TSvignesh77
Jan 30 2020, 09:29 AM, updated 6y ago

Hi sifus,
My house just finished reno and was fine for 1 month. Recently noticed the main circuit breaker keeps tripping occasionally.
Like twice in the afternoon and 2-4 times at early morning when every one is sleeping. I have tried to switch off the fans, aircond and its just the same. The only thing is running 24/7 is my fridge which i also used an extension to connect with upstairs switch (1 have 2 DB, upstairs & downstairs).
The thing is it doesn't trip the individual breaker, but the main breaker is the one that gets tripped.
Any solution might be helpful.
ozak
Jan 30 2020, 09:34 AM
Get an electrician to check.
It might be easy or difficult to check.
kkm
Jan 30 2020, 09:35 AM
Happened before in my friend's house, also after rewiring. Check the main connection into the fuse box from the TNB supply.
marvinben
Jan 30 2020, 09:37 AM

1. Check all connections at the MCB are tight and secure. 2. Use a current clamp meter to monitor the load on the incoming line. If you have a 63A breaker, you dont want the load current to exceed 80% continously.
FlamingR
Jan 30 2020, 09:40 AM
Usually if it doesn't trip the individual ones, it could be electrical items itself faulty. Have you tried turning off your fridge?
Also, is the tripping consistently at roughly the same time? It could be some electric current overload/exposed wire.
Your best bet is still using the elimination method, one by one and test each socket, each connected electrical appliances.
jibpek
Jan 30 2020, 09:44 AM
Water leaking?
Overloaded? (too many appliances?)
Damaged appliances?
Zot
Jan 30 2020, 09:46 AM
If you don't know much or never do any wiring, just call an electrician to check.
It probably just a faulty circuit breaker.
kkm
Jan 30 2020, 09:46 AM
QUOTE(kkm @ Jan 30 2020, 09:35 AM) Happened before in my friend's house, also after rewiring. Check the main connection into the fuse box from the TNB supply. Sorry, MCB or ELCB (or RCD) tripping?
Zot
Jan 30 2020, 09:48 AM
QUOTE(kkm @ Jan 30 2020, 09:46 AM) Sorry, MCB or ELCB (or RCD) tripping? One of TS statement said The thing is it doesn't trip the individual breaker, but the main breaker is the one that gets tripped.
harvin6
Jan 30 2020, 09:52 AM
something is shorting also check what brand is your MCB? i had this problems before then i replaced with hager brand problems solved
bluepenguinKills
Jan 30 2020, 09:54 AM

Own experience ; on my DB where ground terminates, there is one single wire that has live electric run on it. I just ran a test pen on this wires to check it out.
Temp solution was to take it out. Long term, identify the switch and determine why that happen. For me, it turned out to be a plug that is now covered by a built in cabinet, so the temp fix become permanent cause it is not in use.
kkm
Jan 30 2020, 09:55 AM
QUOTE(Zot @ Jan 30 2020, 09:48 AM) One of TS statement said The thing is it doesn't trip the individual breaker, but the main breaker is the one that gets tripped.I know, but sometimes users are confused between the 2 types (MCB and RCD), so it's better to make sure. Cos the causes and remedies could be very different! No harm making sure...
TSvignesh77
Jan 30 2020, 10:37 AM

QUOTE(FlamingR @ Jan 30 2020, 09:40 AM) Usually if it doesn't trip the individual ones, it could be electrical items itself faulty. Have you tried turning off your fridge? Also, is the tripping consistently at roughly the same time? It could be some electric current overload/exposed wire. Your best bet is still using the elimination method, one by one and test each socket, each connected electrical appliances. Its trips occasionally. No fixed timing. Fridge is now connected to upstairs DB. Tried one by one already still the same. It just happens at random time. (While sleeping, watching tv or when nothing is in use except altar room light)
ianlti
Jan 30 2020, 10:44 AM

MCB Trip usually overload of total circuit happened. use clamp meter to check the amp for life line connecting to main mcb then you can know. MCB is to protect Cable for being overload.
there is chances of your electrician over spec your other mcb or you draw over 63a of power inside your house. 13kw max for single phase*ignore this*
95% is overload 5% failure for mcb, maxguard is sirim approved should be quite good. if you want the best in the market should be hager abb and Schindler
since your house already 3 phase it might be unbalance power maybe need to reroute your cables
This post has been edited by ianlti: Jan 30 2020, 10:45 AM
TSvignesh77
Jan 30 2020, 11:07 AM

Could it be the tv wall bracket? Afraid it might hit the wires in the wall when installing. Will this cause the trip at random time?
I have removed the astro, dvd & tv plug connected at this area but it still occurs.
TrueFalse
Jan 30 2020, 11:12 AM
QUOTE(vignesh77 @ Jan 30 2020, 11:07 AM) Could it be the tv wall bracket? Afraid it might hit the wires in the wall when installing. Will this cause the trip at random time? I have removed the astro, dvd & tv plug connected at this area but it still occurs. You need to turn off the MCB for that particular area.
TSvignesh77
Jan 30 2020, 02:06 PM

QUOTE(TrueFalse @ Jan 30 2020, 11:12 AM) You need to turn off the MCB for that particular area. Just did that, went back home during lunch. Need to monitor and will update here. Thank you.
SUSceo684
Feb 1 2020, 11:34 AM
Use a light bulb to confirm you have power at that wall socket, then just turn on ONLY the fridge and see if it trips. If the fridge is the problem then you'll be able to isolate the device that causes it.
Kiding
Feb 1 2020, 02:16 PM
QUOTE(vignesh77 @ Jan 30 2020, 10:30 AM) Its the one circled in red. Brand Max Guard. Ignore thrme individual breaker turned off cause i was in the midst of checking.  The red circled is RCCB, it is not MCB, therefore, it is current leaking, some of the appliances may short to ground causing RCCB trip, or L/N wire short to ground wire.