I think most of the Malaysians having the same issue as me, MOLD everywhere from kitchen sink to toilet ones!
Anyone of you really solve this issue? Any replacement instead of Silicone? Headache...
Sink Edge (Silicone) Mold!
Feb 5 2020, 12:36 AM, updated 6y ago
Show posts by this member only | Post
2,512 posts Joined: Sep 2007 |
Feb 5 2020, 10:09 AM
777 posts Joined: Feb 2019 From: 天涯海角 |
In your case you use undermount kitchen sink which requires to apply adhesives at the top of the edges. It can't be avoided because the mold will grow no matter which kind of adhesive you apply, even you use cement it will still grow. But if you dont want to apply the water will leak through there. Only solution is temporary which is reapply the silicone from time to time.
Another long term solution is change the kitchen sink to countertop kitchen sink which the edges are on the top of your table. Then you apply the adhesive under the edges so you wont see it even if it grows mold. This post has been edited by Si kutu rayau: Feb 5 2020, 10:11 AM |
Feb 5 2020, 05:34 PM
2,512 posts Joined: Sep 2007 |
QUOTE(Si kutu rayau @ Feb 5 2020, 10:09 AM) In your case you use undermount kitchen sink which requires to apply adhesives at the top of the edges. It can't be avoided because the mold will grow no matter which kind of adhesive you apply, even you use cement it will still grow. But if you dont want to apply the water will leak through there. Only solution is temporary which is reapply the silicone from time to time. Wow... Your explanation is so clear and accurate! The condition is what you described!Another long term solution is change the kitchen sink to countertop kitchen sink which the edges are on the top of your table. Then you apply the adhesive under the edges so you wont see it even if it grows mold. Erm.... I got you mean! In fact , rebuild the counter top might spend a lot, right ? (How much around?) So the cheapest way is to apply silicone time to time. You agree? |
Feb 5 2020, 07:24 PM
QUOTE(mactreouser @ Feb 5 2020, 05:34 PM) Wow... Your explanation is so clear and accurate! The condition is what you described! Can you take the picture of the whole kitchen sink? So I can see better. Erm.... I got you mean! In fact , rebuild the counter top might spend a lot, right ? (How much around?) So the cheapest way is to apply silicone time to time. You agree? Do your kitchen sink have existing table? If yes then you can find a kitchen sink which look like this: No need to rebuild the table. You can just find the same type of sink shown in the video. You apply the silicone under it. You wont see it even it grows mold. Price for the sink I think around RM300 depends on size and material. |
Feb 6 2020, 12:32 PM
812 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: FantasyLand |
have to scrape it all off!
that looks disgusting though |
Feb 6 2020, 11:15 PM
4,954 posts Joined: Jul 2010 |
QUOTE(Si kutu rayau @ Feb 5 2020, 10:09 AM) In your case you use undermount kitchen sink which requires to apply adhesives at the top of the edges. It can't be avoided because the mold will grow no matter which kind of adhesive you apply, even you use cement it will still grow. But if you dont want to apply the water will leak through there. Only solution is temporary which is reapply the silicone from time to time. Water on table top might seep through the edge as the raised kitchen sink edge causes water retention. My parents' kitchen sink has this issue.Another long term solution is change the kitchen sink to countertop kitchen sink which the edges are on the top of your table. Then you apply the adhesive under the edges so you wont see it even if it grows mold. |
Feb 6 2020, 11:17 PM
Show posts by this member only | IPv6 | Post
3,190 posts Joined: Dec 2017 |
Feb 7 2020, 05:46 AM
812 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: FantasyLand |
Feb 7 2020, 08:03 AM
1,301 posts Joined: Sep 2012 |
How bout cleaning the sink and toilet more often? Like spray with dettol and wiping it once a week
Feb 7 2020, 08:05 AM
1,170 posts Joined: Apr 2011 From: Deus Vult |
get anti mold silicone caulk
Feb 7 2020, 08:32 AM
QUOTE(mushigen @ Feb 6 2020, 11:15 PM) Water on table top might seep through the edge as the raised kitchen sink edge causes water retention. My parents' kitchen sink has this issue. That's why you need to apply adhesives as well under the edge to prevent water seeping under the sink. It will still grow mold under there but at least you can't see it. Yes you can't push the water into the sink anymore with that kind of sink. You can only wipe it with clothes. This post has been edited by Si kutu rayau: Feb 7 2020, 08:40 AM |
Feb 7 2020, 10:37 AM
4,954 posts Joined: Jul 2010 |
QUOTE(Si kutu rayau @ Feb 7 2020, 08:32 AM) That's why you need to apply adhesives as well under the edge to prevent water seeping under the sink. It will still grow mold under there but at least you can't see it. Re-applied dy. Still kena. That's why I don't think having water accumulation at the raised edge of sink is not a good idea.Yes you can't push the water into the sink anymore with that kind of sink. You can only wipe it with clothes. |
Feb 7 2020, 11:02 AM
QUOTE(mushigen @ Feb 7 2020, 10:37 AM) Re-applied dy. Still kena. That's why I don't think having water accumulation at the raised edge of sink is not a good idea. I asked my sifu about this. He said to prevent water seeping down there need to reapply the silicone time to time. Because silicone will damage as well if exposed to water for long time.As for TS, yes now the better solution is reapply the silicone time to time since you need to do the same thing if you change the sink. Yes at least you can't see the mold but othe problem will arise. |
| Change to: | 0.0164sec
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 08:23 PM |