About dory fish...

SUSCandy12
post Aug 23 2020, 02:59 PM

1,878 posts

QUOTE(h0riz0nLine @ Feb 3 2020, 03:46 PM)
I wonder why many restaurant like to use this kind of fish when they are preparing fish n' chips. It tastes like wet sock. The meat texture feels like tissue paper ya wipe your ass with. The only redemption is the crispy batter with white sauce and lemon, and it still doesn't taste all that good. If you are making one, do yourself a favor. I suggest you go find any mackerel/tenggiri or any other fish.
TS in dilemma.

He/She expect to pay in worthless Ringgit but get Atlantic Cod fish in local Malaysian restaurants.

What you pay is what you get la.

In some countries you pay US$20 for real lobster burger, you expect to pay RM20 to get lobster burger also in Malaysia. If got also ours might be using fake crab meat for the RM20 one selling at our local shops.
SUSCandy12
post Aug 23 2020, 03:13 PM

1,878 posts

QUOTE(h0riz0nLine @ Aug 23 2020, 03:10 PM)
This tred is old but

I don’t say need to be Cod Fish level la bru

There’s still many local fishes that can beat dory hands down, even cheap one.

The reason they are using dory is because it’s cheap and easy to get from any frozen food supplier no need fillet all ready made

But it’s still crap
The next compensation for dory would probably be tillapia for Malaysian 3rd world grade fish.

Got one famous shop in Ipoh use Tillapia instead of dory here last time.
SUSCandy12
post Aug 23 2020, 03:19 PM

1,878 posts

The secret is beer, paprika and flour.

SUSCandy12
post Aug 23 2020, 03:23 PM

1,878 posts

British original recipe.

Beer + Cod Fish paid with British Pound.

SUSCandy12
post Aug 23 2020, 03:40 PM

1,878 posts

Dory fish got possibility come from Vietnam fish farms where the water is contaminated with lead and mercury due to industrialization and gold mining there last time.

Atlantic Cod is the best ingredient for fish & cheap but out Ringgit buying power most won't be able to afford it.
SUSCandy12
post Aug 23 2020, 03:50 PM

1,878 posts

QUOTE(StarScream01 @ Aug 23 2020, 03:48 PM)
Dory are cheap fish, mostly farmed from various parts of the Mekong river
Mekong River water is very dirty and contaminated. High content of lead and mercury.
SUSCandy12
post Aug 23 2020, 04:24 PM

1,878 posts

QUOTE(cms @ Aug 23 2020, 04:20 PM)
Siapa tak mau cod, kurau, garoupa -tikus, 7star, dragon, Soo mei, kelah, hantu, etc.

Tepuk wallet Tanya selera bro. If the fish and chips is like RM 120 a piece, how can a normal family afford/ how many will order.

If restaurant charge expensive dory then memang tamak like shit.
Economists argument says use GDP(PPP), we can buy Fish N' Chips for RM10, Brits buy Fish N' Chips for 10 Pounds.

We have higher purchasing power than Brits.
SUSCandy12
post Aug 23 2020, 04:45 PM

1,878 posts

QUOTE(cms @ Aug 23 2020, 04:35 PM)
If the goods or service is equalavent in quality, raw material and workmanship I guess it's somewhat true?
What you pay is what you get.

If you believe you can get the same quality and raw material will lower value Ringgit, you're kidding yourself of not understanding what money value is about.
SUSCandy12
post Aug 23 2020, 07:31 PM

1,878 posts

QUOTE(waghyu @ Aug 23 2020, 07:04 PM)
Well, it’s cheap. Thats what you get for paying cheap.
What to do?

Malaysian earning and purchasing power is low.

0.0185sec    0.63    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 01:36 AM