Front & back speakers same wattage?

TSZombieSeafood
post Feb 20 2020, 08:59 AM, updated 6y ago

45 posts

Hi Sifus have a question.

Am planning to install new speakers in the front and back doors. For sound quality and imaging, do they have to be the same wattage (RMS) rating? Say if i have a 110W RMS speakers in the front, do I also need to have 100+W for rear speakers or is 50-70W enough for the rear speakers?

TSZombieSeafood
post Feb 20 2020, 09:54 AM

45 posts

QUOTE(Zot @ Feb 20 2020, 09:07 AM)
It does not matter, but the maximum you can turn up the volume is at the least wattage speaker to not damaging it (providing you set the power output equally to all speakers).

In case of 70W speakers in rear, the max power from amp is 70Wmax. Anyway, in theory, you can adjust fader to balance front and rear but how to know the power is even  laugh.gif
Ahh ok! Thanks for the info!

lol anyone have great 100W RMS coaxial speakers below RM500 to recommend? Already have front components. Just need to fill the rear passenger area.
TSZombieSeafood
post Feb 20 2020, 10:06 AM

45 posts

QUOTE(kevinlim001 @ Feb 20 2020, 09:58 AM)
TS how you define sound imaging? like the sound let you feel and imagine on how exact the environment of your recording?

your media is song or film?
yeah, sounds like it!
media is songs in spotify and sometimes flacs
TSZombieSeafood
post Feb 20 2020, 11:32 AM

45 posts

QUOTE(kevinlim001 @ Feb 20 2020, 10:51 AM)
but will it be wierd if the vocal is coming from the behind like the singer is singing behind you?

IMHO, i will only invest in rear speaker if its a rear sub or its for the leisure of my passenger.. for myself i will give my best buck to improve on the front sound stage.. with proper time alignment you can get more natural sound presentation which is coming from front.. like u r sitting in the concert.. unless u r playing movies u need surround sound in multichannel
That's true too. But I'm getting it for rear passengers.

0.0158sec    0.57    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 10:23 PM