TSDAViS
post Jul 19 2007, 02:38 AM, updated 13y ago

就是你
2,503 posts

Philips:
General questions about this 2007 designed webcam SPC900NC
1. Is it compatible with Windows 7 32 bit or 64 bit?
Yes, it is. Auto detect, no drivers require.

2. Max resolution @ 90 fps?
320 x 240 @ 90 fps.

3. Why this dinosaur still for sale from your online store?
This is the main strong selling point why many astrophotographer choose this model. General user usually do not appreciate it.

A brief overview of Webcams and Astronomy

Not all webcams are made equal.

For a webcam to be suitable for astrophotography it needs to be particularly sensitive to light. Webcams with CCD (Charge Coupled Device) chips are generally more sensitive than CMOS (Complementary Metal Oxide Semiconductor) chips, certainly in webcams, although some more recent makes of CMOS chips used in professional DSLR cameras are able to offer the required light capturing ability.

Generally if you are searching out a webcam for use with a telescope, try to find a CCD webcam, otherwise be sure that any CMOS webcam is sufficiently sensitive and has been tried by other astonomers. The Toucam Pro I and II models were the original favourite choice for astronomers. For example a very cheap webcam, the Philips SPC230NC is a 1.3Mpixel CMOS chip, but its Minimum Illumination is 5 Lux (the amount of light it can detect and requires to operate effectively), whereas the SPC900NC's CCD chip has a Minimum Illumination of < 1 Lux, and hence why it is so popular for astrophotography. A typical family living room is lit to 50Lux, the dark limit of civil twilight is 3.7Lux, the full Moon overhead at tropical latitudes provides 1 Lux, the full Moon on a clear night provides 0.27Lux, a quarter moon 0.01 Lux, and a moonless clear night sky with skyglow gives just 0.002 lux. Total starlight shining through an overcast sky provides 10 to the power -4 lux.

Specifications for video cameras such as camcorders and surveillance cameras often include a minimum illuminance level in lux at which the camera will record a satisfactory image. A camera with good low-light capability will have a lower lux rating. Still cameras do not use such a specification, since longer exposure times can generally be used to make pictures at very low illuminance levels, as opposed to the case in video cameras where a maximum exposure time is generally set by the frame rate.

The SPC900NC uses the same Sony ICX098QB CCD sensor as the Toucam Pro's with a pixel size of 5.6 x 5.6 microns (=0.0056mm), which allows a high resolution (320x240 Pixels non interpolated). This table shows the chip is a 1/4" Type which has 659 pixels horizontal x 494 pixels vertical, in a 14-pin Plastic DIP package with a CXD2450R Combined timing pulse generator, and a primary colour mosaic (Bayer) filter mounted.

Windows 7 compatible.
http://www.microsoft.com/Windows/compatibi...bcams&os=32-bit

This post has been edited by DAViS: Sep 13 2012, 05:21 AM
name
post Jul 19 2007, 07:57 AM

1,014 posts

wow~

NOW Webcam biggrin.gif

this one is not the same one u brought last year right?

TSDAViS
post Jul 19 2007, 09:38 AM

就是你
2,503 posts

Hi name,

We have learn that Malaysian cannot afford good product at high price so we do not intend to bring this model (much more advance) that replace on last year model.

Last year model actually is clearance item that Philips allowed us selling at below cost price. None of the single unit able to sell on the shelf.
blackperl
post Jul 19 2007, 10:09 AM

27 posts

Interested in this item.. but just curious how the camera track the face of the user? The webcam has builtin motorize mechanism to move sideway and updown?
TSDAViS
post Jul 19 2007, 10:18 AM

就是你
2,503 posts

Digital camera face recognition software can do the job, so as well this webcam having the similar function as well.
yanjinowa
post Jul 20 2007, 01:26 AM

565 posts

sorry to ask one question.
so this one is better than those logitech one?
i mean in terms of picture quality.
TSDAViS
post Jul 20 2007, 04:05 AM

就是你
2,503 posts

Hi. If the photo sensor, low lux function and many more not that good, why astronomy hobbyist choose Philips instead of Logitech?
name
post Jul 20 2007, 07:08 AM

1,014 posts

QUOTE(DAViS @ Jul 19 2007, 09:38 AM)
Hi name,

We have learn that Malaysian cannot afford good product at high price so we do not intend to bring this model (much more advance) that replace on last year model.

Last year model actually is clearance item that Philips allowed us selling at below cost price. None of the single unit able to sell on the shelf.
owh no wonder lah..
okay.
thx for the info smile.gif

TSDAViS
post Jul 21 2007, 11:37 AM

就是你
2,503 posts

QUOTE(name @ Jul 20 2007, 07:08 AM)
owh no wonder lah..
okay.
thx for the info smile.gif
nod.gif notworthy.gif
yanjinowa
post Jul 31 2007, 07:26 PM

565 posts

so, right now got any ppl on the list?
if i place the order now, when will i able to get it? rclxms.gif
jakesean
post Jul 31 2007, 09:55 PM

1,361 posts

wah... very interested.. but $$ wise, haih.. need refill wallet first.. will let u know when i have enuff $$.. free bump.. and good luck..

i saw this at sg changi airport just this sunday.. forgot to see the price.. i think its about SGD $219 if i nv see wrong..
TSDAViS
post Jul 31 2007, 11:55 PM

就是你
2,503 posts

Hi.
People look at the price they would think few times to make decision.

Stock ready. Today bank in tomorrow send. smile.gif
yanjinowa
post Aug 1 2007, 01:09 AM

565 posts

not bulk order anymore?

TSDAViS
post Aug 1 2007, 03:16 AM

就是你
2,503 posts

I have some stock on hand, if you want it you can bank in and get it soon.
albatross
post Aug 1 2007, 11:06 PM

84 posts

could the lens be removed and is the thread the same as the old model it replaces.

need to fix the telescope adapter, so the ring size is important....

thks
TSDAViS
post Aug 1 2007, 11:12 PM

就是你
2,503 posts

Yes, it can remove. About the thread size, I have no idea.

*I thought you organizing a bulk for this, but I have not heard anything from you smile.gif

If you want, you can take all of them 10 unit at one go.
Let me know soon.
albatross
post Aug 2 2007, 08:15 AM

84 posts

shipping was too much to bare last time....i thought i replied....

anyway discussing with friend currently. now only need to confirm the thread size...maybe i could meet you one day to try out the fitting, it's that ok with you?
TSDAViS
post Aug 2 2007, 11:07 AM

就是你
2,503 posts

Hi. You can buy one and try. smile.gif
We do not open up new unit for demo or testing.
leoboom
post Aug 2 2007, 11:57 AM

159 posts

90fps for which resolution?

can list out all the resolution:frame rates?
TSDAViS
post Aug 2 2007, 12:03 PM

就是你
2,503 posts

Hi. Please read the PDF file. smile.gif

10 unit already booked.

11 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0277sec    0.62    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 09:50 PM