Samsung Galaxy Note 10 Discussion Thread V4, The 10th Series Note

light_up
post May 12 2020, 09:55 AM

171 posts

Hi, i'm looking at Note 10 +, wondering if i buy the parallel import with Snapdragon model, where can i repair/claim under warranty/change battery in the future?

As i normally will use my phone for a very long time, i'm still using Note 4 running on 3rd battery now

Or should i just buy local version to avoid any hassle? Thanks
light_up
post May 12 2020, 10:35 AM

171 posts

QUOTE(edan1979 @ May 12 2020, 10:02 AM)
no local warranty will be provided. Samsung Malaysia just won't entertain even if you want to pay. You can only send it to fix at normal repair shop.
i see, sounds like a little risky, but price is tempting

er.. any reliable normal repair shop you guys would recommend?
light_up
post May 12 2020, 11:12 AM

171 posts

QUOTE(Mike3 @ May 12 2020, 10:35 AM)
if u plan to use it long time u should consider local set,
local shop may repair snapdragon set for u. but if spare parts is not readily available u will need time to procure those part from overseas.
may take sometime to repair.

i think common parts like battery shouldnt be issue.
thanks for the reminder, besides battery, something else may goes wrong too, guess i would just pick up a local set
light_up
post May 13 2020, 10:12 AM

171 posts

QUOTE(Mike3 @ May 12 2020, 11:17 AM)
not very sure about the construction. i feel common part would be the same. just the mother board is the one you should be worry about.
unless samsung those phone differently.
as producing non common parts increases their cost as they need keep larger inventory

never open both phones before so yea up to u.

To be honest, quite rare to get lemon unit for phones but if u get, and its not local set , probably you will have a hard time.
See if the improved battery life and signal is worth risking for a SD set
mmm.. noted.. back then all my phones are parallel import unit, no issues, my first local unit mobile is a Sony Xperia ZL, but it's a lemon unit, claimed under warranty, after repair everything is ok, with this experience, the next mobile i get is also a local unit, which is the Samsung Note 4

reason why now i'm eyeing on the parallel import unit Samsung Note 10+ is because of the big difference in price, and saw some online review on Snapdragon vs Exynos, they concluded the Snapdragon Note 10+ runs cooler, faster, better graphics and better battery life

but i believe i've made up my mind on getting a local unit, as i can imagine few years later, when i need to change the build-in battery, i would only trust Samsung Malaysia to carry out proper quality work with genuine parts, and providing warranty on new battery

QUOTE(sakuraboo @ May 12 2020, 03:56 PM)
Ayyyyyyy note 4

The undead phone

Mine still alive with 5th battery

Sometimes you can deal with the shop you bought it from but hassle nonetheless
5th laugh.gif
Note 4 is immortal

QUOTE(rjflyguy @ May 12 2020, 07:56 PM)
I also have my Note 4 with me.... Factory reset that phone and now it's resting back in the original box... Still okay with it's 7th battery hahaha... Long live Note 4..  hahaha
7th laugh.gif laugh.gif
really looooong life

QUOTE(ridox_orimabu @ May 12 2020, 11:43 PM)
Im surrpised the note 4 is a fan favourite to many. Wonder why?
because it's a phone with great performance, it's still performing great up until today, and it's stable & durable, it's still running strong

somemore the battery is not built-in, you can change it with ease

This post has been edited by light_up: May 13 2020, 10:19 AM
light_up
post May 13 2020, 12:34 PM

171 posts

QUOTE(Mike3 @ May 13 2020, 11:32 AM)
maybe higher difference if you are gaming i guess for better graphics.
i dont game much on my note.
overall for normal usage dont think u see the difference.
but hopefully the next note i get which i might be getting will be exynos with amd gpu hehe.

bringing back to samsung for repair will be better as they can seal back in the proper procedure compare to 3rd party

how did your note 4 survive so long with AMOLED screen.
No burn in?

for me smartphone 3 years is a sweet spot.
i totally no gaming, mostly doing photo/video shooting, outdoor under hot sun, therefore phone temperature is important, and some reviewers concluded that Snapdragon unit takes better quality photo & video due to better graphics processing

i don't baby my Note 4 actually, dropped it thousands times, no issues with the screen, only issue i'm having now is it's SD card reader, sometimes it couldn't read, only when the phone temperature gets too high, like when charging phone or heavily used under hot sun
light_up
post May 13 2020, 03:32 PM

171 posts

QUOTE(shirley_andy @ May 13 2020, 01:56 PM)
CELCOM:

DiGi:

Also noticed the WiFi signal shows stronger on the SD compared to the Exynos even though both connected to the same WiFi.

Anything I noted is, Exynos has latest software updates and security patch, the SD one still with 1 Jan 2020 security patch.

WiFi still not a big issue to me, as my WiFi is not too far a way from my room

QUOTE(sakuraboo @ May 13 2020, 12:43 PM)
Not to mention signal quality

The gpu and 4g antenna are bundled with the cpu in one unit

On screen battery life not much different, but sd standby with 4g is 3x difference, quite possibly due to the 4g antenna mostly

When i standby my exynos with WiFi, the standby duration is similar to the reported sd standby time.

That said, i thoroughly enjoy using this phone even though it's exynos. There are many improvements over the note 4.

Only one thing the note 4 is superior over the note 10 + apart from the battery and that's structural durability. It's Nokia level
battery life of standby with 4G is so important, as that's when we are outdoor, and by 3X shocking.gif

anyway, upon checking, i only realise my Note 4 is also Exynos laugh.gif maybe getting a Note 10+ with Exynos also ok for me..
light_up
post May 14 2020, 03:01 PM

171 posts

QUOTE(zoixc @ May 13 2020, 06:49 PM)
Its actually my mum's old phone, I just use as a secondary  phone. But now battery kong already.

Where you guys buy new battery for it ?
If you can tahan the weaker signal and slightly worst standby time, then go for it haha.
So far my experience with it when the phone got no signal, other phone also weak signal already. But if signal is around 3 to 4 bar then usage is OK if you don't use it to game la.
mine bought at Samsung Outlet, RM 147, i think 2 weeks or 2 months warranty

the signal part, i don't game, but a little worrying for me, as always travel to very remote place

QUOTE(skylinelover @ May 13 2020, 11:05 PM)
Exynos does not suck till 990 on S20s laugh.gif That one the difference with SD is heaven and hell doh.gif
i see, means differences of Exynos & Snapdragon on Note 10+ won't be too big right?
light_up
post May 16 2020, 08:57 AM

171 posts

QUOTE(zoixc @ May 14 2020, 06:24 PM)
I buy ninja cheap cheap haha.

Very remote place as in how remote haha ? I when back kampung at pahang, data can use for video Facebook all OK. But gaming cannot cause ping high.

Not much difference for note 10 plus, the newer 990 then bigger differences like thermal and gpu performance
some up stream river side, so remote that the road is not available on google map, sometimes have to park my 4x4 and walk all the way to continue to the site

QUOTE(skylinelover @ May 15 2020, 12:06 AM)
based on this video pre-990 exynos is still dam solid laugh.gif rclxms.gif

if that's the case, i guess i can confidently just get a local set Note 10+, also no need to wait for the upcoming Note 20 smile.gif
light_up
post Sep 16 2020, 12:30 AM

171 posts

guys, what type of screen protector & lens protector do you use & recommend?
it's just the 5th day i since got my phone, and i just stupidly ruin my original screen protector doh.gif
light_up
post Sep 16 2020, 11:03 AM

171 posts

QUOTE(Mike3 @ Sep 16 2020, 08:52 AM)
lens i buy the cheapo one dont think make any much difference.
for screen depends on u
tempered glass (use glue) may damaged ur phone if its installed not properly
hydrogel or mobile outfitters- dont feel like glass. better than plastic useable not cheap
plastic. cheap. damaged apply new
noted with thanks, probably wait until my ruined original screen protector to ruin even further only change to hydrogel type
QUOTE(edan1979 @ Sep 16 2020, 09:13 AM)
naked je la. no need protector whatever. hahahaha
naked glass nice to touch indeed brows.gif
light_up
post Sep 17 2020, 04:17 PM

171 posts

QUOTE(Mike3 @ Sep 16 2020, 02:08 PM)
hydrogel got cheap one i think at lowyat they sell per installation 40-50?
they do scratch but i change them like 3 to 6 mths one.
since mine MO i pay rm 5 per change in penang so ok
naked sure nice until u see scratches.
Mine still ok i guess for lens protector
pardon me what is MO?
light_up
post Sep 17 2020, 04:22 PM

171 posts

read some articles about battery care tips,
the battery is best to be kept in between 20%~90%,
not sure how correct is this, but i follow anyway..
i charge when it's below 30% and unplug above 80%
light_up
post Sep 18 2020, 11:50 PM

171 posts

QUOTE(Mike3 @ Sep 18 2020, 11:34 AM)
better between 20 to 80 range.
is not counted as % charge its put in.
its counted by the charge level.
meaning u charge 90 to 100% gives u more cycle than 50 to 60% for example.
mobile outfitters
QUOTE(hightechgadgets8 @ Sep 18 2020, 11:50 AM)
Mobile outfitters
QUOTE(skylinelover @ Sep 18 2020, 12:10 PM)
Haha interesting
I more conservative
60% for whole off day
laugh.gif laugh.gif
Work whole day 75%
icon_idea.gif icon_idea.gif
knowledge gained.. feels like i'm quite outdated with tech products, i'm ruining my phone..
1st day charge until 100% then keep charging for 1 hour, then DIY fit some plastic screen protector & ruined the original screen protector doh.gif
anyway, will stick to 20% to 80% from now on

what type of car charger you guys use? was intended to buy the 45w but bought the 15w eventually due to the price.. laugh.gif
light_up
post Oct 3 2020, 06:00 PM

171 posts

Just updated to one UI 2.5 last night, checking up the difference today, tried playing around with the new feature on Pro Video, suddenly a pop up "Warning: Camera Fail", Camera app shut down itself.
Try reopen Camera and play around, same thing happen again.. sad.gif
Should i send service center for checking?
light_up
post Oct 16 2020, 11:21 AM

171 posts

guys, my camera app keep crash after updated to one ui 2.5, even after i send it to service center and they reprogram the phone, still the same

it crash everytime when i use Pro Video with 24 fps, histogram on, during or after i adjust color (the button "Standard" in between "WB" and "Zoom")

could anyone help to try out? would like to know is it a common bug or just my phone, thanks in advance
light_up
post Oct 16 2020, 04:53 PM

171 posts

QUOTE(edan1979 @ Oct 16 2020, 12:00 PM)
try clear the apps data. tap the camera icon for around 1 sec. go to app info, click storage and clear data.. and see if its fix or not. sometimes old corrupted data mess thing up.
Tried many times clear data & cache, even tried restart & clear all cache, even service center format my phone, still occur
light_up
post Oct 16 2020, 11:42 PM

171 posts

QUOTE(hightechgadgets8 @ Oct 16 2020, 06:18 PM)
looks like faulty camera module
QUOTE(Mike3 @ Oct 16 2020, 09:03 PM)
probaby a bug
mine crash too
if that's the case, huge possibility a bug, i should have wait until i see your reply before sending to sc

now i felt so heartache that my 1 month old phone is opened up for a repair work that should not be needed cry.gif

just send to sc this afternoon, they change camera module, then format my phone again, test in the same way, crash

technician say it's a bug and will log report to HQ and feedback to me next Monday

This post has been edited by light_up: Oct 16 2020, 11:44 PM
light_up
post Oct 29 2020, 11:37 AM

171 posts

QUOTE(PJng @ Oct 17 2020, 02:32 PM)
Forgot tag
Same problem on my sister note 10
noted with thanks
QUOTE(hightechgadgets8 @ Oct 17 2020, 02:46 PM)
can do a screen record?
seems ok on my note 10, or maybe i didnt do it correctly
already confirmed with Samsung, it's a bug, only will be fixed in next updates
QUOTE(rjflyguy @ Oct 17 2020, 03:06 PM)
Hi... Tried your method on my Note10+ SD version... No crash at all... Tried to do other things also still okay... It's the software issue I think.
eye opening, thanks for assisting to test
QUOTE(sakuraboo @ Oct 17 2020, 04:43 PM)
My standard button is greyed out?
the standard button is greyed out on UHD 24 fps, but not greyed out on FHD 24 fps
light_up
post Jan 30 2021, 11:58 AM

171 posts

QUOTE(Jitty @ Jan 28 2021, 11:07 PM)
better.

for me, the battery life seem like improve by 5% after clearing vs before clearing.
mind to share how and where to clear cache?

i tried power + volume up button, couldn't enter the system boot screen like before
light_up
post Apr 4 2021, 06:35 PM

171 posts

QUOTE(touristking @ Mar 28 2021, 06:36 AM)
a friend has a N10 with Redone. I think Redone uses Celcom. No problem
no.. RedOne is terrible on my 10+, no signal along Kesas highway..

0.1804sec    0.42    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 07:43 AM