X70 CKD [ 78 ] ** [77.23%]
Total Votes: 101
Guests cannot vote 

SUSchrisseow
post Feb 3 2020, 12:07 PM, updated 6y ago

92 posts

I have a customer who asking Proton X70 CBU better or CKD?

My dealer answer CBU is better because of anything import in terms of quality and also QC better.

My own thinking is CKD all sort of things will be cheaper because parts are locally assembled not import so reduce in taxes.

what do you guys think about it?
SUSJunctionProduce
post Feb 3 2020, 11:50 PM

23 posts

Work hard or drive a Potong ...
arinpresto
post Feb 3 2020, 11:53 PM

36 posts

Reduce banyak ke bro?
SUSBluePants
post Feb 3 2020, 11:54 PM

20 posts

Stop promoting your crappy YouTube channel. It just sucks.
blanket84
post Feb 4 2020, 12:00 AM

1,521 posts

It’s china cbu, not jepang or germany cbu.

So, not much difference from ckd.
syahmie8

18 posts

U tak buat study ke? Ckd model got few improvements.. Better than cbu one.. What la u..
malibuchong

124 posts

QUOTE(JunctionProduce @ Feb 3 2020, 11:50 PM)
SUSBillCollector
post Feb 4 2020, 12:04 AM

818 posts

CBU better as no DCT gearbox which can be complex and expensive to repair when something does go wrong with it.
wild_card_my
post Feb 4 2020, 12:07 AM

6,562 posts

I still have my Persona Elegance, my family drives Protons, my wife, Iriz.

Nothing wrong with Proton, if you can afford more and want to get a better ride, do so but not at the expense of your financial security

I actually prefer people upgrading from Proton to their dream cars (BMW, Merc, Audi, what have you) then upgrading from a Proton to T/H just because they want a foreign brand. At City/Vios and CRV/CX5 levels the local makers have corresponding models

otakotak
post Feb 4 2020, 12:08 AM

280 posts

where "don't buy" option?
Pugbunny
post Feb 4 2020, 12:08 AM

717 posts

QUOTE(BillCollector @ Feb 4 2020, 12:04 AM)
CBU better as no DCT gearbox which can be complex and expensive to repair when something does go wrong with it.
Geely claimed the DCT can last for at least 350,000km
$kidzl
post Feb 4 2020, 12:10 AM

96 posts

QUOTE(Pugbunny @ Feb 4 2020, 12:08 AM)
Automakers can promise you the heaven and sky.

And when shit starts to happen, you see lah how they'll treat you đŸ˜‚
SUSahter
post Feb 4 2020, 12:12 AM

266 posts

Yr dealer wana clear CBU stock
tokdukun
post Feb 4 2020, 12:13 AM

376 posts

Those that say CBU rugi, remember that getting the car earlier has its premium. They don't rugi, just they're paying for the privilege to experience the car earlier.

Newer model will always be better, it's business. Proton/Geely can't be expected to halt improvements to jaga hati earlier owners, they need those improvements to compete better in the market.
SUSBillCollector
post Feb 4 2020, 12:14 AM

818 posts

So?
JungWoo
post Feb 4 2020, 12:16 AM

1,043 posts

I think u are not buying anyway bcs dont even know the new spec

So why bother.
Drian
post Feb 4 2020, 12:24 AM

4,999 posts

Without any written guarantee they can claim anything.

When they can offer 10 year warranty or 350k on gearbox then only talk.

jesserider223
post Feb 4 2020, 12:29 AM

173 posts

i have faith in geely

but 350k is such a big claim

i remain wait and see

but i so want geely to be no1 in dct reliability, i might buy one

jesserider223
post Feb 4 2020, 12:31 AM

173 posts

QUOTE(JungWoo @ Feb 4 2020, 12:16 AM)
I think u are not buying anyway bcs dont even know the new spec

So why bother.
he is a car salesman

buka tered just for show and views only

jesserider223
post Feb 4 2020, 12:33 AM

173 posts

QUOTE(tokdukun @ Feb 4 2020, 12:13 AM)
Those that say CBU rugi, remember that getting the car earlier has its premium. They don't rugi, just they're paying for the privilege to experience the car earlier.

Newer model will always be better, it's business. Proton/Geely can't be expected to halt improvements to jaga hati earlier owners, they need those improvements to compete better in the market.
very well said, tokdukun

great perspective

support2

SUSJunctionProduce
post Feb 4 2020, 12:33 AM

23 posts

QUOTE(jesserider223 @ Feb 4 2020, 12:31 AM)
he is a car salesman

buka tered just for show and views only
Kasi chan la macha...
ze2
post Feb 4 2020, 12:38 AM

319 posts

The diff between a wise person and sohai glorifying dct.
destee88
post Feb 4 2020, 09:37 AM

1,385 posts

QUOTE(chrisseow @ Feb 3 2020, 12:07 PM)
I have a customer who asking Proton X70 CBU better or CKD?

My dealer answer CBU is better because of anything import in terms of quality and also QC better.

My own thinking is CKD all sort of things will be cheaper because parts are locally assembled not import so reduce in taxes.

what do you guys think about it?
but but CBU got possible wuhan virus wor ... better take CKD , new gearbox , new engine generation , confirm slightly lower price .. y still take old model CBU unit ??? want buy better buy newest
wild_card_my
post Feb 4 2020, 09:41 AM

6,562 posts

QUOTE(destee88 @ Feb 4 2020, 09:37 AM)
but but CBU got possible wuhan virus wor ... better take CKD , new gearbox , new engine generation , confirm slightly lower price .. y still take old model CBU unit ??? want buy better buy newest
New doesn't always mean better, especially when they are different technologies

If you compare an auto GB from a reputable manufacturer, ZF for example between their old 8-speed to the newer iteration 8-speed or even the upcoming 9-speet AT, then there are arguments to be made that "newer is better"

But when you compare the 6AT and the DCT, these are apples to oranges. Mechanically they are different and would have different reliability limits; you can't break physics, DCT is more prone to errors and expensive to repair
destee88
post Feb 4 2020, 09:44 AM

1,385 posts

QUOTE(wild_card_my @ Feb 4 2020, 09:41 AM)
New doesn't always mean better, especially when they are different technologies

If you compare an auto GB from a reputable manufacturer, ZF for example between their old 8-speed to the newer iteration 8-speed or even the upcoming 9-speet AT, then there are arguments to be made that "newer is better"

But when you compare the 6AT and the DCT, these are apples to oranges. Mechanically they are different and would have different reliability limits; you can't break physics, DCT is more prone to errors and expensive to repair
but but tongsan made parts very cheap only .. u can pre order parts by urself at taobao if want more cheaper .. if got money sure we wanna try DCT wet la since cannot try on mostly expensive cars .. now potong got DCT wet
SUSchrisseow
post Feb 4 2020, 09:50 AM

92 posts

I think different people have different opinion in it, that's why this poll would help buyers decision on it.
post Feb 4 2020, 09:57 AM

EimiFukada
14,242 posts

CKD with 7CDT and 15HP/30NM more.

destee88
post Feb 4 2020, 10:05 AM

1,385 posts

QUOTE(chrisseow @ Feb 4 2020, 09:50 AM)
I think different people have different opinion in it, that's why this poll would help buyers decision on it.
unless CBU disacount Rm10K+++ mayb can pick
cfa28
post Feb 4 2020, 10:07 AM

4,830 posts

I don't trust DCT
kcchong2000
post Feb 4 2020, 10:11 AM

189 posts

QUOTE(tokdukun @ Feb 4 2020, 12:13 AM)

My fren had a proverb. Early buy, early privilege, later buy got cheaper deal.

So there no right or wrong answer in ckd and CBU, it just u want be early access aka beta tester or goty edition saje. whistling.gif

CKD pariah quality is bullshit IMO. Is whether the boss got tighten the local qc or not. If MD proton tighten the QC and production team, CKD can had CBU quality.

This post has been edited by kcchong2000: Feb 4 2020, 10:12 AM
wild_card_my
post Feb 4 2020, 10:11 AM

6,562 posts

QUOTE(destee88 @ Feb 4 2020, 09:44 AM)
but but tongsan made parts  very cheap only .. u can pre order parts by urself at taobao if want more cheaper .. if got money sure we wanna try DCT wet la since cannot try on mostly expensive cars .. now potong got DCT wet
but the DCT installed in CKD x70 is still made in China if I am not mistaken; the car is only assembled here (from imported parts), with the most important components like engines and GB imported straight from China

DCT inherently is more problematic than AT, reliability is more important for some manufacturers since they do not have to have future headache (See Ford).
destee88
post Feb 4 2020, 10:23 AM

1,385 posts

QUOTE(wild_card_my @ Feb 4 2020, 10:11 AM)
but the DCT installed in CKD x70 is still made in China if I am not mistaken; the car is only assembled here (from imported parts), with the most important components like engines and GB imported straight from China

DCT inherently is more problematic than AT, reliability is more important for some manufacturers since they do not have to have future headache (See Ford).
aiya u worried too much la... cannot compare lapsap brand like ford ... this is geely tongsan brand we haven try yet dun judge the quality first, nowadays tongsan quality edy advacned and improved almost same level as other advanced countries... even is spoil i belief spare parts very very very cheap nia .. MADE in TONGSAN mean is sibeh cheap
wild_card_my
post Feb 4 2020, 10:33 AM

6,562 posts

QUOTE(destee88 @ Feb 4 2020, 10:23 AM)
aiya u worried too much la... cannot compare lapsap brand like ford ... this is geely tongsan brand we haven try yet dun judge the quality first, nowadays tongsan quality edy advacned and improved almost same level as other advanced countries... even is spoil i belief spare parts very very very cheap nia .. MADE in TONGSAN mean is sibeh cheap
whatever you want to believe about Tongsan quality, DCT is still problematic. You are not driving a performance car, there is no need for a DCT; even German marques reserve their DCT for performance models (AMG, M) while plebs like C class and 3 series only use AT
destee88
post Feb 4 2020, 10:36 AM

1,385 posts

QUOTE(wild_card_my @ Feb 4 2020, 10:33 AM)
whatever you want to believe about Tongsan quality, DCT is still problematic. You are not driving a performance car, there is no need for a DCT; even German marques reserve their DCT for performance models (AMG, M) while plebs like C class and 3 series only use AT
geely try used their own made DCT mostly all on their new product sure there is purpose of it ... we will see once CKD arrive malaysia ppl can tell how good it is for DCT ..

This post has been edited by destee88: Feb 4 2020, 10:37 AM
wild_card_my
post Feb 4 2020, 10:41 AM

6,562 posts

QUOTE(destee88 @ Feb 4 2020, 10:36 AM)
geely try used  their own made DCT mostly all on their new product  sure there is purpose of it ... we will see once CKD arrive malaysia ppl can tell how good it is for DCT ..
Yeah I think they want to do away with AT, and streamline all their products with DCT. If they do well, good, I still have reservations against DCT and will have my circles avoid DCT, at least for the time being

The DCT used in this X70 CKD is a new model, Volvo-Geely claims that it is "awesome" and "reliable". They claim lah, you want to be their lab rats? If I was in a market for a car right now, Ill go for AT or reliable and proven CVT

Why are you so mati2 for this DCT by Geely? You got their shares is it? Just bought Tongsan shares due to their dip yesterday? laugh.gif
arcadicus
post Feb 4 2020, 10:42 AM

213 posts

u just came out of cave isit??

now "work hard or drive a toyolta"
TheLegend27
post Feb 4 2020, 10:45 AM

1,692 posts

which 1 give more discount?
touristking
post Feb 4 2020, 10:47 AM

5,831 posts

QUOTE(wild_card_my @ Feb 4 2020, 03:41 AM)
Yeah I think they want to do away with AT, and streamline all their products with DCT. If they do well, good, I still have reservations against DCT and will have my circles avoid DCT, at least for the time being

The DCT used in this X70 CKD is a new model, Volvo-Geely claims that it is "awesome" and "reliable". They claim lah, you want to be their lab rats? If I was in a market for a car right now, Ill go for AT or reliable and proven CVT

Why are you so mati2 for this DCT by Geely? You got their shares is it? Just bought Tongsan shares due to their dip yesterday? laugh.gif
when cars come out with CVT, they also say same thing....not reliable....hard to repair....

destee88
post Feb 4 2020, 10:48 AM

1,385 posts

QUOTE(wild_card_my @ Feb 4 2020, 10:41 AM)

just let everyone know who interest in upcoming CKD with advantages for a DCT and try do not confuse ppl by compare lapsap ford DCT and geely DCT
wild_card_my
post Feb 4 2020, 10:49 AM

6,562 posts

QUOTE(touristking @ Feb 4 2020, 10:47 AM)
when cars come out with CVT, they also say same thing....not reliable....hard to repair....
New tech biasa lah. Let others be Volvo's test bed lah. AT is reliable, DCT? Look at Ford.

Geely can claim whatever reliability numbers they want. Buy their later gens DCT
touristking
post Feb 4 2020, 10:51 AM

5,831 posts

QUOTE(wild_card_my @ Feb 4 2020, 03:49 AM)
New tech biasa lah. Let others be Volvo's test bed lah. AT is reliable, DCT? Look at Ford.

Geely can claim whatever reliability numbers they want. Buy their later gens DCT
I remember, for small car, Honda City was one of the earliest to use CVT. At the time, many people say.....hard to repair....not reliable etc.

Now, CVT is so comon.

Geely isn't the 1st with DCT and DCT have been around for some time already.

wild_card_my
post Feb 4 2020, 10:52 AM

6,562 posts

QUOTE(destee88 @ Feb 4 2020, 10:48 AM)
just let everyone know who interest in upcoming CKD with advantages for a DCT and try do not confuse ppl by compare lapsap ford DCT and geely DCT
DCT is DCT. We shouldn't rely on just the manufacturer 350k km reliability tests right?

AT is mature tech, CVT is proven. These GBs have been used in lower-end cars for decades. DCT in cheap cars are still new, why risk it? Ok perhaps you want to try having DCT in your car at your price points, that is fine

But you are taking a risk here. To each his own. If I was in a market for an SUV, I wouldn't go for DCT from Geely for the time being
destee88
post Feb 4 2020, 10:52 AM

1,385 posts

QUOTE(touristking @ Feb 4 2020, 10:47 AM)
kasi him chance la.. maybe he/she dun like tongsan made cars with so advance DCT GB in cheapo price and jelly
wild_card_my
post Feb 4 2020, 10:56 AM

6,562 posts

QUOTE(touristking @ Feb 4 2020, 10:51 AM)
I remember, for small car, Honda City was one of the earliest to use CVT. At the time, many people say.....hard to repair....not reliable etc.

Now, CVT is so comon.

Geely isn't the 1st with DCT and DCT have been around for some time already.
4th gen City CVT

5th gen City AT

Now they are all CVT

Maybe you will face the same rate as 4th gen City owners, when it was problematic, which promoted Honda to change back to AT

At the time, CVT wasn't new tech, yet Honda still had reliability issues with it. It wasn't their first CVT car too.

Despite all this, you still want to jump in DCT with Geely. I'd say don't go for bleeding edge tech yet unproven, go for matured tech. Go AT

But hey, its your car, your choices
darth5zaft
post Feb 4 2020, 10:57 AM

901 posts

QUOTE(kcchong2000 @ Feb 4 2020, 10:11 AM)

So there no right or wrong answer in ckd and CBU, it just u want be early access aka beta tester or goty edition saje. whistling.gif

CKD pariah quality is bullshit IMO. Is whether the boss got tighten the local qc or not. If MD proton tighten the QC and production team, CKD can had CBU quality.
we are talking about Chinese CBU here not neepornjin CBU.
doubt there's a quality difference
dares
post Feb 4 2020, 11:01 AM

834 posts

QUOTE(wild_card_my @ Feb 4 2020, 10:11 AM)

Psstt....previous gen A-class (W176) uses DCT from A180 all the way to A45.

This post has been edited by dares: Feb 4 2020, 11:02 AM
wild_card_my
post Feb 4 2020, 11:07 AM

6,562 posts

QUOTE(dares @ Feb 4 2020, 11:01 AM)
Psstt....previous gen A-class (W176) uses DCT from A180 all the way to A45.
A-class models are meant and marketed for boy racers that value speed and acceleration which can benefit from the DCT. Perhaps Mercedes have decided to streamline the design across models in the A classes. Not impossible that the chassis was designed for their DCT and having a mix of DCT and AT in that class across different models would be too expensive design as well as manufacturing wise

But in general the basic cars like C and E, or 3 and 5 all use reliable AT, perhaps due to reliability or cost concerns - or both as reliability affects the bottomline especially when these cars are broken while under warranty

These German marques must have done their numbers when choosing the design for all their cars

This post has been edited by wild_card_my: Feb 4 2020, 11:11 AM
bai1101
post Feb 4 2020, 11:12 AM

I am Pervert
1,613 posts

If wet dct than should be less issue.

If dry dct u better hope u daily drive is not high jam area if not prepare for chance of failure due to high temperature
dares
post Feb 4 2020, 11:13 AM

834 posts

QUOTE(wild_card_my @ Feb 4 2020, 11:07 AM)
A-class models are meant and marketed for boy racers that value speed and acceleration which can benefit from the DCT. Perhaps Mercedes have decided to streamline the design across models in the A classes. Bot impossible that the chassis was designed for their DCT and having a mix of DCT and AT in that class across different models would be too expensive design as well as manufacturing wise

But in general the basic cars like C and E, or 3 and 5 all use reliable AT, perhaps due to reliability or cost concerns - or both as reliability affects the bottomline especially when these cars are broken while under warranty

These German marques must have done their numbers when choosing the design for all their cars

That level of putar, jibby also kalah laugh.gif

wild_card_my
post Feb 4 2020, 11:13 AM

6,562 posts

QUOTE(bai1101 @ Feb 4 2020, 11:12 AM)
If wet dct than should be less issue.

If dry dct u better hope u daily drive is not high jam area if not prepare for chance of failure due to high temperature
Geely ones for the x70 ckd are wet dcts
wild_card_my
post Feb 4 2020, 11:15 AM

6,562 posts

QUOTE(dares @ Feb 4 2020, 11:13 AM)

Haha then you tell BMW and Mercedes to use DCTs for all their cars la. Since you all know so much laugh.gif

So many engineers and executives here
bai1101
post Feb 4 2020, 11:21 AM

I am Pervert
1,613 posts

QUOTE(wild_card_my @ Feb 4 2020, 11:13 AM)
Geely ones for the x70 ckd are wet dcts
Should be less worry than
But don't hope quality will up to par compare to the well known factory.

Many switch to dct also because of costing since AT and CVT pattern right is more expensive compare to dct
ycs
post Feb 4 2020, 12:13 PM

4,234 posts

cheap sale laugh.gif
jycy98
post Feb 4 2020, 12:22 PM

100 posts

QUOTE(ycs @ Feb 4 2020, 12:13 PM)
cheap sale laugh.gif
Deposit : 27k
death_nite
post Feb 4 2020, 12:26 PM

Lossless Land...
2,366 posts

QUOTE(ycs @ Feb 4 2020, 12:13 PM)
cheap sale laugh.gif
Not sale. Sambung bayar somemore. Not legal. Later habis bayar owner refuse tukar nama. Gg
Quazacolt
post Feb 4 2020, 12:41 PM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(wild_card_my @ Feb 4 2020, 12:07 AM)
I actually prefer people upgrading from Proton to their dream cars (BMW, Merc, Audi, what have you) then upgrading from a Proton to T/H just because they want a foreign brand. At City/Vios and CRV/CX5 levels the local makers have corresponding models
Hahaha
Still on that pedestal

Take heed: the higher/longer you stay there, the more painful it is when you fall.
Quazacolt
post Feb 4 2020, 12:53 PM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(destee88 @ Feb 4 2020, 10:52 AM)
kasi him chance la.. maybe he/she dun like tongsan made cars with so advance DCT GB in cheapo price and jelly
People closet racist, no need chance
Quazacolt
post Feb 4 2020, 12:56 PM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(dares @ Feb 4 2020, 11:13 AM)

Aboh how he uang besor uang besor buy BMW

We plebs go play one corner
papaya2
post Feb 4 2020, 01:01 PM

387 posts

talk here talk there,, still not launch CDK model yet...
foohoa
post Feb 4 2020, 01:05 PM

981 posts

the normal modern gearbox also every expensive to repair
and the term of expensive at here is how much?
manypplwan
post Feb 4 2020, 01:09 PM

274 posts

My civic ketam using CVT also got problem. Why bother arguing about DCT and all lol
@rleng
post Feb 4 2020, 01:09 PM

176 posts

waiting for the pro version, better dashboard design
dares
post Feb 4 2020, 02:15 PM

834 posts

QUOTE(wild_card_my @ Feb 4 2020, 11:15 AM)
So many engineers and executives here
But you think you behave any different than those you mock.

What am I talking about, of course you do.
post Feb 4 2020, 02:17 PM

EimiFukada
14,242 posts

QUOTE(manypplwan @ Feb 4 2020, 01:09 PM)
My civic ketam using CVT also got problem. Why bother arguing about DCT and all lol
Ur katam cvt problem ape?
dares
post Feb 4 2020, 02:17 PM

834 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Feb 4 2020, 12:56 PM)
Aboh how he uang besor uang besor buy BMW

We plebs go play one corner
sorry bos, which corner you want to meet? SIC T15 ok mou?
Quazacolt
post Feb 4 2020, 02:22 PM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(dares @ Feb 4 2020, 02:17 PM)
sorry bos, which corner you want to meet? SIC T15 ok mou?
T14 ba
Con9lan7firm die

And most of my battle scars currently gotten from there.
Under steering RWD was a rude wake up call for me and my friend riding taxi at that time laugh.gif
post Feb 4 2020, 02:23 PM

EimiFukada
14,242 posts

QUOTE(wild_card_my @ Feb 4 2020, 11:07 AM)
A-class models are meant and marketed for boy racers that value speed and acceleration which can benefit from the DCT. Perhaps Mercedes have decided to streamline the design across models in the A classes. Not impossible that the chassis was designed for their DCT and having a mix of DCT and AT in that class across different models would be too expensive design as well as manufacturing wise

I also want to ask the current A class model with 1.3L Turbo engine... why the car drink so much EO ?
Quazacolt
post Feb 4 2020, 02:25 PM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(0168257061 @ Feb 4 2020, 02:23 PM)
I also want to ask the current A class model with 1.3L Turbo engine... why the car drink so much EO ?
Said jor for racers

Race car drink engine oil, normal la!
tokdukun
post Feb 4 2020, 02:32 PM

376 posts

QUOTE(kcchong2000 @ Feb 4 2020, 10:11 AM)

Yea, that's the way it always has been, always will be.

For the past year following owner's fb group, can say quite many happy customers, some less fortunate facing some QC problem, afaik they eventually manage to fix them.

As an outsider observing all that, i think they paid for the chance to experience all that. So their car depreciates or miss out on newer 7DCT, big deal. RV, 7DCT can't buy that experience, i think only they have the right to weight whether they feel rugi or not.

And yea, CKD pariah is BS. It depends on how strict they manage the production line. Long term thinking company like Geely ain't too cheapskate to neglect that to save cost.
manypplwan
post Feb 4 2020, 02:49 PM

274 posts

QUOTE(0168257061 @ Feb 4 2020, 02:17 PM)
Ur katam cvt problem ape?
Not CVT problem. Not enough power problem tongue.gif
post Feb 4 2020, 02:52 PM

EimiFukada
14,242 posts

QUOTE(manypplwan @ Feb 4 2020, 02:49 PM)
Not CVT problem. Not enough power problem tongue.gif
Hondata whistling.gif
touristking
post Feb 4 2020, 03:45 PM

5,831 posts

QUOTE(destee88 @ Feb 4 2020, 03:52 AM)
iphone jelly?

they made dirt cheap and lousy stuff and not cheap and good stuff.
Lez Pall
post Feb 4 2020, 09:49 PM

46 posts

Let's be real, the 6AT inside the CBU model doesn't seem all that smart, efficient or reliable. Seems like quite a few complain about jerking/hesitation, makan minyak etc with that gearbox.
ze2
post Feb 4 2020, 10:02 PM

319 posts

QUOTE(Lez Pall @ Feb 4 2020, 09:49 PM)
Let's be real, the 6AT inside the CBU model doesn't seem all that smart, efficient or reliable. Seems like quite a few complain about jerking/hesitation, makan minyak etc with that gearbox.
Janji murah!! Syiok sendiri got vulvu dna some said

GuyM
post Feb 7 2020, 11:37 AM

1,787 posts

SUSBillCollector
post Feb 7 2020, 12:45 PM

818 posts

QUOTE(foohoa @ Feb 4 2020, 01:05 PM)
the normal modern gearbox also every expensive to repair
and the term of expensive at here is how much?
The difference between a DCT and TCAT modern or not is the complexity of it as well as probability of it failing.

A TCAT if you maintain it by just changing the fluids and filter once a year or once every 2 years and for as long as you use proper fluids and don't tow anything heavy that transmission would rarely ever fail. If it fails then you are in deep shit as most modern ones are extremely expensive to fix as well as the main failure points tend to be the bearings and seals the next are the clutch packs or the solenoids, finally the part that is expensive will be the planetary gears inside the transmission. The problem comes where most people who own cars generally don't realize the symptoms of the gearbox failing at an early stage or some simply don't care and just carry on driving.

I've seen Peroduas with over 400,000km over 10 years old and still running on the same AT.

DCTs? There are several failure points for it, experiences from owning an Alfa Romeo with a TCT as well as a Ford with PowerShift, the Ford was under warranty for the entire time it was with us so no idea how much it would have cost to fix anything on it, it did need recalibration everytime the car was serviced or the shifts would be jerky, I was told the clutchpack and actuators does need to be replaced every so often.
The Alfa Romeo TCT has its origins in the infamous Selespeed single-clutch semi-automatic transmission. They are the pioneers in these types of clutchless manual transmissions which by the way isn't really as new as people think it is, this one when I had it was no longer under warranty and was basically a contra-account car, the transmission and turbo was having issues and yeah it proved to be costly to fix. First there was pressure pump and sensor, the pump cost RM1,800 and the sensor RM600, the second thing that needed replacement was the actuators, new one cost RM4,800 if you carried it yourself from Britain, then there was the solenoids, cost around RM1,800 per piece and each gear has one and finally there it is the clutch pack which cost RM3,000 for a rebuilt one and only available to you if you can carry the old pack to Britain to exchange, else you are looking at RM5,300 and finally there is the labor charge which cost me RM1,200 for that complete rebuild. I drove it a month and quickly flogged it off.

You can give yourself a 30% discount for that one by Geely and maybe you could extend the lifespan by 50% but eventually those wear and tear parts will need to be replaced. That Alfa was 4 years old and done 60,000km when I took it over. It started with leaky actuators, previous owner kept driving it till the pressure pump caused it to jam. I decided to give it a full overhaul as otherwise difficult to sell on. Thankfully a very pretty MILF bought it and I was happy it went to a good home.
Zaryl
post Feb 7 2020, 12:52 PM

Hardcore Casual Gamer
1,709 posts

QUOTE(BillCollector @ Feb 7 2020, 12:45 PM)
The difference between a DCT and TCAT modern or not is the complexity of it as well as probability of it failing.

A TCAT if you maintain it by just changing the fluids and filter once a year or once every 2 years and for as long as you use proper fluids and don't tow anything heavy that transmission would rarely ever fail. If it fails then you are in deep shit as most modern ones are extremely expensive to fix as well as the main failure points tend to be the bearings and seals the next are the clutch packs or the solenoids, finally the part that is expensive will be the planetary gears inside the transmission. The problem comes where most people who own cars generally don't realize the symptoms of the gearbox failing at an early stage or some simply don't care and just carry on driving.

I've seen Peroduas with over 400,000km over 10 years old and still running on the same AT.

DCTs? There are several failure points for it, experiences from owning an Alfa Romeo with a TCT as well as a Ford with PowerShift, the Ford was under warranty for the entire time it was with us so no idea how much it would have cost to fix anything on it, it did need recalibration everytime the car was serviced or the shifts would be jerky, I was told the clutchpack and actuators does need to be replaced every so often.
The Alfa Romeo TCT has its origins in the infamous Selespeed single-clutch semi-automatic transmission. They are the pioneers in these types of clutchless manual transmissions which by the way isn't really as new as people think it is, this one when I had it was no longer under warranty and was basically a contra-account car, the transmission and turbo was having issues and yeah it proved to be costly to fix. First there was pressure pump and sensor, the pump cost RM1,800 and the sensor RM600, the second thing that needed replacement was the actuators, new one cost RM4,800 if you carried it yourself from Britain, then there was the solenoids, cost around RM1,800 per piece and each gear has one and finally there it is the clutch pack which cost RM3,000 for a rebuilt one and only available to you if you can carry the old pack to Britain to exchange, else you are looking at RM5,300 and finally there is the labor charge which cost me RM1,200 for that complete rebuild. I drove it a month and quickly flogged it off.

You can give yourself a 30% discount for that one by Geely and maybe you could extend the lifespan by 50% but eventually those wear and tear parts will need to be replaced. That Alfa was 4 years old and done 60,000km when I took it over. It started with leaky actuators, previous owner kept driving it till the pressure pump caused it to jam. I decided to give it a full overhaul as otherwise difficult to sell on. Thankfully a very pretty MILF bought it and I was happy it went to a good home.
normally what's the manufacturer's recommended maximum mileage lifetime for a TCAT & DCT gearbox will be?

150,000km?
300,000km?
SUSBillCollector
post Feb 7 2020, 02:52 PM

818 posts

QUOTE(Zaryl @ Feb 7 2020, 12:52 PM)
normally what's the manufacturer's recommended maximum mileage lifetime for a TCAT & DCT gearbox will be?

150,000km?
300,000km?
Generally? Read up on the American model of that car and find out how long the warranty is, add 50% and that's the lifespan of it.

0.0634sec    0.85    8 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 11:21 PM