Plan to get BMW G20 320i.. need advice

McFD2R
post Feb 26 2020, 05:19 PM

1,074 posts

QUOTE(wild_card_my @ Feb 26 2020, 04:14 PM)
In the future (say 5 years from today) I think if I were to upgrade, Ill just buy a Porsche 718 or stick with the new 3 series of that time. During the times I was driving my Persona Elegance, I told myself to just buy a Conti, if I cannot afford to buy a Conti, I would just stick with a new Proton at that time. Luckily I earned enough to buy myself a 3 series.

About the moniker? it reflects them and their own finances than the contis:

1. If my car masuk workshop? It's a new car, comes with warranties
2. If warranty ends? I will just buy a new one or ones with warranties and free services
3. If warranty ends but not planning to upgrade (waiting for a new launch)? I will just pay for these repairs
4. If no money to buy a new car and complaining about conti car repairs? That means I can't afford to keep the Conti. Just dump the old car and buy a Honda/Proton, or something more affordable as a whole (prices + cost to run)

Money doesn't solve everything, but a lot of things can be solved with money. All these Masuk Workshop complaints are made by people cannot afford to solve these problems with money. When you go eat nasi campur, do you complain that a plate is RM10? No right? If you do, you can't afford it and should probably cook at home. If you are complaining about the fuel guzzling engines, the fast-reducing RV, the repair costs, etc. all the costs associated with owning the car... you simply can't afford it. Go buy a Proton , I drove Proton Persona Elegance for 9 years before I made the jump. If you still complain about Proton cars, then buy a motorcycle lah. The problem is your income, not the car

Maybe I sound pompous, but I see money as a something you can generate any time as long as I work on it. Last year I said I wanted to buy a Bimmer, and this year I bought it. Two years ago I said I wanted to buy a DS Corner landed house, last year I bought it. I am looking at a few big ticket items now, and now I am working my ass off to get them. Who are these people complaining about my Bimmer's repair costs? People who do not have Bimmers or can't afford to maintain them laugh.gif
I like you. Simply because we are on the same page. I f..king hate people in no 4 ... want to buy, but worry. And harsh as it seems, if you worry, it means you are simply not ready NOW. It doesn't mean you can't be ready in the near future. Work for it.

I recently replaced my E90 M3 rear diff. Brand new for about 20k. Was I sad? Of course I was sweat.gif but it's all part of the process of owning it. Each time fluids are replaced, cost RM2k+ ... Petrol? 4L V8 .... bottoms up sweat.gif

At the end of the day, I already have the expectations when I bought it. And any major repairs, won't dent my retirement fund. Money can be made again. But the pure enjoyment of driving it is without words.

As for me, if I do change, it's be either a newer ///M model or a Merc C Coupe.

0.0126sec    0.89    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 03:15 PM