wanna ask this 1200cc enjin oil suitable for, honda Jazz 2014 ? gen 3
TSmonkeybar
Feb 8 2020, 12:02 AM, updated 6y ago
today i wrongly bought at Shell Station this enjin oil Eco Shell 0w to 20w. label write is for up to 1200cc... can i use it for Honda Jazz gen 3 2014? because it 1500cc or should i bought a new 1 like Shell HX8 0w to 20w. my didi are confuse now...
This post has been edited by monkeybar: Feb 8 2020, 12:09 AM
Thrust
Feb 8 2020, 12:06 AM
This oil can be use on Honda Jazz 2014. No problem here as Honda has 0W20 oil too which is compatible with the Jazz.
TSmonkeybar
Feb 8 2020, 12:14 AM
QUOTE(Thrust @ Feb 8 2020, 12:06 AM) This oil can be use on Honda Jazz 2014. No problem here as Honda has 0W20 oil too which is compatible with the Jazz. ok thanks for sifu info... anymore can give some idea... cause i love all my transportation. really taking care about it...
yamato
Feb 8 2020, 12:44 AM
shell mentioned for 1200cc engine cos the packaging only 3.5L. for a typical 1500cc engine, the lube needed is usually 3.7-4.0L, best u refer your jazz manual.
TSmonkeybar
Feb 8 2020, 01:05 AM
QUOTE(yamato @ Feb 8 2020, 12:44 AM) shell mentioned for 1200cc engine cos the packaging only 3.5L. for a typical 1500cc engine, the lube needed is usually 3.7-4.0L, best u refer your jazz manual. i ask the workshop. that boss say 3.5L is enough for jazz enjin. pull till empty. hmmm i try send for oil change. if not enough i buy 1 more tank. i try refer the manual see got write. hmmm This post has been edited by monkeybar: Feb 8 2020, 01:07 AM
Thrust
Feb 8 2020, 05:47 AM
QUOTE(monkeybar @ Feb 8 2020, 01:05 AM) i ask the workshop. that boss say 3.5L is enough for jazz enjin. pull till empty. hmmm i try send for oil change. if not enough i buy 1 more tank. i try refer the manual see got write. hmmm Jazz engine uses 3.7 liters. I suppose you can pour all in and it should be fine.
digilife
Feb 8 2020, 09:14 AM
Just go Giant buy Shell fully synthetic , rm99 only. 4 Lt
Thrust
Feb 8 2020, 09:17 AM
QUOTE(digilife @ Feb 8 2020, 09:14 AM) Just go Giant buy Shell fully synthetic , rm99 only. 4 Lt Those Giant Shell Fully Synthetic oil are quite thick usually rated at 5W40. They are more suited for older engine. The Jazz maximum I'll go for is 5W30.
zeng
Feb 8 2020, 10:58 AM
QUOTE(Thrust @ Feb 8 2020, 09:17 AM) Those Giant Shell Fully Synthetic oil are quite thick usually rated at 5W40. They are more suited for older engine. The Jazz maximum I'll go for is 5W30. True that 5W40 is not required for Jazz . But SHU 5W40 is often on promo from various supermarts as digilife indicates, and still fine for use on Jazz though not required . Btw, Shell Helix Ultra 5W40 VOA indicates it has friction-reducing additives like Molybdenum and Boron . Most 5W30 would not have one and/or both of this . This post has been edited by zeng: Feb 8 2020, 10:59 AM
TSmonkeybar
Feb 8 2020, 12:13 PM
QUOTE(Thrust @ Feb 8 2020, 05:47 AM) Jazz engine uses 3.7 liters. I suppose you can pour all in and it should be fine. i found this on google... should b 3.3L to 3.6L i think is ok.  less 100ml only
fireballs
Feb 8 2020, 07:35 PM
Can use. But might not be enough.
speedy3210
Feb 8 2020, 08:22 PM
QUOTE(monkeybar @ Feb 8 2020, 12:13 PM) i found this on google... should b 3.3L to 3.6L i think is ok.  less 100ml only
no need to be overly obsessed with spec alone. Trust the dipstick more. After every service, take a good look of the dipstick reading and also how much lubricant left in the bottle. You will form your own conclusion this way. my honda engine spec-ed 4.2litre of lube if change oil+oil filter together. BUT, experience showed 4litre is more than enough for the dipstick to read FULL. If I were to fill according to Honda spec, I would be overfilling (way over F line at dipstick). This post has been edited by speedy3210: Feb 8 2020, 08:23 PM
SleeplessEyes
Feb 9 2020, 08:27 AM
QUOTE(Thrust @ Feb 8 2020, 09:17 AM) Those Giant Shell Fully Synthetic oil are quite thick usually rated at 5W40. They are more suited for older engine. The Jazz maximum I'll go for is 5W30. I will have to throw a spanner on this one. I've used 5w40 for my Exora turbo which is one hellava hot running engine. And it ain't old either. It's spec for 10w30 but I still used it cause it was selling at a bargain at Giant. FC didn't change abit. Then I tried 5w40 on a Axia facelfited model. this however lower the fc so I don't really recommend for normal usage. Engine performance not affected though. Yes I am aware Axia recommends 0w20 for best Fc but the manual also says 5w30 10w30 can be used. Tried 5w40 just to see how it goes. So please throw away those usual mechanic misconceptions that thicker is for older cars. Higher viscosity oil is to cope with higher temperatures. Not to conseal piston wear.
abubin
Feb 10 2020, 05:31 PM
QUOTE(SleeplessEyes @ Feb 9 2020, 08:27 AM) I will have to throw a spanner on this one. I've used 5w40 for my Exora turbo which is one hellava hot running engine. And it ain't old either. It's spec for 10w30 but I still used it cause it was selling at a bargain at Giant. FC didn't change abit. Then I tried 5w40 on a Axia facelfited model. this however lower the fc so I don't really recommend for normal usage. Engine performance not affected though. Yes I am aware Axia recommends 0w20 for best Fc but the manual also says 5w30 10w30 can be used. Tried 5w40 just to see how it goes. So please throw away those usual mechanic misconceptions that thicker is for older cars. Higher viscosity oil is to cope with higher temperatures. Not to conseal piston wear. Usually better only jump 10 viscosity from the recommended. Axia is rated 0w20 so using xw30 is good enough. Going to xw40 is a bit too much especially if the engine is still new. For an engine that is more than 10 years old maybe xw40 would be better but if the engine is well maintained, it should be find to still use 0w20. End of the day it is your car and you should know about it.