53 Pages « < 22 23 24 25 26 > » Bottom

đŸłď¸â€đŸŒˆ LGBTQ Community, Discussion regarding LGBTQ

TSinternaldisputes
post Jul 24 2020, 03:09 PM

he/his/him
1,723 posts

A 22-year-old became his city’s first openly gay mayor. Now, he’s running for Congress
Source: https://www.pinknews.co.uk/2020/07/23/alex-...mocrat-primary/

Alex Morse became his city’s first openly gay mayor when he was elected almost a decade ago at the age of 22. Now, he’s running for Congress.

Morse was elected mayor of Holyoke, Massachusetts after beating an incumbent who was more than three times his age.

Now 31, Morse is facing off against US representative Richard Neal to represent the 1st Congressional District of Massachusetts in Congress.

The gay candidate advocates for Medicare for All, the legalisation of marijuana and wants to see student debts cancelled.

Crucially, he also wants to see the Immigration and Customs Enforcement Agency (ICE) defunded.

Gay Democrat Alex Morse said coronavirus has ‘illuminated existing disparities and inequalities’ in American society.

“The pandemic and how it’s manifesting and impacting our communities in many ways just crystallises why I’m running for Congress in the first place and who our federal government should be looking out for and working for,” Morse told the Jewish Telegraphic Agency.

“I think it’s illuminated already existing disparities and inequalities in our communities that need to be addressed.”

Morse has been interested in politics since he served as the student representative on his district’s school board.

While still in school in Holyoke, he came out as gay – and went on to found his school’s gay-straight alliance, organise a school assembly on LGBT+ issues and worked with politicians on sex education policy.

“I was learning at a young age the power of building coalitions, and of working with other young people to amplify our voice together and the impact it makes to have people working together,” he said.

He has an ‘uphill battle’ to win the primary – but he is prepared for any outcome.

“My coming-out process and finding my voice directly tied to my interest in politics and government and advocacy.

“Without those high school experiences, I wouldn’t be as passionate or involved in the work I’m doing today.”

Political analysts claim that Morse has an “uphill battle” to beat his Democrat rival in September’s primary – but he is prepared for any outcome.

He spends his spare time baking, playing tennis, doing yoga, and watching Schitt’s Creek and Queer Eye.

“If this Congress thing doesn’t work out, maybe I’ll just bake more,” he joked.
TSinternaldisputes
post Jul 27 2020, 09:39 AM

he/his/him
1,723 posts

Countries that persecute queer men are driving up HIV rates, study finds
Source: https://www.pinknews.co.uk/2020/07/26/afric...sex-bans-study/

Queer men are more likely to be living with HIV in African countries that criminalise gay sex than those that do not, researchers have said.

Johns Hopkins University researchers found that men who have sex with men (MSM) in sub-Saharan African nations where gay sex with is severely criminalised are at up to five times higher risk of having HIV, aidsmap reported. In countries where some legal barriers or persecutions exist, they are twice as likely.

Legal and social change for LGBT+ people in the continent has, for the most part, been spotty and slow. Some African nations have spearheaded pro-LGBT+ bills or decriminalised gay sex altogether. Others remain sluggish, choosing to uphold anti-gay laws or moving to persecute queer folk even further.

A leading HIV activist told PinkNews that some lawmakers are exploiting efforts to reduce transmission rates in order to pass anti-LGBT+ laws – and that this study disproves these thinly-veiled tactics.

The study, conducted from 2011 to 2018, saw researchers collect data on MSM living in ten sub-Saharan countries, dividing them into three categories of criminalisation.

Burkina Faso, Côte d’Ivoire, Guinea-Bissau and Rwanda – which do not criminalise gay sex – found that eight per cent of men who were surveyed live with HIV.

Around two in ten men living in Cameroon, Senegal, Togo and eSwatini, where penal codes carry less than eight years in jail, live with HIV.

Investigators considered Gambia and Nigeria as “severe criminalisation”, enforcing life imprisonment and capital punishment respectively. In both countries, participants were 4.65 times more likely to have HIV.

“Decriminalisation of consensual same-sex sexual practices is necessary to optimise HIV prevention efforts and ultimately address the HIV epidemic,” senior researcher Carrie Lyons concluded.

Matthew Hodson, executive director of British charity NAM aidsmap, stressed to PinkNews the extent that anti-LGBT+ laws snarl the efforts of HIV advocates and healthcare leaders seeking to extinguish acquisition rates.

“Preventing the transmission of HIV and other STIs is sometimes used to as cover to introduce or retain homophobic laws,” Hodson said.

“This report quantifies the increased risk of HIV acquisition in countries that criminalise homosexuality and demonstrates the relationship between severe penalties for same-sex sexual behaviour and higher prevalence of HIV.

“Homophobia creates barriers to appropriate sexual health information and advice, it prevents people from testing and from accessing HIV treatment, which not only saves lives but also halts onwards transmission.

“We will not end HIV without ensuring the rights and dignity of LGBT people are respected.”

Added on
More persecution of gay people lead to higher rates of HIV transmission. It's a vicious cycle. sad.gif
TSinternaldisputes
post Jul 27 2020, 09:47 AM

he/his/him
1,723 posts

A florist ‘refused’ to make bouquets for a gay wedding. So the town decided to end discrimination once and for all
Source: https://www.pinknews.co.uk/2020/07/26/alask...st-gay-wedding/

A small Alaskan city has unanimously voted for a new law protecting LGBT+ people from discrimination after a local florist allegedly refused to make the wedding bouquets for a gay couple.

Ketchikan, population 8,289, is a seaside city on Alaska’s southeastern coast popular with passing cruise ships.

It’s known for its wildlife – which includes bears, wolves and eagles – and, as of July 16, for being the fourth Alaskan city to pass sweeping non-discrimination law for its LGBT+ residents.

The local law – which was passed unanimously, with all seven of the city council’s members in favour – came about after a florist, Heavenly Creations, allegedly refused to take an order for a same-sex wedding.

After a high-profile demonstration outside Heavenly Creations, the city-wide ordinance was proposed.

It follows in the wake of the US Supreme Court’s historic ruling that made it illegal to fire workers for being gay or transgender – and goes several steps further, by also banning discrimination against LGBT+ people in housing or public businesses.

Heather Dalin, the owner of Heavenly Creations, denies discriminating against a same-sex couple.

“I have personally made and delivered bouquets to the members of LBGTQ community on numerous occasions,” she said at a July 2 council meeting. “We have not, and do not discriminate.”

But she went on to clarify that forcing her to make bouquets for LGBT+ weddings would violate her own right to exercise her religious beliefs.

“When it comes to the holy sacrament of marriage, God’s word is clear,” she said, K Too reported.

“Marriage is one of the seven sacraments where the Lord Jesus Christ is present. For you to pass an unnecessary ordinance to try and force myself to participate in a ceremony that violates not only God’s holy truth, but also strips me of my rights as an American tax-paying, law-abiding citizen is unreasonable.”

After hearing her objections, the Ketchikan city council passed the new non-discrimination laws anyway.

Museum curator Ryan McHale also testified at the meeting, arguing that religion has long been used to justify discrimination.

“Much like their pro-slavery predecessors, segregationists during the Jim Crow era cited scripture as justification for maintaining racial segregation and inequality,” McHale said.

“There is little that distinguishes the religious freedom claim of today from those of the segregationists who argued that they should not be forced to hire, serve or associate with African Americans or Native Americans.”

The new law will come into effect in mid-August, when Ketchikan will join the Alaskan cities of Sitka, Juneau and Anchorage in having laws to protect its LGBT+ residents.

Added on
God, I hope the florist is going to be okay getting her business flooded with orders from LGBT people after this. sad.gif tongue.gif
Havoc Knightmare
post Jul 27 2020, 10:19 AM

Invictus
1,205 posts

QUOTE(internaldisputes @ Jul 27 2020, 09:47 AM)
A florist ‘refused’ to make bouquets for a gay wedding. So the town decided to end discrimination once and for all
Source: https://www.pinknews.co.uk/2020/07/26/alask...st-gay-wedding/

A small Alaskan city has unanimously voted for a new law protecting LGBT+ people from discrimination after a local florist allegedly refused to make the wedding bouquets for a gay couple.

Ketchikan, population 8,289, is a seaside city on Alaska’s southeastern coast popular with passing cruise ships.

It’s known for its wildlife – which includes bears, wolves and eagles – and, as of July 16, for being the fourth Alaskan city to pass sweeping non-discrimination law for its LGBT+ residents.

The local law – which was passed unanimously, with all seven of the city council’s members in favour – came about after a florist, Heavenly Creations, allegedly refused to take an order for a same-sex wedding.

After a high-profile demonstration outside Heavenly Creations, the city-wide ordinance was proposed.

It follows in the wake of the US Supreme Court’s historic ruling that made it illegal to fire workers for being gay or transgender – and goes several steps further, by also banning discrimination against LGBT+ people in housing or public businesses.

Heather Dalin, the owner of Heavenly Creations, denies discriminating against a same-sex couple.

“I have personally made and delivered bouquets to the members of LBGTQ community on numerous occasions,” she said at a July 2 council meeting. “We have not, and do not discriminate.”

But she went on to clarify that forcing her to make bouquets for LGBT+ weddings would violate her own right to exercise her religious beliefs.

“When it comes to the holy sacrament of marriage, God’s word is clear,” she said, K Too reported.

“Marriage is one of the seven sacraments where the Lord Jesus Christ is present. For you to pass an unnecessary ordinance to try and force myself to participate in a ceremony that violates not only God’s holy truth, but also strips me of my rights as an American tax-paying, law-abiding citizen is unreasonable.”

After hearing her objections, the Ketchikan city council passed the new non-discrimination laws anyway.

Museum curator Ryan McHale also testified at the meeting, arguing that religion has long been used to justify discrimination.

“Much like their pro-slavery predecessors, segregationists during the Jim Crow era cited scripture as justification for maintaining racial segregation and inequality,” McHale said.

“There is little that distinguishes the religious freedom claim of today from those of the segregationists who argued that they should not be forced to hire, serve or associate with African Americans or Native Americans.”

The new law will come into effect in mid-August, when Ketchikan will join the Alaskan cities of Sitka, Juneau and Anchorage in having laws to protect its LGBT+ residents.

Added on
God, I hope the florist is going to be okay getting her business flooded with orders from LGBT people after this.  sad.gif  tongue.gif
Honestly, I'm conflicted over this sort of law because it is politically charged. I believe that businesses should have the right to choose their customers every much as customers have the right to choose which business to spend their money on. In this case, the business is rejecting LGBT business, but would there be a similar outcry if the business rejects Neo-Nazis instead? I surely wouldn't want to force a business which rejects me for who I am, to serve me. I much rather give business to someone who actually respects me for who I am. Maybe that's because we live in cities where we have a lot of choices of businesses to patronise, though.
TSinternaldisputes
post Jul 27 2020, 02:24 PM

he/his/him
1,723 posts

QUOTE(Havoc Knightmare @ Jul 27 2020, 10:19 AM)
Honestly, I'm conflicted over this sort of law because it is politically charged. I believe that businesses should have the right to choose their customers every much as customers have the right to choose which business to spend their money on. In this case, the business is rejecting LGBT business, but would there be a similar outcry if the business rejects Neo-Nazis instead? I surely wouldn't want to force a business which rejects me for who I am, to serve me. I much rather give business to someone who actually respects me for who I am. Maybe that's because we live in cities where we have a lot of choices of businesses to patronise, though.
I get what you're saying. When I shared a news article about how Scottish kids will soon be able to learn about LGBTQ from school, a friend of mine told me the same argument too—if the role is reversed and the kids are forced to learn something homophobic, we will all be protesting instead of cheering. But I feel we as a society really should take a stand... Karl Popper's Paradox of Tolerance states that in order for society to be truly tolerant, we must first be intolerant towards intolerance. If a Neo-Nazi walks into the florist shop and get discriminated, then sure... Let's extend the law to including prohibiting people from discriminating against Neo-Nazi members too.
TSinternaldisputes
post Jul 28 2020, 09:29 AM

he/his/him
1,723 posts

More Than Half of Americans Still Believe Dangerous Myths About HIV
Source: http://www.newnownext.com/hiv-stigma-study...iences/07/2020/

We still have a long way to go in combatting HIV/AIDS stigma, according to a new report from GLAAD.

The advocacy group’s first State of HIV Stigma Study surveyed more than 2,500 Americans over the age of 18 about their knowledge and opinions regarding HIV/AIDS and people living with HIV. The research was funded by Gilead Sciences, the pharmaceutical company that manufactures the HIV prevention drug Pre-exposure prophylaxis (PrEP), also known as Truvada, and is developing a costly new COVID-19 treatment. And its results are staggering: In 2020, nearly six out of 10 Americans wrongfully believe that “it is important to be careful around people living with HIV to avoid catching it.”

Although people living with HIV who have an undetectable viral load cannot transmit the virus, only 35% of respondents think those who are HIV-positive “shouldn’t have to tell others.”

However, there appears to be some self-awareness among Americans. A whopping 89% of respondents said there is still stigma around HIV, and 88% agree that people are “quick to judge” those living with HIV. What’s more, 40% of cisgender, heterosexual Americans and 34% of LGBTQ Americans admitted that they only “know a little about HIV.”

To combat this, GLAAD also announced its Accelerate Compassion and Accelerate Impact programs, which will provide media training to LGBTQ and HIV/AIDS advocates and improve the quality of HIV/AIDS media coverage around the country. Both programs are funded through a $9 million grant from Gilead.

In a media statement, GLAAD president and CEO Sarah Kate Ellis stressed the need to “educate the public on the facts about HIV today”:

People living with HIV today are leading long, healthy lives and cannot transmit HIV when they receive proper treatment, but the stigma that they face has persisted for far too long and leads to harmful discrimination. HIV issues have flown under the radar, but with advances in treatment and prevention, we urgently need to educate the public on the facts about HIV today. GLAAD’s new programs will ensure that local HIV advocates are front and center throughout national and local media in an effort to educate the public and uplift stories about people living with HIV.

These efforts are especially vital given the Trump administration’s lackluster HIV/AIDS initiatives. As NewNowNext previously reported, the president wrongfully claimed that an “AIDS vaccine” exists during a coronavirus press conference in June. This came months after Trump appointed Vice President Mike Pence to spearhead the White House’s coronavirus task force, a move that sparked criticism given Pence’s infamously poor handling of an HIV/AIDS outbreak in Indiana during his tenure as governor.
TSinternaldisputes
post Jul 28 2020, 09:34 AM

he/his/him
1,723 posts

Ignore criticisms by LGBT activists, says PAS MP
Source: https://www.freemalaysiatoday.com/category/...ts-says-pas-mp/

KUALA LUMPUR: A PAS MP today said most of the criticisms levelled against the government’s policies on the lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender (LGBT) community were “biased” and urged the government not to entertain them.

Describing the actions by LGBT activists against the government as “prejudiced”, Nik Mohamad Abduh Nik Abdul Aziz (PN-Bachok) said these individuals were against measures to rehabilitate members of the community to the right path.

Nik Abduh said the group may have not read a manual published in 2013 by the Islamic Development Department (Jakim) that explains measures to assist and rehabilitate members of the LGBT community.

“They are prejudiced against the positive measures taken by the government, especially Jakim,” he said, adding that the measures were aimed “at saving” the LGBT community.

“Even though more countries have accepted the LGBT ideology, I want to state that Malaysia should retain its stand to reject this ideology,” he said.

He said although Jakim was carrying out its enforcement to rehabilitate the community to return to the right path, “it is surprising that they (the activists) think this is abusing their space”.

Added on
He acknowledged that the world is moving towards recognising equality but prefers Malaysia being stuck in the middle-ages. rclxub.gif

This post has been edited by internaldisputes: Jul 28 2020, 09:35 AM
Hades76
post Jul 28 2020, 09:36 AM

680 posts

QUOTE(internaldisputes @ Jul 28 2020, 09:34 AM)
Ignore criticisms by LGBT activists, says PAS MP
Source: https://www.freemalaysiatoday.com/category/...ts-says-pas-mp/

KUALA LUMPUR: A PAS MP today said most of the criticisms levelled against the government’s policies on the lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender (LGBT) community were “biased” and urged the government not to entertain them.

Describing the actions by LGBT activists against the government as “prejudiced”, Nik Mohamad Abduh Nik Abdul Aziz (PN-Bachok) said these individuals were against measures to rehabilitate members of the community to the right path.

Nik Abduh said the group may have not read a manual published in 2013 by the Islamic Development Department (Jakim) that explains measures to assist and rehabilitate members of the LGBT community.

“They are prejudiced against the positive measures taken by the government, especially Jakim,” he said, adding that the measures were aimed “at saving” the LGBT community.

“Even though more countries have accepted the LGBT ideology, I want to state that Malaysia should retain its stand to reject this ideology,” he said.

He said although Jakim was carrying out its enforcement to rehabilitate the community to return to the right path, “it is surprising that they (the activists) think this is abusing their space”.

Added on
He acknowledged that the world is moving towards recognising equality but prefers Malaysia being stuck in the middle-ages. rclxub.gif
Doesnt fit their agenda...... EVERRRRR.

GuyB
post Jul 28 2020, 12:56 PM

179 posts

So what's new in Malaysia?
TSinternaldisputes
post Jul 28 2020, 01:00 PM

he/his/him
1,723 posts

QUOTE(GuyB @ Jul 28 2020, 12:56 PM)
So what's new in Malaysia?
Same old, same old... sweat.gif Are you overseas?
TSinternaldisputes
post Jul 29 2020, 10:25 AM

he/his/him
1,723 posts

Mexico City approves bill to criminalise gay ‘conversion therapy’
Source: https://www.gaytimes.co.uk/life/mexico-city...ersion-therapy/

Mexico City’s regional congress approved a bill to criminalise gay ‘conversion therapy’ in a virtual session on Friday 24 July.

The practice – which has been discredited by the NHS and the World Psychiatric Association – refers to any attempt at changing a person’s sexual orientation or gender identity and often involves techniques such as electroshock therapy or prayer.

The new law, hailed as a major step forward for LGBTQ+ citizens in Mexico, would sentence offenders with up to five years in prison and there would be harsher punishments for those who subject minors to the practice.

It also defines ‘conversion therapy’ as a psychological or psychiatric measure that intends to “nullify, hinder, modify or undermine” the expression of a person’s gender identity or their sexual orientation.

LGBTQ+ activists praised the outcome on social media, with Jóvenes LGBT México writing on Twitter: “Today, one more fight has been consolidated in our city and so has one more chapter in the history of the LGBT+ movement in Mexico. I feel very happy to walk hand in hand with all of you. This victory is yours.”

Mexico City’s ban on ‘conversion therapy’ follows recent calls for Boris Johnson to criminalise the practice in the UK.

Ban Conversion Therapy, a new group which works closely with LGBTQ+ charities and human rights organisations, are calling for a comprehensive and swift ban.

An open letter to the prime minister and Downing Street has also attracted the support of numerous celebrities.

The letter, backed by Elton John, Stephen Fry, Dua Lipa, Little Mix’s Jade Thirlwall, Stonewall, Mermaids, The Ozanne Foundation, Amnesty UK, Gendered Intelligence, All-Out and many others was sent to Downing Street and Equalities Minister, Liz Truss, on 10 July.

Other signatures include Olly Alexander from Years & Years, trans activist Munroe Bergdorf, screenwriter Dustin Lance Black, actor Alan Cumming, writer Russell T. Davies, comedian Mae Martin, Liberal Democrat leadership contender Layla Moran, co-founder of UK Black Pride Phyll Opoku-Gyimah and singers Rina Sawayama and Charli XCX.

Social media giant Instagram has also pledged to ban all content relating to the promotion of ‘conversion therapy.’

“We don’t allow attacks against people based on sexual orientation or gender identity and are updating our policies to ban the promotion of conversion therapy services,” Tara Hopkins, EMEA public policy director, told BBC News.

“We are always reviewing our policies and will continue to consult with experts and people with personal experiences to inform our approach.”

Instagram added that it will take some time to roll out the policy across its platform, so while all content promoting ‘conversion therapy’ won’t immediately be removed, over time it will be blocked.

Added on
Malaysia can save a lot of precious ringgit if we manage to stop state-sanctioned conversion therapies like the ones under JAKIM. sad.gif
sorbonne
post Jul 29 2020, 07:21 PM

46 posts

TSinternaldisputes
post Jul 30 2020, 09:38 AM

he/his/him
1,723 posts

Here are all the queer favourites nominated at the 72nd Emmy Awards
Source: https://www.gaytimes.co.uk/culture/here-are...nd-emmy-awards/

LGBTQ+ stories are poised for success at the Emmy Awards this year.

Schitt’s Creek, which came to a bittersweet end earlier this year with its sixth season, received acting nominations for ]all four main cast members – Eugene Levy, Catherine O’Hara, Dan Levy, and Annie Murphy – as well as Outstanding Comedy Series. Deserved.

RuPaul earned his fifth consecutive nomination for Outstanding Host for RuPaul’s Drag Race (he won the past four years), where he will compete against Queer Eye stars Karamo Brown, Antoni Porowski, Tan France, Bobby Berk and Jonathan Van Ness.

RuPaul’s Drag Race Untucked received another nomination for Outstanding Unstructured Reality Program, as well as Bob the Drag Queen, Eureka and Shangela’s critically-acclaimed new HBO series, We’re Here. Drag Race alum Raven is also up for her second nomination in the Outstanding Contemporary Makeup For a Variety, Nonfiction or Reality Program (Non-Prosthetic) category.

Thanks to her work on the debut season of HBO’s teen drama Euphoria, Zendaya picked up her first ever Emmy nomination, as did Jeremy Pope for Hollywood – Ryan Murphy’s latest series for Netflix – with fellow cast members Jim Parsons and Holland Taylor.

Despite continuing to received widespread critical acclaim for their performances, the only cast recognised cast member from Pose is Billy Porter, who made history last year as the first openly gay Black man to be nominated and win in any lead acting category.

Other LGBTQ+ stars to pick up nominations include Laverne Cox (Orange is the New Black), Samira Wiley (The Handmaid’s Tale), Fiona Shaw (Killing Eve), Kate McKinnon (Saturday Night Live), Titus Burgess (Unbreakable Kimmy Schmidt: Kimmy vs. The Reverend), Wanda Sykes (The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel), Cherry Jones (Succession) and Andrew Scott (Black Mirror).

See the full list of nominations in the spoiler below.

Added on
Yay, representation! rclxm9.gif
TSinternaldisputes
post Jul 30 2020, 10:00 AM

he/his/him
1,723 posts

Gay, bisexual men and trans women speak of sexual abuse in Syria
Source: https://www.aljazeera.com/news/2020/07/gay-...8192816296.html

Beirut, Lebanon - Gay and bisexual men and transgender women (GBT) have been subjected to increased violence at the hands of Syrian state and non-state actors due to their actual or perceived sexual orientation, Human Rights Watch (HRW) has said in a new report.

The United States-based rights group said on Wednesday the abuse, documented in interviews with dozens of survivors who mostly fled to neighbouring Lebanon, had caused "severe physical and mental health consequences which are compounded by a lack of support services in Lebanon".

The report adds to existing HRW research that has documented sex crimes in Syria, ravaged by almost 10 years of war.

Zeynep PÄąnar Erdem, the author of the report, told Al Jazeera some of the victims reported being "harassed and sexually abused for being 'soft-looking'.

"They were perceived as being effeminate by the perpetrators in the detention centres and in the ranks of the Syrian army, and were therefore subjected to increased violence."

'They were happily doing it'

Interviewees, who included 40 GBT and non-binary individuals and four heterosexual men, described being subject to rape, genital violence, threat of rape, forced nudity and sexual harassment.

The testimonials paint a picture of long-lasting physical and psychological trauma that often goes unaddressed due to stigma against GBT people, unwillingness on the part of victims to speak out about their trauma and inadequate services to help them in Lebanon.

The often-debilitating trauma described by survivors includes depression, post-traumatic stress, sexual trauma, loss of hope, and paranoid thoughts, in addition to severe pain in their rectum and genitals, rectal bleeding and muscle pain.

Yousef told HRW he was detained by the Syrian government's intelligence agencies not because he was gay, but once his sexual orientation was revealed, "aggression was multiplied by 10".

"They were happily doing it," the 28-year-old said. "They were of course raping us with sticks. They rape you just to see you suffering, shouting. To see you are humiliated. This is what they like to see. They had a stick inside my anus, and they started saying: 'This is what you like, don't you like it?' It went up till my stomach."

Khalil, a 21-year-old gay survivor, said he was captured by ISIL (ISIS) with a group of people, including his boyfriend who was killed for being gay.

"I was detained by ISIS for three months for being part of protests. I was 15. I was detained with my friends. My boyfriend was thrown from a high building by ISIS," he told HRW.

The abuse did not only occur at the hands of the government and non-state armed groups. The families of the GBT people too often played a leading role in either abusing them or casting them out from society, the report said.

Family abuse

Eight of the interviewees received death threats from their families after they learned of their relatives' sexual orientation.

Fahed, 23, received a threatening text message from his mother in 2018 when she learned he was gay. "May God break your heart, like you broke mine. You f*****, you effeminate. I give you only one week to leave the country [Syria] or else I will kill you myself," the message read, according to Fahed.

"My stepfather wanted to send shabiha [pro-government militia] to kill me and detain me. He put my name in all checkpoints and wanted to kill me," he said, adding he left Syria two weeks after his mother texted him.

Help for people who have suffered such abuse is hard to come by in Lebanon, a country that is itself suffering from one of the world's worst economic crises and is witnessing growing instability.

Survivors who fled to Lebanon spoke of limited services and lacking support from humanitarian organisations that are often "poorly funded and not equipped to meet the needs of male survivors of sexual violence", the report said.

"Service providers often lack training in response to male survivors and some belittle them, which contributes to poor treatment and re-traumatization of those seeking help," it added.

The once-growing space for the LGBTQ community in Lebanon has also been shrinking in recent years, with several gay pride events cancelled. But most of the people interviewed for the report are stuck there - Erdem said just two of them had found resettlement abroad.

Just a handful of others were waiting to hear back on resettlement applications, and could be waiting for many years.

"Most of them will be in Lebanon for long years to come and that's why it's really important that international donors provide healthcare and services for survivors," Erdem said.
sorbonne
post Aug 1 2020, 06:59 PM

46 posts

GuyB
post Aug 2 2020, 01:10 AM

179 posts

QUOTE(internaldisputes @ Jul 28 2020, 01:00 PM)
Same old, same old...  sweat.gif  Are you overseas?
Up north. @ Pearl of the Orient.
TSinternaldisputes
post Aug 3 2020, 12:44 PM

he/his/him
1,723 posts

BBC swamped with complaints for showing two girls kissing on teen drama The Next Step
Source: https://www.pinknews.co.uk/2020/08/02/the-n...sin-teen-drama/

The BBC has been swamped with complaints for an episode of The Next Step that showed two teenage girls kissing.

The same-sex kiss – the first kiss of two teenage girls falling in love with each other – was aired on CBBC last month and watched by thousands of viewers.

The Next Step is a Canadian drama following a professional dance studio. In the episode featuring the kiss, friends Jude (Molly Sanders) and Cleo (Dani Verago) perform a duet together – and it becomes clear that their feelings for each other are not purely platonic.

Many viewers have praised CBBC for showing queer youth, but according to The Metro “more than 100” others wrote in to complain.

On its complaints website, the BBC said that the decision to include the kiss “was taken very carefully and with much consideration”.

Rejecting complaints that showing the kiss was “inappropriate for the audience age”, the broadcaster said that “CBBC regularly portrays heterosexual young people dating, falling in love, and kissing, and it is an important way of showing children what respectful, kind and loving relationships look like”.

Showing the kiss came about after CBBC and Boatrocker, the production company who make the show, “acknowledged that the series could and should do more to reflect the lives of LGBTQ+ young people”.

“This is an important part of our mission to make sure that every child feels like they belong, that they are safe, and that they can be who they want to be,” the BBC continued.

“We believe that the storyline, and the kiss, was handled with sensitivity and without sensationalism, following as it did the portrayal of Jude and Cleo’s developing relationship.

“Same-sex relationships have already featured in other CBBC shows such as Jamie Johnson, 4 O Clock Club, Dixie and Marrying Mum and Dad, and (contrary to what was reported in the press about The Next Step) the first same-sex kiss on CBBC was in fact in Byker Grove, many years ago.”

Stonewall’s head of policy and research, Eloise Stonborough, praised The Next Step episode in a statement to The Metro as “an exciting moment for LGBT+ representation”.

“It’s important for everyone to be able to see themselves in mainstream media and to know they have a place in society,” she said.

“When lesbian, gay, bi and trans people aren’t reflected in what they watch, young LGBT+ people can get the impression that there is something is different or wrong about them.

“Representation can help young LGBT+ people understand themselves by relating to lesbian, gay, bi and trans characters, and improves understanding of what it means to be lesbian, gay, bi or trans, which helps everyone to be more accepting.”
TSinternaldisputes
post Aug 3 2020, 12:56 PM

he/his/him
1,723 posts

Concern on the impact of LGBTQ+ demands
Source: https://www.nst.com.my/opinion/letters/2020...t-lgbtq-demands

LETTERS: In Malaysia, some LGBTQ+ individuals are trying to make others see them as "normal" and now to an extent, wanting for legalization of same-sex and gender-neutral conduct in every aspect of life.

We have not seen such liberal settings in Malaysia for decades but unfortunately the current situation has changed due to the extreme way they see modernization which mostly affects younger children.

A fair portion of the LGBTQ+ community living in Malaysia do not want to be merely acknowledged, they also demand for legal recognition with an agenda. Hence, it is no coincidence that even Kuala Lumpur lawyers committees had organised a webinar discussing on the rights of non-binary, gay and queer persons at workplace, last month.

Even a respected legal body like Kuala Lumpur Bar supports LGBT normalization. A depressing pattern by the pro-LGBTQ speakers is seen when they keep on pushing our country's legislators to make significant amendments to the Federal Constitution and Penal Code when proposing for the abolishment of Section 377 & 377A (offence of sodomy).

Their main issue is to analyse whether our country can accept LGBTQIA+ individuals in the working sector. Undoubtedly everyone should enjoy the rights provided in Article 5(1) and 8(2) of the Constitution which the latter affirms that all persons regardless of gender are equal before the law, entitled to the equal protection of the law and cannot be discriminated.

There is nothing in this Article or the whole Constitution which expressly states that LGBTQ+ individuals can be discriminated in any areas of employment or refrained from rights to acquire property (among others).

Although previous lawmakers have left a wide loophole by excluding a direct interpretation of "gender", it should not be an excuse to abuse the whole context of our Constitution which upholds the importance of Islam as the religion of the Federation and other traditional Eastern beliefs.

It is impossible for an employer to provide a safe and balanced environment for everyone at the workplace since each group from LGBQTIA+ has different needs & demands. For example, the proposal for gender-neutral bathrooms.

Many of the progressive members of the society are beginning to adjust their lives according to the Western values although it does not fit to any of the directions placed by our Federal Constitution.

Same sex marriages and dissolution of gender norms are contrary to Islam and the long traditions of our conservative citizen. Codifying LGBT+ lifestyle as a civil right will only destroy the well-being of family institution and education system.

Majority of us treasure and preserve conservative values in our family units so that future generations would grow as respected human beings and healthy people in mind and body.

Nur Farihah Meor Mazli

International Women's Alliance for Family Institution & Quality Education (WAFIQ)

-----

This article—albeit with its many disinformation— shows that LGBT rights movement in Malaysia is taking steam and people are starting to take notice. biggrin.gif A lot still need to be done, though.
TSinternaldisputes
post Aug 3 2020, 01:04 PM

he/his/him
1,723 posts

QUOTE(jbcoder @ Aug 3 2020, 09:34 AM)
I think they should focus more on curbing child marriages first instead of being hypocrites to curb online porn.

Curbs on online porn, child deaths from being left in cars among issues to be raised in Dewan Rakyat Monday (Aug 3)
Source: https://www.thestar.com.my/news/nation/2020...at-monday-aug-3

KUALA LUMPUR: Online pornography and LGBT, child deaths due to being left in the car and more language interpreters needed are among issues to be raised in the Dewan Rakyat Monday (Aug 3).

Nik Mohamad Abduh Nik Abdul Aziz (PAS-Bachok) will be asking Communications and Multimedia Minister Datuk Saifuddin Abdullah to what extent his ministry has gone to curb any social media site that promotes LGBT and pornography.

Nik Mohamad also wants Saifuddin to state, during Oral Question Time, efforts to curb such online activities.

Rubiah Wang (GPS-Kota Samarahan) will be asking Women, Family and Community Development Minister Datuk Seri Rina Harun what sort of actions are being taken to address the issue of child deaths due to being left in the car by parents or guardians.

Rubiah, who is raising the issue during Oral Question Time, wants to know if such actions will resolve the problem conclusively.

Chan Ming Kai (PH-Alor Setar) will also be asking Rina on efforts by her ministry to increase the number of sign language interpreters who can serve the deaf.

The Dewan Rakyat sitting will see the start of the Ministerial Replies on issues raised by MPs during two previous weeks of debates on the motion of thanks for the Royal Address.

The respective ministers will be giving their replies to the MPs starting Monday (Aug 3) till Aug 10.
Looking forward to the answer from Communications Minister about how they gonna curb LGBT in social media. He had promised before that he would leave social media alone without any legislation.
novblaze
post Aug 3 2020, 10:55 PM

328 posts

All of you do not scare to get caught by religion authority by admitting lgbtq+ here?

53 Pages « < 22 23 24 25 26 > » Top

0.0236sec    0.74    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 09:49 AM