My STPM CGPA only 2.58, what should i do?

TSTeoh0911 P
post Feb 12 2020, 11:54 PM, updated 5y ago

Probation

After calculate my own result personally, i realise that my only get 2.58. I am an art stream student. can I still able to enter IPTA??? If i enter private college, what is the different to those who took diploma or foundation. I am interested in psychology, social work etc...
hft
post Feb 13 2020, 12:05 AM

1,081 posts

QUOTE(Teoh0911 @ Feb 12 2020, 11:54 PM)
After calculate my own result personally, i realise that my only get 2.58. I am an art stream student. can I still able to enter IPTA??? If i enter private college, what is the different to those who took diploma or foundation. I am interested in psychology, social work etc...
Still can be forex king.
Captain89
post Feb 13 2020, 01:13 AM

Simple person
3,056 posts

QUOTE(Teoh0911 @ Feb 12 2020, 10:24 PM)
Retake?
Or do foundation in private U, then degree ( in case your results doesn't meet the entry requirement )
For IPTA quite tough goodluck
TSTeoh0911 P
post Feb 13 2020, 09:04 AM

Probation

QUOTE(Captain89 @ Feb 13 2020, 01:13 AM)
Retake?
Or do foundation in private U, then degree ( in case your results doesn't meet the entry requirement )
If I enter private u, I still need to study one more year compare to diploma holder and foundation holder, is that right??
TSTeoh0911 P
post Feb 13 2020, 09:05 AM

Probation

QUOTE(hft @ Feb 13 2020, 12:05 AM)
Still can be forex king.
Cannot la. My IQ is too low for that
Jescon
post Feb 13 2020, 09:20 AM

452 posts

Psychology will be difficult to enter.

Maybe you can take some business course where-ever, make sure it's like only 3 years, and quickly get a job and jump lines. You already wasted time with STPM, so better move and be quick.

Sincerely,
A fellow STPM grad who wasted 4 years for degree
joe_toye
post Feb 13 2020, 10:49 AM

1,249 posts

QUOTE(Captain89 @ Feb 13 2020, 01:13 AM)
Retake?
As long as he meets the requirements which is either 2 principal passes (2cs) or 2.0 CGPA in STPM (some uni is 2.5), he does not need to take Foundation again to enter a degree programme in IPTS.

This is referring to general degree programmes and not professional undergraduate programmes like engineering, accountancy or law.
hft
post Feb 13 2020, 11:49 AM

1,081 posts

QUOTE(Teoh0911 @ Feb 13 2020, 09:05 AM)
Cannot la. My IQ  is too low for that
One day you will realize, high IQ does not equate to high income.
EDMerfe
post Feb 13 2020, 11:56 AM

15 posts

Still can be forex king.
TS pls PM me the details

Tq.
hft
post Feb 13 2020, 12:41 PM

1,081 posts

QUOTE(EDMerfe @ Feb 13 2020, 11:56 AM)
TS pls PM me the details 

Tq.
Many free resource out there. Start with demo acc trading. Then go serious money.
EDMerfe
post Feb 13 2020, 12:45 PM

15 posts

QUOTE(hft @ Feb 13 2020, 12:41 PM)
Many free resource out there. Start with demo acc trading. Then go serious money.
Any reliable & recommended free resources that can guide me with demo acc trading?

What are the resources you are currently using?
hft
post Feb 13 2020, 12:52 PM

1,081 posts

QUOTE(EDMerfe @ Feb 13 2020, 12:45 PM)
Any reliable & recommended free resources that can guide me with demo acc trading?

What are the resources you are currently using?
Go straight to the swimming pool and try to swim. Try ICMarket demo account.
iSean
post Feb 14 2020, 11:39 PM

iz old liao.
4,352 posts

- You can still get degree courses, but know where to apply la.
- Foundation they finish 1 year of Pre-U in College / Uni, then move into degree within their next intake, normally their semester breaks and intakes are inline with most general degree program intakes.
- Diploma same thing, most of them can exempt up 10 to 100% of their 1st year degree course, then continue their degree for about 2 years and graduate.
hellothere131495
post Feb 17 2020, 10:49 PM

447 posts

2.58 isn't unbearably, too bad. You are still eligible to apply IPTA. Make sure you don't compete with those students who are aiming for top IPTAs and popular courses. Also, remember to tick the box that asks you whether or not you want the UPU to choose a course for you if you don't receive any offer.

If you want to study a very popular course, IPTS is always there to welcome you. Cheers!
LDP
post Feb 18 2020, 03:23 PM

457 posts

Wish you all the best with your application. A word of encouragement to you: If you were to look back a few years from now, you will have no regrets taking STPM. It is definitely tougher than matriculation and etc, but you will be prepared for uni life...
theevilman1909
post Feb 22 2020, 03:24 PM

3,063 posts

2.58 still okay for private university..

IPTA can for "unpopular" course at tier 2 IPTA
Startrek
post Feb 27 2020, 09:12 AM

81 posts

QUOTE(joe_toye @ Feb 13 2020, 10:49 AM)
As long as he meets the requirements which is either 2 principal passes (2cs) or 2.0 CGPA in STPM (some uni is 2.5), he does not need to take Foundation again to enter a degree programme in IPTS.

This is referring to general degree programmes and not professional undergraduate programmes like engineering, accountancy or law.
Correct. As long as you meet the entry requirements, you should be accepted into the programme of study.

I believe lots of education fairs are coming soon, go check it out.
BlueMuffin
post Feb 29 2020, 09:02 PM

107 posts

Congratulations on completing your STPM!

Firstly, your choices are limited because of most of the courses' criteria and you would need to choose your courses in UPU wisely.

Do read up on the courses that you are interested in. There are a lot of courses under the Social Sciences/ Art umbrella, have a look at what each of these courses bring and what careersthey would eventually lead into. I suggest you first visit the IPTA websites/ education fairs and have a look at their program list, then have a look at the course subjects, see if anything is of your interest. Then if you want, I would suggest Googling those course/subjects and see what they are about.

Frankly, your results are not too bad, I had colleagues who were able to secure IPTA courses with only 2.00, but that is anecdotal I know. Do your research and apply strategically in UPU, you won't regret it!

All the best!
theevilman1909
post Mar 2 2020, 08:56 PM

3,063 posts

Still can be forex king.
😣👍😋

Nice one
nexona88
post Mar 2 2020, 09:01 PM

The Royal Club Member
41,818 posts

Well I don't know how..
But it's depending on your luck & strategy..
If u apply those low demand course.. at not popular location IPTA... Should get some shot...

0.0167sec    0.32    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th March 2024 - 01:09 PM