18 yrs old Kelisa : Engine Overhaul

TSbmiph
post Feb 17 2020, 10:56 PM, updated 5y ago

Appreciate any recommendation for a good mechanic to do engine overhaul on a 18 yrs old Kelisa in Penang. Thanks.

This post has been edited by bmiph: Feb 17 2020, 10:57 PM
tkw60
post Feb 17 2020, 11:02 PM

74 posts

bring back perodua servis center
thefryingfox
post Feb 17 2020, 11:15 PM

Lonely Maharajah
5,165 posts

Wow....impressive.

I'd go for a engine upgrade ....put some new life in the old lady
tkw60
post Feb 17 2020, 11:43 PM

74 posts

QUOTE(bmiph @ Feb 17 2020, 11:56 PM)
Appreciate any recommendation for a good mechanic to do engine overhaul on a 18 yrs old Kelisa in Penang. Thanks.
half cut k3-ve 1300cc
should give u a boost ride
ayam_kampung
post Feb 17 2020, 11:45 PM

88 posts

Penang

if selangor ayam can recommend few shop for you TBH
Captain89
post Feb 17 2020, 11:51 PM

Simple person
3,056 posts

Perodua service centre
cempedaklife
post Feb 18 2020, 07:40 AM

Master Decoy
4,017 posts

Just wondering, any issue with the engine now?
littlefire
post Feb 18 2020, 08:31 AM

2,147 posts

Perodua Kelisa engine is very common and should be easily overhaul by any mechanic road side. If the engine condition is really bad like engine overheated before and oil leaking everywhere, just buy an engine kosong from half-cut shop and transplant even better. Perodua kelisa engine is the same as daihatsu engine and plenty around.
zeng
post Feb 18 2020, 10:58 AM

1,760 posts

QUOTE(tkw60 @ Feb 17 2020, 11:43 PM)
half cut k3-ve 1300cc
should give u a boost ride
Just curious what is the KL price for such a half cut for info ?
surya
post Feb 18 2020, 11:01 AM

53 posts

P44 Autoworks at Permatang Pauh
SleeplessEyes
post Feb 18 2020, 11:05 AM

I'm me bro, let me be me
2,390 posts

QUOTE(tkw60 @ Feb 17 2020, 11:02 PM)
bring back perodua servis center
I bet if he gets the quotation of a new engine from Perodua, it would had cost like.. 1/2 the resale value of the car.
If it were me, I would either just do a top overhaul of the engine, depending on the condition.

Or convert to EJ-VE, Viva with VVTI engine since its the same EJ series engine.

abubin
post Feb 18 2020, 11:38 AM

10,423 posts

If TS is not into car then a simple overhaul will suffice. Changing engine is a risk as you don't know if that new used engine have any issue. You need to go apply in JPJ too after changing engine. Most people just didn't bother with JPJ until they want to sell the car or get caught.

Anyway, full service should cost only like less than 1k?

This post has been edited by abubin: Feb 18 2020, 11:40 AM
digilife
post Feb 18 2020, 01:03 PM

The MNP guy, its me yeah.
8,024 posts

Why dun you state the condition of the engine currently, that way you get better advice from experts here. Be it transplant or rebuilt.
SKY233
post Feb 18 2020, 01:24 PM

u x sukak u keluar
873 posts

penang which area bro?

TSbmiph
post Feb 18 2020, 02:05 PM

I live in BM but no exact preference on engine overhaul location. Pg Island or mainland also can. The Kelisa was my wife's car, now planning to pass it on to my son as his first car. So engine upgrade is definitely no. There are some leaks but no major issue, a bit makan minyak hitam. I think the mileage is nearing 200k km already. So it's about time to renew the engine. I didn't know P2 Service center can do engine overhaul. I will ask P2 in Autocity. Thanks for all input.
TSbmiph
post Feb 18 2020, 02:08 PM

I prefer rebuild as we bought the car new. Engine transplant, then we have no engine history...... The engine never overheat before, but after so many years, I am sure there some carbon build up and wear and tear. I wanted to rebuild but need to look for good mechanic.
abubin
post Feb 18 2020, 02:20 PM

10,423 posts

QUOTE(bmiph @ Feb 18 2020, 02:08 PM)
I prefer rebuild as we bought the car new.  Engine transplant, then we have no engine history......  The engine never overheat before, but after so many years, I am sure there some carbon build up and wear and tear.  I wanted to rebuild but need to look for good mechanic.
Yup, good decision. However, I don't recommend doing it in SC as the price will be 1.5x to 2x more expensive. Look for some sifu outside who have experience doing engine overhaul. Cheaper and better workmanship.
SKY233
post Feb 18 2020, 02:22 PM

u x sukak u keluar
873 posts

QUOTE(bmiph @ Feb 18 2020, 02:05 PM)
I live in BM but no exact preference on engine overhaul location.  Pg Island or mainland also can. The Kelisa was my wife's car, now planning to pass it on to my son as his first car. So engine upgrade is definitely no.  There are some leaks but no major issue, a bit makan minyak hitam. I think the mileage is nearing 200k km already. So it's about time to renew the engine.  I didn't know P2 Service center can do engine overhaul. I will ask P2 in Autocity. Thanks for all input.
https://www.facebook.com/pomen2u.my/

digilife
post Feb 18 2020, 04:07 PM

The MNP guy, its me yeah.
8,024 posts

QUOTE(bmiph @ Feb 18 2020, 02:08 PM)
I prefer rebuild as we bought the car new.  Engine transplant, then we have no engine history......  The engine never overheat before, but after so many years, I am sure there some carbon build up and wear and tear.  I wanted to rebuild but need to look for good mechanic.
I think you just need a top overhaul & change the necessary gaskets & seals, also look into those engine mountings. Just look for a trusted mechanic, ask around for some old school mechanic as they tends to be more reliable and this model of the car does not have so much electronics and most foreman should be able to do it, unlike modern cars which have so much sensors.
Balanced
post Feb 18 2020, 06:11 PM

688 posts

QUOTE(bmiph @ Feb 17 2020, 10:56 PM)
If you can wait 1-2 weeks, then can try drg motorsport at gelugor. He everyday also overhauls car from normal to modified cars. I did overhauling for my modified car there so far so good.

Pros: he always does overhauling, so should have a lot of experiences.
Cons: he takes his time due to a lot of work. Your car will be dirty due to his workshop under a big tree.

But he is at island, i think you can find nearer mechanic for your stock car.

0.0163sec    0.37    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th March 2024 - 10:44 PM