Why reverse when RFID not detected?

four_add
post Feb 17 2020, 04:33 PM

Senior Lurker
842 posts

QUOTE(overmars @ Feb 17 2020, 04:29 PM)
Actually i kinda found a trick to make the scanner easier to detect my RFID. So far it works for me 10/10 once i've started using this trick.

It is to go as near as possible to the right side when driving in to toll.

It seems to me that if you drive too much to the centre or to the left, the scanner somehow cannot detect our RFID, maybe cos of too little gap from the scanner or something. So far it works for me 10/10, without fail. The RFID sticker is on my car's left headlight.
just now kena gostan at RFID lane Duke Toll. will try this method next time.
bumpo
post Feb 17 2020, 04:35 PM

632 posts

QUOTE(mafioso @ Feb 17 2020, 04:13 PM)
i hate those takde top up tng card but got to the most right lane of smart tag

end up have to reverse then go horizontally to the other edge of the toll to top up

kacau all 10-12 booth lanes..
this to me tells a story of how toll booth system setup is not ready for full automation

forgot card, card in different pants, didnt realize credit tak cukup, etc ,etc
they should instead make it like those SG gantries where u kena auto charge as you drive by. no stop and pay bs
maxxxxx0123
post Feb 17 2020, 04:37 PM

92 posts

QUOTE(mafioso @ Feb 17 2020, 04:13 PM)
i hate those takde top up tng card but got to the most right lane of smart tag

end up have to reverse then go horizontally to the other edge of the toll to top up

kacau all 10-12 booth lanes..
coz malaysian if they dont drive at most right lane, they will die

btw, at rfid the tng can work? from what i know, at smart tag one, the tng always cant use eh
PJng
post Feb 17 2020, 04:37 PM

12,049 posts

It talk to car
Say reverse
Not like smart tag
Talk to car say tap card
overmars
post Feb 17 2020, 04:40 PM

216 posts

QUOTE(jurkflash @ Feb 17 2020, 04:32 PM)
can we just conclude RFID is a half bake system? and forces ppl to implement it by saying no more FOC implement.
No doubt, it's a half bake system. Same can be said for Smart Tag that has been implemented for so long.

But what choice do we have? We as users is either adopt or abandon the system.

I have seen aunties and uncles that stick tng card to a flyswatter and stick it out effortlessly from their window like a boss. Kudos to them! They refuse to adopt the system and came up with a simple yet ingenious solution. Kudos!
faridr
post Feb 17 2020, 04:42 PM

214 posts

I more impress with those rfid showing baki kurang
but keep on reversing and keep on trying

overmars
post Feb 17 2020, 04:42 PM

216 posts

QUOTE(four_add @ Feb 17 2020, 04:33 PM)
just now kena gostan at RFID lane Duke Toll. will try this method next time.
yup try it. I used to kena gostan a few times too, until i found this trick. But of course, pandai-pandai dont too near until scratch the side rail lah.

This post has been edited by overmars: Feb 17 2020, 04:42 PM
mafioso
post Feb 17 2020, 04:46 PM

6,155 posts

QUOTE(maxxxxx0123 @ Feb 17 2020, 04:37 PM)
coz malaysian if they dont drive at most right lane, they will die

btw, at rfid the tng can work? from what i know, at smart tag one, the tng always cant use eh
depends on the toll

some will be enabled during peak hours in case of emergency if your tag does not work

some will need to press call then an attendant will enable it manually for 1 time..
abhipraaya
post Feb 17 2020, 06:25 PM

565 posts

QUOTE(jurkflash @ Feb 17 2020, 04:32 PM)
can we just conclude RFID is a half bake system? and forces ppl to implement it by saying no more FOC implement.
Definitely half baked.
Happened a few times to me. I've seen it happening many times too on other cars. Not sure what kind of tech is this. Better just use smart tag or normal touch n go. Besides, for RFID to work you really have to slow down too much, almost to a stop.
TrollNoob
post Feb 18 2020, 10:57 AM

627 posts

Every week kena at LDP and NPE.

Always use paydirect when involves LDP and NPE.

Those two highways machines all bodo one.
pgsiemkia
post Feb 18 2020, 11:06 AM

473 posts

QUOTE(MPPJ @ Feb 17 2020, 04:10 PM)
Kan ada TNG scanner too on RFID lane. Use it la instead of asking all cars at back to gostan.
Bukan semua RFID lane ada, boy!

I use sunway toll, LDP (to cyber, USJ and return), Mex, semua tarak. If rfid not detected during rush hour, kena cursed and shown finger when ask to reverse.

kirakosmos
post Feb 18 2020, 11:08 AM

506 posts

I sense this one backfire TS... anyway yes the scanner doesn't work. have to gostan. if LDP tolls headed to Cyber/Putrajaya, I don't use the RFID lane at all
pgsiemkia
post Feb 18 2020, 11:11 AM

473 posts

QUOTE(pgsiemkia @ Feb 18 2020, 11:06 AM)
Bukan semua RFID lane ada, boy!

I use sunway toll, LDP (to cyber, USJ and return), Mex, semua tarak. If rfid not detected during rush hour, kena cursed and shown finger when ask to reverse.
QUOTE(overmars @ Feb 17 2020, 04:29 PM)
Actually i kinda found a trick to make the scanner easier to detect my RFID. So far it works for me 10/10 once i've started using this trick.

It is to go as near as possible to the right side when driving in to toll.

It seems to me that if you drive too much to the centre or to the left, the scanner somehow cannot detect our RFID, maybe cos of too little gap from the scanner or something. So far it works for me 10/10, without fail. The RFID sticker is on my car's left headlight.
Got logic there since it was installed on my left headlight. If car is too wide, will not pick up but if confirmed pick up, it will say 'Welcome' then dead. After reverse to the right, detected and gantry opens. Kena 2 times already...now logi sets in.

Chee bye installer shd install on right headlight or center windscreen...

I installed on my CRZ, HRV and Navara, so have different reactions..

WaCKy-Angel
post Feb 18 2020, 11:13 AM

PeACe~~
21,963 posts

QUOTE(MPPJ @ Feb 17 2020, 04:10 PM)
Kan ada TNG scanner too on RFID lane. Use it la instead of asking all cars at back to gostan.
Most RFID/TAG lane TNG scanner is offline to avoid stupid TNG culprit go in that lane.
KHunterz
post Feb 18 2020, 11:15 AM

31 posts

QUOTE(gestapo @ Feb 17 2020, 04:19 PM)
Why RFID not detected is the real prob
i lauded this. +1

this is the main root cause. RFID so lousy, i dont understand why our neighbouring country able to do it without breaking sweat.

0.0186sec    0.59    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 04:39 AM