soundproof whole car with tiny budget,, who wanna DIY ?

SUSAllnGap
post Feb 18 2020, 03:45 PM, updated 6y ago

[ Modding with Passion(tm) ]
4,561 posts

hi bros,

been planning to soundproof my whole car for quite sometime now, i already spent near to RM 2k on SP but it wasnt enough.
so i plan to bring in couple of rolls of the raw material and tools itself. (going to stick whole car)

I wanted to lower the shipping costs, zero profits on my side.

i think for my car D size all the materials itself gonna costs around RM 700+ with shipping included. can cover whole car with these, roof included

can make this into your weekend project.

This post has been edited by AllnGap: Feb 19 2020, 10:55 AM
jesserider223
post Feb 18 2020, 04:33 PM

173 posts

i often think about this too

to diy my old car, fully including the floor

too scared to start too, scare can open cannot screw back

but im surprised you wanna do to your big car, if i remember correctly your car model, the ori NVH still not enough meh??

so your purpose to diy is due to budget issue?

i would assume you want to learn and customise yourself to best quality possible

i had researched in youtube and it looks feasible, but honestly it will be years before im able to do so

i might start with front doors and hood first tongue.gif

chtan
post Feb 18 2020, 04:36 PM

2,353 posts

Get a cheap this...
SUSAllnGap
post Feb 18 2020, 04:46 PM

4,561 posts

QUOTE(jesserider223 @ Feb 18 2020, 04:33 PM)
i often think about this too

to diy my old car, fully including the floor

too scared to start too, scare can open cannot screw back

but im surprised you wanna do to your big car, if i remember correctly your car model, the ori NVH still not enough meh??
so your purpose to diy is due to budget issue? 

i would assume you want to learn and customise yourself to best quality possible
i had researched in youtube and it looks feasible, but honestly it will be years before im able to do so
i might start with front doors and hood first   tongue.gif
my road noise vibration is bad. already SP on wheel arch and front legroom area but still the whole car vibrates (tyres are thin profile type)
my car famous for having loud road noise (firewall ok as engine noise is acceptable). so i plan to whack the whole thing in stages. boot area, then door then passenger area. gonna stick some on the roof as well.

need to prepare some plastic push in clips in case they break, btw if put enough foam behind the panels shouldnt be any buzzing sound at all.
order plastic clips remover

i did many research on it d. just the material that is going to do its job well is heavy.
basically stack 3layers of material on top of each other.

thing is i order for 4cars my shipping cost the same as ordering 1car. so find ppl to share.
if do complete whole car at least need to spend 7k above.

follow his guide

This post has been edited by AllnGap: Feb 18 2020, 04:46 PM
speedy3210
post Feb 18 2020, 09:50 PM

520 posts

Everything in da list gonna be imported?

Of the 4 materials, only MLV got to import I think.

CCF can be easily substituted by locally manufactured Superlon or Insulflex

CLD can get Sikamat if cost is of concern

Thinsulate I think got some sellers even in marketplace here
JZenith
post Feb 19 2020, 10:20 AM

Look at my stars. owai
704 posts

SP-ed my car diy last year and wanted to share my experience.
my main issue was roadnoise (not wind noise) and SP my car.
found out the most effective area to SP is wheelarches, the plastic cover (if your care have) and the side undercarriage of the wheel.
i put alot of layers as long as it doesnt affect the reinstallation of plastic covers / trims. plastic wheelarch area i placed 3 layer of wool-looked sheets and 3 layer of CCF , inside it was a big hollow section.

another area is front floor, but the process is very troublesome as need to remove the carpet and seats. i spent almost 6 hours to finish the job.

firewall/under dashboard area should be the critical part for SP but im unable to access.

after DIY SP and used almost RM1k, noise is reduced around 40% but roadnoise @ 60km and above still kinda loud (or my sensetive ears) and noticed few interior rattling / ticking sound.

anyway can pm me the price of the soundproof material?
SUSAllnGap
post Feb 19 2020, 10:39 AM

4,561 posts

QUOTE(JZenith @ Feb 19 2020, 10:20 AM)
SP-ed my car diy last year and wanted to share my experience.
my main issue was roadnoise (not wind noise) and SP my car.
found out the most effective area to SP is wheelarches, the plastic cover (if your care have) and the side undercarriage of the wheel.
i put alot of layers as long as it doesnt affect the reinstallation of plastic covers / trims. plastic wheelarch area i placed 3 layer of wool-looked sheets and 3 layer of CCF , inside it was a big hollow section.

another area is front floor, but the process is very troublesome as need to remove the carpet and seats. i spent almost 6 hours to finish the job.
firewall/under dashboard area should be the critical part for SP but im unable to access.

after DIY SP and used almost RM1k, noise is reduced around 40% but roadnoise @ 60km and above still kinda loud (or my sensetive ears) and noticed few interior rattling / ticking sound.

anyway can pm me the price of the soundproof material?
CCF + wool sheets cant do much.

car body dont have CLD butyl rubber to make them less rattle like tin kosong and thick carpet the whole car will sound like tin kosong.

PM me what you need ah
SUSAllnGap
post Feb 19 2020, 10:44 AM

4,561 posts

QUOTE(speedy3210 @ Feb 18 2020, 09:50 PM)
Everything in da list gonna be imported?

Of the 4 materials, only MLV got to import I think.

CCF can be easily substituted by locally manufactured Superlon or Insulflex

CLD can get Sikamat if cost is of concern

Thinsulate I think got some sellers even in marketplace here
ya everything imported, but shipping cost for 4cars will be the same as 1car.
so i dont want to pay extra 300 for shipping costs.
abubin
post Feb 19 2020, 04:29 PM

10,429 posts

Can I have the pictures of all the SP materials? I don't know what is CCF or CLD or MLV. Only recognize them visually.

And also to add on my research, wheelarch is the one the make the most difference. So I also bought sound proofing spray materials for underside of the wheelarch.

Can count me in for this project but I would like to select the materials that I want cause I already bought some.
SUSAllnGap
post Feb 20 2020, 04:51 PM

4,561 posts

QUOTE(abubin @ Feb 19 2020, 04:29 PM)
Can I have the pictures of all the SP materials? I don't know what is CCF or CLD or MLV. Only recognize them visually.

And also to add on my research, wheelarch is the one the make the most difference. So I also bought sound proofing spray materials for underside of the wheelarch.

Can count me in for this project but I would like to select the materials that I want cause I already bought some.
CCF = normal black foam like aircons pipe. Used to separate CLD and MLV

CLD = sticky butyl rubber stick on metal sheet like to dampen noise ( no more tin Milo kosong sound )

MLV = local here hardly use this as it's heavy. But best result comes from it as this is used for ktv rooms SP. 1 square meter weighs 4kg

Thinsulate, my door and wheel arch already have it so don't plan to order much. Don't really block noise.
Plan to use this to insulate my roof

This post has been edited by AllnGap: Feb 20 2020, 04:52 PM
ozzysukh77 P
post Mar 24 2022, 03:59 PM

Probation

Has anyone carried out their SP project?
abubin
post Mar 25 2022, 03:20 PM

10,429 posts

I have done one wheel arch and door panels. Still pending floor which is a lot of work as has to remove car seats and carpets.

You can see my signature for link to my youtube channel. I posted the SP log there.
ktek
post Mar 25 2022, 07:02 PM

小喇叭
13,220 posts

QUOTE(ozzysukh77 @ Mar 24 2022, 03:59 PM)
Has anyone carried out their SP project?
i stick strong tape to cover up enjin bonnet every small holes.
now less enjin echo noise & sound better when vvti open

lowest cost quick diy max satisfaction
alexei
post Mar 28 2022, 09:51 AM

Biker Mice from Mars
1,879 posts

the one that matters most, is firewall and floor, which is also the most difficult

then, door panels and confined spaces that works like echo chambers needs to be filled with lightweight materials. vibrating panels need sound deadener with good heat releasing property.

MLV to block sound transmission from outside (sound deadener helps a little bit, but far from MLV).

In between, need isolation layers.

Last thing, is glass. If the car doesn't come with acoustic glass, then out of luck.

Prepare to add a lot of weight to our tin milo cars.
abubin
post Mar 28 2022, 10:23 AM

10,429 posts

QUOTE(alexei @ Mar 28 2022, 09:51 AM)

Prepare to add a lot of weight to our tin milo cars.
Ah..yes the weight issue. Adding so much SP material does add weight.
SUSDezs
post Mar 28 2022, 09:16 PM

623 posts

Why soundproof firewall when you can stop sound from the source LEL
alexei
post Mar 29 2022, 07:43 AM

Biker Mice from Mars
1,879 posts

QUOTE(Dezs @ Mar 28 2022, 09:16 PM)
Did you watch it first?
SUSDezs
post Mar 29 2022, 02:57 PM

623 posts

QUOTE(alexei @ Mar 29 2022, 07:43 AM)
Did you watch it first?
oo YASS
Vervain
post Apr 3 2022, 09:42 PM

Scathach
5,464 posts

QUOTE(Dezs @ Mar 28 2022, 09:16 PM)

the vibration travels from the engine mounting to the cabin via the chassis . so sound deadning the firewall has an effect in reducing the NVH.
SUSDezs
post Apr 3 2022, 09:55 PM

623 posts

QUOTE(Vervain @ Apr 3 2022, 09:42 PM)
the vibration travels from the engine mounting to the cabin via the chassis . so sound deadning the firewall has an effect in reducing the NVH.
I didn't expect you to actually try to explain that lmao.. dude that video is troll level 9000 la. Tho for my tin milo the engine isnt really annoying, its pretty quiet in normal drive, and at revv, its expected to be loud, but its smooth, so ayam mostly ok with that - stuffing the dash did more than enough to just attenuate it just right - the hardest work was on the inner side of the wheel wells, cause its taken up by wiring and electronics, really cant properly get deadening mats in there. Still ok lah, cause the outer side ayam stuffed the space, but that side is exposed to water, so needed to leave water evacuation route.

Now the only thing left is the low frequencies, which are really hard to get rid of, and ayam dun wanna spend any more mass. +35/40kg felt like borderline of what im willing to trade for deadweight.

This post has been edited by Dezs: Apr 3 2022, 10:00 PM
Vervain
post Apr 4 2022, 10:22 AM

Scathach
5,464 posts

QUOTE(Dezs @ Apr 3 2022, 09:55 PM)
I didn't expect you to actually try to explain that lmao.. dude that video is troll level 9000 la. Tho for my tin milo the engine isnt really annoying, its pretty quiet in normal drive, and at revv, its expected to be loud, but its smooth, so ayam mostly ok with that - stuffing the dash did more than enough to just attenuate it just right - the hardest work was on the inner side of the wheel wells, cause its taken up by wiring and electronics, really cant properly get deadening mats in there. Still ok lah, cause the outer side ayam stuffed the space, but that side is exposed to water, so needed to leave water evacuation route.

Now the only thing left is the low frequencies, which are really hard to get rid of, and ayam dun wanna spend any more mass. +35/40kg felt like borderline of what im willing to trade for deadweight.
was playing along biggrin.gif . anyways active noise canceling is not so popular in this region. I guess there's a lot of complexity
SpiderMon68
post Apr 4 2022, 01:37 PM

85 posts

I was at Fasmoto and they were selling serious pro SP products, heavy like sheit. I dont know why anyone would wanna install those, sure will increase fuel consumption esp on low cc car
alexei
post Apr 4 2022, 02:46 PM

Biker Mice from Mars
1,879 posts

some ppl enjoy music while getting stuck in jam
or feel like sitting in conti car instead of tin milo
or just dowan hear those loud ekzos pipe from passing by mat rempit
Zhik
post Jul 17 2023, 09:39 AM

eeerrrmmmnnn, stupidity has no limit?
1,228 posts

QUOTE(AllnGap @ Feb 18 2020, 03:45 PM)
hi bros,

been planning to soundproof my whole car for quite sometime now, i already spent near to RM 2k on SP but it wasnt enough.
so i plan to bring in couple of rolls of the raw material and tools itself. (going to stick whole car)

I wanted to lower the shipping costs, zero profits on my side.
i think for my car D size all the materials itself gonna costs around RM 700+ with shipping included. can cover whole car with these, roof included

can make this into your weekend project.
hey, what kind of soundproof you have done so far?
how many layers you have done ?
does the materials fall off and block the window rolling down??
does the sp causing smelly smell at the in car/tyre wheel that area?

did u cover the interior door wire that are prone to cause rattling sound with double sided tape/flannel tape/ door sealing strip(cover from back to back)?
did u use the flannel tape to cover the bumper clips holes as this providing a layer of soundproof to the clips hitting the door panel when vibrating?

i am looking at this one recently.

lazada 4 layers sound proof solution package

this solution pack provide 4 layers soundproof package.
those combination is there to reduce the noise from high, mid and low frequency noise.
anyone try before?

my hand so itchy that wanna buy and diy it now. for the door at current moment....

This post has been edited by Zhik: Jul 17 2023, 09:47 AM
ktek
post Jul 17 2023, 11:31 AM

小喇叭
13,220 posts

QUOTE(Zhik @ Jul 17 2023, 09:39 AM)
hey, what kind of soundproof you have done so far?
how many layers you have done ?
does the materials fall off and block the window rolling down??
does the sp causing smelly smell at the in car/tyre wheel that area?

did u cover the interior door wire that are prone to cause rattling sound with double sided tape/flannel tape/  door sealing strip(cover from back to back)?
did u use the flannel tape to cover the bumper clips holes as this providing a layer of soundproof to the clips hitting the door panel when vibrating?

i am looking at this one recently.

lazada 4 layers sound proof solution package

this solution pack provide 4 layers soundproof package.
those combination is there to reduce the noise from high, mid and low frequency noise.
anyone try before?
my hand so itchy that wanna buy and diy it now. for the door at current moment....

from my research (not yet buy)

sticky type gam to metal skin is effective blocking outside noise.
rubber type also can use on certain place.
sponge type is very weak. reduce interior noise not outside punya

0.0250sec    1.01    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 06:13 PM