can property really a choice of investment?, think about it/

wcwroger
post Jul 18 2007, 11:24 PM

22 posts

Property is the best vehicle investment of all time.

I'm accumulating as much properties as I could and then I could retire comfortably....

Just imagine yourself buying a property a year... can u figure out how wealthy you are when you 50 years old, or even 35 years old?
wcwroger
post Jul 19 2007, 12:23 AM

22 posts

My story:

I've read dozens of property investment books for years. 4 years ago, the idea of venturing into property investment sparks me after I've attended a property investment seminar by our very local property investor, Renesial Leong (u may read her success at www.upia33.com). I do invest in stocks too, quite heavily at one time smile.gif Anyway, my story continues below...

Year 2005 (Salary: RM2500)
I jumped start by buying my first property, a condo, without any downpayment for RM150k. I signed a 15 years contract with the developer, with the criteria having the rental paid to me RM900 monthly for 15 years. Then, I secured my financing with a local bank. Managed to work out installment of only RM850 for 30 years. Positive cashflow of RM50 per month. Dun forget, my salary is still untouch smile.gif

2nd and 3rd property are rather unique.

Year 2006 (Salary: RM2800)
I bought my 2nd property together with my brother who has the same earning power as mine. Together we bought a RM250k worth of property. Secured a local bank loan and work out the installment to be only RM750/month/person. Ok wat.....

Year 2007 (Salary: RM3000)
Recently, I've just bought into RM380k worth of property together with my wife who has the same earning power as mine. It's for own stay. Secured my company's loan (interest rate a slightly lower than local bank) and work out the installment of only RM1000++/month/person. Ok wat...

Year 2008 (Salary: hope it rises)
Rent out some of the rooms from the 2nd and 3rd property to help service the installments. Hence, boost my monthly income enabling me to secure another bank loan for my 4th property as an investment...

Year 2009 (Salary: rise rise rise)
Buy my 5th property, by manipulating my 1st, 2nd or even the 4th property. How? Read 'em up... it's all in the books. Attend seminars! Learn from the successful people.

Hope I did shed some lights to some of you out there.

Nothing is impossible smile.gif

Cheers
Roger
wcwroger@yahoo.com
wcwroger
post Jul 19 2007, 06:50 AM

22 posts

Dear Dreamer,

FYI, My 1st property is referred. Remember I mentioned that I've signed the 15 years contract with the developer. That actually taken into consideration for the margin of safety that I need, and I don't have to worry about not being able to rent out the unit. The only downside here is the rental will be stagnant at RM900 for 15 years. I don't have to worry about it coz my rental is enuf to cover my installment, and still have RM50/mth cashflow. I've managed to work out the installment fixed at RM850/mth for a period of 30 yrs. After 15 years, I'll raise the rental and could soon repay my loan in 5-10 years or so.

yewkhuay,
My contract waived the maintenance fees for 15 years. MRTA is included in my bank loan. Other fees are covered nicely with the extra of the RM50/mth. So, no big deals.

Dreamer,
I admit that I've actually violated the rule of 10mths but I'm still stick with the rule no. 1, rental must always be greater than installment. There are time you'll have to be flexible in order to achieve things you want.

Like I've mentioned previously, it's all drive down to how you organize your personal finance. Saving is very important in the beginning.

Hmm, now mentioning about it, I've gotta do some part time to have more cash.

Oh ya, did I mention that the 2nd property I've bought are 40% below market and the 3rd property I've just bought is 10% below market in a strategic location? Property hunting is important too. Like yewkhuay said, anything could happen in the future, so worst come to worst, I could still sell my properties slightly below the market value and still gets away with a little profits.

Cheers
Roger

Added on July 19, 2007, 7:41 amAll,

Things could become nasty if you don't know what you're doing. Well, this also happens if you are investing in stocks, units trusts, insurances, land and any other investment vehicles.

Dreamer and yewkhuay are right. Always be prepare of consequences. But let us put it in another way. Take the consequences as a challenges! Trust me, you will see opportunities, success and bright future ahead of you.

Do your homework and have your calculations make sense to you. Lots of investment books out there could assist you in becoming a better stock investor, property investor or even land investor.

Design your personal finance well. Determine your investment risk. Have different investment vehicles. As for me, besides investing in property, I invest in land and stocks too. So far so good smile.gif

Best regards,
Roger

This post has been edited by wcwroger: Jul 19 2007, 07:41 AM
wcwroger
post Jul 19 2007, 12:26 PM

22 posts

All comments are most appreciated. Thank you for the positive feedbacks. Indeed, risks are there when it comes to investment.

I've my way of managing my personal finance and risks. Different people has different ways and opinions of seeing one thing.

Like I said, I look it all as challenge whilst others look it as an obstacle or consequences smile.gif

Cheers
Roger

Added on July 19, 2007, 12:44 pmLet's not talk bout the methods of me buying the properties as my story is rather unique, extreme and a little uncomfortable for others.

The points that I've wanted to send across is "Property could be the choice of investment" (getting back to the forum title). Same like stock investment, you just need to manage your investment and personal finance well. That simple! No tricks.

Cheers
Roger

Added on July 19, 2007, 12:45 pm
QUOTE(b00n @ Jul 19 2007, 12:07 PM)
Books give lots of information that's non-debatable.
But how you use the knowledge in books is how you excel in life.
I see ppl condemning certain books saying that the strategy doesn't worked or whatsoever. However, they never really understand that one that works for a person might not really work out for the other.
I agreed ! It all boils down to the attitude of one!

Added on July 19, 2007, 12:57 pm
QUOTE(dreamer101 @ Jul 19 2007, 10:01 AM)
<<Hmm, now mentioning about it, I've gotta do some part time to have more cash.>>

Why?? If your calculation is correct and everything is working fine, why do you need MORE CASH?? Isn't it obvious that you are CASH FLOW NEGATIVE?? And, the more property that you buy, the deeper that you are in the hole.  You need to put more money into the houses every month.

It only take one of you to lose a job for a few months for this whole house of cards to collapse.
I need extra cash to do renovation smile.gif

As for for my 2nd and 3rd property, I don't treat these two as my investment as it's a social obligation. I'll work my way out for the 4th property to have a +ve cashflow later on.

<<the rule no. 1, rental must always be greater than installment. >>

How about the rule that it must be CASH FLOW POSITIVE?? You do not have the safety margin to pay quit rent and so on.
Already taken into consideration for margin of safety. Check my previous reply.

<<Oh ya, did I mention that the 2nd property I've bought are 40% below market and the 3rd property I've just bought is 10% below market in a strategic location? Property hunting is important too. Like yewkhuay said, anything could happen in the future, so worst come to worst, I could still sell my properties slightly below the market value and still gets away with a little profits.>>

When you are CASH FLOW NEGATIVE, you will be FORCED to sell at the WRONG TIME.

You are in a HOLE now.  Pray hard every night.  I wish you best of lucks.

Dreamer
I don't intend to sell all at the moment as I'm still comfortable with my current financial status.
Even if I am forced to sell, I wont have any problem as 3 of my properties are in prime area and strategically located. smile.gif

Added on July 19, 2007, 1:00 pm
QUOTE(vreis @ Jul 19 2007, 11:58 AM)
Basically he is currently playing with fire, it only takes 1997 once again for him to lose everything. No offence, but do you know that during 97 crisis, ppl find it hard to dispose of properties. Any back up plan if you are laid off but with properties loans, increasing BLR, no tenant, unsellable assets & etc.?

Put it simply, his plan is too perfect, not taking into account those so called unexpected & rainy days. sweat.gif

BUT anyway, It's your call, your life, your choice  biggrin.gif
I presume you haven't buy into any properties yet?

I've taken into consideration margin of safety when buying properties and I've enough buffer money to last me 6 months if things turn out bad smile.gif

Like I've said, do your homework, plan your personal finance and manage your investment well.

Cheers
Roger

This post has been edited by wcwroger: Jul 19 2007, 01:00 PM
wcwroger
post Jul 19 2007, 10:27 PM

22 posts

QUOTE(b00n @ Jul 19 2007, 02:15 PM)
wcwroger, good if you've planned.
Just that by looking at your comments on your investment, everyone is like worrying for you; thus our comments and advice.
Good luck to you.
Thanks a mil smile.gif

Appreciate everyone's concerns and feedbacks.

Will try to keep you guys updated on my latest progress when I've the time.

Best wishes,
Roger

wcwroger
post Jul 26 2007, 10:46 PM

22 posts

Points taken.

Greatly appreciate everyone's opinions.

Actually, I would go slow from 2008 onwards, taking 2 to 3 years to improve my cashflow first before buying into my 4th property.

Cheers

Added on July 26, 2007, 10:48 pm
QUOTE(yewkhuay @ Jul 20 2007, 08:34 AM)
wcwroger,
another thing i can think of is, 15yrs of FIXED rental income is oready making a loss coz rental shud hav increased over the years , in 15yrs, probably u shud be getting more by managing the property urself. on top of tht, 15yrs later, wat the developer pass back to u could be an extremely run down property which they / the past tenant would never bother to take care ( few years down the road ,rental is cheap relatively).

just my 2cents...
Agreed... nothing is certain... that's the risk we've to consider...

This post has been edited by wcwroger: Jul 26 2007, 10:48 PM

0.0266sec    0.54    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 02:03 AM