2,111 posts

Can. But if you got more money can buy E bikes
lilredridinghood
post Jan 28 2020, 03:10 PM

Not so google expert
2,111 posts

QUOTE(djtong @ Jan 27 2020, 11:22 PM)
Just my 2 cents.

Start reading up on different materials and types for frame and rims. Don't just jump in and get a carbon bike.

CFRP (carbon) frames are light but extremely rigid. Terrible for our local roads. They come with very skinny rims and low profile tires, also bad for our roads. Race seats are also very thin, skinny and uncomfortable. You will need those pants that have padding in the thighs if you plan on sitting down.

A light frame also carries no momentum, meaning it's less stable and more subject to minor changes from you or the road and wind.
They are meant for people who are pushing 90-100% all the time.

The plastic in the CFRP frame disintegrates over time, especially in the sun, whereas you can paint metal frames.

Aluminium frames are heavier but also very rigid. They are much stronger than carbon, so can take damage. Mostly used in mountain bikes.

Steel (chromoly) frames are great for long distance and comfort. They are tough, durable and the spring effect is good for soaking up imperfect roads like what we have here. It's also the strongest of the 3, so you'll find frames that are much thinner. They tend to be cheaper, but really good ones can cost the same as carbon or alu.

It's useful you read up about frames because this essentially is the bike. The rest of the components can be replaced.

A frame that fits your body is worth much more than anything else. Hence nobody can tell you what's best. If you can find a good bike maker, a custom frame is night and day different. Emphasis on good.

Buying used is a great way to get a good bike for less. Just make sure it's a good fit for you.

Don't get tempted by fancy components. In my case, I've got 21 speeds but only use the fastest one. Once you get strong enough, so will you. Disc brakes are great for feel and grip, but is an additional component. You'll only need it for carbon rims cuz the rims cost so much.

Sorry I can't talk about prices cuz I got my bike made a long time ago and haven't bought another since.
There is no accountability when it comes to propagating fiction as facts behind a username ya
lilredridinghood
post Jan 28 2020, 03:18 PM

Not so google expert
2,111 posts

QUOTE(ganz @ Jan 28 2020, 01:40 PM)
When someone said group set 105.. what is complete set?

Saw few ads aging 105 group set but only consist of Rd, Rd and brake lever..
complete set for 105 is not worth anything just FYI

lilredridinghood
post Jan 28 2020, 03:20 PM

Not so google expert
2,111 posts

QUOTE(miaopurr @ Jan 28 2020, 03:13 PM)
LOL
how about the down side of buying used frames is that you do not know of the condition of the frames
lilredridinghood
post Jan 28 2020, 03:23 PM

Not so google expert
2,111 posts

QUOTE(kcchong2000 @ Jan 28 2020, 03:21 PM)
Good to have for easier resell. Teru setori.
if everyone is as gullible as a cat i know

QUOTE(miaopurr @ Jan 28 2020, 03:22 PM)
i read once this simple test; throw the frame in a lake/lombong. if it floats, then it's in good condition
SL2
lilredridinghood
post Jan 29 2020, 09:40 AM

Not so google expert
2,111 posts

QUOTE(djtong @ Jan 28 2020, 11:53 PM)
If you'd kindly point out the fiction that'd be helpful, but it seems too much to expect from a troll.
I dislike dishonest people
lilredridinghood
post Jan 29 2020, 03:25 PM

Not so google expert
2,111 posts

QUOTE(RiriRuruRara @ Jan 29 2020, 03:16 PM)
Need to know from you sifus did i just get cheated?
2 weeks ago i went to a nearby bike shop to get my first bike, my budget also rm3. I ask "expert" what is the best bike i could get with that budget and he sold me a Trek Domane AL2 saying it has a good frame and the groupset was used by people to compete in Tour De France b4. Was he making fun of my 0 knowledge on bicycle bcs reading through this thread people are recommending bike with better groupset which are cheaper then mine???
LOL, true and maybe false

What group set
lilredridinghood
post Jan 29 2020, 04:07 PM

Not so google expert
2,111 posts

QUOTE(RiriRuruRara @ Jan 29 2020, 03:37 PM)
According to spec sheet it is a Shimano Claris R2000,8 speed.
Yes he did give do a fitting. But my request was the best bike i could get with that budget not best brand name...
Shimano Dura ace was once 8 speed and a lot more inferior as compared to what you have today in Claris, at least aesthetically

The technology of Dura ace trickles down to Ultegra and then to 105 and so on, so it was not entirely a lie when the seller said that to you but he was being disingenuous about the fact, nuances but definitely not lazy lies like carbon's a lot more rigid than aluminium
lilredridinghood
post Jan 29 2020, 04:08 PM

Not so google expert
2,111 posts

QUOTE(jbcoder @ Jan 29 2020, 04:02 PM)
Well he's not wrong if he fits that model for your budget, assuming he doesn't sell China brands.
Most of these shops are kinda snobs and they're anti-China bike frames.
So if he only sells brand name products and what's available in his shop, then that model is the best you could buy for 3k at his shop.
Not really, more like brands from China with little to no accountability when it comes to honouring warranties or safety standards

0.0226sec    0.77    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 07:26 AM