SUSwadepak
post Feb 21 2020, 08:50 PM, updated 5y ago

FMT News
HOMENEWSBERITAOPINIONWORLDBUSINESSSPORTSFMT OHSEM!LIFESTYLEGALLERY

Hong Kong protesters celebrate news of 59 cops quarantined for virus
AFP -February 21, 2020 7:15 PM
Shares

59 Hong Kong cops are being quarantined after sharing a meal with virus-carrier colleague. (AP pic)
HONG KONG: Dozens of Hong Kong police officers have been placed in quarantine after attending a banquet with a colleague who later tested positive for the new coronavirus, officials said Friday.

The news prompted celebrations among some pro-democracy protesters, a vivid illustration of how deeply polarised the city has become after months of rallies and thousands of arrests last year.

The 48-year-old officer found to be carrying the virus had dinner on Tuesday with 59 colleagues, police said.

All have been classified as “close contacts” and ordered to undergo mandatory quarantine.

Health officials said four officers as well as the infected policeman’s wife and mother-in-law showed symptoms of illness.

Protesters gathered inside a mall on Friday celebrated the news of the quarantine, with one man offering bottles of Corona beer to passersby in a wry reference to the virus.

Social media was also inundated with messages from Hong Kongers vowing to mark the occasion by drinking champagne.

Months earlier a police officer had been filmed shouting that he and his colleagues would drink champagne after the death of a student on the sidelines of a pro-democracy rally.

Friday’s protest marked the seven-month anniversary of a bloody assault by club-wielding men – some with connections to “triad” organised crime gangs – on protesters at a train station.

Police were accused of failing to respond quickly enough to the attack, in which 40 people were hospitalised.

Officers were also filmed afterwards talking to some of the perpetrators, who were allowed to go free.

Police denied turning a blind eye and said they were busy dealing with violent pro-democracy protesters elsewhere that night.

But the incident sparked huge public anger that resonates to this day.

Hong Kong’s huge pro-democracy protest movement appeared to be losing momentum at the start of the year but the Covid-19 outbreak – which has infected 69 people and claimed two lives in the city – has effectively ended all mass gatherings.

The protests were pushing for universal suffrage and an independent inquiry into the police.

Around 7,000 people were arrested during the protests, many facing up to 10 years jail on rioting charges
Pikichu
post Feb 21 2020, 08:53 PM

1,623 posts

Crockroach spread disease
drug5
post Feb 21 2020, 08:53 PM

103 posts

Wadafaq
danabu
post Feb 21 2020, 09:30 PM

412 posts

Hopeless Katchat after brainwashed for years .. Celebrate when people suffer....
smallcrab
post Feb 21 2020, 09:32 PM

125 posts

brainless and heartless katchat
SUSAngelic Layer
post Feb 21 2020, 09:32 PM

91 posts

2% rate, sure at least one of them will die.
Phoenix_KL
post Feb 21 2020, 09:34 PM

124 posts

attending a banquet with a colleague who later tested positive for the new coronavirus.

really attending a banquet? why?
moiskyrie
post Feb 21 2020, 09:37 PM

2,990 posts

Celebrate lolz...
Later they got Rob or anything don't cry to police la....
pineapplegrenade
post Feb 21 2020, 09:38 PM

You see there people, when democracy poison you until you celebrate corona virus like it was your friend. biggrin.gif
party
post Feb 21 2020, 09:49 PM

755 posts

QUOTE(moiskyrie @ Feb 21 2020, 09:37 PM)
Celebrate lolz...
Later they got Rob or anything don't cry to police la....
later if kena quarantined they sure blame its HK n police fault
danabu
post Feb 21 2020, 09:53 PM

412 posts

QUOTE(party @ Feb 21 2020, 09:49 PM)
later if kena quarantined they sure blame its HK n police fault
They have been doing this... Remember those medical staffs strike..
Heater8811
post Feb 21 2020, 10:03 PM

13 posts

QUOTE(danabu @ Feb 21 2020, 09:30 PM)
Hopeless Katchat after brainwashed for years .. Celebrate when people suffer....
well, to be fair, the police also did it first, celebrating after beating the katchat.

But yeah.. jilater will jilat.
danabu
post Feb 21 2020, 10:11 PM

412 posts

QUOTE(Heater8811 @ Feb 21 2020, 10:03 PM)
well, to be fair, the police also did it first, celebrating after beating the katchat.

Not really sure about your statement.. From epal SOS?
SUSXXXOOOXXXOOO
post Feb 21 2020, 10:15 PM

1,471 posts

QUOTE(pineapplegrenade @ Feb 21 2020, 09:38 PM)
You see there people, when democracy poison you until you celebrate corona virus like it was your friend. biggrin.gif
we have also have one that start curse them to died ....
SUSXXXOOOXXXOOO
post Feb 21 2020, 10:16 PM

1,471 posts

QUOTE(Heater8811 @ Feb 21 2020, 10:03 PM)

if i'm police and catch criminal, why cant i just celebrate ? anything wrong ?
rainy~days
post Feb 21 2020, 10:17 PM

296 posts

Jackie Chan, Alan Tam & other HK stars slammed for not wearing masks
https://www.thestar.com.my/lifestyle/entert...t-wearing-masks

they also got chance kena?
danabu
post Feb 21 2020, 10:34 PM

412 posts

QUOTE(XXXOOOXXXOOO @ Feb 21 2020, 10:16 PM)
if i'm police and catch criminal, why cant i just celebrate ? anything wrong ?
Where are the criminal? They are peaceful demonstrators according to CNN, BBC... Even murdered people also not criminals lah....
SUSXXXOOOXXXOOO
post Feb 21 2020, 10:51 PM

1,471 posts

QUOTE(danabu @ Feb 21 2020, 10:34 PM)
Where are the criminal? They are peaceful demonstrators according to CNN, BBC... Even murdered people also not criminals lah....
i think with current internet, web, social media and everyone also have camera, that few month actually the world how western media operate.
We should thanks them, unfortunately there still many .............................. around.
ticke
post Feb 21 2020, 11:00 PM

****E***y*u***i***@**
1,637 posts

kamsau
sniper on the roof
post Feb 21 2020, 11:01 PM

23,414 posts

QUOTE(danabu @ Feb 21 2020, 10:34 PM)
QUOTE(XXXOOOXXXOOO @ Feb 21 2020, 10:51 PM)
i think with current internet, web, social media and everyone also have camera, that few month actually the world how western media operate.
We should thanks them, unfortunately there still many .............................. around.
It's all in the editing laugh.gif

0.0135sec    0.25    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th March 2024 - 07:13 AM