Samsung Samsung Galaxy S20 | S20+ | S20 Ultra 5G, The Phone That Will Change Photography

sniper on the roof
post Feb 20 2020, 09:32 AM

23,414 posts

QUOTE(StratOS @ Feb 19 2020, 11:38 PM)
We really need to be hands on for the Exynos 990 hopefully it won't disappoint.. Im a SD user all the way but going to try this also..
There's also talk that the 865 more power hungry than 855.
sniper on the roof
post Apr 7 2020, 08:52 AM

23,414 posts

Do you guys use 120hz the whole time?
sniper on the roof
post Apr 7 2020, 09:29 AM

23,414 posts

QUOTE(Duckies @ Apr 7 2020, 09:03 AM)
How's the battery and SOT with 120hz?
u on 60hz?

I just got my phone not long and has been mucking around with it so SOT not that accurate.

Recall its around 5-6hrs with 120hz. Snapdragon version.
sniper on the roof
post Apr 7 2020, 09:33 AM

23,414 posts

QUOTE(skylinelover @ Apr 7 2020, 09:31 AM)
Haha nice!

Plus or Ultra? brows.gif brows.gif
Plus lor... Ultra damn huge and thick. With case it cannot fit my pocket.
sniper on the roof
post Apr 7 2020, 09:49 AM

23,414 posts

QUOTE(Duckies @ Apr 7 2020, 09:41 AM)
But once u use 120hz, you dont feel like going back 60hz. Maybe 96Hz for the best of both world - battery and smoothness.
Oh no no, I am asking around cause I plan to get one.
It's only noticeable when scroll through wall of text but yeah... hard to go back to 60hz. Everytime I try out 60hz.. end up switching back not long later.
sniper on the roof
post Apr 7 2020, 10:49 AM

23,414 posts

Seems like another update coming..

https://www.sammobile.com/news/samsung-just...axy-s20-update/

The translated version of the changelog suggests that the update only brings some stability improvements, though Twitter leakster Ice universe notes that the update also improves autofocus and HDR in the camera and fine-tunes UI animations. We will need to wait for the international release to be completely sure what the update has to offer, though we can assume it is an important one considering how soon it is arriving after the previous update.

The new update is rolling out over the air in China and can be downloaded from the phone’s Settings » Software update menu. The latest firmware is also available in our archive for manual installation. We will be sure to let you know once the update starts rolling out in other markets, so stay tuned if you own a Galaxy S20, S20+, or Galaxy S20 Ultra.

I think the HDR is a little too aggressive, contrast too high and as usual, the sharpening waaaay too aggressive.
sniper on the roof
post Apr 7 2020, 04:04 PM

23,414 posts

QUOTE(Max204 @ Apr 7 2020, 01:40 PM)
downloading the latest update.

hopefully, not only the camera is improved.
Let us know after finish test.
sniper on the roof
post Apr 10 2020, 07:56 AM

23,414 posts

What casing are u guys using?
sniper on the roof
post Apr 10 2020, 10:37 PM

23,414 posts

QUOTE(chuah_ph @ Apr 10 2020, 08:01 AM)
Spigen Neo Hybrid..thx
QUOTE(manx @ Apr 10 2020, 08:35 AM)
Spigen Liquid Crystal
QUOTE(kevintth @ Apr 10 2020, 09:26 AM)
Ringke Fusion Matte Clear (anti fingerprint) from Shopee
QUOTE(badboy77 @ Apr 10 2020, 06:31 PM)
Using UAG,Spigen and MNML cases
Thanks for the replies guys

So far I've already gotten the spigen ultra hybrid, UAG Plasma and Hoda case for my S20+ but haven't found the perfect case yet.

Anymore ideas will be welcomed thanks.
sniper on the roof
post Apr 19 2020, 04:33 PM

23,414 posts

Went a little overboard with cases ..hahahaha

sniper on the roof
post Apr 19 2020, 06:04 PM

23,414 posts

QUOTE(badboy77 @ Apr 19 2020, 05:24 PM)
I prefer the Civilian Series Samsung Galaxy S20 Ultra. Look nicer.
I wanted one too in green but kenot look past the orange bit.

QUOTE(Azureknight94 @ Apr 19 2020, 05:36 PM)
How's the kvadrat case? Looks nice
Wouldn't trust it to be very protective but the on-hand feel is the nicest among them.
sniper on the roof
post Apr 19 2020, 06:13 PM

23,414 posts

QUOTE(Captain89 @ Apr 19 2020, 06:09 PM)
That UAG case looks tough is that original? I'm guessing around 120+ for ori case
Its a UAG Plasma. Not sure about the pricing back home, I'm based in Taiwan... its TWD1380 here.
sniper on the roof
post Apr 19 2020, 06:35 PM

23,414 posts

QUOTE(Captain89 @ Apr 19 2020, 06:16 PM)
Woah rm200+ rich weih haha biggrin.gif jelly
Always fan of UAG case, most expensive bought was rm160+ for iPhone casing. Love it

What about the rest tho, all from Taiwan too? biggrin.gif
From left to right.

Samsung's Kvadrat cover.. very nice feel on hand but thin, and not very protective.

Spigen Ultra Hybrid... quite protective for a transparent TPU at least on the iphone version, was on a cycling trip with my wife and her phone dropped from her bike to tar floor 3x that day due to faulty phone holder and not a single scratch of damage. Problem with it is it gets disgusting when dirty and the back scratches easily (its not raised like a ringke fusion)

Hoda Rough case... Taiwan brand made in China. This one kena influenced by youtube drop test doh.gif Pretty interesting as the whole case is smooth rubber texture and the lip is quite high to fit glass screen protector.

UAG Plasma...its becoming like a tradition to get one of these everytime change phone laugh.gif
sniper on the roof
post Apr 19 2020, 08:34 PM

23,414 posts

QUOTE(skylinelover @ Apr 19 2020, 08:13 PM)
Haha i guess nothing beats the old ass nokia laugh.gif

I was casingless 4 very long time till my first note phone laugh.gif
Which is weird.. nowadays we can't accept plastic phones and yet end up slapping plastic cases on it.
sniper on the roof
post Apr 20 2020, 02:52 PM

23,414 posts

QUOTE(19 Degree South @ Apr 20 2020, 02:27 PM)
Bro, the transparent one nice. Izzit hard or soft case? Expensive or not?
The side are soft tpu while the back is hard. Dunno local price but Spigen Ultra Hybrid's TWD890 (RM130).

This post has been edited by sniper on the roof: Apr 20 2020, 02:53 PM
sniper on the roof
post Apr 24 2020, 10:57 AM

23,414 posts

QUOTE(SpringBiscuit @ Apr 24 2020, 03:13 AM)
Yea but those usually compare side by side, I believe s20+ SD should be same battery life with the s20 ultra exynos, just the bigger screen, camera and warranty are the deciding part.
I also went with S20+ rather than the ultra.

Ultra too big too unwieldy for no significant advantage imo.

sniper on the roof
post Apr 26 2020, 01:38 AM

23,414 posts

Spam some test shots with the S20+... with minor tweaks

user posted image20200410_220446 by vmwt, on Flickr

user posted image20200412_174157 by vmwt, on Flickr

user posted image20200412_133630 by vmwt, on Flickr

user posted image20200425_183812 by vmwt, on Flickr

user posted image20200425_201837 by vmwt, on Flickr
sniper on the roof
post Apr 26 2020, 04:05 PM

23,414 posts

QUOTE(kevin23 @ Apr 26 2020, 09:29 AM)
Hmmm.. why the photos look so average? Especially the night photos
Ok la.. I find it quite useable. AWB improved alot.

QUOTE(skylinelover @ Apr 26 2020, 01:30 PM)
Haha is this red light district

I like heard of this famous street b4 some where😄😆
There's a number of Chongqing road in Taiwan and China but you're right, that area memang got jiken tongue.gif
sniper on the roof
post Apr 28 2020, 03:42 PM

23,414 posts

QUOTE(hiroka88 @ Apr 27 2020, 09:23 PM)
anyone here still stick with the stock screen protector? when i buy the phone i dont know its come with SP together so i order the ringke SP, so now dilemma that change the SP or not.
So far i ok with the stock SP but sometimes fingerprint not so accurate only.
I'm still with the stock. Gonna stick with it until it got scratched or the the oleophobic coating wears off.

It's holding up pretty good though for a non-glass protector.
sniper on the roof
post May 5 2020, 10:35 PM

23,414 posts

QUOTE(chuah_ph @ May 4 2020, 07:08 PM)
Below are my SOT per differrent usages :

Usage #1 - If 100% WiFI,120Hz screen, power optimize, no games, no camera and no video call then able to hit 7 to 8 hrs ++ SOT.

Usage #2 - If similar setting as usage #1 but with minor camera usage for video call then will be ~7 hrs SOT.

Usage #3 - If similar setting as usage 1 but mix with 4G data then will be ~6 to 6.5 hrs++.

Normally ~6 hrs ++ unless extremely high usage with mix 4G data, camera, Skype business call, bluetooth headset for songs etc then only drop to slightly below 6 hrs. 4G data did consumed more battery especially worst if move between good and average signal area while camera is another power hungry apps too.

Thx
For me the biggest battery drain is from Chrome.

0.1527sec    0.43    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 09:23 PM