Can I change Ipod Video 30GB battery?, If battery is gone...

TSKenix L
post Jul 18 2007, 12:52 AM, updated 19y ago

647 posts

I heard my one of my friends in UK that Ipod battery can't be changed after it has finish it's life span. Is this true? Is there any possibilities of replacing the ipod video 30GB battery when the battery is gone?

Do we have to send back to Apple service center to do this? Or we can change it in any shop? How much is the battery?

Sorry for all the silly questions... blush.gif blush.gif blush.gif
kokyun
post Jul 18 2007, 09:21 AM

770 posts

try this
http://www.ifixit.com/Guide/iPod/

TSKenix L
post Jul 19 2007, 12:07 AM

647 posts

QUOTE(kokyun @ Jul 18 2007, 09:21 AM)
Hi Bro...ok, thanks for your help...
junster
post Jul 19 2007, 12:36 AM

396 posts

if ur ipod is still under warranty, then just take it to nearest mac shop and change it..
limyusiong
post Jul 19 2007, 12:39 AM

2,815 posts

de price show in de link is USD o UK pound sterling??i wonder wat de price for my ipod video 30gb (5th generation)???anyone knw bout tis?
fortynine
post Jul 21 2007, 11:46 PM

97 posts

i saw some ipod batteries at machines midvalley. try and ask the friendly guys there if they can replace it for you.
TSKenix L
post Jul 22 2007, 01:34 AM

647 posts

QUOTE(fortynine @ Jul 21 2007, 11:46 PM)
i saw some ipod batteries at machines midvalley. try and ask the friendly guys there if they can replace it for you.
U have any idea what is the selling price? Are they genuine Ipod battery or compatible battery?
atrash
post Jul 22 2007, 01:48 AM

351 posts

QUOTE(Kenix L @ Jul 22 2007, 01:34 AM)
U have any idea what is the selling price? Are they genuine Ipod battery or compatible battery?
Last time i asked them was about RM 100. That was around march 2007.

I dun remember if it was ori or compatible..

This post has been edited by atrash: Jul 22 2007, 01:50 AM
TSKenix L
post Jul 22 2007, 02:09 AM

647 posts

QUOTE(atrash @ Jul 22 2007, 01:48 AM)
Last time i asked them was about RM 100. That was around march 2007.

I dun remember if it was ori or compatible..
Don't know if the seller charge any fee for installation le...
d_scientist
post Jul 23 2007, 01:50 AM

248 posts

jus send ur ipod to any apple outlet la... sure they can help u change it.. but i dunno abt the price..heard once was ard 200++....

xaw5126
post Jul 23 2007, 09:12 AM

3,488 posts

here's the deal. Apple official policy is to replace the battery and charge the end-user for the price of the battery & service, roughly RM300.

alternatively, you can DIY, get the stuff from Sonnet Technology
http://sonnettech-asia.com/contact.html
TSKenix L
post Jul 23 2007, 10:54 AM

647 posts

QUOTE(xaw5126 @ Jul 23 2007, 09:12 AM)
here's the deal. Apple official policy is to replace the battery and charge the end-user for the price of the battery & service, roughly RM300.

alternatively, you can DIY, get the stuff from Sonnet Technology
http://sonnettech-asia.com/contact.html
shocking.gif shocking.gif Cost a bomb...

That is the price for having a cool and style player... doh.gif
JamesWannabE
post Jul 26 2007, 01:06 AM

73 posts

dude where can i find battery for my ipod mini....???
do i really have to buy online???
online transaction is so susah...
MadZiZ
post Jul 26 2007, 03:34 PM

727 posts

Can they also replace the hard disk on Ipod 4th Gen??? Do you guys know where that i can have my hard disk replaced??? 40gig??? Thanks. PM me yeah guys if got lubang smile.gif

Added on July 26, 2007, 3:34 pmCan they also replace the hard disk on Ipod 4th Gen??? Do you guys know where that i can have my hard disk replaced??? 40gig??? Thanks. PM me yeah guys if got lubang smile.gif

Added on July 26, 2007, 3:35 pmSorry for the double posting Mods.

This post has been edited by MadZiZ: Jul 26 2007, 03:35 PM
tishaban
post Jul 26 2007, 04:12 PM

3,615 posts

QUOTE(Kenix L @ Jul 23 2007, 10:54 AM)
shocking.gif  shocking.gif Cost a bomb...

That is the price for having a cool and style player... doh.gif
Actually the high cost is only because you live in Malaysia and dealers jack their prices up very high. I bought the Sonnet Tech battery in the US I think for only US$25... around RM85 at today's exchange rates. Compare that to the RM200 prices you see at the typical Mac outlets in LYP, Mid Valley etc.

:-(

xaw5126
post Jul 27 2007, 02:04 AM

3,488 posts

buy directly from Sonnet-Tech...
http://www.sonnettech-asia.com/contact.html
TSKenix L
post Jul 28 2007, 04:54 PM

647 posts

QUOTE(tishaban @ Jul 26 2007, 04:12 PM)
Actually the high cost is only because you live in Malaysia and dealers jack their prices up very high. I bought the Sonnet Tech battery in the US I think for only US$25... around RM85 at today's exchange rates. Compare that to the RM200 prices you see at the typical Mac outlets in LYP, Mid Valley etc.

:-(
THat is the reason why I need all our Malaysian users' opinion on Apple products lo... blush.gif blush.gif If it is user friendly in Malaysia...

spunkberry
post Jul 30 2007, 11:19 AM

危ない人です
1,890 posts

actually I heard that the iPod is designed so that you can't change the battery and therefore would buy a new one. Maybe that's the point of it, but I suppose they do change the battery for you if you send it back to them..
sonnettech-asia
post Aug 6 2007, 07:36 PM

602 posts

QUOTE(Kenix L @ Jul 18 2007, 12:52 AM)
I heard my one of my friends in UK that Ipod battery can't be changed after it has finish it's life span. Is this true? Is there any possibilities of replacing the ipod video 30GB battery when the battery is gone?

Do we have to send back to Apple service center to do this? Or we can change it in any shop? How much is the battery?

Sorry for all the silly questions... blush.gif  blush.gif  blush.gif
we do carry ipod full range batteries. (sonnet batteries)
if you are interested please give us a call, all batteries are retailing at RM99.00
service fee is RM80.00

yoketee
nefokatu88
post Aug 7 2007, 04:24 PM

15 posts

hey do u hav batteries for the Creative Zen Vision M 30gig?

This post has been edited by nefokatu88: Aug 7 2007, 04:24 PM

0.0195sec    0.58    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 04:51 AM