600rpm, 48.5CFM, 0.20A).............................................54 degree celcius
7) original nvidia blower fan, delta BFB1012L (4-pin rpm support, 2,700rpm, 19.0CFM, 0.48A).............................54 degree celcius

i seems like the hsf itself has high restriction of air flow, it doesn't improve much from the advantage of higher air flow fans... the cooler master 80mm fan perform badly, maybe due to that it's low noise n very weak air flow... fans with bigger size have another flaw in this test as the original hsf cover blowhole is on 70mm diameter, so that might restrict more air being push into the hsf... maybe i'll buy a fan adapter such as 80mm to 70mm n 92mm to 70mm, if it's available (anyone slling???)...

actually delta does produce blower fan with same BFB1020L motor, so if we figure out how to dismantle the motor, so we should be able to find replacement for future... link to the blower fan http://www.delta.com.tw/product/cp/dcfans/...B97x94x33mm.pdf

will continue again tomolo... icon_rolleyes.gif

- atitool artifact scan for 10 minutes (load temp)
- dual fan (with ori fan running at both 60% n 100%) idle n load temp

This post has been edited by HaHaNoCluE: Jul 21 2007, 08:21 PM
TSHaHaNoCluE
post Jul 21 2007, 12:08 PM

628 posts

QUOTE(styloe @ Jul 21 2007, 02:38 AM)
LoL maybe change the title CHEAPSKATE MOD!!

elcheapo mode hell as long as it works bravo my fren...

update on the temp?maybe can do bling2 mod...hehe
err no bling bling lar coz i'm testing either it'll work better onot only if using this cheap idea... lol... allngap not free to make me those led he's selling so maybe wait till he's free... wink.gif

QUOTE(sopen2003 @ Jul 21 2007, 04:34 AM)
bro, ur 8800gts, it's galaxy??
ehhh.. how u know??? it's not written on the gpu oso... u using the same 1??? thumbup.gif

QUOTE(AllnGap @ Jul 21 2007, 09:51 AM)
hey man....so this is how you play with fans  tongue.gif

quite creative and effective, really....
those blowers you see there, the function is to push hot air out of the casing, this is the best way to do it since that area is usually spaced restricted....

the method of mounting the fan on top of the graphics card definitely works !!

i've been thinking of modding my 1900xtx with a XP-90C on top of it, maybe next year.....
rclxms.gif my fans supplier... dunno lar... i bought many of them for spare n testing lor... hahahaha... yaya the xp-90c does seems like a good candidate... just fabricate the adapter bracket for gpu then ok liao... hehehehe...
TSHaHaNoCluE
post Jul 21 2007, 08:19 PM

628 posts

it came as factory oced, so no need worry if u oc it then they don't cover warranty... but it's all same no matter what brand coz they all made by same factory... at rm1,1k+, it's a good deal...
TSHaHaNoCluE
post Jul 22 2007, 01:47 AM

628 posts

the idle temp shown above with all the fans set at max rpm... so idle at 55 or less degree is achievable especially in air cond room (28 degree)... i've tried the idea running with dual fan without the cover but it doesn't perform any better but getting worst (57 degree celcius)... i'll try running dual fan but with the ori fan stay at wher it is n the 2nd fan is attached outside the cover just like i was testing... hope it'll perform better...

i'll try both idea with load too (atitool artifact scan)... it's might not fully load the gpu but it's heavy enough... let's hope i can do the rest of the test during these 2 days... notworthy.gif
TSHaHaNoCluE
post Jul 23 2007, 01:54 AM

628 posts

coool... the fans do looks ver nice indeed but mine is a close case test... so i still need the hot air to exit through the rear exhaust of the ori hsf...

extremeocer, hehe, we can exchange some ideas here...
TSHaHaNoCluE
post Jul 24 2007, 03:12 AM

628 posts

i tried take off the hsf cover n test the setup open bench style but this time i was using 120mm high cfm fan (adda fan oso from AllnGap) blowing directly to the gpu, the result 47 degree celsius... but i think this is only good if user wanna run benchmark testing... using setup like that for 24/7 is not appropriate unless u stay alone, no pet, no family visiting, no gf... still figuring out how to make the coolng more effective n easier + cheaper so that most users can just do it easily without fearing that they will easily void the warranty....
TSHaHaNoCluE
post Jul 31 2007, 12:55 AM

628 posts

no nid so much, i tried using an adda 120mm fan n place it near the hsf of my 8800gts (ori fan n hsf cover was opened)... the temp lowered to 47... but adding more fans doesn't make things different even when load... max load with this setup is very very cool... 66 max..! o ya, it was raining n i think the room temp might drop 1 or 2 degree...
TSHaHaNoCluE
post Jul 31 2007, 12:03 PM

628 posts

it's on arctic mx-1 now...
TSHaHaNoCluE
post Aug 27 2007, 12:56 AM

628 posts

but a lot of users juz worry that if the ori fan running at 80% rpm, after long run, it'll die... so some users they wanna try to add another fan as substitude to the ori fan in hope it might improve the temp n lower noise too... in fact yes, as tried, a 70mm fan with not much noise n not too high cfm does imrove by lowering the temp at some significant degree n better at load too... since most 8800 users r actually removing the cover of their stock hsf for cleaning purpose, so taking out the fans isn't much of a job either... hehehe... btw, it doesn't looks pretty... laugh.gif

TSHaHaNoCluE
post Aug 27 2007, 02:51 PM

628 posts

as far as i know, no 1 kills their fan yet, unless defected product which mean the fan itself start off production with defaction, too much bearing play, too much friction, etc...

the fan is made by delta, ther's a blower that uses the same motor as the ori 8800 fan but the cheapest that can be found selling online is USD29.00 which i think is a bit overkill...

TSHaHaNoCluE
post Aug 31 2007, 02:30 PM

628 posts

QUOTE(hehee:) @ Aug 30 2007, 08:55 PM)
anyway ....bro i like the way you treat your PC parts....and the graphic card....you know it was safe to load the card with temp 75-85C...but you still not satisfy ...keep modding....i was once did like you i know it's fun....after i water my 8800GTX i hard Vmod it as well..... laugh.gif ....and still keep stare at the card try to find more mods to improve yet it prove nothing....hehee......this is how we love PC parts...
the 8800 is now watercooled... idle at 40'c n load at max near 50'c... not yet vmod, but i guess a good pump of vcore n vdimm will improve the stability when oc kaw kaw... now i can run at 675/900... but i dunno y my vram doens't let me go for more... maybe a bit vdimm adjustment will do... wher do u find the VR for vmod??? can't find them in sabah... old or new parts, i dun care... i still wondering how can i make my old p4 631 n x700 to look n run better... :lol

cooling the gpu actually help a lot to keep the case temp down... as u all know when case temp up, every temp will keep climbing up... so i'm trying to keep the hot air out, n keep the noise down too, juz can't stand it if ther's too much noise... tongue.gif

0.0179sec    0.28    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 07:34 AM