> Solenoid Valve for Water Flow Control

TSidoblu
post Feb 18 2020, 05:08 PM, updated 5y ago

stars for sale
11,308 posts

guys, my current water pipe valve has these numbers written on it - DN32 PN16
I googled a bit and found that DN is the norminal diameter and PN is the pressure that it can take or something.

Does DN32 means 32mm? I measure the pipe at the white teflon there and I get around 40mm

I wish to change this valve to a electric solenoid one. How do I go about getting one that can fit in exactly, as in replace my current valve without modifications?
Do I search DN32 or 32mm or something? And then what about the PN number, do I have to worry about this?

Another question is I wish to use 220-240v. Any danger from lari letrik? hmm.gif

My current valve -

Similar solenoid valve I wish to change to-

This post has been edited by idoblu: Feb 18 2020, 05:09 PM
ceo684
post Feb 18 2020, 06:07 PM

Component Burner
11,545 posts

The existing black fittings should have a 32mm or 1 1/4 printed on it.
TSidoblu
post Feb 18 2020, 08:51 PM

stars for sale
11,308 posts

ozak i remember you told me about this local company selling solenoid valves but i forgot where and cant find back the post.
Any comments? icon_question.gif
kswee
post Feb 18 2020, 09:22 PM

520 posts

32mm fittings

TSidoblu
post Feb 18 2020, 09:41 PM

stars for sale
11,308 posts

QUOTE(ceo684 @ Feb 18 2020, 06:07 PM)
The existing black fittings should have a 32mm or 1 1/4 printed on it.
QUOTE(kswee @ Feb 18 2020, 09:22 PM)
32mm fittings

This post has been edited by idoblu: Feb 19 2020, 08:49 AM
ozak
post Feb 18 2020, 10:17 PM

16,545 posts

QUOTE(idoblu @ Feb 18 2020, 08:51 PM)
ozak i remember you told me about this local company selling solenoid valves but i forgot where and cant find back the post.
Any comments?  icon_question.gif
Look for japan or china quality?

For water?
ozak
post Feb 18 2020, 10:28 PM

16,545 posts

This pipe for what?

look for size 1 1/4" for the Solenoid valve

If want use 240V, than use better quality. Possible waterproof.

Shah Alam, SMC pneumatic.
TSidoblu
post Feb 18 2020, 10:29 PM

stars for sale
11,308 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Feb 18 2020, 10:17 PM)
Look for japan or china quality?

For water?
Japan more reliable right? Give both. If can buy locally better
Yes for water supply
TSidoblu
post Feb 18 2020, 10:31 PM

stars for sale
11,308 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Feb 18 2020, 10:28 PM)
This pipe for what?

look for size 1 1/4" for the Solenoid valve

If want use 240V, than use better quality. Possible waterproof.

Shah Alam, SMC pneumatic.
This pipe my water supply.
Aiyoh why using inches? Not metric meh? You see my current manual valve photo
ozak
post Feb 18 2020, 10:32 PM

16,545 posts

QUOTE(idoblu @ Feb 18 2020, 10:29 PM)
Japan more reliable right? Give both. If can buy locally better
Yes for water supply
China wan, Aliexpress lor.

Japan wan above post.

But size 1 1/4 is a bit difficult to get. Not common.
ozak
post Feb 18 2020, 10:33 PM

16,545 posts

QUOTE(idoblu @ Feb 18 2020, 10:31 PM)
This pipe my water supply.
Aiyoh why using inches? Not metric meh? You see my current manual valve photo
MY pipe size is still inches. You can't find metric piping in MY.
TSidoblu
post Feb 18 2020, 10:36 PM

stars for sale
11,308 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Feb 18 2020, 10:33 PM)
MY pipe size is still inches. You can't find metric piping in MY.
Wait tomorrow I take a better picture of my pipe and valves
Does that company SMC sell to individual? After they ask me want to buy how many containers 😅

This post has been edited by idoblu: Feb 18 2020, 10:38 PM
ozak
post Feb 18 2020, 10:38 PM

16,545 posts

QUOTE(idoblu @ Feb 18 2020, 10:36 PM)
Wait tomorrow I take a better picture of my pipe and valves
Does that company SMC sell to individual?
yup, can direct buy from counter.
ozak
post Feb 18 2020, 10:42 PM

16,545 posts

https://www.aliexpress.com/item/40002081256...earchweb201603_
TSidoblu
post Feb 18 2020, 10:42 PM

stars for sale
11,308 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Feb 18 2020, 10:38 PM)
yup, can direct buy from counter.
I look at their website I dun see anything that looks like the solenoid valve i posted above biggrin.gif
ozak
post Feb 18 2020, 10:53 PM

16,545 posts

QUOTE(idoblu @ Feb 18 2020, 10:42 PM)
I look at their website I dun see anything that looks like the solenoid valve i posted above  biggrin.gif
I think you forget the SMC. Probably don't have size 1 1/4.

Bigger is 1".

If have, very expensive. sweat.gif

Just look for china. Earth the body.
TSidoblu
post Feb 19 2020, 07:38 AM

stars for sale
11,308 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Feb 18 2020, 10:53 PM)
I think you forget the SMC. Probably don't have size 1 1/4.

Bigger is 1".

If have, very expensive. sweat.gif

Just look for china. Earth the body.
Usually these solenoids have two wires correct? Just connect to live and neutral and add an additional wire to earth the body? When power is applied to it, it will close the valve? does it heats up? Can I turn it on for a week, two weeks, 1 month?

I should buy the Normally Open type right? That way water flows when the solenoid is not energize

This post has been edited by idoblu: Feb 19 2020, 07:42 AM
ozak
post Feb 19 2020, 08:14 AM

16,545 posts

QUOTE(idoblu @ Feb 19 2020, 07:38 AM)
Usually these solenoids have two wires correct? Just connect to live and neutral and add an additional wire to earth the body? When power is applied to it, it will close the valve? does it heats up? Can I turn it on for a week, two weeks, 1 month?

I should buy the Normally Open type right? That way water flows when the solenoid is not energize
Run on 2 wire mainly. Earth the wire to the body. Use a hose clamp, clamp the wire to the body.

It comes in either Normally closed or open. Normally close is more common. When energized, the valve will open.

If mostly require to open than close, to save power, choose the N.O.

For this size big 1 1/4, it consumes quite some watt. It will get warm but won't heat up. Normal for a coil.

Want turn on/off, schedule etc, use your smart home gadget lor.
TSidoblu
post Feb 19 2020, 08:29 AM

stars for sale
11,308 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Feb 19 2020, 08:14 AM)
Run on 2 wire mainly. Earth the wire to the body. Use a hose clamp, clamp the wire to the body.

It comes in either Normally closed or open. Normally close is more common. When energized, the valve will open.

If mostly require to open than close, to save power, choose the N.O.

For this size big 1 1/4, it consumes quite some watt. It will get warm but won't heat up. Normal for a coil.

Want turn on/off, schedule etc, use your smart home gadget lor.
actually im going to use it to close off water flow once my sensors detects a water leak
the water leak sensors will trigger the smart plug, turn on this solenoid then shut off the water flow.
thats the idea la....so normally this solenoid wont be "working" during normal operations

ozak
post Feb 19 2020, 08:49 AM

16,545 posts

QUOTE(idoblu @ Feb 19 2020, 08:29 AM)
actually im going to use it to close off water flow once my sensors detects a water leak
the water leak sensors will trigger the smart plug, turn on this solenoid then shut off the water flow.
thats the idea la....so normally this solenoid wont be "working" during normal operations
Than just get the N.O.

But once a while need to exercise a bit the valve. Cause stay too long in a position will get hard and stuck. Specially built up rust in water.

For my this water irrigation, I use N.C valve. ON with schedule 2x/day.

0.0146sec    0.25    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th March 2024 - 11:17 PM