QUOTE(AyamBannedTwice @ Jun 5 2020, 08:19 PM)
Ya agree. Let's see 👍🏼Plan to get BMW G20 320i.. need advice
Plan to get BMW G20 320i.. need advice
Jun 6 2020, 01:30 AM
Show posts by this member only | IPv6 | Post
Probation
5 posts Joined: Apr 2020 |
Jun 7 2020, 09:01 AM
6,562 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Kuala Lumpur |
QUOTE(kevin23 @ Jun 5 2020, 08:43 PM) 320i enough. The power difference in city driving is negligible. Nope, most driving is done under 110kmh, the 330i's 400Nm makes it a very easy driveU will only feel the power diff at very high speeds 330i u reach 180-200kmh u can tekan and go even faster 320i u reach 200kmh slightly out of breath already "Effortlessly quick" Dont menyesal, save couple tens of thousands and buy an interior car. We are not talking extra 250k (price of a new BMW) for the M340i CBU, we are just talking about 50k extra which will give a satisfying performance You drive 320i, and feel ever so slightly that the car could use more torque, and you will kick yourself for choosing an interior option. |
Jun 7 2020, 09:07 AM
1,803 posts Joined: Oct 2007 |
QUOTE(wild_card_my @ Jun 7 2020, 09:01 AM) Nope, most driving is done under 110kmh, the 330i's 400Nm makes it a very easy drive Driving in the city u wont be able to maximize the 400Nm torque la trust me. U have to floor the pedal each and every time to be able to feel the difference. "Effortlessly quick" Dont menyesal, save couple tens of thousands and buy an interior car. We are not talking extra 250k (price of a new BMW) for the M340i CBU, we are just talking about 50k extra which will give a satisfying performance You drive 320i, and feel ever so slightly that the car could use more torque, and you will kick yourself for choosing an interior option. My car 350Nm torque oso i feel useless in city drive. |
Jun 7 2020, 09:16 AM
QUOTE(kevin23 @ Jun 7 2020, 09:07 AM) Driving in the city u wont be able to maximize the 400Nm torque la trust me. U have to floor the pedal each and every time to be able to feel the difference. Torque is important for acceleration, which is important to wiggle through the traffic and at times overtakingMy car 350Nm torque oso i feel useless in city drive. You need to compare the torque curves between the 330i vs 320i B48s, if you feel that the higher torque is "useless", maybe you dont need to be at places quick enough Im not talking about speeding, but to beat the traffic, especially beating cars that are hogging the lanes. Torque is important, if not try driving a 120Nm car on the road and you will feel like crap 290Nm vs 400Nm is huge, just pay for the 330i which is only rm50k extra. But if you opt for the 320i, you will feel bad once you tried the 330i. I have tried both, and the 320i felt underwhelming. In the end, to each his own, maybe some people don't need anything more than 100Nm, from which there is always used 318i F30 in the market. P/s you are mistaken about the full pedal thing, you need to try the 330i G20 and turn on the sports display to see the torque numbers when driving This post has been edited by wild_card_my: Jun 7 2020, 09:20 AM |
Jun 7 2020, 09:31 AM
QUOTE(wild_card_my @ Jun 7 2020, 09:16 AM) Torque is important for acceleration, which is important to wiggle through the traffic and at times overtaking Trust me la. U buy 330i, u immediately throwing extra 50k down the drain due to terrible BMW depreciation . A 320i is more than enough for city driving. You need to compare the torque curves between the 330i vs 320i B48s, if you feel that the higher torque is "useless", maybe you dont need to be at places quick enough Im not talking about speeding, but to beat the traffic, especially beating cars that are hogging the lanes. Torque is important, if not try driving a 120Nm car on the road and you will feel like crap 290Nm vs 400Nm is huge, just pay for the 330i which is only rm50k extra. But if you opt for the 320i, you will feel bad once you tried the 330i. I have tried both, and the 320i felt underwhelming. In the end, to each his own, maybe some people don't need anything more than 100Nm, from which there is always used 318i F30 in the market. P/s you are mistaken about the full pedal thing, you need to try the 330i G20 and turn on the sports display to see the torque numbers when driving R u saying a 320i is unable to overtake a road hogger? R u like rushing to places everyday? I used to think like u that everything must buy the top spec one. But after a while i realise that its not the case. More than often the midrange ones are way more than enough to do the job. Its not like we r racing everyday. Btw of course a car with 120nm will feel crap. But we are talking 300nm torque here This post has been edited by kevin23: Jun 7 2020, 09:33 AM |
Jun 7 2020, 09:35 AM
QUOTE(kevin23 @ Jun 7 2020, 09:31 AM) Trust me la. U buy 330i, u immediately throwing extra 50k down the drain due to terrible BMW depreciation . A 320i is more than enough for city driving. 20 to 60kmh is important to me, that is not racing. Any cars can get to 200kmh eventually, the important q is how quickly will it get thereR u saying a 320i is unable to overtake a road hogger? R u like rushing to places everyday? I used to think like u that everything must buy the top spec one. But after a while i realise that its not the case. More than often the midrange ones are way more than enough to do the job. Its not like we r racing everyday. Btw of course a car with 120nm will feel crap. But we are talking 300nm torque here Like i said, perhaps an NA proton persona will do it for you, or perhaps the 1.5L 318i. 50k is nothing for what you get. From where I am, you are throwing money down the drain with the 320i. And depreciation? If care about this no need buy Bimmer la |
Jun 7 2020, 09:57 AM
QUOTE(wild_card_my @ Jun 7 2020, 09:35 AM) 20 to 60kmh is important to me, that is not racing. Any cars can get to 200kmh eventually, the important q is how quickly will it get there U drive 200km in KLCC area? Like i said, perhaps an NA proton persona will do it for you, or perhaps the 1.5L 318i. 50k is nothing for what you get. From where I am, you are throwing money down the drain with the 320i. And depreciation? If care about this no need buy Bimmer la Everyone cares and know about depreciation . The question is how to throw LESS money down the drain. I have already said, like last time i nearly bought A45 , but settled with A250 because its more than enough . Getting a A45 in for city driving is pointless. U can barely make use of the power. Unless u tell me u go outstation everyday. I guess u are the type who everything must go for the highest spec . Few years down the road, u will remember my words. Have fun with ur new ride. This post has been edited by kevin23: Jun 7 2020, 09:59 AM |
Jun 7 2020, 10:06 AM
QUOTE(kevin23 @ Jun 7 2020, 09:57 AM) U drive 200km in KLCC area? Yo man, city driving is not just klcc. I mainly use 4 highways: mex, elite/nkve, LDP and Kesas. Some of these highways are considered as city-highways, some stretches have speed traps so top speed can be useless or detrimentalEveryone cares and know about depreciation . The question is how to throw LESS money down the drain. I have already said, like last time i nearly bought A45 , but settled with A250 because its more than enough . Getting a A45 in for city driving is pointless. U can barely make use of the power. Unless u tell me u go outstation everyday. I guess u are the type who everything must go for the highest spec . Few years down the road, u will remember my words. Have fun with ur new ride. But these highways have a lot of road hoggers too, especially LDP. To beat them, you need high torque Im doing sales, i drive to 4 different corners of KV almost everyday, i know the importance of good cars. Office-based boys perhaps will feel differently |
Jun 7 2020, 10:10 AM
285 posts Joined: Oct 2007 |
Both of you also correct.
I think 320i also sufficient, overtake should be effortless too, unless you touge or race often. If budget allowed, of course 330i, no brainer.. |
Jun 7 2020, 10:29 AM
QUOTE(wild_card_my @ Jun 7 2020, 10:06 AM) Yo man, city driving is not just klcc. I mainly use 4 highways: mex, elite/nkve, LDP and Kesas. Some of these highways are considered as city-highways, some stretches have speed traps so top speed can be useless or detrimental Most of those highways u mentioned u barely can hit 200kmh la dude. I do sales as well laBut these highways have a lot of road hoggers too, especially LDP. To beat them, you need high torque Im doing sales, i drive to 4 different corners of KV almost everyday, i know the importance of good cars. Office-based boys perhaps will feel differently Ldp u try do 200kmh n see. Nkve depends on time. Kesas also depends time. Mex will have the highest chance . Who the hell drives at 200kmh everyday la |
Jun 7 2020, 10:36 AM
QUOTE(kevin23 @ Jun 7 2020, 10:29 AM) Most of those highways u mentioned u barely can hit 200kmh la dude. I do sales as well la But that's the point you are missing, the 400Nm torque is required to wiggle through the traffic, not so much for high-speed (thats more on max HP)Ldp u try do 200kmh n see. Nkve depends on time. Kesas also depends time. Mex will have the highest chance . Who the hell drives at 200kmh everyday la With high torque I get good acceleration to wiggle through the moving-but slow traffic. I think I know why you think torque is not too important. It explains all your replies so far |
Jun 7 2020, 10:56 AM
QUOTE(wild_card_my @ Jun 7 2020, 10:36 AM) But that's the point you are missing, the 400Nm torque is required to wiggle through the traffic, not so much for high-speed (thats more on max HP) U talk as though 300Nm cant wiggle thru traffic. U must be those young newbie fella just buying his first turbo car. Everything see paper specs. With high torque I get good acceleration to wiggle through the moving-but slow traffic. I think I know why you think torque is not too important. It explains all your replies so far Got lots to learn dude |
Jun 7 2020, 11:07 AM
QUOTE(kevin23 @ Jun 7 2020, 10:56 AM) U talk as though 300Nm cant wiggle thru traffic. U must be those young newbie fella just buying his first turbo car. Everything see paper specs. Nope ive test driven the 290Nm 320i. It has nothing on the 400Nm 330i. Effortlessly fast for the 330i while the 320i you need to be mindful about itGot lots to learn dude Im glad i get to buy my 330i in my early 30s and enjoy the car to the fullest extent. I don't have to make excuses like 100Nm is not going to make a difference. I can afford the car, I can afford to enjoy the car - I understand that older people dont like high torque or unable to accelerate too quickly due to higher possibly of feeling nauseous. But I don't have such limits, as such if you are able to afford it, go for the 400Nm I implore those who wants to buy the G20 to try both cars and ask your "finance minister" - if you feel the 400Nm is addictive and your budget allows it, take it from me - life is too short to compromise on your ride |
Jun 7 2020, 11:58 AM
2,215 posts Joined: Oct 2010 |
End of the day, its all about yr budget. $50K difference is a lot. Can buy a Myvi 1.5 as a backup car.
I saw some 2019 G20 330is for sale on the premium selection site, goin for $250k to 265k. Good value I think, even without the active safety suites on the recent upgrades with the $5K price increase. This post has been edited by romuluz777: Jun 7 2020, 11:58 AM |
Jun 7 2020, 11:59 AM
QUOTE(wild_card_my @ Jun 7 2020, 12:07 PM) Nope ive test driven the 290Nm 320i. It has nothing on the 400Nm 330i. Effortlessly fast for the 330i while the 320i you need to be mindful about it Bro, the 320i makes 300Nm, not 290😀Im glad i get to buy my 330i in my early 30s and enjoy the car to the fullest extent. I don't have to make excuses like 100Nm is not going to make a difference. I can afford the car, I can afford to enjoy the car - I understand that older people dont like high torque or unable to accelerate too quickly due to higher possibly of feeling nauseous. But I don't have such limits, as such if you are able to afford it, go for the 400Nm I implore those who wants to buy the G20 to try both cars and ask your "finance minister" - if you feel the 400Nm is addictive and your budget allows it, take it from me - life is too short to compromise on your ride |
Jun 7 2020, 01:28 PM
231 posts Joined: May 2006 |
QUOTE(wild_card_my @ Jun 7 2020, 11:07 AM) Nope ive test driven the 290Nm 320i. It has nothing on the 400Nm 330i. Effortlessly fast for the 330i while the 320i you need to be mindful about it Torque is everything...only fast drivers will understand and appreciate one hahahahaIm glad i get to buy my 330i in my early 30s and enjoy the car to the fullest extent. I don't have to make excuses like 100Nm is not going to make a difference. I can afford the car, I can afford to enjoy the car - I understand that older people dont like high torque or unable to accelerate too quickly due to higher possibly of feeling nauseous. But I don't have such limits, as such if you are able to afford it, go for the 400Nm I implore those who wants to buy the G20 to try both cars and ask your "finance minister" - if you feel the 400Nm is addictive and your budget allows it, take it from me - life is too short to compromise on your ride |
Jun 7 2020, 02:52 PM
QUOTE(romuluz777 @ Jun 7 2020, 11:59 AM) Oh sorry, i mistook it for G30 520i's B48 that churns out only 290 NmBtw since we are on this topic, here are the figures for these 2 cars: 1. G30 530i, 1.65T, 350 Nm 2. G20 330i, 1.45T, 400 Nm The G20 330i is 200kg lighter and +50 Nm compared to the G30 530i. The likely 530i driver here (based on his 350 Nm comment) claims that it is "useless for city drive" and that torque is not important, which explains his experience and point of view so far about torque - he doesn't seem to like quick cars I test drove the 530i, hated it because of its less than stellar performance - no "jolt" compared to the 330i, that happens to be lighter and has higher torque This post has been edited by wild_card_my: Jun 7 2020, 03:56 PM |
Jun 7 2020, 02:54 PM
1,334 posts Joined: Jun 2005 From: Kuala Lumpur |
Rule of thumb is not to buy a car that cost more than your per annum salary. If you are, you're probably pushing your financial limits.
This post has been edited by Yapmy: Jun 7 2020, 02:55 PM |
Jun 7 2020, 04:23 PM
Jun 7 2020, 04:35 PM
1,334 posts Joined: Jun 2005 From: Kuala Lumpur |
| Change to: | 0.0252sec
5 queries